Household net disposable income metrics to be used for accurate distribution of targeted subsidies – Rafizi

The government is set to adopt a new approach to help refine its planned targeted subsidy scheme, which will begin with diesel and electricity. According to economy minister Rafizi Ramli, the approach will involve collecting household net disposable income metrics from early next year, and these will be used as a structuring measure to ensure that targeted subsidies are more accurately distributed, Bernama reports.

He said the metrics will be integrated with the Pangkalan Data Utama (PADU) socio-economic database that was announced recently by prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim. The PADU database seeks to combine socio-economic information for every household in the country to streamline the implementation of targeted subsidies.

“Once we get to that level (household net disposable income), we will get a clearer picture of the net disposable income comparability for households, and that will allow us to refine any government programmes and target subsidies accordingly,” he said last weekend.

He said this would provide a truer picture than the current approach, which focuses on B40, M40 and T20 income group segments and does not accurately indicate the level of household disposable income from one household to another or take into account other factors such as the number of dependent children and individual location.

Asked by reporters if the targeted subsidy distribution will also cover RON 95 petrol, he said the government will first focus on the electricity and diesel subsidy components that have been announced, and will monitor their effectiveness before announcing any decision on a targeted subsidy for RON 95.

“When we start switching to RON 95, of course the consideration is bigger, involving more people and families from each household. That’s why we will ensure PADU is available by 2024 and any decision on how to target RON 95 can be made easily,” he explained.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• dong gor on May 24, 2023 at 5:11 pm

PADU apa…number on paper is never tally with actual. take for instance the avg inflation always reported at 3-4%? but when we go out and eat, it’s easily 10-20%. Go Lotus’s, household products easily see a 10% hike… so mana ada 3%.
    bottom line, don’t work too hard and you get more perks

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 6
  • Bossku on May 24, 2023 at 5:15 pm

The dumbest idea ever! Sure way to become a 1-term garmen! Those taw kay who had to pay full price for their vehicles will sure pass down the cost to their customers! No way will this not hike up inflation. Even some M40 households will end up paying full price for petrol, except they might not be able to pass this extra cost to their customers! How do you shoot yourself in your foot? Watch how Pakatan “Unity” try to save rakyat money by “taxing” them with non-subsidise petrol!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 10
    • Question on May 25, 2023 at 9:44 am

What’s the better idea then?

• Bossku on May 26, 2023 at 1:10 pm

Try explaining to rakyat how Pakatan “Unity” spent RM7.5 MILLION advertising on Campaign Madani! Geez…that is certainly money well spent! There are ways to cut expenditure without taxing rakyat.

• Rafizi sembang kencang on May 24, 2023 at 6:11 pm

Where is your formula to reduce car prices, Rafizi?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
  • We have 7 person living in one house but each of us only make about rm2-3k. We are borderline poverty. This household income we suddenly become t20? What a dumb system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
    • Unimaginable Insanity when fuel prices go haywire on May 24, 2023 at 10:16 pm

Eh,what about the fat mama who managed to get back all the “unexplained” berlian cincin…she didnt declare those busted barang,but by just selling one Birkin handbag..can enjoy 200 grand as loose change .
      She M40 or T20 ?
      Come on germen perpaduan…how can a person with so much unexplained wealth ..not got taxed kau kau compared to hardworking T20 who cannot afford to miss hypertensive pills for high blood pressure?(due to excessive work pressure) ?
      Rafizi n Co…pls be fair..dont just target the T20 who contribute the most taxes. Target those with huge unexplained wealth ,alerting LHDN to fine them kaukau.
      Yours humbly is just a retired M40(just above B40 borderline).

