2023 Chery Omoda 5 launched in Malaysia – 1.5T CVT B-SUV HR-V rival, C and H variants, from RM109k

At long last, Chery’s return is official. Moments ago, Chery Malaysia officially launched the Omoda 5 and Tiggo 8 Pro SUVs as the first models in a new era of the brand in Malaysia. TLDR: the Omoda 5 comes in two variants – the C is priced at RM108,800 while the top H is yours for RM118,800. You should read on though, as it’s a unique entrant from a returning brand.

It has been a long gestation – our exclusive in December 2021 broke the news of Chery’s re-entry into our market, and the Chinese carmaker’s first official event here happened in October 2022. Since then, we’ve brought you previews of what’s coming next from the company’s base in Wuhu, as well as first look posts of the local spec Omoda 5 and Tiggo 8 Pro. All of that culminates in tonight’s ‘grand launch event’.

In case you’re wondering about the ‘return’ part, or aren’t old enough to remember, Chery was brought in by Tan Sri Cam Soh Thiam Hong’s Alado in the noughties and we had models like the QQ minicar, Tiggo SUV and Eastar MPV in the ‘Chery Alado’ era. We even had a world debut of a Chery here in 2015!

No local partner this time around, as Chery has decided to do things its own way in a market that’s very difficult to penetrate. Even the mighty BYD has the backing of major player Sime Darby. Also, there will be 31 dealerships at launch, with more opening by the end of 2023. That’s a staggering number that’s probably unprecedented in the Malaysian auto market, based on our memory.

Another sign of bravery is the fact that the Omoda 5 and Tiggo 8 Pro are launching in CKD form, with no initial small CBU batch to ‘test the waters’ but local assembly at Inokom in Kulim right from the start. This is no small undertaking, as even Proton – with its huge plant, established vendor network and national car status – kickstarted sales of Geely SUVs with CBUs.

A bold approach indeed, which leads nicely into the Omoda 5 you see here. This is a B-segment SUV with expressive design that’s love or hate. Whether you like that wide studded nose or not, it’s attention grabbing, and that’s surely a good thing for a new brand.

The rest of the SUV’s body should be less divisive. It’s a sculpted shape with blacked out rear pillars and a full-width strip for the tail, with Chery spelled out in letters. Very current. Face aside, I see a bit of Lexus in the Omoda 5, which is no bad thing. What do you think?

Size wise, the Omoda 5 is 4,400 mm long and 1,830 mm wide, which is 70 mm longer and 40 mm wider than a Honda HR-V. Sitting on 18-inch wheels, the swoopy body stands at 1,588 mm, which is just two mm shy of the benchmark Honda. The Chery’s 2,630 mm wheelbase is 20 mm longer than the HR-V’s. It just occurred to me that the Omoda 5’s highly-sculpted shape and loud details is a polar opposite to the latest HR-V’s straight lines and clean design. Which is more you?

The Omoda 5’s dashboard is similarly on-trend, sporting co-joined screens pioneered by Mercedes-Benz and a high centre console. Although it looks nicely minimalist, you don’t have to dive into the touchscreen for vital controls such as AC functions, which are stealthily embedded in the trim – a nice touch.

Pop the hood (struts, by the way) and you’ll find a 1.5 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine with 156 hp (115 kW) and 230 Nm of torque, hence the 230T badge. Drive goes to the front wheels via a CVT with nine virtual ratios. To counter negative perceptions of Chinese products or reliability concerns, Chery Malaysia is offering a 10-year/1-million km warranty.

Output wise, where does Chery’s in-house 1.5T stand? The HR-V’s 1.5L VTEC Turbo four-pot makes 181 PS (178 hp) and 240 Nm, while the X50’s 1.5L turbocharged three-cylinder generates 177 PS (174 hp) and 255 Nm in TGDi form (Flagship variant) or 150 PS (148 hp) and 226 Nm in PFI guise. The HR-V uses a CVT while the X50 goes the DCT route. By the way, in China, there’s an Omoda 5 variant with a 194 hp/290 Nm 1.6T with a seven-speed DCT.

We come to specs, and the Omoda 5 is well-kitted even in the lower of two trim levels, which is called C. The two 10.25-inch dashboard screens are standard, and the infotainment comes with wireless Apple CarPlay/Android Auto too. There’s also wireless charging and your phone rests on an angle for easy viewing. Ambient lighting, dual-zone air con with PM 2.5 filter, reverse camera, auto dimming rear view mirror, heated wing mirrors and proximity sensor keyless entry are also included. And how about double-glazed windows to boost NVH performance?

