PM10 Anwar Ibrahim’s cabinet – Anthony Loke for transport, Zafrul heads MITI, Anwar finance minister

With the appointment of Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim as Malaysia’s 10th prime minister on November 24, there has been a lot of anticipation about who will be included in PM10’s cabinet.

We finally have an answer today, as Anwar has revealed the ministers for key roles in his cabinet, following his meeting with His Majesty the Yang di-Pertuan Agong XVI Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah earlier this morning.

Ministerial departments that play a role in shaping and defining the local automotive and mobility industries include the ministry of transport (MOT), ministry of international trade and industry (MITI), works ministry (KKR), ministry of finance (MOF), and in this age of electric vehicles, the ministry of environment and water (KASA).

For some examples, the transport ministry is responsible for things like driving licences, public transport and road rules. Other ministries like MITI and MOF decide how vehicles are priced in Malaysia, while the works ministry deals with publics works (highways, roads) and KASA leads the efforts towards Sustainable Malaysia 2030, which involves EVs.

In the newly announced cabinet, Anwar named Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi as the first deputy prime minister, while Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof was named second deputy prime minister. There’s no minister of environment and water this time around, although the post of minister of economy returns. With a familiar name back at the helm of MITI, it’s likely that some of the points in Budget 2023 will be brought up again when it is tabled again under the new administration. Here are the other key members (as far as automotive-related) of PM10’s cabinet:

• Transport minister – Anthony Loke Siew Fook
  • Minister of international trade and industry – Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz
  • Works minister – Datuk Seri Alexander Nanta Linggi
  • Finance minister – Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim
  • Economic affairs minister – Rafizi Ramli
  • Natural resources, nature and climate change minister – Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad
  • Domestic trade and cost of living minister – Datuk Seri Salahuddin Ayub

Here is the full list of cabinet members:

For reference, here’s a look back at previous individuals that have held these roles under three previous administrations formed after major general elections/political events. Keep in mind that some ministries are known by different names, or were reorganised.

PM7 – Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad (May 10, 2018 to February 24, 2020)
  • Transport minister – Anthony Loke Siew Fook
  • Minister of international trade and industry – Datuk Ignatius Darell Leiking
  • Works minister – Baru Bian
  • Finance minister – Lim Guan Eng
  • Minister of energy, science, technology, environment and climate change – Yeo Bee Yin
  • Minister of economic affairs – Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali
  • Minister of domestic trade and consumers affairs – Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail
    PM8 – Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin (March 1, 2020 to August 16, 2021)
  • Transport minister – Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong
  • Minister of international trade and industry – Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali
  • Works minister – Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof
  • Finance minister – Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz
  • Minister of energy and natural resources – Datuk Seri Shamsul Anuar Nasarah
  • Minister of science, technology and innovation – Khairy Jamaluddin
  • Minister of environment and water – Datuk Seri Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man
  • Minister of domestic trade and consumers affairs – Datuk Seri Alexander Nanta Linggi
    PM9 – Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob (August 27, 2021 to November 24, 2022)
  • Transport minister – Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong
  • Minister of international trade and industry – Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali
  • Works minister – Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof
  • Finance minister – Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz
  • Minister of energy and natural resources – Datuk Seri Haji Takiyuddin Hassan
  • Minister of science, technology and innovation – Datuk Seri Adham Baba
  • Minister of environment and water – Datuk Seri Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man
  • Minister of domestic trade and consumers affairs – Datuk Seri Alexander Nanta Linggi

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Whatever it is, let’s move on but anyway, better than Muhyiddin cabinet with such many ministers. Even Mahathir cabinet also not as many as Muhyiddin cabinet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 11
    • Diamdiam dap on Dec 03, 2022 at 6:25 pm

Good job. Well done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
      • Limfamily lim kopi on Dec 04, 2022 at 11:23 am

Now we know all ceramah talk is bollywood movie

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Dec 04, 2022 at 7:13 pm

Be more like DAP and put country first, Zahid tells Muhyiddin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • To the PH trolls: hahahahaha!!! PH kalah teruk lost their majority from 2018 now hav to beg BN to be gomen!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 25
      • Winds on Dec 05, 2022 at 11:12 am

Dream on, this is just beginning after formation of cabinet and after GE15. What else do you want because all parties have no majority like what happened in Germany

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • Dude give it up. All that shilling for Anwar is not going to the moon. The rug has been pulled. The scam is over. Get out now while you can.

