2023 Chery Tiggo 8 Pro – a detailed look at the 3-row SUV, 2.0T with 250 hp/390 Nm, launching June/July

Chery Tiggo 8 Pro

We detailed the Chery Tiggo 8 Pro when it made its local debut at last month’s Malaysia Autoshow 2023, and if you thought the big SUV looked good there, you’ll want to stop and stare at this gallery. Cars usually look better outdoors, and so it is with Chery’s three-row, seven-seater SUV. Handsome, isn’t it?

UPDATE: The Chery Tiggo 8 Pro has been launched in Malaysia, priced at RM160k.

The Tiggo 8 Pro you see here is a CBU import in right-hand drive form, as per the CKD locally assembled final version that customers will be getting. By the way, we’re getting the latest improved version of the SUV, which is badged Tiggo 8 Pro Max in China, although the ‘Max’ suffix is dropped for Malaysia to simplify things – it’s the only Tiggo 8 we’re going to get anyway.

This is essentially the same car as the one we showed you from Wuhu, Chery’s hometown, in April, but in RHD form. Under the hood is a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine with 250 hp and 390 Nm of torque. Power from the GDI engine goes to the front wheels via a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission, and there are three drive modes – Eco, Normal and Sport.

Chery Tiggo 8 Pro

By the way, today’s Tiggo 8 Pro differs from the one that was previewed in Malaysia last year. The SUV gets an updated look that features a new “galaxy” grille and the rear end sports a full-width LED bar and fancy T-shaped third brake lights. The wheels are now 19-inch items, an inch up, wrapped with 235/50R19 tyres. We have some night shots for you to see the LED signatures, and the illuminated logo.

It’s nicer outside now, but it’s inside that the Tiggo 8 Pro Max shines. The big SUV gets a contemporary and horizontal dash design featuring must-haves such as co-joined screens (24.6 inches in total, Chery says), inline AC vents and a high centre console. It’s all much neater now, and there are places where you’ll find Mercedes-esque details – think switches, open-pore wood trim and Burmester-styled speaker grilles.

The steering wheel is also new, with Chery spelled out instead of the logo. Speaking of logos, there are Tiggo emblems on the side of the central screen and the rear AC vent area. Kit wise, the airbag count maxes out at nine now, and there are a total of eight Sony speakers.

Chery Tiggo 8 Pro

As for the rest of the kit, the list includes an electronic parking brake with auto hold, automatic LED headlamps with LED daytime running lights, LED tail lamps, welcome lights and multi-colour ambient lighting, electric front seats with ventilation/heating, driver’s seat memory, dual-zone auto air con with rear vents, powered tailgate, electronic panoramic sunroof, wireless phone charger and Apple CarPlay/Android Auto compatibility. Sharp graphics, as you’ll see in the gallery below.

That very long list of kit is bolstered by a full ADAS suite that includes functions such as lane departure warning/keeping, blind spot detection, door open warning, rear cross traffic alert, adaptive cruise control, and front collision warning and auto braking (AEB). By the way, the camera system isn’t advertised as 360 degrees but 540. Before you scratch your head, the extra degrees are contributed by the underfloor camera.

So, the Tiggo 8 Pro looks grand (it was Chery’s flagship SUV until the recent debut of the Tiggo 9) and has a long list of kit. The remaining big questions are when and how much?

2023 Chery Tiggo 8 Pro – a detailed look at the 3-row SUV, 2.0T with 250 hp/390 Nm, launching June/July

Dimensions: Chery Tiggo 8 Pro vs Proton X90

This is one of two SUVs that will spearhead Chery’s comeback in Malaysia (the other is the Omoda 5) and the official launch will be held late this month or early July. As for the price, expect a sticker of around RM160k, with the final RRP to be announced at the official launch.

The Proton X90 – also a three-row SUV designed in China – tops out at RM152,800 for the Flagship, but it’s powered by a 1.5T mild hybrid system with 177 PS/255 Nm. The Chery’s 2.0T outguns it with 250 hp/390 Nm.

If you’re wondering how both SUVs compare in size, the Tiggo 8 Pro is 4,722 mm long and 1,860 mm wide, which is 108 mm shorter and 40 mm narrower than the X90. The Chery’s 2,710 mm wheelbase is 95 mm shorter than the Proton’s – see the table above. As for the Tiggo’s boot space, it’s 193 litres with all three rows of seats in place, or 892 litres with the third row folded. Max volume is 2,101 litres with all seats down.

What do you think of the Tiggo 8 Pro in isolation, and versus the Proton X90?

GALLERY: 2023 Chery Tiggo 8 Pro in Malaysia

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• I saw this car during the auto show last time. Tbh, the interior is very nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Celup King on Jun 01, 2023 at 7:05 pm

Tenkiu PN+BN PM Sabrikor & Azminkor for the hardwork bringing Chery back to Msia.

• pravda on Jun 01, 2023 at 8:10 pm

Trust Zhongguo Gongchandang to help those who support the working class cause.

