PADU launched – data to determine if you’d be eligible for fuel subsidy, update your personal info by Mar 31

The government has rolled out the Pangkalan Data Utama (PADU) socio-economic database, with prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim officially announcing its introduction at the Putrajaya International Convention Centre (PICC) earlier today.

As mentioned previously, PADU is an integrated national socio-economic database combining all available data of individuals and households collected from government departments and agencies, with 70 of these being at the federal level.

According to economy minister Rafizi Ramli, the only exception to data and its collection is that of banking data, which is not permitted under the Banking and Financial Institutions Act 1989 (BAFIA).

In the near term, PADU will be used as a key component in how the government retargets subsidies and assistance, with household net disposable income metrics set to be used to provide a fair picture of the socio-economic position of every Malaysian household.

Its introduction paves the way for the targeted subsidy of RON 95 petrol, which is set to happen in the second half of 2024. Targeted subsidy of electricity is in the plans too. It was clearly stated that today’s event was just to officially launch the database, and that the mechanism to determine subsidy would be announced at a later date.

As indicated by Rafizi previously, PADU will allow the government to move from the B40-M40-T20 approach in assessing the eligibility of aid recipients to a more targeted and fair determination of who should be able to receive aid and those who should not.

However, as it was pointed out, the central database – which is managed by the statistics department – is more than just a tool for determining subsidies. The core intention is to provide a secure, comprehensive and “near real-time” main national database in digital form, containing information of 32 million Malaysians.

According to a statistics department slide during the launch event, it presently has integrated data on 29.8 million people, covering all available info from “cradle to the grave.” Containing nearly 300 types of federal government-related data, with more from state and local governments to be included gradually, PADU will be used to improve the government’s efficiency and to help it determine an assortment of economic elements.

In terms of safety, the database is protected by what is deemed a high level of cyber security. As for access, Rafizi has assured the public that that there will be no changes to personal data that is currently owned by government departments or agencies, and that existing laws of the respective government departments or agencies govern all data that PADU uses.

While the database has information gleaned from various government agencies, Malaysians have been asked to register on PADU to update and validate their information on 39 variables to ensure that their data is accurate.

Registration is not mandatory, and Rafizi has said that no action will be taken if individuals choose not to update. However, he said opting out might affect their eligibility for targeted subsidies, and he urged the public to validate their info to ensure that their data across the 39 variables available was accurate. Items that can be checked and updated include that for household, address, work, income and commitments.

The government says that people have until March 31 to update their info on the database, which can either be done online via the PADU portal, or offline in the case of those living in rural areas and those without internet access. In such cases, registering and updating of details can be done at district offices, village community management councils (MPKK) and with local authorities.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• meladam on Jan 02, 2024 at 2:08 pm

instead busy digging the past to find the lost money, better think on how to generate money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
    • Ex Rafizi supporter on Jan 02, 2024 at 2:28 pm

Apa boleh buat. Sudah geng dengan perasuah. Hadap jelah dengan KERA jaan MAhal DAh NI yang temberang ni. Dulu cakap lain, sekarang cakap lain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 13
      • josef on Jan 02, 2024 at 2:59 pm

Dah tau org tu rasuah ko terhegeh buat jadi geng kenapa?..siap ko kawtim bersihkan dia dari tuduhan rasuah..lantik pulak jadi timbalan…lepas tu ko sibuk cakap ko tak boleh majukan malaysia sebab ada geng rasuah dgn ko..lepas tu nanti bolehla ckp rasuah susah nak berenti sebab geng rasuah ada dalam gomen..padahal ko pun dah tengah sedap sekarang sakau harta negara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • Dah Menang Semua on Jan 02, 2024 at 4:10 pm

ECRL, HSR, MRT3, Forest City,
          Bandar Malaysia mari-mari-mari

• MB Sanusi on Jan 02, 2024 at 4:23 pm

Ayohchik Hadi memang tk layak sebab tiap2 bulan Ade gaji duta marang… TunM & daim layak kot skrg status Bersara. kikikkih

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • Richard Teo on Jan 03, 2024 at 11:01 pm

I wanna call Tengku Zafrul (ex-PN’s Finance minister) to ask who proposed this targeted subsidy!!!

https://paultan.org/2022/07/29/targeted-fuel-subsidy-pilot-test-b40-m40-to-receive-e-wallet-credit-but-everyone-to-pay-higher-fuel-prices/

• Troll Hunter on Jan 05, 2024 at 11:21 am

Zafrul calls for targeted subsidy but this system was all Lapizi idea. Go blame him, not the ex-PN Fin Min

• Malaysia G from head to toe rasuah geng, who become PM still same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • hancing on Jan 02, 2024 at 4:36 pm

Incapable govt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • The Truth on Jan 02, 2024 at 7:00 pm

Better don’t register, later you find out that your IC and biodata was used to vote for PH even when you did not vote for them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 30
      • Ex PH Supporter on Jan 02, 2024 at 7:08 pm

Yes, see how did Selangor PKR used Selangorian voters database to automatically registered for their Insan insurance scheme without enduser approval. If they can do this on a state level without you knowing, what else can they do on a grand national level with your personal ID.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
    • Subsidies r like controlled hypertension on Jan 02, 2024 at 7:23 pm

Hackers from Kim Jong Un n CO are busy on “surveillance mode”.Once the chance to strike is there,the roque regime will use whatever means to hack our Padu or Madu database,to finance their nuke programme.
      Dont discount this.Hacking is a multi billion Dollar industry.

