REVIEW: 2022 Honda HR-V Turbo, the people’s choice

In contrast to some of my counterparts who live and breathe cars, I kind of dread revealing what I do for a living, but the “so, what do you do?” question is inevitable. The initial “website” and “I write” answers are never enough, which forces a full unmasking.

The revelation usually prompts two questions: “What is the best car you’ve driven?” and “Is the new XXX (insert hot car of the season) good?”. A variation of the latter is asking which of two rivals is better. Some ask for the best car within a specified budget. Again, many are happy to play expert, but I don’t like being the transportation Thelma.

But when backed into a corner that I can’t wriggle out of, there are a couple of reliable options that I fall back on, time and again. The Honda HR-V is one of those cars. It’s the right fit for so many people wanting an urban runabout that’s an SUV (trend), proven (OG of the segment), practical (best interior packaging) and reliable (both the car and after-sales). If you’re OK with the ubiquity, the HR-V is one of those cars that you just can’t go wrong with.

Even in the previous model’s final days, the qualities that made the HR-V an overnight sensation back in 2015 remained intact in the face of younger rivals. Now, we have a new one that looks fresh and more premium, plus a broad range of three powertrains. What do you think the verdict will be?

Turbo, bro

You’ve already read our review of the third-generation ‘Hi-rider Revolutionary Vehicle’ (the first one was a boxy two-door oddball from the early 2000s, the one we’re familiar with is the second car to carry the name) in RS e:HEV hybrid form.

Personally, I like hybrids and eking out good FC, but beyond the entry-level national segment and e-hailing drivers, fuel efficiency doesn’t seem to be top priority in a country where petrol is heavily subsidised, and hybrid variants of popular models usually aren’t popular as a result.

And so it is with the new HR-V. Despite being decked out in sporty RS trim with all the bells and whistles (in Malaysia, top variants are typically the most popular), the hybrid’s share of bookings (over 30k as of end October) was 21%. Sounds low, but that’s already much higher than the single digits typically seen by Honda Malaysia. Combined, the turbo models – E and V – make up the lion’s share of bookings at 70%, with the RM134,800 V alone responsible for more than half of HR-V orders (57%).

What does this say? We like power, and we don’t mind paying for high specs. The latter has become very clear over the past few years, and before you say that only the well-to-do are willing to shell out, Perodua’s AV range toppers regularly top their model sales breakdowns as well. Here, we drive the HR-V Turbo V to see if it really merits the popularity.

Effortless charm

This is the first time I’m sampling the new HR-V with the 1.5 litre turbocharged engine, which has four cylinders, 181 PS and 240 Nm of torque between 1,700 and 4,500 rpm. The Turbo E is the fastest in the HR-V range with an 0-100 km/h time of 8.7 seconds, a tenth faster than the Turbo V you see here, which is 23 kg heavier and rolls on 18-inch alloys (an inch larger than the S and E). Top speed is 200 km/h.

That makes the V nearly two full seconds faster than the hybrid in the century sprint (RS 10.7 seconds), and its top speed is 30 km/h higher (RS 170 km/h). Sometimes, you don’t really feel on-paper differences on the move, but it’s pretty apparent here – the turbo clearly accelerates faster than the hybrid, whether standing or rolling.

This is the fastest the HR-V has ever been, and the speed should be quite novel for City/Jazz folk who are upgrading, as well as previous-generation HR-V owners. However, don’t expect kick in the back kind of pick-up; in conjunction with the CVT, getting up to speed is smooth and effortless, and that’s the way it should be in a daily driver. Whether you’re taking it easy or pushing, the HR-V Turbo is just so easy.

The acceleration experience (not the rate) isn’t very different from that in the Perodua Ativa, but here, the process is smoother and significantly quieter, which adds to the effortlessness of it all. Compared to the RS hybrid, the Turbo is more conventional in the way it picks up speed and I can imagine this “direct performance” to be more agreeable to most.

