Proton Saga changes lanes while indicating, gets mirror damaged by passing motorcyclist

Traffic congestion is a given in city centres, and yet another instance of conflict between a car and a motorcycle has surfaced on X/Twitter and Reddit, where dashcam footage shows slow-moving traffic on what appears to be Jalan Yew in Kuala Lumpur, heading towards the Sungai Besi Expressway.

Here, a red Proton Saga is seen waiting for a gap in traffic to change from the right lane to the left lane, and eventually manages to do so, its driver having indicated their intention beforehand to change lanes.

Going by the time stamp from the dashcam footage, the Saga has had its indicator on for around nine seconds before a kapchai (underbone motorcycle) and a larger sportbike arrives in view of the dashcam. With the Saga positioned in between lanes, the kapchai brakes – as does the sportbike behind it – then the Saga completes its manoeuvre into the left lane.

The kapchai rider appears to shake their head in disapproval, while the sportbike rider behind goes one further, and swings at the Saga’s driver-side mirror, and a piece can be seen to have come off the car.

In instances such as this one, it pays to read traffic conditions, and minimise the speed differential when lane splitting. Sufficient anticipation of other road users ahead would mitigate sudden braking, and everyone can be on their own ways safely. Certainly, don’t go damaging property of others.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• t333son on Mar 04, 2024 at 1:25 pm

There are only 2 lanes, 1 left, 1 right. Proton Saga has done what was required to change lanes safely

1. indicate intention
    2. confirmed gap in left lane
    3. manoeuvre at an appropriate speed

The bikes on the other hand were
    1. Not checking the traffic ahead
    2. Moving at speed that is unsafe for the condition
    3. Was neither in the left or right lane (a car doing so will be considered illegal, wonder since when the highway code created a special dispensation for motorbikes to swerve in and out of the lanes )
    4. property damage

Please haul the biker up. This is a common road bully on 2 wheels. This is not an isolated incident

@PDRM
    @Ah Loke ko

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 242 Thumb down 1
    • Dah Menang Semua on Mar 04, 2024 at 1:59 pm

Stupid bikers never wanted to stop
      They kinda forget rear gotta wait
      Their crooked legs can’t be used
      Those p-hailing is even worse

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 2
    • Motobodoh on Mar 04, 2024 at 2:24 pm

Main problem is the stupid no brain bikers.
      If saw some car already signal early and almost mid of changing lane, slow down lar let yhe car complete the lane change. Then move on lar. So hard to be patient ka that stupid idiot biker? Really beyond stupidity. Hopefully pdrm caught him and saman.
      Someday that idiot biker will run down by car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 2
    • Amran on Mar 04, 2024 at 3:36 pm

Bikers own the emergency and middle lanes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • The Truth on Mar 04, 2024 at 3:45 pm

I was in a similar situation when changing lanes but the other party was a car instead of motor. The investigating sarjan said I was at fault because the car that knock into mine had right of way.

Going by that logic, I guess the motors in the video were in the right of way too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
      • depends on vehicle. if motorcycle sure at fault coz splitting lane..
        for cars, depend on whose on the right way and how long the vehicle body has pass..
        its quite complicated.. and the last word will be from the sarjan.. whos wrong or right..

but i agree on those pesky motorcyclist .. cant even be patient.. from the video, sadly cant see the plate..?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • The Truth on Mar 05, 2024 at 10:40 am

Looks like many cannot accept the truth. I did ask about motors in a similar situation and the reply is splitting lane isn’t illegal by definition of Msian road laws and as long as the motors are moving and you are not, they have the right of way when switching lanes.

The rider above is at fault for damaging the sidemirror of course but in the event if he were to knock that Saga switching lane, the driver will be deemed at fault in such an incident.

Like it or not, I myself don’t, but it is what it is. That’s the truth.

• fault coz splitting lane? tell me any clause saying splitting lane is illegal in MY pls

• gady's on Mar 04, 2024 at 6:41 pm

Setuju dgn point no 3 utk rider. sepatutnya tiada hak utk tuntutan insuran jika menjadi punca kemalangan ketika memandu/menunggang antara dua kenderaan.

• Mind your own business. I’m busy selling number plates

• The Truth on Mar 05, 2024 at 10:26 am

Loke is too busy to care, he is busy thinking new combi of numbers & letters to put up for the next string of fancy number plates to sell. After GOLD next might be SILVER or perhaps PLATINUM just so people that who missed out on GOLD plates can now pay more for PLATINUM.

• Penguin on Mar 05, 2024 at 11:39 am

all this bikers always acting like they are justice league

• Avenger on Mar 05, 2024 at 6:50 pm

These days there is no justice in Madani Msia so the common rakyat is forced to take justice with their own hands. Blame the gahmen.

