2023 Mercedes-Benz A250 4Matic AMG Line Sedan facelift officially priced at RM263,888 in Malaysia

When Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) launched the facelifted V177 A-Class Sedan back in June this year, we were only provided with official pricing for the base A200 Progressive Line. The higher-spec A250 4Matic Line only had estimated pricing at the time, but the company has now provided an official figure.

The A250 4Matic AMG Line retails for RM263,888 on-the-road without insurance, which is slightly less than the RM264,000 estimate provided by MBM. As such, it is RM25,000 more than the A200 Progressive Line that goes for RM238,888 – the A-Class Sedan is a locally-assembled (CKD) model.

For the money, the A250 comes with a M260 2.0 litre turbocharged inline-four engine that serves up 224 PS (221 hp or 165 kW) and 350 Nm of torque. The petrol unit is augmented by a 48-volt mild hybrid system that integrates a belt-driven starter-generator (RSG), providing up to 14 PS (13 hp or 10 kW) and 150 Nm of assistance when setting off and for improved coasting.

This setup is joined by an eight-speed dual-clutch transmission and 4Matic all-wheel drive system, enabling the A250 to get from 0-100 km/h in 6.4 seconds on its way to a top speed of 250 km/h. The more affordable A200 gets a M282 1.3 litre turbocharged four-cylinder making 163 PS (161 hp or 120 kW) and 250 Nm, paired with a seven-speed DCT driving the front wheels for a 0-100 km/h time of 8.3 seconds and a top speed of 230 km/h.

Standard equipment for the A250 includes the AMG Line styling package, 18-inch AMG five twin-spoke light-alloy wheels in Tremolite Grey, LED High Performance headlamps with Adaptive Highbeam Assist, lowered comfort suspension, light longitudinal-grain aluminium trim, black Artico and Microcut micro-fibre upholstery with red contrast stitching, powered front sports seats with memory function, Thermatic dual-zone climate control and a 64-colour ambient lighting system.

The Mercedes-Benz User Experience (MBUX) is also included, consisting of a 10.25-inch digital instrument cluster and a 10.25-inch touchscreen, with support for Android Auto and Apple CarPlay. Telematics, Mercedes me connect services, a wireless charging pad, Keyless-Go, Hands-Free Access are part of the kit list too.

As for safety and driver assistance kit, both A-Class variants come equipped with a reverse camera, Active Parking Assist, Blind Spot Assist, Exit Warning Assist and Active Brake Assist, and an upgraded Parking Package that now supports longitudinal parking. The range-topping A250 gains an additional Sports Brake System, which maintains powerful braking capability even after frequent heavy braking.

2023 Mercedes-Benz A250 4Matic AMG Line Sedan facelift spec sheet; click to enlarge

2023 Mercedes-Benz A200 Progressive Line Sedan facelift spec sheet; click to enlarge

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz A250 4Matic AMG Line facelift

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz A200 Progressive Line facelift

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Bearishbull on Sep 06, 2023 at 10:32 am

Tesla Model 3: Hold my beer…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • Kee See on Sep 06, 2023 at 10:38 am

Boring. Tesla is better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
  • Laughs in BMW i4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • External on Sep 06, 2023 at 10:54 am

BMW i4 eDrive35 is better. i4 eDrive 35 have good distance range, same top speed and acceleration but can be powerful than A250, more interesting interior and durable than A250

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Internal on Sep 06, 2023 at 3:26 pm

The top speed is not the same.
      A250 250km/h
      A200 230km/h
      i4 eDrive 35 190km/h

• Rango on Sep 06, 2023 at 5:27 pm

Because i4 uses electric motor and A200/A250 uses ICE.

Aside top speed, what’s more important is based on durability, comfort, interior, technology, safety features and power, that’s why i4 eDrive is considered to buy than this.

• TEST LAH on Sep 06, 2023 at 11:56 am

a RM265K German premium vehicle dont even have a rear aircon vent.. what a shame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Boy Racer on Sep 06, 2023 at 12:53 pm

Now only release pricing. Way better products in market.

• tricycle on Sep 06, 2023 at 1:38 pm

Beautiful, AWD as well, safe and fast driving. But I think in the article it doesn’t mention on ACC with stop and go function. Bummer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • If you’ve ever sat in an A-class sedan/hatchback you know how cramped it is. At more than 250k this will not sell a lot in terms of volume. Shame that they invested in CKD’ing this.

• digidigi on Sep 06, 2023 at 2:38 pm

I doubt if this car fit n finish better than new Tesla model 3 lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Tachi on Sep 06, 2023 at 5:38 pm

But now low quality including interior quality for mercedes than tesla

• Lionel Messi on Sep 06, 2023 at 2:57 pm

Guys, Mercedes-Benz A250 4Matic or BMW i4 eDrive35?

A250>i4: lighter car, AWD, higher top speed, more modern interior with better ambient lightning

2 Cents: ICE cars have already reached the bottleneck in terms of improvement in technology so you’re getting a car at the peak of its power and this is likely to be the last A-Class and also the last entry level sedan from Mercedes-Benz priced below RM290k. Driving on the highway around 200km/h without the anxiety of drastically draining the battery is one thing BEV could never do just yet.

i4>A250: bigger car, higher hp & torque, ACC w Stop&Go, rear aircond vent, automatic tailgate

2 Cents: BEV cars are rapidly improving and it’s very likely that there will be more and more BEV cars flooding the market with better technology, better BEV platform, improved battery and range, thus making the i4 prone to rapid obsolescence.

• Rango on Sep 06, 2023 at 5:35 pm

But overall still i4 is considered to buy than A Class.

To add on: recent reliability tells that BMW is more durable than Mercedes. i4 is more practical and more space for passengers to sit on, especially for behind ones. When comes technology and interior, I need to correct you that i4 is also beats A Class, as system operating system, background infortainment system and also interior design is also way updated than this A Class.

Even though buying electric cars, need to find out about distance range, but i4 distance range is nearly 500km, not really that bad and also less worries, especially on the highway and even driving from KL to Penang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Lionel Messi on Sep 06, 2023 at 6:11 pm

There are pros & cons for both operating & infotainment system and while i4 might have an edge in the operating system, I certainly prefer the interior design & ambient lightning of A250.

As for the range you won’t even get close to the reported range of 483km (especially when you’re enjoying your car on the highway), let alone 500km.

• Facts

• Tachi on Sep 06, 2023 at 5:39 pm

But poor quality including interior quality also really poor. Can’t beat tesla and other rivals

• ROTI CANAI on Sep 06, 2023 at 6:01 pm

harga yahudi ni, tesla killed this off