Chery Malaysia celebrates first CKD Omoda 5 and Tiggo 8 Pro handover milestone at Inokom Kulim

Chery Malaysia recently celebrated the milestone of the handing over of the first CKD locally assembled cars. Not to customers, yet, but from assembler Inokom in Kulim to Chery Malaysia. The two models are of course the Omoda 5 and Tiggo 8 Pro SUVs, the returning brand’s launch models.

The handover ceremony, which comes after the first batch of PDI, saw Sui Keng Huat, MD of Inokom Corporation, passing over mock keys to Xu Jing Zhong, plant operation director of Chery Malaysia.

“This remarkable achievement underscores our commitment to localised CKD manufacturing and our dedication to providing the best driving experience to our customers and it marks the beginning of a new era in our automotive journey,” the company said.

“As we move forward, Chery Malaysia is committed to further enhancing our CKD manufacturing capabilities, investing in cutting-edge technology, and more collaborations with local suppliers to support the automotive ecosystem in Malaysia. This endeavour not only strengthens our position as a leader in the automotive industry but also contributes to the economic development of the region,” Chery said in a statement.

Things are going great for the Wuhu-based carmarker globally. In the first half of 2023, Chery as a group sold 741,400 vehicles, which is a year-on-year increase of 56%. It’s a half-year record for the company, and sales have breached the 100k mark for 13 consecutive months. As for the namesake Chery brand, 1H 2023 sales was 539,400, a year-on-year increase of 50.9%.

We’ve covered Chery’s comeback extensively, from an exclusive in December 2021 that broke the news of the company’s re-entry to Malaysia, to the official launch event on July 6. Between those, there was a preview session in October 2022 and we also showed you some interesting models from Chery’s domestic market. Click on the links to follow the journey.

Full details on the Omoda 5 and the three-row D-segment Tiggo 8 Pro SUV here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• MASAMI on Aug 30, 2023 at 12:59 pm

Congrats to Inokom and Chery. Chery is currently oe of the top selling new ICE vehicle in 2023. Selling like hot cakes. Well done. You get much more than any european cars for proton price. Amazing. Chery is killing all their ICE competitors

• Nonsense. They are not even in top 10 in China. SEA region basically a dumping ground.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
      • MASAMI on Aug 30, 2023 at 3:50 pm

I said ICE cars not EV. Go see their sales figure in Australia, UK, Indonesia and Malaysia since its launch.Selling like hot cakes. Customers know their stuff and will pay what gives them most value for their money. Go see all the youtube review

• ijat is katak di bawah on Aug 31, 2023 at 11:17 am

ijat go see for your self . chery omoda and tiggo offer amazing features at bargain prices.

• Koni Chee Wah on Aug 30, 2023 at 8:39 pm

Like that also got celebrate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • tq china, byebye japs on Aug 31, 2023 at 11:14 am

hopefully can wipe out the japanese who gave been sucking our blood (fuliguratuvely) for decades ever since ww2 (literally)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • Thank you sanusi! Great work from you and Badrul Bakhtiar. Not forgetting Azmin too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
  • Just test-drove Tiggo8 yesterday. Wow for those things that you can see with your eyes. BUT not the handling. I tested it on garden roads, not flat and smooth surface like highways. The moment I accelerated, I had no confidence to go further. The steering is light, I felt that it would be out of control. Even it has the power but it only suitable for gentle driving, not ideal for those that may want to drive aggressively some of the time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • Suv lover on Sep 03, 2023 at 12:40 pm

I agree with you, even though the specs are good, but the handling with light steering wheel make me afraid to maneuver aggressively

• Kony Chee Wah on Sep 01, 2023 at 11:27 am

Who cares

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6