Gov’t has no plans to ban window tint on cars – Loke

The government says it has no plans to ban the use of window tint on vehicles despite recent incidents of child deaths due to being left in vehicles. While acknowledging the possible role of darkened windows in such incidents, transport minister Anthony Loke said it was not feasible to ban tinting as a response, as the Malay Mail reports.

“Tinted windows are an option; we are not asking everyone to put tinted windows. For parents with small kids, they are being advised to not put tinted windows (on their cars),” he said. “It is necessary for certain people, for health reasons, for security reasons. We cannot just because of one problem, ban the entire thing,” he added.

Loke was commenting on women, family and community development minister Datuk Seri Nancy Shukri’s remarks about the matter made earlier this week. She said there have been suggestions from the public that banning dark window tint can prevent such cases of negligence. She added that such a ban can only be issued by the transport ministry and that she had already put forward the suggestion to Loke.

The issue arose after three children passed away in the span of two months, after being left in vehicles by their parents. In October, an eight-month-old girl died after being left in a car parked in Canselor Tuanku Muhriz Hospital in Cheras, Kuala Lumpur, when she was mistakenly left in the vehicle by her mother, a doctor at the hospital, thinking she had already sent the child to daycare.

In the same month, a 16-month-old girl died after being found unconscious in a car at a public university in Kuala Nerus, Kuala Terengganu, and initial investigations found that the child’s father had forgotten to send the child to daycare at the university campus before beginning work at the same university.

The most recent incident cited was the death of a two-year-old last week, after she was left alone in a car for eight hours, and initial investigations in this case found her mother had dropped off two other children around 7am that day. The mother then proceeded to the two-year-old’s kindergarten, but received a phone call upon arrival and forgot about the child in the car

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Charles Darwin on Nov 23, 2023 at 11:17 am

Reckless parents should be spayed and neutered instead

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 1
    • Dah Menang Semua on Nov 24, 2023 at 8:11 am

Don’t blame others (i.e. tinting) for own negligence OR intentional crime

• Mikasa on Nov 23, 2023 at 11:30 am

Thank God we still had a good minister

If not….stop selling the bike..coz many died
    Stop selling sugar…many dieabetes

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 2
    • Thankfully sanity has prevailed. Such a stupid suggestion in the first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • Peppa on Nov 23, 2023 at 11:41 am

Why would other people have to compromise just because of certain individuals carelessness?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
  • Kepala otak tin kosong suggestion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • LesPaul on Nov 23, 2023 at 12:07 pm

These people know how to beranak but don’t know how to maintain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
    • pukul curi on Nov 23, 2023 at 3:25 pm

good for economy. More delivery riders for future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Fong San on Nov 24, 2023 at 1:07 pm

Agree, sorry that Malaysia have stupid Minister. Take the parents to court for negligence and no responsible.lack of sel conscious

• ThePolygon on Nov 23, 2023 at 12:08 pm

Well at least he sounded sane enough when making the decision to not ban the tint. IF a person can forget anak at the back seat, she / he probably can forget to apply hand brakes too when parking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Loke you make big mistake to allow rear window dark tint , for diver who follow car they can’t view another front car or traffic condition like follow van , bus or truck , very dangerous , side window dark is fine .
    Maybe you as YB got driver no feel that issue , you enjoy as boss seat at Vellfire is all about the boss seats in the rear.
    Please think about us daily travel 2hrs for work at bad traffic condition .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 58
    • Dong gor on Nov 23, 2023 at 12:50 pm

All u need is keep a safe distance and speed from the car in front of u ..that’s all that really matters. Want to have full view, take a plane

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
    • Nonsense on Nov 23, 2023 at 1:13 pm

Keep a safe distance, simple as that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Proton S70 on Nov 23, 2023 at 2:06 pm

get a car with ADAS, problem solved

• ahbeng on Nov 23, 2023 at 2:49 pm

Cucuk rempit geng spotted. If you keep a 2 or 3 cars length and drive within speed limit, you wouldnt be bothered with the dark tint. Only those mat cucuk like you always want to doggie style people with his loud exhaust myvi but speed like siput.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • DontDriveAnymore on Nov 23, 2023 at 2:57 pm

Jgn comment cam otak letak kat Jamban. Who ask you to follow the car too closely till cannot see. Sure kopi lesen. U jgn pandu lagi… bahayakan nyawa orang aje. Ambil MRT and pakai tudung aje. Ade female couch especially designed for ppl like you. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Jshawn on Nov 24, 2023 at 4:44 pm

Jpj made a big mistake giving you a driving license, stupid

• mE Nonsense on Nov 28, 2023 at 3:26 pm

Then u want to ban van, bus or truck because u cant see in front of them?

