Hyundai Malaysia teases 3 new models for 2023 – all-new Tucson, Santa Fe facelift, Ioniq 6 EV coming soon

Now here’s a surprise. Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) launched the new Creta SUV this morning and now they’ve released a teaser on social media. The image, titled ‘2023, we’re coming’, shows today’s star car and the Palisade facelift alongside three blacked out models.

What are these three new Hyundais that will be coming to Malaysia this year? Our guess is the all-new fourth-generation Tucson SUV, the Santa Fe facelift and the Ioniq 6 EV.

The Tucson is a C-segment SUV rival to the likes of the Honda CR-V and Mazda CX-5. The latest generation sports super sharp sheetmetal and two wheelbase options – we should be getting the longer of the two, which was spied on our roads earlier this month.

The Santa Fe in question is a heavily-facelifted fourth-generation TM that was first unveiled in June 2020. It sports a very different face with a full width grille and a distinctive T-shaped LED daytime running lights that bisects the main light beams. See what Indonesia gets here.

As for the Ioniq 6, it’s a very curvy sister to the blocky Ioniq 5. The ‘streamliner’ with a near-3m wheelbase packs a 77.4 kWh battery for a 610 km claimed WLTP range. Hyundai says that the super slippery Ioniq 6 (Cd 0.21) is one of the most energy-efficient EVs around with an energy consumption rate of 13.9 kWh/100 km. Like the Ioniq 5, the 6 sits on the E-GMP platform and 800V electrical architecture, with V2L functionality. Details and live pics here.

Looks like 2023 will be a big year for Hyundai in Malaysia. What do you think of the impeding launches? Click on the links for more on the new models.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Keyboard warrior on Apr 28, 2023 at 1:16 pm

Too bad. We will never get the top specification that Korean and the US gets i.e the Calligraphy spec for Palisade and Santa Fe. The RM2XXk Kia Carnival made the Malaysian market Palisade look like a joke.

• There must be consistency in our import car taxes. Overtaxing is ridiculous. And over protecting our national cars will only pamper both. In south korea and japan, they used to impose higher taxes on imported cars but not as high as 10o% or more. Its just 20% more in taxes.

• Ajibkor madani on Apr 29, 2023 at 9:01 pm

Launch or dont launch ..no difference.

They will end up DOA…dead on arrival.
      Even if they make it to showrooms,they r deemed good,only as demo units.
      If u analyse their sales…u get a huge shock.
      Only EVs are selling.Their ICE cars are colder than Siberian winter.No one is buying to make the engine warm.

• Keyboard warrior on Apr 30, 2023 at 11:00 am

I am afraid you are right. I have seen more Ioniq 5 than other Hyundai other ICE models combined

• Bob Mal on Apr 28, 2023 at 1:54 pm

So lets play a game of guessing the price of new Hyundai cars:

Tucson – RM220k up from RM123 when released back in 2018
    Santa Fe – RM280k up from previous RM180k back in 2015
    Iconiq 6 – RM400k just because they can even though no tax in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • So sad that all car prices are going the way of MADNESS.

• Bob Mal on Apr 28, 2023 at 4:09 pm

I supposed you mean only Hyundai, Kia & Subaru are attempting this nonsense just to toy us around since we were never their first choice to begin with. For others better choice at least it is still more grounded to reality with mark-ups for issues associated after MCO.

• From my POV it’s quite a widespread phenomenon, although I admit others are nowhere as brazen as the three you mentioned.

The G20 LCI 330i is now 320k with the warranty/service package as opposed to 28xk from last time; the Civic FE now tops up at 150k for the top spec petrol.

All these are causing used car prices to be at all-time highs because people who bought the G20 pre-LCI can now sell their cars at 260k even though it’s 2-3 years old, taking only a 20k+ hit on depreciation, which doesn’t make sense.

• Frankly I kind of not blame the car companies since prices hasnt really gone up as much as the RM has depreciated. In comparison with food and other essentials, the car price raise can be said as marginal.

• Its our falling currency. Its causing inflation. Our gomen says inflation only 3%. But as you can see, its way much more. And taxation amplify the price rise.

• Mike Tee on May 02, 2023 at 10:36 am

I would hazard a guess that the Ioniq 6 will come in at RM300k-RM350k. They cannot price it at BMW i4 and EQE levels (RM385k? and RM420k) if they want to shift more than 10 cars a year.

Even at RM330k-RM350k it will be a hard sell

• ROTI CANAI on Apr 28, 2023 at 2:22 pm

HARGA GILA

• Mr Fakta on Apr 28, 2023 at 4:39 pm

Why tease, just launch it already and put a price on it. Since so many K-pop fans here in Malaysia, I suggest not selling it for less than RM1mil

• Kancil Hybrid on Apr 28, 2023 at 7:20 pm

Nak beli, beli..
    Tak nak beli, sudah..

Love,
    Hyundai

• jdmcarlover07 on Apr 28, 2023 at 9:19 pm

please bring the full width infotainment touchscreen for Santa Fe facelift, HSDM. please!