LDP evening peak hours contraflow study from Sunway toll to Puchong discontinued

Litrak has announced the cessation of the evening peak hours contraflow study on the LDP’s Petaling Jaya toll plaza (most people know it as the Sunway toll) to Puchong. Announced last week, the contraflow was in action for two days, July 17 and 20. The original plan was for a three-month study.

“In line with the observations from our contraflow study… please be informed that the contra-flow study will be temporarily discontinued until further notice. We acknowledge and appreciate all the feedback we have received from our valued highway users. Your feedback is an integral part of the contraflow study’s findings and has been recorded for future improvement purposes,” Litrak said in a statement.

“Thank you for your cooperation and patience throughout the implementation of this contraflow study exercise. We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused and look forward to serving you better,” the concessionaire added.

The now-cancelled contraflow plan was to ease traffic congestion for LDP users heading back home from the Sunway toll towards Puchong. Specifically for evening peak hours, it was supposed to be in place from 4.30 to 8.30 pm on weekdays.

The contraflow was from KM 19.2 after Canopy A of the Petaling Jaya toll plaza to KM 22, from Bandar Sunway towards Putrajaya/Shah Alam. The contraflow lane merged back into the main flow where Binary College and Petron is. Only for those heading towards Puchong, users entered the two rightmost lanes at the toll plaza – see the map above. It’s likely that the plan caused too much congestion on the other side, from Puchong to Sunway.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Siang Kit Lim on Jul 24, 2023 at 11:14 am

Just built another highway. Problem solve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Jul 24, 2023 at 12:08 pm

U cannot contra-flow w/o taking care the traffic below the bridge that leading to Bukit Jalil and OKR/Taman Kinrara…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • During the construction phase, rogue contractors may close lanes on existing roads causing even More jams. And they close lanes for many years. not just a day or two.

• Ben Yap on Jul 24, 2023 at 11:19 am

for 2 days motorists arrived at their workplace late for nothing when the entire project has been discontinued.

• seancorr on Jul 24, 2023 at 12:07 pm

Good riddance, the jam was so bad when they implement this crap

• Susukotak on Jul 24, 2023 at 1:19 pm

Takde ke simulation.program yang boleh guna sebelum.buat?

• Simulate this... on Jul 24, 2023 at 4:35 pm

Actually good question…now with all the AI tech.
      Tak kan, tak blh guna run some simulation without inconveniencing the ppl on th road. Dah la jam…dah la stress sebab jam. Lagi nak tambah jam…tambah stress.

• HueHue on Jul 25, 2023 at 11:04 am

I can tell you most traffic simulator out there are basically useless as they do not account for motorists stupidity and human attitude, low level simulator like Cities Skylines paints a more accurate picture of the simulation.

• Rocky bai on Jul 24, 2023 at 4:41 pm

Disable the toll Sunway FROM puchong and charge 4.20 toll from sunway TO Puchong. If penang bridge can why not you LITRAK. We are Puchong people are burden with this shit

• Close the Toll everything back to normal

• Just close all the toll gate lah everything back to normal