• Anak i baik on Nov 23, 2023 at 1:05 pm

Even the baby grow up, the parents would be like “Anak i baik tau…dia x pernah nakal, mungkin kawan ajak keluar je…aduh apasal langgar anak saya”

• racist ktard on Nov 23, 2023 at 1:22 pm

You dont like, you go migrate elsewhere

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
  • applegreen on Nov 23, 2023 at 1:31 pm

Because his car got tinted windows. Thats why he comment like that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
  • Do you know where your kids are? on Nov 23, 2023 at 2:52 pm

There were also cases where a child was hit/rolled over/crushed by the parent’s car at the home driveway itself while the parent was parking the car. Obviously there are parents who did not take the extra care & effort to check on the whereabouts of their young children.

• hazri on Nov 23, 2023 at 3:10 pm

the suggestion from menteri wanita is just to show that she is “buat kerja”, thats all. i have no issue with black tint on rear window. but, black tint on front window and driver window should be ban.

• Ben Yap on Nov 23, 2023 at 4:51 pm

then we should ban female ministers because they cannot give good ideas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Peppa on Nov 23, 2023 at 4:54 pm

if i kutuk cina or indian you will most likely play the victim card then say “look at us oppressed minorities. Pick me love me choose me” just like the black and hispanic people in the U.S

• tricycle on Nov 23, 2023 at 6:27 pm

Good decision

• Fong San on Nov 24, 2023 at 1:06 pm

Agree, sorry that Malaysia have stupid Minister. Take the parents to court for negligence and no responsible.

• hyin21 on Nov 24, 2023 at 1:11 pm

There is just no excuse for forgetting that you got a child in your car. There was suggestion that parents leave their mobile phone in the rear so that when they leave, they will go to get their mobile phone and at the same time notice their child…..OMG!!!!….the phone is more important that the child!!!!

• Rajan on Nov 24, 2023 at 1:15 pm

These parents are the ones who should be punished for their negligence

• Thiviya Kumar on Nov 24, 2023 at 2:48 pm

Whr you all coming from, how you all can come out with such a wonderful suggestions being in a official positions, basically it’s bout those parents mental health issue, lack of awareness & lack of bonding with their own kids.. if not how come thy can totally forget tht thy bring their children outdoor, u working to raise ur child nothing is important thn ur child, those parents are the responsible to their own kids not the public. A proper suggestion is, gv a coaching to partners plan to become parents, similar like kursus perkahwinan.

• Lee cheng san on Nov 24, 2023 at 8:37 pm

When did unlimited tint for a fee kick in?

• ASHOIK on Nov 25, 2023 at 1:11 am

SINGAPORE DON’T CARE ABOUT TINTING AND MODIFYING CARS BUT NOT BEYOND THE LAW OF MODIFICATION.

I DON’T UNDERSTAND WHY MALAYSIA IS ENFORCING LAW AND SUMMONS FOR SIMPLE TINTING ISSUE. TINTING CAR IS NO ISSUE DUE TO AVOID HOT WEATHER AND ALSO FOR PRIVACY PURPOSE. ENFORCEMENT OF LAW IS GOOD BUT SHOULD BE FOLLOWED BY ALL CITIZENS WHO LIVED IN MALAYSIA INCLUDING GOVERNMENT.

THIS IS MY IDEA AND THOUGHT THAT IS FAIR AND LOGIC THAT NEVER MAKE ANYONE DOWN. I AM NOT AGAINST THE GOVERNMENT OF MALAYSIA. SALAM SATU MALAYSIA, THANK YOU

• Common Sense on Nov 28, 2023 at 3:31 pm

Aside from parent’s carelessness, shouldn’t those daycare centres give parents a call if their child who is scheduled to arrive at daycare suddenly not in attendance? what if the child is old enough to walk and walks off on their own or an infant or child is kidnapped at the daycare centre? don’t they check for attendance and if not present, to contact parents/guardian? Maybe then the parents after receiving phone call realise child in car. late to daycare by 30mins already start call, plenty of time to save child who stuck for hours?