The CVT is a perfect partner for the boosted engine. If you’re coming from a recent Japanese B-segment NA car, expect the same efficiency in harnessing available power, but with less effort – thanks to turbo torque, you’re spending less time on the throttle. If you’re coming from a Proton CVT, you’re super late to the party called Today’s Standard.

The seamless gearbox is unobtrusive in daily driving and responsive enough in a fast cross country drive, so much so that I completely ignored the Sport mode and shift paddles. I can imagine some using Sport but not Eco, which blunts the throttle/response so much that it feels like something has malfunctioned.

Balik kampung

The new HR-V is a fantastic daily driver, but does its case fall apart when you go further and push harder? Not at all. Although the Honda isn’t as exciting to drive as a Toyota C-HR when going all out (who does these things in a family SUV anyway?), it’s dynamically competent and an improvement over the previous model. Immediately, the steering stands out for being meatier than expected.

Quick and precise, the helm is also calm at a cruise. Despite the visibly higher ground clearance (196 mm, 26 mm higher than before), high speed stability is good and primary ride comfort is steady at speeds that we cannot publish, with three adults and luggage. Likewise, body roll isn’t an issue.

I suspect that rolling refinement, while improved, isn’t quite up to quietness of the Proton X70, which is not really a surprise given that the Geely SUV has a comfort focus typical of Chinese cars. In any case, tyre roar isn’t deafening and I think that the insulation is pretty much like what you’ll find in a European car, which is to mean that an equivalent Toyota is likely to be quieter.

Also rather Continental is the HR-V’s high speed ride and the way it handles patchy roads in town on 18-inch wheels – not soft but not uncomfortable either. This more substantial feel in the controls and the way the HR-V moves is also found in the latest Civic.

By the way, the new HR-V has a relatively high perch, which I personally like. There are peers that feel more “car-like” in height – off the bat, I can think of the Hyundai Kona and Toyota Corolla Cross – so if you need something lower, there are options. But why SUV then?

Missed opportunity?

It’s easy to find a good driving position, and the seat base length is just about right for my 175 cm frame. Comfort is good and there are no ergonomic issues, save for the head unit that is angled away from the driver. Yes, away.

While this doesn’t really affect operation and there are no unwanted reflections of your passenger’s chest (you can’t unsee this in the latest Proton Iriz/Persona), it annoys me nonetheless, and the angle also forces the driver to look at the sides of the head unit – specifically, the depth of the “CRT TV” style HU, a reminder that you don’t get a freestanding screen here like in the Civic.

Clockwise from top: Honda HR-V, 2023 Honda CR-V, Honda Civic FE

Zoom out and you’ll find that the HR-V’s horizontal-style dash isn’t as pretty as the Civic’s. Sans the FE’s speaker grille-style cover for the air vent strip, it’s pretty drab in here, and the safe all-black theme (with very minor lashings of metallic) doesn’t help. Product planners will say that Malaysian buyers are a conservative bunch when it comes to colours, and they’re probably correct, but Proton has been bold with its X SUVs and they’re doing all right.

Speaking of cabins, the previous HR-V’s cockpit was sports car-like with a tall centre console and minimalist layout. It felt quite special, more so when rendered in two-tone. If this sounds familiar, it’s the same rant from our first drive of the RV back in June. Right after that review went up, Honda released first images of the next-generation CR-V and it all became clear – to get a Civic cabin in an SUV, you’ve got to pony up to a CR-V. Fair enough.

Don’t get me wrong, this is still a pleasant and functional interior, just not very exciting after the big design shift of the exterior, which we covered in detail here. A bit of a missed opportunity in my books but perhaps the typical HR-V owner won’t find dullness to be an issue.

Safety and practicality

Moving to the rear, Honda’s Ultra Seats combine with typically great packaging to make the HR-V a great option for a small family. Legroom is really generous and I can even cross my legs (think stock image of a man in a suit reading a broadsheet newspaper) at the back, with the front seat set to my driving position.