• Lapizi Lampazi on Jan 03, 2024 at 11:15 am

PADU was fully developed by gomen (bullshit! He must have put his ppl from Invoke on gomen payroll)

Can you imagine the safety of our data?

• Anana on Jan 02, 2024 at 2:21 pm

It should be a two prong affair where government needs to recover old monies while at the same time attempt to generate new monies without burdening the people. Of course, finding old monies is low hanging fruit, no brainer government will go this way first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • PM Zimbabwe on Jan 02, 2024 at 2:24 pm

Mythomania bermaksud kelainan psikologi yang menyebabkan seseorang mempunyai perilaku berbohong secara terus-menerus dan dalam jangka waktu yang lama.

Berikut adalah ciri-ciri mythomania:

– Pembohongan mereka tidak mempunyai kelebihan tertentu

– Kisah biasanya dramatik, rumit, dan sangat terperinci

– Biasanya mereka menjadi penyelamat atau mangsa utama dalam cerita

– Mereka percaya bahawa kisah mereka benar-benar berlaku

– Pembohongan diceritakan berulang kali.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 7
  • PHBN Korup on Jan 02, 2024 at 2:24 pm

Congratulations to PH voters, can say goodbye to fuel subsidy

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 7
  • Janji dicapati on Jan 02, 2024 at 2:25 pm

Refer my name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
  • Nurul Izzah on Jan 02, 2024 at 2:25 pm

Anwar menang, rakyat senang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
  • Rafizi sembang kencang on Jan 02, 2024 at 2:27 pm

Hanya org bodoh dan kurang cerdik je percaya dengan madani ni. Rasakan hahaha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 103
    • Takan nak percaya pulak kerajaan yang lepas yang buat hutang kerajaan dari RM800bil kepada RM1.5trillion (2x ganda dalam 2 tahun) dengan perlarian menantu ke negara lain sebab?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 5
      • MB Sanusi on Jan 02, 2024 at 4:25 pm

Kena Bijak main isu. Pru16 nnti.. kite melalak lagik mslayu terpinggir sley terancam. Kakakah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Yeke? Ko rasa pengundi pembangkang yang rata-rata B40 tu, siang malam nak buat pengeluaran KWSP tu cerdik ke? Klu cerdik, takdelah diorang jadi B40 kan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Custardinho on Jan 02, 2024 at 6:35 pm

Our only other choice is the Pedo Taliban party. No thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
      • Pedo Taliban still better than Pirates of the Caribbean party. At least they will not double & triple cross us. Savvy mate?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 39
        • Ex-PM yg menantunya lesap on Jan 03, 2024 at 1:23 pm

Yes?? You mean my parti?

• Lets See on Jan 04, 2024 at 4:53 pm

Yes your party that had double cross the 95% minorities that voted you and now sleeping with your supposedly eternal enemy party that you took 60 years to defeat, now whoring yourselves to them. You know who you are.

• FireAce on Jan 02, 2024 at 2:30 pm

As for access, Rafizi has assured the public that that there will be no changes to personal data that is currently owned by government departments or agencies, and that existing laws of the respective government departments or agencies govern all data that PADU uses.

Rafizi promise is as good as thin air since Section 3(1) of Personal Data Protection Act 2010 (“the Act”) provides that “This Act shall not apply to the Federal Government and State Government”.

In another words, takda protection, takda guarantee, if leak no one can sue the government and no one will be punished by the law.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • IceHeart on Jan 02, 2024 at 6:39 pm

Be prepared to receive phishing and scam calls, mails, SMSes and Whatsapp texts especially from 1 particular kompeni called Invoke

• kckfen on Jan 02, 2024 at 2:41 pm

Cant even log in, waiting for OTP take forever….

• My only concern is to launch PADU. You kenot log ni not my problem. My job is done

• RAFIZI THE GREAT on Jan 02, 2024 at 3:14 pm

promise different things, implement something else. syabas raja pormula.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Ben Yap on Jan 02, 2024 at 3:21 pm

those in T20 group will not be registering themselves in Padu. there is no benefit to register since their are not going to enjoy any subsidies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Just get a Myvi... on Jan 02, 2024 at 7:18 pm

Those who just book any car above 100 grand can kiss goodbye to PADU.
      U update lagi..u confirmed : TIDAK LAYAK SUBSIDI MINYAK petrol DAN TNB.
      When the system detects your spending spree like houses,cars,furnitures,state of the art audio/hifi,education loans,holiday loans,renovation loans etc,u r just saying u r able to pay Rm3.50/litre for petrol.

• I second thaf Yap Rather than getting my data hijacked and held ransom, better keep low and steady. Secondly, do I trust our government securing our data? Look, cyber security is a real thing and we are failing until FBI comes to help. WTF.

