Don’t tie targeted subsidies to PADU registrations, as many needing aid likely to be excluded, say academics

It has already been stated that the Pangkalan Data Utama (PADU) socio-economic database, for which registration ends on March 31, will be used as a key component in how the government retargets subsidies and assistance.

However, only around nine million people out of a possible 30.08 million have registered their details as of this week, and the low registrations may make it challenging for the government to target subsidies accurately. Economy minister Rafizi Ramli reiterated the point earlier this week, saying that low numbers might not allow the government to move forward with its plan.

Despite this, the government’s noble intention of helping the poor should not be derailed just because some people have not registered under PADU, say academics. According to Tan Sri Noor Azlan Ghazali, the director of Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia’s Malaysian inclusive development and advancement institute, the two issues should not be tied together, as The Star reports.

“It is important for the government to separate the two issues of filling in the PADU system and targeted subsidies. It is not right when many do not receive their eligible subsidies or cash handouts just because they did not fill in their details in PADU,” he said.

He added that in handing out cash as assistance to the poor, it was important for the government to not simply celebrate the number of recipients who will receive cash handouts and subsidies, and that it should also look at increasing the recipient’s capacity to boost their future income.

“This means that with the transfer of a cash handout, recipients are also told to register at nearby training institutes or community centres to enable them to get skills training that could help them in raising their income.” he explained.

“The question is, are there people who have done better in their lives and come out of the cycle of poverty? For now, we are informed that there are about eight million recipients who are eligible to receive cash handouts and subsidies. If each has three dependants, that would come up to more than 24 million people,” he said.

Meanwhile, economist Tan Sri Lin See Yan said the government needs to get its formula right on what defines the poor before it implements targeted subsidies. The former Bank Negara Malaysia deputy governor said that without the right formula, targeted subsidies would be a failure as they would not reach relevant groups.

Additionally, Sunway University professor of economics Yeah Kim Leng said a good formula must be easy to administer so that costs are kept to the minimum, and that there are minimal leakages and inclusion/exclusion errors.

While a timefrane for targeted subsidies has been indicated (for RON 95 petrol, in the second half of this year), the government has not yet announced its mechanism and how these subsidies will be dispensed, although it is said to be mulling using using monthly cash transfers as a means to disburse financial aid to those who qualify for it.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Hapuskan Raja Seludup on Mar 29, 2024 at 12:50 pm

Just use petrol card with subsidised price at 300 litres limit per month. Above limit must pay market price. Everybody practice self discipline drive economical manner. It will kill off the fuel smugglers easily too. For starters, do it at petrol stations near border areas and slowly expand nationwide. Simply & effective solution.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 9
    • No need petrol card … just use the chip in MyKad will be more effective

Petrol subsidy to ALL Malaysians with a certain limit (of litres) per annum basis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
      • PH Supporter on Mar 29, 2024 at 5:45 pm

Our Sinkie brethren use our Mykad boleh? After all now our gomen is under them.

• Lapizi lampazi on Mar 29, 2024 at 7:37 pm

@PH Supporter @JimU

Semua bulih. After finish your own allocation then use other ppl MyKad. Those B40s with kapchais only won’t be able to finish their allocations. They would be more than happy if you pay them half of your savings. Heck, they’ll even take 30% to satisfy their rokok & ketum addiction

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
          • Ostat Saga megavalve on Mar 29, 2024 at 11:08 pm

Yg penting halang barua2 sindikit penyeludup minyak di negeri2 walaun PAS bersempadanan dengan Siam.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Apr 01, 2024 at 9:14 am

Madani gomen means B40 dicukaikan, T20 didahulukan

• Dah Menang Semua on Mar 29, 2024 at 5:48 pm

Is chicken or egg situation
        U don’t register don’t get
        U want then U register
        For those still waiting
        Means not needed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
    • RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Mar 29, 2024 at 2:33 pm

As above.
      PH Gomen continue to troll millions of Msians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
      • Gabriel on Mar 29, 2024 at 7:53 pm

We are the best government this country ever get. We now want guan eng as next prime minister to bring this country to a better place.
        PH and PADU are the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
      • Bryant on Mar 29, 2024 at 10:50 pm

Maybe don’t vote for PAS and UMNO so they isn’t a need for a coalition that causes all this compromise nonsense. Without a concrete mandate it’s hard for a party to enact all of their views.

