Chery Omoda 5 EV specs revealed – 61 kWh batt, 450 km range, electric SUV coming to Malaysia end-2023

Last week, we showed you the Omoda 5 EV that took centrestage at Chery’s Auto Shanghai 2023 booth. We even told you that the full electric version of the Omoda 5 SUV will be coming to Malaysia by the end of this year. However, details were scant.

Well, we now have some info about the Omoda 5 EV after attending the Omoda and Jaecoo brand event at Chery’s headquarters in Wuhu. O&J are sub-brands of the Chery Group, deployed in markets where Chery is already present in the mainstream space. Omoda is aimed at youth, while the new Jaecoo sub-brand caters to more sophisticated types. We’ll be getting the Omoda 5 with Chery logos, but some markets get Omoda badges instead.

We now know that the Omoda 5 EV has a 61 kWh battery powering a 221 hp (165 kW) motor. The 0-100 km/h sprint is done in 7.8 seconds, and Chery claims power efficiency of 15 kWh per 100 km. As for DC fast charging, Chery quotes 35 minutes to get from 0-80% SOC. Claimed range is 450 km per full charge, but note that Chinese carmakers usually use the domestic CLTC, which typically gives bigger numbers than NEDC, never mind the more real-world WLTP.

These figures roughly match a survey that Chery Malaysia released in July 2022, which mentioned points such as an output of 150 kW (204 PS) and 400 Nm, a 64 kWh battery and a WLTP-rated range of 450 km. Also mentioned were DC fast charging from 0-80% SOC in 40 minutes and AC charging of five hours.

The Omoda 5 EV is adapted from the ICE-powered B-segment SUV, and the battery sits on the floorpan. Compared to the ICE Omoda 5, the EV has a very different face. Gone is the bold and elaborate patterned grille, and in comes a cleaner, more conventional nose that’s blocked off, as cooling is not required. Omoda is spelled prominently on the nose. There are also aero wheels rendered in two-tone.

Inside, the Shanghai show car has a very interesting colour scheme with blue as the main hue, contrasted by yellow stitching and pale wood trim – very refreshing. The steering boss has an Omoda logo, and the modern dashboard’s co-joined screens and angled phone slots remain. The ICE car’s gear lever has been deleted.

According to Chery Malaysia, the Omoda 5 EV is coming, with an introduction at the end of 2023 likely. The electric SUV will enter our market as a CBU China import, taking advantage of Malaysia’s duty-free incentives for imported EVs. This is opposed to the local assembly route for the internal combustion engined Omoda 5, which will be launching very soon in CKD form.

As for rivals, we can immediately think of the Ora Good Cat and the BYD Atto 3. The round eyed one with the feline name is priced from RM139,800 for the 47.8 kWh Pro (400 km NEDC) to RM169,800 for the 63.1 kWh Ultra (500 km NEDC). Meanwhile, the BYD Atto 3 is priced from RM149,800 for the 49.92 kWh Standard Range (410 km NEDC) to RM167,800 for the 60.48 kWh Extended Range (480 km NEDC).

What do you think of the Omoda 5 EV’s looks, as it is, and when compared to the bold nose of the ICE version? Tech specs aside, EVs are bought for their looks/image, and the Omoda 5 EV looks pretty cool, definitely more funky than the neat Atto 3. As for the Ora, with such an overtly cute design, GWM might have placed itself in a corner that is skewed towards female drivers. Which would be your pick?

GALLERY: Chery Omoda 5 EV at Auto Shanghai 2023

GALLERY: Chery Omoda 5 1.5T in Malaysia

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Why we need 400-500km ev if we can buy cheaper hybrid with 1000km range?

• Balik kampung & Proven on Apr 26, 2023 at 8:49 am

Petrol so cheap. Frugal efficient ride, better buy Perodua cars. easily 30km/l

• Dukong on Apr 25, 2023 at 8:59 pm

Interior – better than the quirky Atto3 battery car.
    Exterior – looks donkey compared to Omoda5 1.5T.

• tailinngong on Apr 25, 2023 at 10:05 pm

aiya…this type of ev currently cater for the rich only la ….it’s just a toy for the rich to play and they got nothing to lose…for normal joe …susah la unless can get ev with price 40-50k …and the hassle of charging, maintenance , depreciation, etc are unimaginable…

• anonymous on Apr 26, 2023 at 10:04 am

as long as proton and perodua exists, a 40-50k ev will never be in the books for malaysians i fear. just look at how expensive the new axia is.

• Yep high car prices in malaysia all start from perodua and proton , if not maybe we can get the actual pricing of car like uk and us

• I agree with you, but also think that rich seldom buy B-segment cars like this. They will go for minimum C-segment or equivalent compact executive segment.

• kckfen on Apr 26, 2023 at 8:41 am

I think as this stage, better to introduce more small size city EV car rather than those expensive EV. No need big battery, just enough to be charge at home using home solar panel. Good enough to travel to send kids to school do normal shopping. Then go home charge. Long distant use Hybrid car.

• jerry on Apr 26, 2023 at 10:14 am

small size city battery car?
      as long as not worse than 3 start crash test.

• karpal sinking on Apr 26, 2023 at 11:33 am

when perodua gonna released kancil EV? I have been waiting for almost 20 years!!

• Urus-an yg baik oleh Chery

• Alistair Mc Chee on Apr 26, 2023 at 11:49 am

Chery on my cake le, I like the name already but why Omoda sound Japan ah? Why not choose mainland name like 蛋糕 Tangao

• Catered solely for niche market on Apr 26, 2023 at 2:04 pm

Early adopter of EV Tech, descerning buyers

Very soon become Hangat Hangat Tahi Ayam