2023 Chery Tiggo 8 Pro walk-around video – 7-seater SUV, 250 hp 2.0T, RM165k, better than Proton X90?

We’ve had a few looks at the 2023 Chery Tiggo 8 Pro now, and it still looks really good, both inside and out. We first brought you live coverage from Wuhu, Chery’s hometown, before covering the SUV’s local debut at last month’s Malaysia Autoshow. We then brought you our usual 360-degree full gallery where the Chery’s deep green paint gleamed under the sun.

UPDATE: The Chery Tiggo 8 Pro has been launched in Malaysia, priced at RM160k.

Now, here’s a full walk-around video, where Hafriz Shah takes you on a tour of the Tiggo 8 Pro. Count him impressed. “It has an amazing blend of looks, quality, performance, and most of all, sheer value,” our man said, adding that the Chery “really does look and feel like a proper premium product both outside and inside”. Much more so than the Proton X90 and Honda CR-V, in fact.

The Tiggo 8 Pro you see here is a CBU import in right-hand drive form, as per the CKD locally assembled final version that customers will be getting. By the way, we’re getting the latest improved version of the SUV, which is badged Tiggo 8 Pro Max in China, although the ‘Max’ suffix is dropped for Malaysia to simplify things – it’s the only Tiggo 8 we’re going to get anyway.

Chery Tiggo 8 Pro

This is essentially the same car as the one we showed you from Wuhu, Chery’s hometown, in April, but in RHD form. Under the hood is a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine with 250 hp and 390 Nm of torque. Power from the GDI engine goes to the front wheels via a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission, and there are three drive modes – Eco, Normal and Sport.

By the way, today’s Tiggo 8 Pro differs from the one that was previewed in Malaysia last year. The SUV gets an updated look that features a new “galaxy” grille and the rear end sports a full-width LED bar and fancy T-shaped third brake lights. The wheels are now 19-inch items, an inch up, wrapped with 235/50R19 tyres. We have some night shots for you to see the LED signatures, and the illuminated logo.

It’s nicer outside now, but it’s inside that the Tiggo 8 Pro Max shines. The big SUV gets a contemporary and horizontal dash design featuring must-haves such as co-joined screens (24.6 inches in total, Chery says), inline AC vents and a high centre console. It’s all much neater now, and there are places where you’ll find Mercedes-esque details – think switches, open-pore wood trim and Burmester-styled speaker grilles.

Chery Tiggo 8 Pro

The steering wheel is also new, with Chery spelled out instead of the logo. Speaking of logos, there are Tiggo emblems on the side of the central screen and the rear AC vent area. Kit wise, the airbag count maxes out at nine now, and there are a total of eight Sony speakers.

As for the rest of the kit, the list includes an electronic parking brake with auto hold, automatic LED headlamps with LED daytime running lights, LED tail lamps, welcome lights and multi-colour ambient lighting, electric front seats with ventilation/heating, driver’s seat memory, dual-zone auto air con with rear vents, powered tailgate, electronic panoramic sunroof, wireless phone charger and Apple CarPlay/Android Auto compatibility. Sharp graphics, as you’ll see in the gallery below.

That very long list of kit is bolstered by a full ADAS suite that includes functions such as lane departure warning/keeping, blind spot detection, door open warning, rear cross traffic alert, adaptive cruise control, and front collision warning and auto braking (AEB). By the way, the camera system isn’t advertised as 360 degrees but 540. Before you scratch your head, the extra degrees are contributed by the underfloor camera.

So, the Tiggo 8 Pro looks properly premium (it was Chery’s flagship SUV until the recent debut of the Tiggo 9) and has a very long equipment list. The remaining big questions are when and how much?

You’d have heard by now that this is one of two SUVs that will spearhead Chery’s comeback in Malaysia (the other is the Omoda 5) and the official launch will be held late this month or early July. As for the price, expect a sticker of around RM165k, with the final RRP to be announced at the official launch.

The Proton X90 – also a three-row SUV designed in China – tops out at RM152,800 for the Flagship, but it’s powered by a 1.5T mild hybrid system with 177 PS/255 Nm. The Chery’s 2.0T outguns it with 250 hp/390 Nm. We’re not talking about a few horses here and a couple of Nms there.