• Albert Einstein pun pening what Rafizi n Co on May 24, 2023 at 10:36 pm

14-20K..monthly earnings..of course T20.,dude.
      A pakcik earning 2000RM as security guard,with housewife n 5 kids studying…of course B40…7 in a family.
      U need rocket science?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
      • Stop categorisedlah..!! on May 25, 2023 at 9:15 am

many t20s household r both husband & wife working, some even include their working children. If the pakcik earn 2k, his wife shld also work like open a hawker stall with the help of their 5 children. The mentality is important. Stop giving excuses! known some1 earn 3k and categorized as b40 but his wife earning 10k+ in spore??? got 2 condos somemore. So this b40/m40/t20 is really inaccurate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Yeahsure on May 24, 2023 at 6:24 pm

see the cars parked infront of most PPRs…civics,estimas and so on..if they can live in that cheat code,they can also manipulate their income status….this idea is stupid right from the begining

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • Ajibkor Madani on May 24, 2023 at 9:10 pm

Mr Yeahure
      I tend to agree with u.I use to drop a friend at B40 low end apartments.
      I can see many brand new Protons,5 year old Merc,BMW,Xamrys,Ativas,Avanza,even recon Harriers!
      Even if the statistics r finally in germen hands,what assurance can we have that when those civil servants start categorising us as subsidy receipients,hanky panky or racial prejudice didnt set in?Rafizi,it is easier said than done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Laugh on May 25, 2023 at 11:43 am

Totally agree.
      I stay near PPR Seri Alam.
      The amount of luxury cars are insane.
      I’m a T20 driving a Myvi drive pass the PPR where so many Alphards and BMWs parked like sardins at the PPR.

Really feel sad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • todak on May 24, 2023 at 7:54 pm

The subsidy culture is already too deeply embedded in the Malaysian society and the average Malaysian now has trouble understanding & accepting the reality that prices are dictated by the market forces of supply & demand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
  • ROTI CANAI on May 24, 2023 at 8:05 pm

rich flers will just run tax…while hardworking flers that kena tax steadily every month will have to pay the heaviest penalties

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Earn less better?? on May 24, 2023 at 8:31 pm

Sometimes i dont understand y they target t20? They paid more income tax, bought car with higher tax rate (conticars,etc), spend on luxury goods already been taxed high. Somemore cant get handout from them. And now they dont let t20s to enjoy petrol subsidy..then y wanna earn more? better earn less to enjoy everything…sorry plz correct me if im wrong. Im abit confuse here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 8
    • Mat biru on May 25, 2023 at 1:27 am

The rich become more rich, the poor become poorer. Can afford bmw Mercedes, but petrol go up 70-90 cents per litre becomes an issue? Do you even know the income gap of T20,M40,B40?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
      • Every1 is Msian. on May 25, 2023 at 8:40 am

I think wat “Earn less better??” tried to said is, the gment policy shld be fair to every1. T20, M40,b40 all r msian. If got subsidy, all shall get it, since t20/m40 also contribute to gment coffer. And gment shld look on how to make the poor to bcome rich, not by giving hand outs but guide them. Give them the fishing rod, not give them the fish! Many rich was poor before, learn from them.

• Every1 is Msian! on May 25, 2023 at 9:03 am

A good policy will help spurs the economy. A right attitude must be taught and practice to strive higher. Like some commenter suggest, 150k & above cars can only use min require ron97, so whoever buy it, hv to accept the fuel price. Frankly speaking, eventhough they can remove ron95 subsidy, the rich can still buy EV to save more, & can even install solar charging to further reduce the cost .Good financial planning is 1 of the skill of rich ppl. Eg, u earn 3k, buy x50 9yrs loan, those earn 5k buy myvi 5yrs loan. Yes, u can afford x50, but u forgot the maintenance side of it, like cost of changing tyres, petrol consumption,etc. And how much left for urself?

• Priya on May 25, 2023 at 10:55 pm

How to enforce above 150k car use ron 97? Ecu lock to ron 97, then engine knock sensors all can throw away. Today buy 160k car, next year 140k, can I use ron 95 then? Or what about 250k car, after few years I buy secondhand become <150k, can put ron 95?

• im not t20 but standing up for T20 on May 25, 2023 at 12:28 pm

T20, it feels like they are getting punished for earning more + contributing more tax to gomen, but they don’t enjoy the subsidy, what’s the logic?

i do understand the earning gap between b40 m40 and t20, but why punish the t20, and not raise the standard of earning of b40 citizen by improving themself? always rely on gomen, sampai bila?

yes, they can afford luxury items, but at the end of the day, they worked hard for it and not rely on nobody.

thoughts?
        im no t20, just thinking for them if i were in their shoe.

