JPJ DG says not everyone is ready for digitalisation – dept will continue to make physical process available

The road tax (lesen kenderaan motor, or LKM) and driver’s licence may have made the move to digital, but the road transport department acknowledges that not everyone is ready to take the online path. As such, it will continue to make physical transactions available to motorists.

Speaking about the matter at an event earlier this week, JPJ director-general Datuk Rospiagos Taha recognised that not everyone was comfortable with the digital route and utilising the MyJPJ app, and that the transition to digitalisation was a process that would require time and consideration.

He said the department would make a gradual transition to full digitalisation as some Malaysians, including indigenous people and the older generation, were not tech-savvy, the New Straits Times reports.

“In the process of interlinking towards full integration, not all our customers are accustomed to using digital technologies. There are certain groups, particularly those residing in rural areas and older people, who may face constraints when it comes to digital usage,” he said.

“Taking this into consideration, we are currently in an interim phase where we are offering dual options until we reach a point where we believe the Malaysian society is truly ready for digital adoption,” he said.

As to when this would be, Rospiagos said the department did not have a specific timeframe in mind. “As soon as we deem it appropriate, we will proceed with the transition gradually,” he explained. He stressed that it was not mandatory for everyone to go through the digital process for settling their JPJ-related matters, as the physical process was still available.

In February, during his announcement of the switch to a digital format for the road tax and driving licence, transport minister Anthony Loke had stated that it was not mandatory for motorists to download the MyJPJ mobile application, nor would they need to keep a digital copy of their road tax or driver’s licence in hand, as their validity could be established by JPJ personnel through their devices.

Last week, the department made a police report over a post made on Facebook by a user claiming that a physical road tax is still mandatory. It said that the statement made in the post was untrue and misled the public.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Does it have to be one or the other?
    Physical should always be the dominant option, while digital should be a good-to-have, or an alternative when the physical license/road tax is damaged.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Phuddi sung Lee on Sep 29, 2023 at 11:17 am

One of biggests challenge to coup it, rests all matters has been solved, daily i come across this type of cekai idiot type of self raised issues to get public attention and sympathy (disgusting)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • Stupid Carabao commented above on Sep 29, 2023 at 4:30 pm

Little Napoleons are the only one not ready for fully digitalisation thus psychologically prone to harrassing motorist at roadblocks to show their phone myjpj app digital copy of roadtax or license.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Ghani on Sep 29, 2023 at 11:20 am

JPJ Best !

• Please don’t say not everyone. It’s only the law enforcer not ready and we don’t want to be the victim of incompetency.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Jalani on Sep 29, 2023 at 11:45 am

Or else the counter staff and pak guard become redundant if everything goes digital .

• Peppa on Sep 29, 2023 at 12:01 pm

Yes not everyone is ready but JPJ and PDRM should both fully informed about this implementation and aware people are not required to download and use this app. Both rakyat and government should unite to make this work efficiently.

Government(JPJ) : improvise this app(need ALOT of improvement) and reconsider people recommendations. PDRM have no right to summon people who don’t a physical road tax and driving license unless they are an asshole
    People : need better understanding and moving forward. Don’t watch tiktok too much

• Do PDRM have the same device like JPJ to verify the validity of road tax/licence during roadblocks?

• Citizen on Sep 29, 2023 at 2:11 pm

“transport minister Anthony Loke had stated that it was not mandatory for motorists to download the MyJPJ mobile application, nor would they need to keep a digital copy of their road tax or driver’s licence in hand, as their validity could be established by JPJ personnel through their devices.”

Not true!

At a recent roadblock the JPJ officers insist to see the MyJPJ app of the driver when there was no physical roadtax. Since the driver was not the car owner, obviously the digital roadtax doesn’t appear in the driver MJPJ apps.
    Then the officers making a fuss asking printed copy.
    So? Which one is it?
    What the minister said or what the officers on the ground insist on?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Chin Chow Merah on Sep 29, 2023 at 2:46 pm

Getting closer to Soyaland style app can collect point for good behaviour get discount.