• The only one who keep on whining on PH-BN, must be you. Losers should accept the results, not keep on whining this and that after forming the government just like you

• Yusri on Dec 05, 2022 at 2:05 pm

the only one that kalah teruk is your masters john. BN lost badly to both PH and PN, now they hang onto PH to remain relevant ha ha ha ha

• I really hope there will be anti-hate speech so that all those who don’t like this or that, will keep their mouth shut and make our lives even more peace

• Rakyat Speech! on Dec 06, 2022 at 8:28 am

We all know what means “anti-hate speech” > forbid people to speech about jewish agenda and let the LGBT deviant lobby to corrupt kids mind.

When the society is under attack, hate agaisnt the aggressor is legitimate.

Oh? Maybe you are a jew or an homosexuel looking for more entertainment in Malaysia?

Only Jews and their LGBT good dogs are concern with “hate speech”. Normal people, healthy people don’t even understand that nonsense “anti-bla-bla”…

• @Rakyat Speech

I am not jew or an homosexual looking for entertainment in Malaysia. And before you comment, think before you say, never ever called me like this. Aside that, it is better to implement anti-hate speech as soon as possible, not only to end racist but also other things to get rid hate speech like hating company brands each other. Healthy people and normal people are fully understandable but not like you and also want to move on and get rid all sorts of nonsense,

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Dec 05, 2022 at 3:30 pm

As above promised. We are still waaaaittttiiinnnggggg…..

• Dude, can you just give it up, why you keep on talking about history manifesto?

• Pakatan Harapan Supporters on Dec 02, 2022 at 9:18 pm

Undi PH dapat Zahid. Dislike my comment if u agree with me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 50
    • Kariayam on Dec 04, 2022 at 12:33 pm

how is it possible every single time no matter the winning party, BN is always involved in the outcome of who gets selected? it blows my mind

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
      • Biar Betik on Dec 05, 2022 at 10:23 am

Don’t worry, they will gone in PRU 16.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
        • You think PN is so good meh? Racist, stealing more money including 1BestariNet, PN is real biggest kleptocrats, buying so many MPs from Umno/BN, not caring people but caring politicians themselves, always love to lockdown, lying to Agong and to the public

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • Anyways, it is too early to say

• Vidual on Dec 05, 2022 at 12:10 pm

You need tissue to wipe your tears

• Winds on Dec 05, 2022 at 11:11 am

Dream on, this is just beginning after formation of cabinet and after GE15. What else do you want because all parties have no majority like what happened in Germany

• newme on Dec 05, 2022 at 11:01 am

Zahid is better than PAS and penghianat

• Roti john Reborn on Dec 02, 2022 at 9:37 pm

Thank you Anwar Ibrahim for choosing clean and uncorrupted ministers to improve Malaysia. I hope PH will lead Malaysia forever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 27
  • Invert on Dec 02, 2022 at 10:01 pm

Before those haters coming here, there are worries whoever the Ministers are, PM makes the final decision and now please make sure time for all ministers to work together for the rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
    • Let's save the Banksters :-/ on Dec 05, 2022 at 12:04 am

“…and now please make sure time for all ministers to work together for the rakyat”

– You mean, (((foreign investisors))) LOL

• Invert on Dec 02, 2022 at 10:01 pm

Before those haters coming here, there are no worries whoever the Ministers are, PM makes the final decision and now please make sure time for all ministers to work together for the rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • Zaman Khan on Dec 02, 2022 at 10:47 pm

Good good!! Great cabinet with good calibre. Malaysia can finally be first world. Already we failed to achieve Wawasan 2020, nevermind, we can do it with our new clean government now.

Syukur!!! Hopefully the folks in kampung can wake up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 14
  • Lennon on Dec 02, 2022 at 10:56 pm

Anthony Loke memang hebat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 10
  • Ben Yap on Dec 03, 2022 at 2:37 am

Tengku Zafrul lost in PRU can still be a minister. What’s the point of having PRU?

Also, it is bad that PM also holds the position of Finance Minister… no check and balance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 68
    • Kita boleh!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • What is done…It is done but I do hope that all ministers should do better job, especially Tengku Zafrul despite changing his post to another

• What to do now. In order to rebuild this country, those appointments needed to be done. What’s important is that we have a government lead by DSAI and other parties. Let’s hope for change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • awaKL on Dec 03, 2022 at 10:11 am

Probably Anwar did it in a jest considering his adversary Asmin and Zafrul both lost their election but purposely selected him to take up his x-cabinet post.

• FudgeMeSideways on Dec 03, 2022 at 11:00 am

Best part is, the person he lost his seat to was the ex-Health Minister, and he didnt get a post.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • Congrats to those who appointed. Like it or not, let’s give new Cabinet a chance to perform. We must be grateful that our nation have been spared from racist and all sorts of bad things like what PN government have been done to us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • Ghani on Dec 03, 2022 at 12:00 pm

Zafrul was a minister too for the TWO utter failure Yiddin and Mael lambung gahmens… I guess meritocracy and capability do dount.