• PennyNotWise on May 25, 2023 at 10:17 pm

My household earn more than 10k and we are categorized as T20. But then we are also helping the lesser fortunate family members and got kids of our own. At the end of the month 10k is nothing. We also are paying high taxes and contributing to the economy. Also now I have to pay 30k for pilgrimage. Which i has to postponed by the way. No thanks to our PM.
        The point we voted him in was to improve our livelihood. Not make us scapegoat to leak our hard earned money dry. At the moment, I have lost hope for this Parti Harapan.

• Daryl on Jun 17, 2023 at 11:25 am

True, why must T20 ppl work harder to get promoted and increase salary but a major portion of salary gone to pay income Tax? Worst is some more our money being stolen by PM and Ministers thru over priced transactions and project without direct tender.

• Carz owner on May 24, 2023 at 8:50 pm

There is a simpler solution to fuel subsidy. Calibrate cars above certain segment to use only RON97, so those who buy them have to use unsubsidized fuel. If you afford them, sure can afford unsubsidized fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • garaja on May 25, 2023 at 10:05 am

Nowadays, the EFI systems in SI ICE powered vehicles come with knock sensors which does allow the engine to safely run on slightly lower octane fuel. So, if the engine is factory rated to produce the best maximum power output on RON97 petrol, it could still safely run on RON95 fuel because when the knock sensor detects any pinging, the ECU will gradually dial back or retard the ignition timing advance curve until the pinging is no longer detected. This does slightly reduce the engine maximum power output, but that shouldn’t be too critical for public road use as compared to race competition use.

• Rafizi Fan boy on May 24, 2023 at 9:00 pm

Rafizi can spin anything and we will just agreed with it. We need more formula from our beloved Fizi to slow down the inflation and reduce car prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • DonkeyKong on May 24, 2023 at 9:11 pm

At this point, anyone who thinks we can count on Rafizi to come up with anything meaningful should just check themselves into a mental hospital.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Germen Kurang Perpaduan on May 24, 2023 at 10:27 pm

Before GE15..Rafizi promised many things..nothing much became reality now.
      Infact,voters r beginning to doubt his ability n sincerity.
      I m beginning to feel that he is worst than the Mr.Tokok..Namewee.
      He is genuinely a let down.Germen Perpaduan..u only got one chance..dont be a disappointment for our YDPA has high hopes for your 5 year term.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Sick & Tired on May 25, 2023 at 11:12 am

At this point, anyone who thinks PH can govern should just check themselves into a mental hospital.

• Punch is tumbuk on May 25, 2023 at 12:08 am

Above all …. do not forget abt data leakage!

• hafiz on May 25, 2023 at 7:49 am

what I can see here most dumb comments are not really read the article

• Punch is tumbuk on May 25, 2023 at 4:56 pm

Sumb comment also ask abt possible data leakage. Mat saleh said once bitten twice shy

• Many don’t even know their own “net disposable income”. How can they know?

• NowYouKnow on May 25, 2023 at 9:20 am

For a start, his position is redundant. He can’t even produce a single meaningful formula since assuming his post.

• So government going to tax more from those that plan their family size according to income and subsidized those that failed to plan their family? Is the target of the government is for everyone to have huge family? When everyone just wait for subsidy, who is going to fund the subsidy?

• Family size is a personal decision. How much you earn is based on capability. So everyone can have just have more children to qualify for subsidies, even earning 20k a month can be categorised as B40 what a joke. Those who planned their family well have to sponsor those who have babies like no tomorrow. Lol!

• i know a system: it’s called HONESTY – siapa T20 go to unsubsidized pump, those B40 go to subsidized pump, those M40 sendiri pilih.
    hahhahhahahahahah… joking only la… Malaysians where got honesty wan

• Ben Yap on May 25, 2023 at 5:08 pm

don’t need to subsidize fuel la. just ask the B40 to work harder else let them fall into poverty.

• congratulations malaysia on May 26, 2023 at 1:57 pm

Tahniah Malaysia Ku. These policies are encouraging people to stay lazy, stay poor. Being hardworking will be punished. Being lazy and poor, you get handouts. Good job malaysia, you are becoming a failed country.