Headroom isn’t as abundant, but I fit well with a palm’s height left – if you have regular backbenchers who are 180 cm and above, do try it out for size. The steep angle of the roofline plunges behind rear seat heads, in case you’re wondering. On the move, I appreciate the long rear windows that prevents the space from being claustrophobic (it could easily have become that, with the body’s high shoulders and all-black cabin) plus nifty touches like the arm-level door cupholder and phone slot in the map pockets.

When it debut, the previous HR-V had more boot space than SUVs from a higher segment, something you wouldn’t have guessed based on the footprint. Once again, few would be unsatisfied with the cargo volume on offer here – Ultra Seats for tall items aside, even the hybrid’s floor is flat with the seats folded. In contrast, the Corolla Cross Hybrid’s floor has a notch to accommodate the additional hardware. Cyclists, with the rear seats folded, there’s enough space for two mountain bikes with their front wheels removed.

Top: Honda HR-V RS; bottom: Toyota Corolla Cross Hybrid

Practicality aside, safety is another box that the head needs to check off and the HR-V obliges. The Honda Sensing active safety and driver assist suite – with the latest wide-view camera – is standard across the range, and there’s even hill descent control. The latter’s only use in a car like the HR-V is probably to avoid a blank button. Turbo and hybrid models get six airbags (four the the NA), while LaneWatch is from the V onwards.

A note on Sensing, which is one of the better ADAS systems out there. No big deal since even Perodua offers it, I hear you say. Well, it’s a good thing that P2 prioritises safety in affordable cars, but the ACC and lane centering has more finesse here, with less severe braking/acceleration and smoother tracing of the line. It’s a real pleasure to use.

That said, I think that LaneWatch is inferior to the simple blind spot monitoring that everyone else employs. Will Honda one day eat humble pie and go with the flow? Never say never, as even Lexus has ditched its mouse and pad for a touchscreen!

Turbo or hybrid?

Honda’s current range of e:HEV hybrids are essentially EVs in town, smooth and quiet as you navigate start-stop traffic. The i-MMD (intelligent Multi-Mode Drive) hybrid system is a huge upgrade over the previous-generation i-DCD when it comes to rolling in pure EV mode, being able to go much further and withstand significantly more pedal pressure before the engine is forced to assist.

This occasional use of the ICE returns very good fuel consumption as a result. Over 20 km/l in the City Hybrid is easy and although the HR-V is a bigger and heavier car, I would set that as the target for my normal urban routine. I did a short 34 km stint in the RS last week and used less than 1.5 litres of petrol.

My guess is that not many Malaysians have fuel efficiency as top priority, even though many will say that they do. Going multiples rounds in search of a near parking spot, engines left to idle when we tapau food, aggressive big acceleration/big braking style of driving; and the list of fuel wasting habits goes on. It’s most likely due to our heavily subsidised fuel, which at RM2.05 per litre, is among the lowest in the world. We can afford to be wasteful, so to speak.

Grill aside, twin pipes and non-gloss black trim mark out the Turbo; both have same 18″ wheels

Cheap fuel neutralises a hybrid’s selling point, but things might change if the proposed targeted fuel subsidy becomes reality. In such a scheme, HR-V owners will most likely not receive assistance, and if RON 95 is floated, km/l might gain more importance. As it stands, it’s no wonder that the Turbo V comprehensively outsells the RS hybrid, which at RM140,800 is RM6k costlier than the top pure-petrol variant.

I took the Turbo V on a recent trip to Ipoh and encountered a massive jam, which makes the 13.2 km/l FC reading (over 441 km, 2 km remaining range) a pleasant surprise. Subsequently, a cycle that’s a lot more like my usual routine returned 14.6 km/l (over 316 km), something that’s within the normal FC range for my 1.0L Ativa.