• Pro-Palestine on Mar 08, 2024 at 9:35 am

There are smart and stupid people in all races. But to have 2 motorcyclist disapproving the SAGA’s maneuver then my intelligent brain will probably want to study the whole situation in more detail before saying the motorcyclist is on the wrong based on 1 picture here. If the SAGA is driven by a lady then it will makes things much clearer.

• Scamsung on Mar 04, 2024 at 1:28 pm

“Malaysia aman dan damai”

Topkek

• Dah Menang Semua on Mar 04, 2024 at 2:01 pm

Please conduct “Ops Samseng Jalanan”
      Like the one KK police did
      Just over the weekend

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
      • Long live Bossku on Mar 04, 2024 at 5:13 pm

Sabah is samseng land. Not sure if KL is there yet. Besides, why bother? After the ops, these samseng will be on the road in no time flat! Macam Bossku. Even if he is in jail, there will be plenty of politicians minum Nescafe Kopi-o punya. There is no end to cockroaches!

• Unknown on Mar 05, 2024 at 12:35 pm

Whole of Gomen is samseng. If do operasi in front of Parliamen, JPM will need to build new prison to hold the enlarged Cabinet.

• Dong Gor on Mar 04, 2024 at 2:04 pm

Motorcyclist is the king of the road now!
    so many stories are told with the boom of dashcam.
    let’s see if JPJ and PDRM can do something about it now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
  • Wow, so ganas. Like crazy already these bikers, king of the roads. Please do something traffic police/jpj/pdrm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • God please help this guy on Mar 04, 2024 at 2:29 pm

Should change the title to Damaged by passing by MONKEYS

Check the “Big” Biker, maybe they don’t even have a valid roadtax insurance, bike loan also haven’t finish pay off, but act rich.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • FireAce on Mar 04, 2024 at 2:39 pm

Unless the car run the motorbike down, there is nothing anyone can do.

No plate/fake plate/plate hidden under mudguard cannot identify the motorbike. Even when managed to identify the bike also very high chance no license, no road tax, no insurance, car have to pay for own damage. Report to police also no action will be taken, at most police send a summon out, which either never reach or ends up in trash .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Dark Angel on Mar 04, 2024 at 3:02 pm

Setakat bayar berapa saja untuk roadtax? Entah-entah tak bayar. Insuran bayar tak? Nak tunjuk jalan macam bapa dia punya. Tak malu. Kekadang golongan mereka ini kena kemalangan memang padan muka. Tuhan saja tau. Takpa, pihak berkuasa tak bertindak, kita cuma berdoa agar karma cepat datang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • What can we muggles say? We mere drivers should all be grateful that kaki motor allow us to use their atuk’s jalan, always remember to kowtow and thank them. You block them means you are ungrateful. Like our beloved Tun M said, some people are not grateful.

• Dark Angel on Mar 04, 2024 at 3:04 pm

Maybe can install something sharp on the side mirror for them to touch ya.

• Law Abiding on Mar 04, 2024 at 3:16 pm

Lawlessness on the roads is getting out of hand. Do something NOW, the law needs to not only be enforced consistently and effectively, but also needs to be SEEN being enforced.

Right now, all manner of traffic infractions are seen rampantly, on daily basis. Speeding, tailgating, running red lights, overtaking on double lines, indiscriminate parking, samseng mat rempits, militant lorry drivers – all getting more common to the point they are almost the norm rather than the exception. Please take note..!
    @PDRM / @Menteri Dalam Negeri
    @JPJ / @Menteri Pengangkutan

• Malays never lose on Mar 04, 2024 at 3:27 pm

Majority of bikers are the majority race, you think anything will happen to them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 13
    • Kongres Ekonomi Budakmalas 2024 on Mar 04, 2024 at 5:11 pm

Obviously NO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Earth prince on Mar 04, 2024 at 10:08 pm

As enshrined in the federal constitution. Nobody shall doubt, challenge or question our special rights. We are above the law and 3rd only to God and royalty. Tak suka boleh balik (insert country of origin)

• LEMAH MALAP SEMBAP on Mar 04, 2024 at 10:21 pm

Goes to show how weak they are when a 3 day kongres must be held to teach them how to put food on the table

• ThePolygon on Mar 04, 2024 at 3:30 pm

Now I am very scared to even change lane even if it’s clear, some motor will eventually turn up right behind with their superior speed due to lane splitting, honk and ripped my side mirror to shreds.

• I wonder why Malaysia is so lenient to bikers. They has zero accountability, basically they can do no wrong in the eyes of law.
    Any developed nation, bike are summoned for lanesplitting, using emerency lane, cutting que in traffic light, beating the red light, and basically any dangerous driving. Other vehicle will even be blamed if accident occurs while rempit are doing these thing.
    In Malaysia? Its just the norm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • Kongres Ekonomi Budakmalas 2024 on Mar 04, 2024 at 10:27 pm

Siapa suruh kita mampu beli kapchai je?

