JPJ says claims made in a viral post stating a physical road tax is still mandatory untrue, police report lodged

The road transport department (JPJ) has filed a police report over a post made on Facebook by a user claiming that a physical road tax (lesen kenderaan motor, or LKM) is still mandatory.

In the post, the person stated that the claim of a physical LKM no longer being necessary was a lie, and that a physical copy was needed. The post went viral, prompting the department to take action.

In a statement, the department clarified that the statement made in the post was untrue and was misleading the public. It said that a police report was made in Putrajaya so that an investigation can be carried out against the owner of the Facebook account involved. It added this was being done to prevent the sharing of incorrect and misleading statements in the future.

On February 10, transport minister Anthony Loke announced the switch to digital for the road tax as well as the driving licence, and as such, it was no longer mandatory to display the road tax sticker on a vehicle, as all related JPJ-issued documents were now in the system.

Loke said the switch to digital licences would save JPJ RM96 million a year in printing costs, and the move would also reduce traffic in JPJ offices by around 80%, allowing for other transactions to be carried out in quicker fashion.

Looking to sell your car? Sell it with myTukar.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Some advice to print and laminate keeps inside glovebox on Sep 22, 2023 at 8:10 pm

There are little napoleons setting ad-hoc roadblock will keep selective harassing car driver to show the digital copy of road tax from phone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • Peppa on Sep 22, 2023 at 8:27 pm

Okay why the hell JPJ need to make a police report? Pondan much?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
  • I’m the god of mischief. I was playing tricks on weak minds

• Stewp1d on Sep 22, 2023 at 9:04 pm

PNpas goons getting more n more desperate. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 37
    • Stewp1d penyokong korup on Sep 23, 2023 at 6:23 am

Flip flop government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • f**king sh** how you know she is pnpas voter, have she stated? no right? she can be one of us. man, everything is not about politic. stupid ph voter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 11
  • TohAhHar on Sep 23, 2023 at 7:46 am

If the car is not registered under my name then nothing will show under my name – roadtax also.
    Then I will have to convince the JPJ & Polis fellas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • You can have a digital copy on your phone or you can have it printed and kept in the glove box or you can continue to display your roadtax. These are all approved and well-known options, why are you complaining?

• OrangAwam on Sep 23, 2023 at 9:14 am

Ya JPJ says this but on the ground their ppl still ask for it. This happened at a very recent JPJ roadblock in KL! Stopped by them for this very reason.

And when there’s no physical roadtax, they asked to see the roadtax in the JPJ app. But the driver is not the car owner, on his/her JPJ app the roadtax would not appear.

Last time they said they don’t need to see all these as they have their own equipment to just check roadtax validity via the plate number.

So which is it??? The top management & minister say this but didn’t brief their ppl on the ground properly?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
    • CorruptJPJ on Sep 24, 2023 at 12:06 am

If JPJ be genuine 100%, how to get kopi money? Wayang2. We all knew 99.9% of gomen officers are corrupted.

• Gomorrah on Sep 24, 2023 at 11:21 am

Exactly. SOP for JPJ groundstaff and PDRM all never update. Still getting asked for physical sticker. Do properly la. If circular sent out to update SOP and the pegawai still cannot understand or follow then ambik la tindakan tatatertib. Use every opportunity to get rid of deadwood in the system.

Looks like some are having different experiences, but my very recent experience is that they are still asking for it. And I don’t understand why the onus is being placed on the driver to display road tax in the app. This is fraught with danger when everything depends on a users phone/app access/internet connectivity. You guys changed the system to save money/environment is fine, but don’t menyusahkan us. Other countries have successfully done this and they do not have these issues.

• Lanhb on Sep 25, 2023 at 10:22 am

talk first, do…depends…

• Panjang on Sep 23, 2023 at 11:02 am

Some Malaysian really have nothing to do than spreading ‘hot’ news which is totally fake.

I have been driving aroung with no road tax disc on my windscreen for months now and went through multiple road block by both pdrm and JPJ. At no point did they ask me where is my road tax. Did they ask me to show my JPJ app? Nope. I am not sure abt PDRM but JPJ can do a very quick and easy check on their system to know if you have a valid road tax or not. PDRM have access similar database but not sure if its running on the same platform as JPJ or not. This system has been around since very2 long time ago. That is why JPJ patrol squad knows which car or bike or lorry to stop and which are ‘clean’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • laughable with this type of leadership.

• Kannan on Sep 23, 2023 at 12:34 pm

If it is not mandatory, why is it being issue in the 1st place. I realized all new cars coming out of the showroom had the road tax on the windscreen.

• That bcoz insurance and roadtax for new cars was issued by car seller. Not the car owner.

• lesen2033 on Sep 23, 2023 at 2:37 pm

Just renewed my driving license for 10 years through MyJPJ app digitally. Hope the position is clear that no physical copies are needed for inspection from PDRM and JPJ

• Boy Racer on Sep 23, 2023 at 7:20 pm

I’ll advise drivers to still display their road tax for a hassle-free experience.

Got stopped the other day at a roadblock and the app had issues. Had to wait another 10 mins till polis managed to scan zzz

• Sohai on Sep 25, 2023 at 11:19 am

Had similar experience.
      But it should not happen because police should not rely on us to tell them whether we have valid Road Tax.
      JPJ should make us another app to report such cases whenever we are stopped by police to ask to show road tax.

• Henry on Sep 24, 2023 at 11:18 am

I believe this claim is only half the story. Obviously the important part is left out that is if you drive over to Singapore or Thailand you STILL need to display the roadtax ! The government forgot that a significant amount of Malaysian vehicles cross border daily at North & South checkpoints.. over in East Malaysia, they do drive over to Brunei as well. A vehicle without displaying roadtax do increase the curiosity of authorities especially when driven outside of the country.

• No to bodoh on Sep 24, 2023 at 8:38 pm

Just print it n stick at your car mirror. It comes with the bar code. The authorities can scan it to determine whether it’s legit or not. Apa susah?

• Kunta kinte on Sep 25, 2023 at 8:34 am

Talk does not cook rice, think about your own faults during first half, and the faults of others during the second half.

• komarad on Sep 25, 2023 at 8:45 am

when the JPJ apps having problem do we have to wait until it’s up again to show enforcer at roadblock? might take few hours

• Gopalbalakrishnan on Sep 25, 2023 at 8:56 am

Important pdf dan jpj print save helping

• What is important is the Process. Is it practical now? Has all related Govt Agencies having similar SOPs on the issue?