Go for the top spec H and Chery adds on full faux leather upholstery (fabric combo in C), a sunroof (manual sunshade) and an eight-speaker Sony sound system (unbranded six speakers in C). The H also gets powered and ventilated front seats (manual in C) and a powered tailgate. There’s also a 360-degree camera system to aid parking.

From the outside, the C and H are separated by the high-spec car’s red highlights on the front lower grille, side mirrors, lower doors and rear spoiler too. It’s rare for a colour trim pack to also include the wheels, but Chery has done so for the Omoda 5 H. The headlamps, tail lamps and DRLs are LEDs across the board, but the H gains sequential signals and a front/rear light show upon start up.

Safety wise, the full ADAS driver assist pack is standard for both, and it includes lane departure warning and prevention, blind spot detection, emergency lane keeping, rear cross traffic alert, adaptive cruise control with low speed follow, front collision warning and AEB, and auto high beam. There’s also hillstart assist, hill descent control and tyre pressure monitoring.

Click to enlarge brochure

Colour options are safe – you can only choose from Khaki White, Phantom Grey and Dark Black. As mentioned, H models get red highlights. If you go with the white H, there’s an option of a black roof for RM2,000 extra. Once again, the Omoda 5 starts from RM108,800 for the C and the H you see here goes for RM118,800. The Khaki White + black roof option is RM120,800. For reference, the Proton X50 Flagship retails for RM113,300) and the HR-V Turbo V goes for RM135,900.

Chery Malaysia also unveiled its warranty package tonight, and it’s seven years or 150,000 km for the vehicle, plus five years of free service (alternating, free labour). The engine warranty is a whopping 10 years or one million km. But the catch is that the headline-grabbing engine warranty is for the first 3,000 customers. After that it reverts to seven years/150,000 km, joining the rest of the vehicle. But if you really want the 10y/1m package, top up RM2,000 for an extended warranty package.

So, what do you think of this Chery’s looks and price/package? A battery-powered EV version is coming soon.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Can say bye bye to HRV

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 10
    • Cindaku on Jul 07, 2023 at 7:27 am

This one is real ah beng from ah beng land

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 106
      • Check your eyes. HRV looks uglier and outdated than Chery.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 7
        • Brain surgeon on Jul 08, 2023 at 8:22 pm

Confirmed ah beng since you find clean design looks outdated. Nothing to do with eyes lah, beng. It’s how your brain interpret design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 35
        • Outalingam Crap on Jul 10, 2023 at 9:24 am

U get my sapot here….Hi5!

• I love all cars. Those previous pricing that jakes up the prices including honda, are under moodin government and Tun since sheraton move that pressuring business close down due to lockdown that will also affect currency, inflation and OPR rate

Btw, Anwar and co, have done great job by making affordable price for everyone, same when launching new Innova and new CX30. Hope government will cancel AP, enough of Tun policy, time to bring car prices cheaper and bring proper specs including honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 17
        • The only problem for honda is poor quality and poor aftersales which is not better than rivals…so how to buy honda in future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • Corolla Cross but not the same segment as HRV and Omada 5, both Corolla Cross and HRV come with BSM, RCTA, 360 camera, clear proper camera lens for reverse camera and 360 camera, proper neat design and reliable than HRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
      • cbkia on Nov 04, 2023 at 9:24 am

U should test drive Omoda 5 and comeback edit the comment again regarding the 360 camera and others feature

• Corolla Cross but not the same segment as HRV and Omada 5, both Corolla Cross and Omada 5 come with BSM, RCTA, 360 camera, clear proper camera lens for reverse camera and 360 camera, proper neat design and reliable than HRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • HRV quality also not so good. Aftersales Honda also not good. Can’t beat Chery

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • seancorr on Jul 06, 2023 at 9:53 pm

Better check what’s included in the 10 year warranty before you sign the dotted line. Chery is pretty confident they will excel but we’ll let the test of time be the judge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
    • Jasonx on Jul 07, 2023 at 8:59 am

With proton as baseline… Unlikely to be worse

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Autodriver on Jul 08, 2023 at 1:38 pm

In the past Chinese brands have many problems but they improved over the time. Nowadays Chinese car technology is matured and reliability getting better. ICE is just a stepping stone and EV is the ultimate of these Chinese brands go abroad.