• Lets See on Mar 06, 2024 at 9:45 am

Siapa suruh you bayar gaji minimum hanya boleh beli kapcai saja?

• Kongres Himpunan Budakmalas 2024 on Mar 04, 2024 at 3:56 pm

Tak suka boleh balik (insert country of origin)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
    • Whaler on Mar 05, 2024 at 12:14 am

Also Malaysia independence can be recalled by UK too if you do not like it

• Yeahsure on Mar 04, 2024 at 3:58 pm

Those fxxxing bikers are like this.. Absolute scums of society… May god revenge from them.. They cause so much shit to everyone else.. Mofos

• Ben Yap on Mar 04, 2024 at 4:06 pm

Biker dengki because he cannot even afford a proton saga because he failed his SPM and cannot get a proper job. so better smash the proton saga to show his frustration in life that he is part of the B40 group.

• Bossku on Mar 04, 2024 at 5:07 pm

I think even the Potong Saga driver is in the B40. This is more like poor gets bullied by poorer!

• people penunggang big bike ok, maybe can buy two saga already. even his own body size doesn’t look like B40

• ROTI CANAI on Mar 04, 2024 at 4:13 pm

not the first time dah, so many of these motorcyclists refused to slow down or brake despite drivers giving ample warning and indication they intend to switch lanes, the road belong to them ke?

• poppy seeds spiced dhal on Mar 05, 2024 at 3:12 pm

Conclusion. JPJ Motorcyclist syllabus failed to produce good behaviour discipline rider on the road.

• law for mofo lane splitter on Mar 04, 2024 at 4:13 pm

rules for lane splitter are needed. lane splitter has to give priority to cars that are changing lane, minimum 5 seconds away.

• Bryant on Mar 04, 2024 at 4:15 pm

Pussies that don’t have the balls to fight will hit car mirror and run off home. As a rider myself, I feel ashamed to be seen as part of that group. Just because you ride a bike, doesn’t mean you should have absolute right of way. The car driver here was very generous and attentive to have signalled and waited for as long as he did. Thank you sir for being a good driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • B40 mentality. enough said.

• Bossku on Mar 04, 2024 at 4:41 pm

Typical MALAYsia. ‘Nuff said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • plakat on Mar 04, 2024 at 4:50 pm

this group of people (bikers) are all political parties favourite voters. So they behaviours is like that = mentality = country heading

• Zahid ponorogo on Mar 04, 2024 at 10:30 pm

You’re damn right about that. We have to build them race tracks, give free moto license and free upgrade to B full

• CKLeong on Mar 04, 2024 at 5:14 pm

Potong Dari Kiri boleh!!! Lane splitting boleh!!! Malaysia boleh!!!

• Dark Angel on Mar 04, 2024 at 6:54 pm

Hope to see those bikers (bully) bodies get crushed on the road.

• Dark Angel on Mar 04, 2024 at 7:01 pm

Dark Angel: Your time’s up.
    Biker: I feel pain on my leg. Where am I?
    Dark Angel: Hell
    Biker: No, please give me another chance. I am not ready for this.
    Dark Angel: We found out that you always broke side mirrors and they have not done anything to you. The last time we know, you were found under a trailer and died at the scene.
    Biker: This is not fair.
    Dark Angel: You have been pardoned many times. Bygone.

• exactly happens to me…signal, no cars, start moving to right lane, out of nowhere hear someone honk, so i quickly move back to my lane thinking there was a car in my blind spot, mana tau, the sportbike must be thinking i’m playing zig zagging, he passes by my car n whack my mirror just like what the video did.

Malaysia need to change the law that protect motorist too much. I heard if a motorbike crash into a car, the car is salah by law. Is this true?

And clearly, the motorbikes are moron…they think they drive straight only isit? No need to brake, no need to avoid anything…just ram through every traffic?? Then what is a brake pedal for?

• PMkoyak on Mar 05, 2024 at 6:54 am

Member tu dah bagi signal lama kot, bodoh rider tu
    #hobikamimahal

• opmanmy on Mar 05, 2024 at 7:56 am

Right of way or not…clearly the Saga was doing the right thing. No abrupt lane change. The biker is clearly at fault. Macam samseng jalan. PDRM should haul up the biker and saman him!

• kenahon on Mar 05, 2024 at 8:57 am

changing lanes on highway during jam, already give signal, but instead of give way, middle lane split biker just keep hon force me to keep in ori lane. damn you.

• Too much ..too much… they act like ruffians. One way streets Langgar…red light Langar… no lights, insurance, courtesy.. they can cilok but others have to maintain lanes.. wat the ***