• Yeahsure on Jun 01, 2023 at 2:53 pm

I’m not looking for an SUV , but being old school and sensible , I wont buy this no matter how much tech it has..id rather buy a known product from a reputable brand even if it comes with less toys…but respect if you dare to buy that influx of new Chinese cars and EVs…i feel like in 3-5 years the market will let us know if all this influx is a warranted product or just dumping techs that will be e waste in few years…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
    • King of the road : The Myvi on Jun 01, 2023 at 4:39 pm

There r tons of complaints on X70 spare parts availability.
      What assurance that this China apek SUV wont be similar to the X70 (whose sales volume is not small).
      Low volume suvs wouldnt come with comprehensive range of spare parts.They only stock up the “biasa” parts n they wouldnt be cheap either.
      Anyway,there will be ardent fanboys.Let them experiment with these changgih toys n give first hand feedback via paultan forum.
      In Cantonese,low volume vehicles would be categorised as “lang moon chea” n spare parts normally would cost a bomb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
      • because you cannot afford alza or civic hrv cx5 because they are having the same complain.

keep driving myvi, it is a great car for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
        • King of the road : The Myvi on Jun 01, 2023 at 9:19 pm

Mr Pop
          I drive a CRV and Camry .Myvi..is just a caption.I dont have one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
    • your Sony phone is the E Waste.

• Musky Elon on Jun 01, 2023 at 3:07 pm

this is nicer looking inside and outside, more premium, classy than the overpriced X90.

• ThePolygon on Jun 01, 2023 at 3:30 pm

Why do I have a feeling Koreans and Japs are gonna be one losing the sales…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • usop santorian on Jun 01, 2023 at 3:46 pm

awaiting comments below
    1) baik beli… (alza/ corolla cross/cx-8)
    2) oh tak ada apple carplay? or oh tak ada ADAS? or related comments
    3) comments regarding p1/p2
    4) comments about geely huoyue

let the comments section rol

• pricelist?

• Kimchi on Jun 01, 2023 at 4:06 pm

Better than x90

• yusrykru on Jun 01, 2023 at 4:06 pm

lai2 bring more competition in the segment

• Phaser on Jun 01, 2023 at 4:22 pm

It has a 95mm shorter wheelbase than the X90 so third row passengers will either be short of legroom or they will sit over the rear axle line. Nicely styled contemporary interior though.

• Bossku on Jun 01, 2023 at 5:13 pm

Now, if Chery hired Potong engineers to re-engineered their vehicles here, their vehicles will definitely achieve 5-star ASEAN NCAP safety, just like how they made Geely vehicles safer for Malaysians!

• kckfen on Jun 02, 2023 at 8:48 am

I though they already got Euro 5 star NCAP for their Omada 5, and Chery Tiggo 8 got 5 star for C NCAP, why need the less inferior 5 star ASEAN NCAP?

• Bossku on Jun 01, 2023 at 5:17 pm

Don’t you guys think Chery basically re-cycled some parts from the previous C-class, A4 and don’t know which car for their Tiggo cabin? Look at the metal speaker grille and buttons for windows! The LCD screen looks like it comes from KIA Seltos.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • The Ultimate SUV is finally here on Jun 01, 2023 at 5:18 pm

The best SUV for year 2023?

• which to buy for a family man?

thumbs up for a civic RS turbo (180hp)
    thumbs down for tiggo 8 pro (250hp)

2 children. wants to drive fast because young in heart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • usop santorian on Jun 01, 2023 at 6:37 pm

can try tiggo 8 pro RS turbo hybrid (3000hp)
      or ditch the family,less weight

• stasta on Jun 17, 2023 at 7:15 pm

on highway probably chery is superior because more power and taller up. in curvy Road pick civic

• Ferguson Chow Sin Kong on Jun 01, 2023 at 6:08 pm

This Tiguan will it last 10 years or not I don’t know this one is pakai buang kereta or what

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • Martial Teng GGMU on Jun 01, 2023 at 11:21 pm

What you talking got spare parts or not first. Very easy say what you want got listen to the frustrating of the buyer ah. So much money is not pakai buang disposing car right.

• stick on Jun 02, 2023 at 10:32 am

chinamen have to name their cars like smartphones?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Dino1984 on Jun 02, 2023 at 1:41 pm

x90 direct rival should be tiggo 9…..tiggo 8 pro should be compare to crv, rav4, cx60, tiguan all space n etc…

• tiggo 9 is their flagship.

geely has some flagship that is a real contender for tiggo 9

• Very nice china car…only lacking here compare to X90 is the bootspace with all seat up
    Otherwise all good enough with high power output like golf engine

• CunNia on Jun 14, 2023 at 12:14 pm

Buy tiguan better. More solid and conti feel. This China SUV is trying very hard to impress. If budget is an issue, better by Alza or Bezza. Also solid drive and handling very good. Stable drive along hiways and feel secure when push the gas pedal to the limit.

Besides they hv the most modern biturbo engine from Japanese partner. Cannot go wrong.