• Autobahn on Sep 02, 2023 at 7:36 am

There lies the problem. Chinese car history of reliability/technology/problems vs other established japanese brands like honda with motorsport heritage. Some people buys aspirational brand

• 4 pots timing chain on Jul 06, 2023 at 10:08 pm

Compative price but weird look front grill

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 41
  • Syiok, cukup menarik, harga dengan quality yang bagus!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
    • u sure quality bagus? ckp mcm pernah pakai . ni kereta baru keluar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • Dodo, dgn harga & ciri2 yg ditawarkan sememangnya value for money. For quality part, google ade brother, rajin2 la ye mmbce.

Kalo anda jenis penyembah brand mmg x blh nk ckp ape da.

P/s : kalo rse yg buat kat melaka tu berkualiti, anda mmg tergolong golongan yg ‘bijak2 belaka’

• Made In China on Jul 06, 2023 at 10:16 pm

Better than x50. Just take my money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 15
  • The one who are still hoping prices for this car is gonna be expensive, is mainly from crying and poor knowledge PN cybertroopers. See how much PHBN government have done to us compare to the rule under PN rule where PN sells expensive and hurting for all car brands but protecting Mercedes policy. At least PHBN government have save all businesses.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 183 Thumb down 56
    • True. Only PN fanboys have no brains and don’t care what you said

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 27
  • Ploton on Jul 06, 2023 at 10:31 pm

X50 national car status no use for the marhaen. Proton took advantage to sell it higher. Now already suam many ready stock.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • Jasonx on Jul 07, 2023 at 9:02 am

Ya… What’s a 5k difference for a 110k car… The cherry looks very well kitted for both specs, no obvious missing kit. O5 vs X50… Bring on the rest too!

• Benni on Jul 06, 2023 at 11:45 pm

Need more of these on the road. Bored with the many Japanese makes. Poor uncle, aunty, lalamui, and Ah Beng buy Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 36
    • Holder on Jul 07, 2023 at 8:33 am

Also faster and can tahan longer than Mercedes GLA. Mercedes is mainly for uncle, aunty, ah beng and ah pek. Toyota not so, japanese makes also no but yea boring than chery but at least not as boring as merc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • Mathews George on Sep 10, 2023 at 9:44 pm

Snob-appeal German junks… Mercedes and the rest of the crap!

• Actually, how are chinese cars sold so affordably? Or are Japanese (locally assembled) cars priced too high? Or has anyone had experiences with cn brands?

• Not all chinese cars brother a.k.a P1…

• Sam Foo on Jul 07, 2023 at 4:35 pm

Chinese maker cars pricing much affordable mainly due to direct trade via MYR-RMB, meanwhile rising sun car makers stuck with trading only via overvalued USD instead of using own weaker yen.

• Autodriver on Jul 17, 2023 at 9:27 am

China cars can sell cheap because economic of scale. They have ultra large capacity on production to bring down the cost of production and this will benefit to consumer buying China product in low price. Previously made in China is generally low quality but nowadays their quality is on par with Japanese or German. For EV car China car even outrun the duo in term of tech and quality.

• enlighten me on Jul 18, 2023 at 9:43 am

and also the supply chain, labour cost effectiveness many more

• Very good warranty coverage, and bold CKD from the get-go! I hope they find success in the market which is currently over saturated with the usual players.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • dellen on Jul 07, 2023 at 7:46 am

ckd from the start is not quite the bold move it seems to be more more of necessary so that noneed franchise AP, its also the reason why all volvos are ckd. so that no leeching ap partner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • ThePolygon on Jul 07, 2023 at 8:04 am

Makes the rest of the competition’s dashboard looks like retro.

• Bob Mal on Jul 07, 2023 at 8:29 am

So x50 with Volvo Tech. still wins in fuel consumption despite being port injection turbo which manages 6.5L/100km compared to this 6.9L/100km

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • Which part of Volvo tech?

• Uncle bob on Jul 07, 2023 at 11:42 am

You don’t own an x50 do you? 6.5L is only managed to get if u drive 100% on highway below 100kmh only.

• Holder on Jul 07, 2023 at 8:34 am

Faster and can tahan longer than GLA. Only uncles, aunties, ah pek and ah beng will buy expensive GLA with overpriced maintenance and poor quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Sohai on Jul 07, 2023 at 9:33 am

Habis lah X50 and HRV…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Levin on Jul 07, 2023 at 10:17 am

Honestly, this is ugly car. It tried too hard to be a Lexus but failed pathetically. Seeing the car personally will make you feel that you’re paying 100k for a car that’s built using cheap materials and copy/paste design. Besides that, don’t forget the older Chery models (Eastar & Tiggo) that were sold here in the past, had many problems and lousy service quality. Let’s not even talk about resale value here. You don’t see them on the road anymore…
    Think twice before investing on this 100k car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 49
    • Aikon on Jul 07, 2023 at 3:48 pm