Or vote for the dressed up religious extremists – and watch the country devolve into what we were half a century ago.

• I Miss BN 60 Years Rule on Apr 01, 2024 at 5:15 pm

To stop all this nonsense we need to go back to a pure BN that had ruled for 60 years with economic stability. Bring back PM Najib that had given us an economy nearly back to on par with SG back in the 80s. Now we are nearer to Zimbabwe than we are to USA.

• President Xi on Apr 02, 2024 at 12:10 am

That’s why we sent chin peng over after WW2 but you guys rejected him. Who said kumunis is bad. Look at china now. Geng boikot worship us like god

• For now PADU Subsidi bersasar is the best solution for rakyat.. Definitely this is way smarter than the time when those incompetent PN PAS slackers were ruling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 30
    • hazri on Apr 02, 2024 at 1:50 am

your suggestion is not new. maybe gov has considered it. but still got loophole.

• deceiving lookalike poor on Mar 29, 2024 at 1:24 pm

Majority f&b hawkers surely gets subsidies, meanwhile driving mercs accord crv and own couple of houses ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Mat Hijau on Mar 29, 2024 at 2:08 pm

Petrol subsidies should be for all Malaysian. Rich or poor we are malaysian, our country produces petroleum. Other subsidies like sugar flour etc you target the b40 no issues.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 8
    • Kerajaan Madonon on Mar 29, 2024 at 7:39 pm

Dream on! We’re Robinhood gomen. Our election manifesto is steal from the rich to tongkat the lazy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • B40 makan pelahap tak ingat Tuhan on Mar 29, 2024 at 7:53 pm

I agree! But gomen must stop subsidizing sugar, rice, floor & cooking oil to the B40s. They’re already so obese and full with health issues. Cut those subsidies so our public healthcare system won’t be stressed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • IQ KING on Mar 29, 2024 at 2:25 pm

Subsidy apa? Stop lying. Funny to see so many fools actually believe our government needs to subsidized our fuel.
    How come other oil producing countries have cheaper fuel without subsidies and their government is richer than Malaysia??
    Malaysia fuel subsidy = marked up projects and over head cost to feed the cronies by using our tax money in the form of ‘ subsidy’. Double income for cronies.
    Don’t forget, other oil producing countries make enough money from oil sale that they waive income tax for their citizens. We in Malaysia pay high income tax, high car tax, SST, GST, semua tax……

Let me give you live petrol price (in USD) compared to other oil producing countries.

Iran- 0.029 cents/ litre (sepuluh sen ringgit je)
    Venezuela- 0.035 cents
    Egypt- 0.282 cents (rm 1.2 only)
    Kuwait – 0.341 cents

Why our petrol got subsidy but still more expensive?? Our gali project over priced?? wink wink

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 18
    • dong gor on Mar 29, 2024 at 3:47 pm

Malaysia’s revenue is ~80% from tax saja. easy, just play with the number..cukup tak, if not, adjust saja the SST from 6 to 8%. tak cukup lagi, adjust saja roadtax structure..seal 3k a year, seal 3.8 5k a year (push apa EV at this price). mean while the majority continue teh tarik + adhoc holidays je.

• FireAce on Mar 29, 2024 at 4:10 pm

Malaysia has long become nett importer for crude oil. It means we use more than we produce, thus have to import following international market price.

The only reason you see “export” number in crude oil because we our crude oil has low sulphur content (better quality, light sweet crude, higher price) and buy in the cheaper type for domestic consumption.

Those country you mention produce way more crude oil then domestic consumption thus you can see such a low price.

• Bryant on Mar 29, 2024 at 10:52 pm

Thank you for injecting some intelligence to the topic. Our hero above googled for 5 mins and deluded into thinking he’s a sme.