The economy gap between the hybrid and turbo is smaller than I expected; this, plus the speed advantage, means that the turbo will be my choice if I too were to put down money on an HR-V today. I also prefer the Turbo’s black grille over the RS’ shiny chequered flag nose. Once again, the rollback of blanket fuel subsidy, and the degree of it, might swing the future in the RS’ favour.

The people’s choice

As you’d have figured by now, the Honda HR-V is quite an all-rounder. I think that the cockpit could be more fancy, but other than that subjective point, it’s a car that I find hard to pick faults with. Of the lot, the Turbo is the all-rounder, combining power with surprising efficiency. The RM134,800 V tested here is also not lacking in the kit department. Now, I know why it’s the people’s choice.

The RS hybrid sounds expensive at RM140,800, but if your HR-V is going to live 95% of its life in the city, don’t dismiss it just yet. Aside from all that extra hardware that will deliver at least 5 km/l more (my estimate), you also get a powered tailgate (with walk-away auto close), auto wipers and dual-zone climate control, among other things. RM6k is actually a small premium for all that.

Turbo or hybrid, you can’t really go wrong with the new HR-V. It’s proven, it ticks all the boxes, it’s desirable and it’s as sure as bets come. As such, the Honda HR-V will continue to be my small talk buddy, the name I drop when those “which is the best?” questions come along.

GALLERY: Honda HR-V Turbo V

GALLERY: Honda HR-V RS e:HEV hybrid

GALLERY: Honda HR-V RS Hybrid vs HR-V Turbo V

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• the cartoonish interior is a let down.
    only if it look as good as civic interior.

that steering is ugly, honda city steering looks way better.

at this price, the cheapest civic is a better choice unless you must need the extra few inches height.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • Savon on Dec 05, 2022 at 5:52 pm

The main thing is that both civic and hrv don’t blind spot monitor and no 360 camera. So how to buy both?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • Agraban on Dec 19, 2022 at 11:09 am

If that blind spot monitor and 360 camera so important to you then dont buy one

• Outalingam Crap on Feb 11, 2023 at 10:20 am

Not just the interior – the new HR-V EXTERIOR is far more hideous than even the current City hatch lah wei…..even compared to the newly-launched WR-V, still HR-V kalah kaokao lah wei………

• mnazri on Dec 05, 2022 at 3:13 pm

Look and feel good but I will wait for Mazda cx30 CKD, definitely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Have you tested both CX30 and HRV for comparison? Maybe it depend what you want. CX30 has nice interior quality and comfortable (but CX30 seem more bumping). I test drive HRV after CX30, found that driving experience smoother than CX30 (yah. interior noise always Honda signature). Consider quite a long time and decided to cancel CX30(CKD, Mazda has the new car for me immediately) and go for HRV. Personally like to have more power and smoother engine, CX30 has enough power as well but gear shifting is little bit delay.
      So believe that if people like to have comfort interior, they won’t buy Honda. If people care about the engine, they don’t really care about more noisy. So far it seem we not able to have both perfectly? Unless higher segment.
      X50, I drove before (relative’s car) and yes a nice car. Smooth and quiet. Anyhow, I don’t consider it because I don’t like it even cheaper (yah. just simply don’t like it). So car really personal choice.

• Tin Kosong Tian Chua on Dec 05, 2022 at 3:16 pm

A mechanic once told me,Honda is a great looking,easy to drive,popular car now.
    But there is a caveat.
    After the 5th year,he said even at less than 100,000 km mileage,parts start to kaput,n the owner has to fork out a small fortune for repairs.He advised me to go for Toyota,not so funky,or cantik but can tahan longer.
    I m sure thousands of Toyota owners can verify this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 15
    • i bought a vios last year..abit regret,,,feel like switching back to honda..wanna buy?..sell to u

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
      • Another Copy and Paste Guy on Dec 06, 2022 at 7:57 am

Copy and Paste: “More bullshit stories from this confirmed bullshitter.
        I m sure thousands of PT readers can verify this.”

