PADU website crawls as Malaysians rush to register

Nothing like a stampede to bring things to a crawl. Following the launch of the Pangkalan Data Utama (PADU) socio-economic database yesterday, the expected slew of people heading to the site to register resulted in congestion and the inevitable slow – or no – load times.

As Bernama reports, the clamour to register with PADU reportedly made the website difficult, and in many cases impossible, to access. Some social media users said they could not access the website because of the high traffic volume, while others claimed their attempts to register got stuck when they did not receive an OTP SMS.

One user suggested that apart from using OTP SMS, which is only valid for five minutes, the authorities should upgrade the system with a multiple verification function to ease the registration process for new users. However, economy Minister Rafizi Ramli said complaints on the OTP issue that have been received so far only involved Celcom users and not subscribers of other telcos, and that the problem had been solved by 3.30pm yesterday.

Away from the OTP issue, the site was still far from operating smoothly into the wee hours of the morning today, with colleague Danny Tan reporting that his attempt to register (at 2am) resulted in a stuck screen with no button to press.

Despite the hiccups, Rafizi said that more than 70,000 registrations had been made on the system at 5pm, four hours after it was launched, with 60% of these completed with e-KYC validation.

In any case, you don’t really have to rush (such a Malaysian thing, at the start and towards a deadline) to register, as you have until March 31 to update your info on the database. This can either be done online via the PADU portal, or offline in the case of those living in rural areas and those without internet access. In such cases, registering and updating of details can be done at district offices, village community management councils (MPKK) and with local authorities.

As Rafizi has mentioned, registration is not mandatory, and no action will be taken if individuals choose not to update, but opting out might affect their eligibility for targeted subsidies if the data on hand wasn’t accurate. All citizens aged 18 years and above should register and update their data on the PADU portal by verifying 39 items concerning personal information.

PADU is an integrated national socio-economic database combining all available data of individuals and households collected from government departments and agencies, with 70 of these being at the federal level. In the near term, the data in it will be used as a key component in how the government retargets subsidies and assistance, with household net disposable income metrics set to be used to provide a fair picture of the socio-economic position of every Malaysian household.

Its introduction paves the way for the targeted subsidy of RON 95 petrol, which is set to happen in the second half of 2024, although the mechanism to determine subsidy has yet to be revealed. Targeted subsidy of electricity is in the plans too.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• naisu on Jan 03, 2024 at 12:28 pm

Giving employers a reason to deny raising salaries above the cap, nice 1

• Rafizi sembang kencang on Jan 03, 2024 at 12:57 pm

Hanya org bodoh dan kurang cerdik je percaya dengan madani ni. Rasakan hahaha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
      • Richard Teo on Jan 03, 2024 at 10:58 pm

I wanna call Tengku Zafrul (ex-PN’s Finance minister) to ask who proposed this targeted subsidy!!!

https://paultan.org/2022/07/29/targeted-fuel-subsidy-pilot-test-b40-m40-to-receive-e-wallet-credit-but-everyone-to-pay-higher-fuel-prices/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • Troll Hunter on Jan 05, 2024 at 1:38 am

Zafrul calls for targeted subsidy but this system was all Lapizi idea. Go blame him, not the ex-PN Fin Min

• Veyron Owner on Jan 03, 2024 at 3:44 pm

I’mma professional stock trader. I sold off all my shares worth $17mil in 2021 …which makes me a poor B40 now and eligible for subsidized living with fellow rohingyans.

• Dah Menang Semua on Jan 04, 2024 at 8:13 am

PADU don’t care U’re millionaire/billionaire
        As long as U’re not having enough income
        High expenditure no balance monthly
        Then U’re B40. Qualified (need help)

• First day launching already got security issue. God knows what to comes next few days/weeks. Tak padu lah. Tumbukan padu Gaban adalah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Richard Teo on Jan 03, 2024 at 3:47 pm

So fast data got stolen?

• Albert Einstein call this INSANITY on Jan 03, 2024 at 3:50 pm

Since the Padu system is so UNPADU or shitpadu,it makes sense the rakyat refrain from further assessing it,until the CYBERSECURITY issues r ironed out.
      We r daily,inundated with scam whatsapp,calls from quack sources n Mr Rafizi,pls do rakyat a favour…give rakyat a break until the security issues r comprehensively dealt with.
      Dont launch a SYIOK PADU when even a From 5 dropout with hacking training can hack and scam innocent rakyat.

• Phuddi sung Lee on Jan 03, 2024 at 12:30 pm

Padu, then after it Madu, chadoo, mamadoo, end results zero,
    Rakyat should not entertain these non sense data base collection websites
    Ultimate failure can c any one put ic n Hp (biggest loop holes) n now slowest crawling, so on n do forth failures, at same related minister keep telling us all safe
    Pls keep away from it

• Dah Menang Semua on Jan 03, 2024 at 12:39 pm

The PADU site lacks
    1/Vehicle ownership info
    2/Children spending info
    3/Property asset info

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Blok pembangkang on Jan 03, 2024 at 5:17 pm

As usual, another half baked gomen initiative that’s not properly thought thru and rushed to be rolled out. What’s your motive, lapizi? Invoke needs a new database? Rest assured the opposition will make this an issue in the next parliament sitting

• Nurul Izzah on Jan 03, 2024 at 12:55 pm

Anwar menang rakyat senang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Bebaskan Bossku on Jan 03, 2024 at 1:00 pm

PADU merupakan hadiah terbaik dari politaik PH kepada pentaksub dan penyokong mereka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Richard Teo on Jan 04, 2024 at 3:47 pm

Started since Zafrul era as Finance minister. PN government already conducting testing before GE15 in 2022

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2022/07/07/govt-currently-testing-targeted-fuel-subsidies-says-zafrul

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Troll Hunter on Jan 05, 2024 at 1:38 am

Zafrul calls for targeted subsidy but this system was all Lapizi idea. Go blame him, not the ex-PN Fin Min

• Lapizi Lampazi on Jan 03, 2024 at 1:19 pm

Meanwhile, in Invoke HQ…

Guys put on your headsets. We gonna start calling them 1 by 1.

• Why? They ady have your details, they no longer need to call you for it

• PADU la Lapizi

• Apa boleh buat, being B40, need to hard-up all the hassle to get the gula-gula. I promise I will study harder in school and earn better income later on. Riding harder delivering food will be too late already, whereas I can study harder now and not riding harder later, sigh…

• U forgot 1 more thing. Don’t reproduce harder like your forebears. That’s a guaranteed no escape from poverty

• Seitha on Jan 03, 2024 at 10:39 pm

an exact repeat of the plandemic vaccine…everybody rushed to get the vaccine.. and even stupidily took snapshots in the vaccine center’s cardboard cut outs of “I am vaccinated”… now paying the price with myocarditis and other diseases!!

how come people are so easily fooled by govs!!

• taik kucing guy on Jan 04, 2024 at 8:15 am

taik kucing lapuji…

• Why give subsidy when Malaysian don't need it on Jan 04, 2024 at 6:05 pm

Just remove the whole damn subsidy la, set everyone on the same foot.

People in Thailand or Indonesia are even poorer than us, they can survive without petrol subsidy too and their things are cheaper there. Just nature takes it course.

• Lily Jasintha Anarchi Muthu on Jan 04, 2024 at 9:57 pm

Seorang OKU