• Ivan Ho Kok Keong on Sep 29, 2023 at 3:27 pm

First revamp the road tax charges it’s outdated. Driving old 2.4 cc paying more than some small cc turbo cars with big hp. Those ugly pickup truck and big Alphard etc space hog fuel guzzle please increase road tax. Wake up and stop talking about sticker I visit NZ also use windscreen display card for roadtax. I hope DAP won’t be around after next election they seem to emulate certain country turning our into Sg, HK look at Penang which lost its charm now just jam and concrete everywhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • Albert on Sep 29, 2023 at 4:44 pm

Have anyone consider those car driven by different family members? How to show road tax if not the owner.

• Share screen copy of digital road tax

• Jayabalan on Oct 02, 2023 at 5:30 am

Obviuosly, for this instance you either have the physical copy or copy of the digital roadtax.

• I’m the god of mischief and all of you have been victims of my mischief muahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Pit Yau Tin Yau Woo Yau Tin on Sep 29, 2023 at 7:42 pm

Kau Lok Kau ah lotek pun bikin hal

• Kasimilo GGMU on Sep 29, 2023 at 7:49 pm

Macam macam DAP

• Honda Suzuki on Sep 29, 2023 at 8:13 pm

Foreigners can’t use myjpj app currently, physical road tax sticker is still mandatory but still reducing to issue physical road tax sticker. Please don’t forget foreigners driving in Malaysia.

• Lucianoalonso on Sep 30, 2023 at 4:28 am

This is true,now rakyat in rural area are having difficulties in renewing their vehicle roadtax.The govt should act fast.

• Junkies otr on Sep 30, 2023 at 7:52 am

All vehicles above 20yrs must scrap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • Then u give me money for new car is it?! U think everyone so affordable like u ah my friend?! Even though the world today is full of selfish and inconsiderate ppl like u, some consideration sometimes from you ppl like using your head to think b4 u type out your selfish and inconsiderate thoughts would be much appreciated.

P.s. I don’t know what you’re reading but if I’m pretty sure the topic in discussion here is the digitalisation of our roadtax and license and NOT the scrapping of cars over a certain 2 number of years ya.

• Ramzi on Sep 30, 2023 at 2:00 pm

Biggest challenge in going digitalize or AI payments are Malaysian itself. Are we ready? Maybe half of the population are! But what about, those who can’t!?

• Muahaha on Oct 01, 2023 at 8:12 am

If go digital cannot get rasuah or more kopi money. So back to physical la.. expected as long as this country ruled by corrupted Malays!

• Razak on Oct 01, 2023 at 1:05 pm

We are going to digitalisation,by hook or by crook..eveyone should be ready for this..we already 2023 and on going to 2024..my advice is both physical and digital can be use..law enforcer please be well educate in this digitalisation and people please please do not always complaint..

• GajahDuduk on Oct 01, 2023 at 8:19 pm

Foreigners cannot use MyJPJ. Foreigners still need to renew roadtax manually. Actually, everything involvong JPJ and foreigners is manual. Presumably this facilitates bribe payment? Or the JPJ system was simply designed without foreigners in mind. After all, there are only about 2 million of them…

• Seitha on Oct 01, 2023 at 10:57 pm

Since JPJ has all the info, Why not just input the registration number into a tablet or phone/laptop and straight away can see the roadtax, owner license etc. If suspicious can request car driver to pull over!!

No need road blocks anymore… can be done while driving

• Seitha on Oct 01, 2023 at 10:59 pm

every f@KKING app we download requires us to allow access to our contacts, media, photos,camera microphone.

SCAMMERS CAN EASIY ACCESS OUR PERSONAL INFO!!!

• Paultan mentioned indigenous people people. What a racist comment. JPJ mentioned rural people. What bigots. We still find these type of idiot university educated people in this day and age.

• not everyone is ready to take the road tax and driving license online, even the jpj officer themselves are still asking for “mana road tax?”. as i politely told him its online i don’t have the physical road tax anymore, and then the looks at this jpj officer face who maybe thinks i am giving excuses and trying to get away, not until i showed him the digitally image of my license and vehicle road tax on my smartphone. this happened to me less then a week ago. i’ve renew my road tax and car insurance online at the same time, it all can be accessed through myjpj app from smartphone.

• Si gopal on Oct 02, 2023 at 2:50 pm

W8 until everyone got summon direct online coz late renew roadtax n licence ..

• The whole klang valley JPJ short of stickers. Individuals named vehicle are not given Roadtax sticker since Sept 2023

• Abdullah on Jan 25, 2024 at 2:59 am

Sir can i know about foreigner, can register myJpj application?