You’re living in the past. It is just that, the past. The brand has moved on and so should you. Do watch the video and listen to what is said about the quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Levin on Jul 10, 2023 at 11:54 am

Buying Chery cars will take you back to past, perhaps you should go and see it for yourself and then talk, don’t blindly follow the videos or reviews. It’s a 100k car but 50k quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
  • pomen on Jul 07, 2023 at 10:46 am

yeah you can buy Chery cars but be prepare for the aftersales support….good luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • KYOHEI on Jul 07, 2023 at 1:27 pm

10 years engine warranty brader. Apa takut. Which company dare give you that?? If you know a little bit about cars and the latest trends, you will know Cherry is far ahead from when the started with the QQ. In terms of tech and build quality, they are better than Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 32
      • Really better than Toyota for tech and built quality? Yes I agree with tech that Chery is better than Toyota but somehow not really. Toyota technology and safety features are improving now. Fuel consumption for Chery needs to improve and still can’t beat Toyota. Reliability and built quality for Toyota is same level as Chery and Mazda, even Chery have beat Toyota and Mazda in terms of warranty except toyota hybrid warranty that have same year level as Chery

• This is the most honest auto company. They are declaring the car is using FAUX LEATHER in the brochure. Others should follow Chery.
    Btw which other car are using faux leather?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • All I want for Christmas on Jul 07, 2023 at 10:59 am

Take my money! Please!!!

OK, the nose looks abit too loud now but as with all things, the eyes will get used to it with time. Just like the current Honda Civic, with the exception of a certain electrified feline.

• Haidi on Jul 07, 2023 at 11:18 am

Can’t deny, the price is enticing. Foresee Chery will have a good start in Malaysia (this time).

• I still can see mint example of 1st gen Tiggo driven around in Kota Baru. So my guess is 1m km warranty is achievable!

• youngun on Jul 07, 2023 at 11:57 am

Handsome car, interior feature fully loaded… how’s the soundproof like?

• pls no protek on Jul 07, 2023 at 2:12 pm

byebye H & P

• TempeKeras on Jul 07, 2023 at 2:21 pm

Chevy Tofu

• Dontlikeomoda5Grill on Jul 08, 2023 at 10:37 am

Kesian HRV, no one will buy

• Autodriver on Jul 08, 2023 at 1:45 pm

This Omoda 5 is really giving tough challenge to X50. Proper 4-pot engine and full ADAS selling about 119k. This Omoda 5 includes the Android Auto and Carplay which X50 missed.

• Alvinstensen Kwok YS on Jul 08, 2023 at 3:38 pm

Got news from insider say they planning stocking 10 year spare part but I already liking this car got lucky red assent sure my future so bright.

• Outalingam Crap on Jul 10, 2023 at 9:23 am

I’ll keep this straight – FOUR cylinders for the overall win…..full stop

• AH LONG FATT on Jul 10, 2023 at 4:05 pm

i booked both car last week with 10% deposits.
    TIGGO 8 PRO x1
    OMODA 5 x1

im going to sell all my proton & BMW cars YEARS 2009-2017
    CHERY spare parts 15% cheaper than proton and 35% cheaper than BMW.

the only proton car i dont sell is PREVE , since it has LOTUS handling and engine + system also by LOTUS.

CHERY GOING TO OVERTAKE THE ASIAN MARKETS FROM NOW ON AND LASTED FOR 500 YEARS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • Johnny on Jul 12, 2023 at 6:14 pm

Being honest, Cherry past is not good BUT does this really Cherry China matter or local distributor issues?

In China and other part of world, this brand name is uprising… It is a YES for me this time

Looking forward for this brand in upcoming 2-3 years market.. we need not compare with existing strong brand in Malaysia

• To all sakaians…read china chinese news and chinese current ev problems in CHINA. MADE IN CHINA. UNDERSTAND???? READ.

• big no no bcos of the hopeless Cvt(for sissy only hahaha)

• Devindran on Sep 22, 2023 at 7:57 pm

How about the maintenance cost?

• MachineEnthusiast on Dec 30, 2023 at 12:50 pm

A glimse of the future of Automotives.. .. For petrolheads and brands worshipper, this certainly fell short regardless. So, which market is this aimed for? College kids and grads, those wannabe bengs and lalamui who thinks x50 are boring, those uncles aunties whose kids left home but felt x50 is one cylinder short, and those car rentals companies becoz Cherry offers competitive warranty…. Nice job, Chery…. Its not just about brands history and spec sheet nowadays going forward…. Younger generations dun give shit about museums and history and technical data