• aumeow on Dec 06, 2022 at 8:52 am

If you think honda is really good car after your regret but why so many people already sold off their honda after facing too many problems

• You will face more pain. Quality and aftersales but spare parts for honda also don’t have. Better think twice

• PlainBS on Dec 05, 2022 at 6:03 pm

More bullshit stories from this confirmed bullshitter.
      I m sure thousands of PT readers can verify this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • aumeow on Dec 06, 2022 at 8:53 am

Then you try honda and see, later you will find more issues like many honda owners face and will not buy honda again

• Dugung X on Dec 05, 2022 at 8:02 pm

90% of mechanics are scammers out there.They love toyota because it always kwaitai and hailat but easy to repair due to dinosaur tech. Easy to cari makan as other cars are more advance and complex.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
      • Another Copy and Paste Guy on Dec 06, 2022 at 8:01 am

Copy and Paste: “More bullshit stories from this confirmed bullshitter.
        I m sure thousands of PT readers can verify this.”

• Yeah camera resolution also kaput.

• Haniff Jaafar on Dec 05, 2022 at 11:00 pm

As an ex -HRV, V spec user, i m kinda agreed with this. Honda CKD quality was so bad! During my 1st year with the car, i can hear ‘kriuk kriuk’ sound coming from my driver seat! I m kind of embarrassed with the sound and i put a lots of wd-40 at the bottom spring of my car seat to make it less noise! Come on it s a new car but it sound like my old grandfather’s chair!

And another thing that i hate with my HRV was, some weird hard vibration feels at your leg when braking at the harsh road surface! It feels like flinestone-style, braking with foot! But with ‘whack’ sound!

Priced at Rm120k, it was totally unacceptable to me! Do take note that the HRV was my 2nd purchased! My 1st car was Honda Jazz Hybrid!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • alor Gajah factory on Feb 15, 2023 at 4:14 pm

Honda all made in Melaka (Alor Gajah factory)

• Is the interior space closer to that of the City or the Civic? Considering that this is a B-segment crossover it’s probably the City, but the rear seatroom shots made it look quite spacious so I was just wondering if it’s the matter of an ultrawide lens distorting the FOV or if it’s really quite spacious.

• Scion on Dec 05, 2022 at 4:50 pm

this car you see on the road, look like it has hernia. the exhaust resonator dangling at the bottom.

• Savon on Dec 05, 2022 at 5:51 pm

No blind spot monitor and no 360 camera, how to buy this??

• Anyone considering this over the much higher tech, more powerful 210bhp, 310Nm, far more comfortable and capable BYD Atto 3 at the same price, tax free, is out of their minds. It’s like buying an older primitive box TV for same price as the latest OLED flat screens.

• Lol, it’s a BYD. Nuff said. Nobody in their right mind would buy a CCP hunk of crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
      • thats what people said when apple was first launched to fight Nokia

remember Nokia?

or sony ericsson?

• People buy honda because no other choices. Simple is that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Epson on Dec 05, 2022 at 11:37 pm

Not worth. Seats also uncomfortable. Boot space also shorten than old HRV. Rather get Subaru XV or Proton X50

• Veloz is better value buy. Can save between RM20K to RM45k. Plus got important safety features and better cockpit than this HRV

• Overpriced. Interior design a disappointment. Exterior ok lah.

• Poor quality and poor aftersales already bad enough but no spare parts for honda, no matter how good HRV is

• Vito33 on Dec 08, 2022 at 6:48 pm

As an American consumer I must say that Honda has insulted us with a very unfortunate 2023 HRV generation , an ugly duck mee-too ‘larger is better’ , turbo-less. Honda’s North America management should all be fired.

America’s 2023 new HRV differs from the rest of the world. I envy you guys and whish I had this same vehicle you all say it’s terrible.