• This is just a beginning guys.

https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/2024/01/03/critical-password-flaw-found-within-hours-of-padu-database-launch/110374

• ROTI CANAI on Jan 02, 2024 at 3:24 pm

bodo

• Open to abuse on Jan 02, 2024 at 3:33 pm

I’ll just overstate my commitments and expenditures until I have negative cashflow every month. That automatically makes me a B40

• Alfred on Jan 02, 2024 at 3:42 pm

Have a feeling that

B40 will not register because they just dont like this gov
    T20 will not register because this will only hurt them
    PATI will not register because they think this database will use to deport them

In the end, M40 will register and not get any fuel subsidy…

The only way to make sure the gov does not take away fuel subsidy is to boycott this database. Make this database irrelevant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
  • Wan Azizah on Jan 02, 2024 at 3:46 pm

Anwar menang, pizi jual data

• Python on Jan 02, 2024 at 7:03 pm

Bukan Rafizi kata terang terang maklumat dah Ada di unit unit kerajaan berkenaan, Skrg nak self register pulak. Ini jujur ka?

• LoL. Can we believe this government? Can we believe our information is secured and not going to be hijacked and misued? Even big Western corporations with strong information security management were being hijacked, do you think Madani is any better? Just look at the gov websites – JPJ and Jabatan Imigresen – how latchy they are – enough for me to feel insecured. I do not intend to register, until I am confident with their ISM.

• This is just a beginning guys. Don’t play play with Cyber Security.

https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/2024/01/03/critical-password-flaw-found-within-hours-of-padu-database-launch/110374

• hafiz on Jan 03, 2024 at 8:08 am

wow ramai walaun dalam ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • opman on Jan 03, 2024 at 8:11 am

They have all our data in the form of LDHN, EPF, JPJ, banks, MySejahtera, mobile phones, etc. etc. But yet still need this so-called PADU. Really bummer! Can’t they just consolidate the data themselves?! Waste of resource (time and money). There are real social challenges/issues to address instead of doing this. Mmg tak paham this g-men.

• BODOH BETUL !

• Sohai on Jan 03, 2024 at 8:46 am

I think he has just created a monster.

• Robinhood on Jan 03, 2024 at 8:49 am

Taking away subsidy is one thing. There is no plan at all they are going to address the hyper inflation that is going to happen definitely!!! Those who have been paying taxes and feeding them FAT have been totally left out. No wonder our country is going downhill as you continue to encourage people to be B40 instead of bringing this people up. Blaming the past govts and rhetorics will not help you as people are fed up. You are in charge now and you wanted the position badly. So, do your job and make the country a better place and be FAIR!!!

• Sparcov on Jan 03, 2024 at 8:56 am

It is essential to generate more income to the citizen within the country, preventing outflow of currencies by reducing dependent on foreign content such as foreign labour and materials. Promoting export in the area of high value product while retaining the sustainability of the in country food security. Encouraging local business players to venture out of Malaysia and attracting FDI through agencies such as MIDA and MATRADE.

Currently, it is not a secret due to mismanaged that lead to the country to where we are, scandals after scandals, policies that does not bring any benefit. Lost in foreign exchange drive every single cents down to earth, we simply does not have enough income to overcome the inflation and increase in cost of living.

M40 in East Coast of Malaysia become automatically a B40 in Kuala Lumpur. Why? rising cost of living, transportation, tolls, parking, housing, etc. While, do we have enough job in the east coast to give us the income matching as in Kuala Lumpur, do you have enough opportunities?

Taking the money from the rich to balance out the shortage does not work, we need to have steady income, become a high income country so that we have more RM to spent to the economy. Spending RM50 a day now does not mean anything compare to 20 years ago. While many still earning between RM 100 – 200 per day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • STUPID OKU MENTERI on Jan 03, 2024 at 9:09 am

So clear how low IQ our menteri really is. Targetted subsidies to win vote only. They aint joking when people said certain Malaysians has the lowest IQ and is not able to make money for the people. Their IQ only enables them to make money FROM Malaysians. What a disgrace to Islam.They give Islam a bad name.
    If I was PM, I will tax the poor more. Yest its a punishment for those who are lazy and don’t study well. Why punish and tax those that contribute the most to a country? Wierd logic. Punish the poor. If poor because of cacat then ok la. But those who are poor when they have all 4 limbs should be punished so their next generation will be scared to be poor

• PIJI PENJUAL DATA MURAH on Jan 03, 2024 at 9:49 am

PIJI PENJUAL DATA. THANKS TO INVOKE!

• zhexia on Jan 05, 2024 at 9:08 pm

If government want to do targeted fuel subsidy,
    isn’t it better to ask people to go to government department to get something like “fuel subsidy smart card”,
    Only those with “fuel subsidy smart card”, when they pump petrol, they insert this smart card into the petrol fuel pump in order to get fuel subsidy.
    Of course to get a “fuel subsidy smart card”, you need to go to government department to apply one, there you need to provide detail data to government to apply for a “fuel subsidy smart card”.
    In this way, then we (people) will not worry our data hack and stole by hacker in the internet.