Much better then the makcik tembak taik cicak,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Tin Kosong Tian Chua on Dec 03, 2022 at 12:31 pm

The TZ dude is a big letdown,short of saying a big ripoff.
      That dude has been threatening BMW owners with no fuel subsidies,while the Ringgit spiralled into a bottomless pit.
      Can our YB PM give 5 reasons why a failed dude can become an overnight maverick?
      It is like giving the nos 1 singles spot in Thomas Cup to any Tom DicK and Mary,instead of Lee Zee Zia who has proven success.
      This dude may come to haunt the new administration in months to come with his erratic decisions.A Form 5 drop out with Mark Zukerberk’s calibre will outshine this dude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
    • Car kocet on Dec 03, 2022 at 1:07 pm

AGREED! reminds me Najib last time. Propose and approve himself

• OrangeLover on Dec 03, 2022 at 1:43 pm

Better than PAS and Muhyiddin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 18
    • newme on Dec 05, 2022 at 11:04 am

Why cannot be minister?

We have gov that were not elected by the people previously.

• Dari Penjara to Putrajaya on Dec 03, 2022 at 7:28 am

Kita Boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
  • Hoi hoi ya hoi on Dec 03, 2022 at 7:29 am

barang order and barang sampai lain haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • Panjang on Dec 03, 2022 at 10:09 am

Ini mesti salah seller letak gambar posting salah atau x match actual product.
      Nanti seller salahkan buyer sebab x baca btul2 description. Buyer click return/refund tapi button dh kne lock.Button hanya berfungsi 4 tahun skali.

• Kita boleh!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • johnas on Dec 03, 2022 at 8:58 am

Loke 2023 updated window tint policy:
    All windows can tint whatever VLT except front windscreen must remained 30% VLT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Let’s PM do his job. He knows better. He’s got 5 years to turn Malaysia around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
  • Congrats Zahid Hamidi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • Jimho on Dec 03, 2022 at 9:30 am

Zulkefly beat Zafrul in the election but handsome boy get a minister post despite being known as the worst finance minister. Like tis also can ah? Poor Zul. Anwar better control himself, or he’ll be a shortlived PM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
  • Makers on Dec 03, 2022 at 9:31 am

Doesn’t matter but anyways good lineup but as long as need to curb down important issues/matters, optimize the economy, stabilize the currency, tcountry with good unity and harmony government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Zahid anytime better than Haidi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 14
  • Congrats to those who appointed. Like it or not, let’s give new Cabinet a chance to perform. We must be grateful that our nation have been spared from racist and all sorts of bad things like what PN government have been done to us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Bluna on Dec 03, 2022 at 12:42 pm

DSAI government is more efficient and better than failed PN government that stole RM600 billion which is much worse than Najib and Tun M

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 18
    • armandd on Dec 04, 2022 at 12:29 pm

Wahh, they’re not working yet but you say more efficient already.. Really big Anwar fanboi la youu..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • Winds on Dec 05, 2022 at 11:13 am

Time will come on, this is just beginning after formation of cabinet except deputy ministers haven’t formed and also after GE15

• Vidual on Dec 05, 2022 at 12:12 pm

PN supporter, you want tissue to wipe your tears after you still can’t accept till today??

• Rakyat Speech! on Dec 06, 2022 at 8:34 am

RM600 billion stollen? Interesting… Without surprise, when the investigators star to question the jewish bankers, case was closed.

You guys have been domestically entertained, and the stollen money still remain in the thieths’s pockets. (on WallStreet, under multitude of shadow corporates in the Kaiman, HK and Singapore)

As long as people continue to believe in Democracy (cleptocratie+vaginocratie) People will continue to get f#$@ed.

• Please look at PM body language yesterday. He is definitely not comfortable and looks dejected. I think he did what he has to do

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
  • remove AP ? being say by pakatan more then a decade. now become gomen. should not delay anymore

• phancing on Dec 04, 2022 at 8:32 pm

nasib la dpt pemerintah kaki pembelit, kaki penipu. yg bodohnya ada jgk org sokong, kempen kemain lagi last2 penipu

• Ted boy on Dec 05, 2022 at 12:36 am

Terbaik!

• john is otak batu on Dec 05, 2022 at 11:51 am

time to remove excise tax for cars! And no to APs!

• Jarren on Dec 05, 2022 at 3:02 pm

Dr Wee is actually a very credible politician to helm the transport ministry and I certainly hope there is Anthony Loke is not going make U-turns on project just for the sake of making changes.