Your new HRV “world generation” is indeed an adorable car, it seems to be improving on the previous generation’s strengths: outstanding drive poise and dynamics, smart space solutions, simple and reliable, and now you got TURBO. For this article, I kind of doubt where he got the 8.5 s test results, Ive seen in other places a much better acceleration performance. Adding to the 100% ‘bad reviees’, I kind of suspect this is a fake artickr paid by a competitor.

Again I’m surprised with all this negativism, just see the ugly duck that Honda gave to US consumers. FAKE REVIEW, FAKE COMMENTS.

• Vito Pinellas on Dec 08, 2022 at 6:48 pm

As an American consumer I must say that Honda has insulted us with a very unfortunate 2023 HRV generation , an ugly duck mee-too ‘larger is better’ , turbo-less. Honda’s North America management should all be fired.

America’s 2023 new HRV differs from the rest of the world. I envy you guys and whish I had this same vehicle you all say it’s terrible.

Your new HRV “world generation” is indeed an adorable car, it seems to be improving on the previous generation’s strengths: outstanding drive poise and dynamics, smart space solutions, simple and reliable, and now you got TURBO. For this article, I kind of doubt where he got the 8.5 s test results, Ive seen in other places a much better acceleration performance. Adding to the 100% ‘bad reviees’, I kind of suspect this is a fake artickr paid by a competitor.

Again I’m surprised with all this negativism, just see the ugly duck that Honda gave to US consumers. FAKE REVIEW, FAKE COMMENTS.

• Vito Pinellas on Dec 08, 2022 at 6:52 pm

Your new HRV “world generation” is indeed an adorable car, it seems to be improving on the previous generation’s strengths: outstanding drive poise and dynamics, smart space solutions, simple and reliable, and now you got TURBO. For this article, I kind of doubt where he got the 8.5 s test results, Ive seen in other places a much better acceleration performance. Adding to the 100% ‘bad reviews’, it makes me suspect this is all Fake.

• It’s clearly stated in Honda Malaysia official website in HRV brochure.
      8.7sec for 1.5 Turbo HRV

• The turbo make more sense….cheaper & more powerful….to consider the hybrid u will needto consider future battery replacement & how many years of usage to break even for the fuel savings & cost of battery replacement. Resale normally will be lower for the hybrid due to the battery cost

• meladam on Jan 25, 2023 at 4:39 pm

lol, hybrid cost even cheaper to maintain in the long run. go check their schedule and compare. HM knows that they doesn’t make money much through hybrid maintenance. that’s why they sell it much expensive then NA petrol car! Bloody HM with skyrocket labour cost

• meladam on Dec 19, 2022 at 11:18 am

test drove it and rattling sound came in at the dashboard RHD. silly honda. I won’t near this brand anymore

• Iszat on Dec 31, 2022 at 9:36 pm

Interestingly, the author failed to highlight that the latest HRV has a smaller booth space than the previous HRV (319 vs 448 litres). This is critical information in the car selection process that car reviewers should state.

“When it debut, the previous HR-V had more boot space than SUVs from a higher segment, something you wouldn’t have guessed based on the footprint. Once again, few would be unsatisfied with the cargo volume on offer here – Ultra Seats for tall items aside, even the hybrid’s floor is flat with the seats folded”

Ultra seats are great, but in the end, it is still a 5 seater car.

• CamPro on Feb 02, 2023 at 10:19 am

What do you expect from them? Last time used to boast about Petronas, and now they are siding to another petrol company, promoting Brand XXXXX engine oil. Just read the article and comments for entertainment purpose. No proper journalism in terms of research and validation done from their end. The most important thing is, misleading automotive enthusiast for $$. Basically that’s what every other independent journalist doing now.

• I like cars with the passenger chest reflection feature.

• Bodoh on Jan 27, 2023 at 12:42 pm

Just go check out hrv yesterday. Exterior looks good. Interior looks like plastic, not attractive and looks like outdated. And, there is no test drives available since lot of bookings. Not going to buy a car without a test drive.