2023 Chery Tiggo 8 Pro walk-around video – 7-seater SUV, 250 hp 2.0T, RM165k, better than Proton X90?

Dimensions: Chery Tiggo 8 Pro vs Proton X90

If you’re wondering how both SUVs compare in size, the Tiggo 8 Pro is 4,722 mm long and 1,860 mm wide, which is 108 mm shorter and 40 mm narrower than the X90. The Chery’s 2,710 mm wheelbase is 95 mm shorter than the Proton’s – see the table above. As for the Tiggo’s boot space, it’s 193 litres with all three rows of seats in place, or 892 litres with the third row folded. Max volume is 2,101 litres with all seats down.

So, what do you think of the Tiggo 8 Pro in isolation, and versus the Proton X90? While you’re at it, check out the Mazda CX-8 and next-gen Honda CR-V; the latter has grown in size and is available elsewhere with an optional third row. Already on the market in Thailand, the sixth-generation household name should be on its way here.

GALLERY: 2023 Chery Tiggo 8 Pro in Malaysia

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• John Gagal on Jun 14, 2023 at 1:19 pm

Chery Tiggo 8 Pro
    – better rear butt design, number plate on top bonnet, very nice
    – overall looks fluid, modern and futuristic

Proton X90
    – fugly butt design, number plate on bottom like infected by Savvy virus
    – overall looks boring dull boxy from the 80s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • ah beng turbo on Jun 14, 2023 at 2:23 pm

1 is BMW X7 competitor,
      1 is Exora’s sister.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • YB Albert on Jun 14, 2023 at 4:39 pm

IF u analyse the massive launch failure of the X90,with only 259 units sold…this Tiggo might cannabalise some X90 sales,but overall consumers r hesitant due to T20 being denied fuel subsidies soon.
      Fuel consumption of these massive suvs ..have become a sticky debatable issue now.
      If u can qualify for HP loan for 160 grand suv..definitely u wont be given fuel subsidy.
      Can u imagine the 400 odd dealers of P1 ,averaging less than 1 unit of X90 sold last month.This is unheard off,for X50 n X70 launch sales which can hit 4 figures easily.
      The Madani economy is slowing down,folks.
      People r extra cautious buying big items like cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • There is 1 more reason now why not to buy the X90. That is the Chery Tiggo 8 Pro!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Rakyat on Jun 14, 2023 at 2:47 pm

Who really needs apple or google when the have better system?

• Mr Fakta on Jun 14, 2023 at 2:02 pm

Since both X90 and Tiggo are China car, one reason to buy Chery Tiggo 8 Pro, it has Apple CarPlay! Proton can give full HD 8K 43 inch screen but useless without Google Map or Waze.

• X90? Do not compare with this ugly X90

• Hamilton Tsng on Jun 14, 2023 at 2:26 pm

Wa I like this sound like Tiguan I think I take one.

• Muhammad Hafiizh on Jun 14, 2023 at 2:45 pm

see a lot of this in the Middle East, should be reliable enough

• MASAMI on Jun 16, 2023 at 9:16 am

If middle east use then sure power especially if the Taliban use it the confirm good car. I trust the Taliban 100%. They use camel also can defeat the evil U S and NATO trrops. Respect the good Taliban

• Yes. Respect them. If you want to help their cause, We have their wallet address.

• Rakyat on Jun 14, 2023 at 2:46 pm

How much the price? If cheap can consider. But if same price as proton then I think Geely based cars are a safer bet. After all Geely owns Volvo, Lotus, Proton, Mercedes dan banyak lagi.Much more reputable. But if Cherry is much cheaper than I believe many people will dare take the risk. I think many people know Cherry is quite a good and reliable brand today. Started off bad with the QQ but those days were long gone especially in the China market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • The 2.0T 4-cylinders engine alone already worth rm165k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • munkay on Jun 14, 2023 at 6:00 pm

You’re probably the only guy here who understands this. Surprised that this comment has so few likes.

• Karam Singh on Jun 14, 2023 at 3:20 pm

every car journalist : this car is good (we have to too)

• Bing Bong on Jun 18, 2023 at 9:50 am

Car journalist must be a good licker,then only they get sponsorships and advertisement. Else they will be out of business.

• hazri on Jun 15, 2023 at 11:01 pm

for those who don’t want to buy chinese car can consider proton x90. (sarcasm)

• Madani on Jun 17, 2023 at 10:03 pm

Pay about same money but one get proper & powerful 2.0T four cylinders engine another get 1.5T shaky & stressful three cylinders engine. Enough Said.