Multi-lane free flow toll system in Malaysia – gov’t aiming to speed up its implementation before 2025

The government says it is looking to expedite the implementation of a multi-lane free flow (MLFF) toll collection system in the country. According to works minister Datuk Seri Alexander Nanta Linggi, the aim is to get the system in place before its planned introduction in 2025, a timeline that remains unchanged despite the switch to a new government.

“The timeframe has been mentioned as 2025, but I expressed my views to (highway) concessionaires that if we can quicken it, maybe we will be able to implement it even earlier than 2025. Of course, many things have to be considered, especially technicalities as well as legal aspects, which are very important,” he said

Speaking to reporters following the launch of the TNB Electron DC fast charging network at Ayer Keroh R&R yesterday, he said that engagements and discussions were being ramped up. Earlier this week, the works minister held a meeting with all 32 tolled highway concessionaires, plus relevant industry players and stakeholders regarding the planned implementation of MLFF in the country.

As to whether Malaysia will adopt a system utilising dedicated radio frequency identification (RFID) transponders such as those used in Singapore and Australia for its MLFF payment, he said that the choices will be studied in detail. “We will look into various systems and compare with others, but I can’t say if we will adopt one. Certainly, our experts will look at those installed in other countries (to establish their feasability),” he said.

Ahead of the rollout, he said that pilot projects will be carried out. Besides allowing authorities and providers the ability to examine technical and legal issues, and iron them out, this will also provide a platform to trial multi-mode payments through various digital payment providers as opposed to a single provider. This move would end the current Touch ‘n Go monopoly on toll payment.

“We will do it as soon as possible (because) we have to test the system first to see if it can be used throughout the country. Discussions have also been made with the ministry of finance because it will involve financial implications, and after all parties are satisfied with the system, a decision will be made,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• dong gor on Feb 17, 2023 at 3:09 pm

has everyone ditched their smart tag and installed RFID already? you are not there yet, more to come.

• Keyboard warrior on Feb 17, 2023 at 4:18 pm

Nah. My smart tag is far FAR more reliable than RFID. I don’t think i will switch to the latter ever

• Dyeus Pater on Feb 17, 2023 at 3:47 pm

Renamed Toll Collection to Congestion Tax

• Levin on Feb 17, 2023 at 5:38 pm

For how many more decades and generations must we collect toll for most of the highways here? Aside from that, paying toll makes little to no sense if highways are still jammed up (not at the toll booth) and we folks are paying roadtax and vehicle tax, so makes no reason to collect tolls for decades. Please stop this day light robbery already.

• AmazinglyAnnoyed on Feb 18, 2023 at 9:50 am

With the amount of money they are making and the number of mouths benefitting from it……. These people will never give up the contract without fighting for their life. They amassing enough money for their descendants until the end of life on earth.

• tongkat ali on Feb 18, 2023 at 4:49 pm

dulu cakap toll tu temporary saja, now macam forever. macam NEP je cerita ni. negara tongkat!

• Tommy Hng on Feb 19, 2023 at 11:48 am

NATO = No Action Talk Only

• someone who works with tolling system on Mar 23, 2023 at 8:07 pm

While this is good on the front side and relieves congestion and also saves cost (less toll booths and no need to hire workers to manage), however the upfront integration cost would be high. One needs to implement a multi-facet backend system that is both interoperable and able to communicate to various parties involve to solve payments, billings, customer and many other issues. It does not come cheap but it would be worth it down the road if implemented right.