MBSA to set up 445 CCTVs to monitor flood risk areas

Shah Alam City Council (MBSA) is setting up 445 CCTV cameras in areas that have been identified as being at risk of flooding in preparations for the Northeast Monsoon, reports Berita Harian.

According to MBSA deputy mayor Cheremi Tarman, the CCTV cameras will be used to monitor the increase in river water levels in areas prone to flooding. This is to enable rescue efforts to be carried out effectively should flooding occur.

“A total of 445 static and portable CCTVs (some used to monitor illegal dump sites) are managed by MBSA and there are also 50 CCTVs under the ministry of local government development (KPKT). We have installed CCTVs in several locations such as Taman Sri Muda, Seksyen 25; Seksyen 13; TTDI Jaya; Seksyen U2 and Setia Alam,” said Cheremi.

The city council is also requesting the cooperation of the department of irrigation and drainage (JPS) to speed up the construction of flood control barriers along the Damansara River and Klang River to reduce the risk of river water overflow. “I also reminded JPS beforehand to review the function of the two flood storage ponds which were built in 2006 in the TTDI Jaya and Ara Damansara residential areas,” Cheremi said.

“If it rains heavily in the upper area (Kuala Lumpur) it (flood waters) will be sent to the reservoir and reduce the risk of flooding, especially in the stadium area (Seksyen 13 and Taman Sri Muda),” he added.

If the route you intend to take is affected by floods, delay your journey if possible, and avoid forcing your way through floods as it may cause significant damage to your vehicle. It’s also recommended that you get the Special Perils add-on for your vehicle’s insurance coverage, as past floods in recent times have shown, vehicle owners without flood coverage face potentially massive repair bills.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Janji dicapati on Sep 27, 2023 at 11:11 am

Refer my name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 27
  • Ex Anwar Supporter on Sep 27, 2023 at 11:12 am

Talk 1st, lie later

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
  • Hv cctv but no one to monitor,cannot go gak.

• Perfect example of "Democratic" government on Sep 27, 2023 at 11:48 am

This is what you get when you put your country in the hands of the majority. Its a no brainer that there are way more stupid fols than smart fols. That is why there is only few billion aires or geniuses in this world. Democratic system = janji masa pilihan raya tapi minum teh, goyang kaki dan sapu duit lepas menang. Socialism/communism with meritocracy = council voting system where smartest of the smartest will vote if you are capable or not based on your merit. If you get highest vote, you can be president or menteri. Cakap kosong will not be entertained. Majority people just sit back and get the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
    • Peppa on Sep 27, 2023 at 1:11 pm

Hey look look!! The minorities tryna put the blame on the Malays. They are so attached with victim mentality just like the latino and black people in Murica!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Maruko on Sep 27, 2023 at 5:18 pm

If you hate the Malays so much why are you still here? Singapore is more than happy to welcome you sweetie

• Communism failed to save USSR on Sep 27, 2023 at 6:56 pm

This individual should be better off in DPRK, serving the supreme leader.

• seancorr on Sep 27, 2023 at 1:03 pm

Dei CCTV not gonna help when shite hits the fan. What other flood mitigations did they do besides having the ability to look at the flood rising rapidly? Flood control barriers also not ready and we’re heading into October

• PHBN Korup on Sep 27, 2023 at 1:38 pm

Lol, Selangor flood problems went back way before that. So what did the Selangor government do?

• Kea Was on Sep 27, 2023 at 2:03 pm

So sokong PNipu bukan sokong rasuah ke or you sudah terlupa? Mana negeri yang selalu banjir dengan pemikiran sempit macam itu lah

• Dumb government on Sep 27, 2023 at 2:33 pm

Just to monitor? Ok

• Hmmmm on Sep 27, 2023 at 5:04 pm

445 cctvs?
    Who will monitor?
    Better to install early warning system at those area. Alert can be sent immediately rather than waiting for whoever is task of monitoring that 445cctv to tale notice of the water level and alert relevant party.
    And….its cheaper.

Above all….what does unit perancang bandar do all these while and down the road?

• 2000 feet high wall of waters incoming on Sep 27, 2023 at 5:37 pm

Sampan is essential transportation, staying at Sungei Alam.

• Kontrak pasang cctv bagi kroni mana ni? on Sep 27, 2023 at 5:40 pm

Flood water rise so high til cover cctv how?

• Kerajaan gagal tak layak memerintah on Sep 27, 2023 at 6:14 pm

Dah berpuluh puluh tahun memerintah Selangor, masih lagi bengap tak reti setel masalah banjir. Kejap lagi adalah pencacai yang salahkan orang lain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • They’re known to talk big but are actually useless. Since the Zahid case became DNAA, I don’t really care if they want to fight corruption. The biggest liars

• Seitha on Oct 03, 2023 at 9:28 am

445 CCTV… somebody is laughing all the way to the bank.

Why no one is looking at the root cause of the floods
    1. people throwing rubbish indiscriminately- get down from the car…leave all the rubbish just below the car door!
    2. drains not cleared of silt and rubbish for donkey years!
    3. Silting of streams and rivers due to development over the years. Holland ports and dykes are regularly dredged of silt brought down by rivers
    4. road side stalls throwing leftovers and rubbish into drains!!