What is the best dashcam to buy? MIROS and CyberSecurity Malaysia want to help answer

MIROS (an agency under MOT) and CyberSecurity Malaysia (an agency under the MCMC) has collaborated to publish a safety scorecard for dashcams called CamScore.

CamScore provides an initial evaluation of dashcams based on three different points – basic features, advanced features, and ADAS features. The cams are then ranked based on a score out of 5. There was no elaboration on how the scores were calculated.

The two top scorers on the list are the 70mai A800S and the 70mai A500S, both scoring 4.59 points out of 5. This was followed by the Thinkware U1000 with a 4.56 score, the 70mai M500 with a 4.53 score and the DDPAI X5 Pro with a 4.52 score.

With no elaboration on how these scores came about, it would be completely up to you if you want to refer to this list when choosing your next dashcam. For example, you might have different criteria when evaluating which dashcam to buy, such as the use of a lithium ion battery vs the use of a super capacitor for backup power as an indicator of potential longevity (no bloated battery issue with supercaps), or the availability of cloud connectivity features. These are not part of CamScore’s evaluation.

Although ADAS features are part of the scoring, yours truly personally just turns off all the ADAS features on his own dashcams because of the nature of how Malaysian drivers behave on the road. The ADAS warnings just continuously go off all the time because Malaysian traffic seems to be a constant danger zone! This is in contrast to ADAS features that come native with cars which feel a lot less panicky.

The CamScore table is missing pricing so here’s a list of some of the top dashcams listed including the pricing and a link for you to buy them online. As for installation you can either install the dashcam yourself or install it at a shop for an additional RM100-RM250 fee depending on complexity of the install process.

As 11.11 sale is coming up, this might be a good time to get one if you haven’t already. Whenever possible, we’ll use the price for the version with a rear camera included as we think rear cameras are a must have when it comes to collecting footage to use as evidence.

Lastly, for dashcams that do not come with built in storage, remember to choose the right kind of SD card to use with your dashcam.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Angry Shahidan fights back on Nov 04, 2022 at 6:33 pm

Better get a dashcam.
    If not,u get involved in the BASIKAL LAJAK accident case,be prepared to spend 5 years in endless court cases,and u might be behind bars for 10 years.
    let the video recordings tell the truth.Not endless racial gossips and jail sentence hanging over your head.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 9
    • Lolwhut? on Nov 04, 2022 at 11:36 pm

Good! Then the evidence of that dashcam can put those who harm pedestrians & other vulnerable road users away for 20 years minimum. I’m sure Sam would appreciate it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
      • Zaman Khan on Nov 05, 2022 at 8:29 am

Dashcams are useful. At least if the bodoh mat rempit kind go and destroy your car or even hurt you, you can prove to them and Polis thay you are innocent. then yo uwill be compensated while the mat rempit will go to jail

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
        • Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 06, 2022 at 12:17 am

Rear dashcam important to catch those ahbengs that alwiz like to tiong cars so close and flash their lights at anyone blocking them speeding. These idiots are the real disasters with their reckless boss attitudes and causes multiple car pile up when they could not brake in time. Just make sure follow the recommendation above and not to buy a potato camera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Isabella on Nov 05, 2022 at 4:22 pm

the Kota Masai case at johor, now got dashcam video showing the motor running red light. but all the bodoh mat rempit go and overturn the Myvi, even though the driver did nothing wrong.

ha ha ha, I hope the bodoh rempit will go to jail

• Celup King on Nov 04, 2022 at 11:50 pm

Habeslah every other model below No.5!

• Isabella of France (b. 1389 - d. 1409) on Nov 05, 2022 at 9:20 am

Not suprising that all of them (minus one or two) are from China.

• Independent Tian Chua..(just newly sacked)) on Nov 05, 2022 at 12:37 pm

Do u know,today if your aircon compressor konk,for a 2 litres car…the replacement cost Rm1250 for Nipondenso(no warranty) whereas your mechanic can source a China compatible similar part for Rm700 .with 3 months warranty?
      China is no more just a toy manufacturer.They produce aircons,TVs,satellites,fighter jets,drones,submarines,buses,and not forgetting out Geely X50 and X70.
      50% of American imports come from China.
      Without China,many of us will have to fork out more Rm cos, our Ringgit is approaching RM 5 to USD 1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 20
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 06, 2022 at 12:18 am

Without China there is no Covid. Nuff said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 18
        • Roti john Reborn on Nov 06, 2022 at 12:50 pm

Without China there will be no more Proton

• Without Proton there will be no more Perodua.

• USAMRIID on Nov 07, 2022 at 5:11 pm

Covid was from USA Fort Detrick. Get your facts straight, buster! China is not that smart in virus research. That’s why our President didn’t allow UN to investigate us. Watch your mouth or we’ll send you a drone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
  • GodEye on Nov 07, 2022 at 7:27 am

Best dashcam should be the one JPJ certified that helps identify reckless drivers and riders, auto upload to JPJ Cloud while connected to WiFi/5G. Can reduce accidents mainly caused by noob drivers.

Better dashcam should also able to collect bad road infrastructure data for immediate repair and safety improvement.

https://paultan.org/2022/11/04/80-of-accidents-due-to-driver-behaviour-jpj-chief/

• Junkies otr on Jan 13, 2023 at 7:37 pm

US rebranded most of the products from China n claim “Proudly made in usa”. Puiiiiii

• Flavian Liaw on Aug 16, 2023 at 1:11 pm

Need a good quality low budget dual channels dash cam for my Toyota Vigo. Any recomendation please. Please email to me your recommendation. TQVM