• IQ KING on Apr 02, 2024 at 9:35 am

Bodoh. Malaysia is part of OPEC plus. You can only join OPEC plus if you have certain amount of oil reserve meaning you have the ability to export more than your own demand. Plus we sell at higher price. If our government don’t know how to dig efficiently, then let others do it on open tender. Scrap the monopoly/cronies involvement. Stop exporting oil and dig more so we use what we dig instead. No need subsidies

• ThePolygon on Mar 29, 2024 at 2:39 pm

So this whole PADU thing is just a white elephant?

• Casual reader on Mar 29, 2024 at 4:03 pm

No it is a ponzi scam on a national level from a ponzi govt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
      • Lapizi lampazi on Mar 29, 2024 at 7:41 pm

You got me there. Actually I just want your data to feed my data company INVOKE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
        • Bryant on Mar 29, 2024 at 10:47 pm

There’s just so much nonsense all over. People pretending to know a lot more than they actually do. Facepalm

• Why complicate the problem? Just remove subsidy and have the needy go apply for financial aid on their own and have money get banked in directly into their account like BR1M.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • Lapizi lampazi on Mar 29, 2024 at 7:42 pm

Then who’s gonna gimme your data? I need a new database to keep my company INVOKE running and feed my employees

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Lapizi lampazi on Mar 29, 2024 at 3:32 pm

Ada aku kesah? Want tongkat then register for PADU! No nonsense about boikot, security, data breach & prying into your underwear sizes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • Pak Lah on Mar 29, 2024 at 5:05 pm

Just follow the Pak Lah time credit XX amount to bank account per year . No need to come out any special mechanism. Each owner should be eligible for only one VEHICLE subsidy regardless of the number of vehicle they own .High income are paying bulk of the tax while low income may not even pay tax . So it’s fair and square every car owner get a fixed amount of subsidy .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Bryant on Mar 29, 2024 at 7:10 pm

I honestly don’t get what all the fuss is about. I don’t think someone that is able to afford a half a million ringgit car is going to lose much sleep over having to pay maybe a few hundred more for petrol a month. This whole “subsidise” everyone bullshit is more the ‘pretending to be rich’ middle class making most of the noice.

• Ok if the gomen hire more doctors, build more hospitals, resurface potholed roads. But if gomen ain’t gonna do any of those then I want my petrol & electricity subsidies. I pay so much income tax for what? The lazy can just roll over and die

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
      • Bryant on Mar 29, 2024 at 10:45 pm

Yes. So instead of whining about the subsidy, ask and demand the government to make more intelligent policies. Stop voting moronic people that are hung up on socks or wanting to strip citizenship of some Malaysian just because he said something faintly offensive about some bloke born into his position.

Maybe then the government can enact your very sensible ideas, instead of wasting time having this stupid conversation of should we tax more. Try living in Europe or any western nation for that matter, 50% tax and the benefits it comes with. I’d much rather we have nationalised services than the krony run shit show/ corruption we have with the GLCs.

• IQ KING on Mar 30, 2024 at 9:36 am

@T20 is exactly right. I agree. Not many smart people like T20 that is why our menteri can get away with so many robberies. I am surprised to see so many low IQ malaysian actually supports abolishment of “subsidies’ thinking the extra revenue will go to good use. Lol

• Low IQ on Apr 02, 2024 at 12:21 am

Jgn jeles dividen epf kami 5.4%. Ada bantuan br1m. Kempen pru calon yb bagi sekampit beras hancur, minyak peket & RM50. Permintaan kita rendah je macam IQ kita jugak lerrr hehe

• cager on Mar 31, 2024 at 12:28 pm

the lazy can just double park and causes traffic jam everyday which contribute to inefficient in fuel usage.

• Gerakan usul pecat rafizi on Mar 29, 2024 at 8:54 pm

Saya sokong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Sohai on Mar 30, 2024 at 12:20 am

Why jibby no need a database such as PADU to implement BRIM … ? Rafizi is just over engineering things and ultimately burden the rakyat.

• Lapizi lampazi on Apr 02, 2024 at 12:44 am

I need to live up to my reputation as raja formula. Tak suka bulih balik (insert country of origin)

• If allowed 300 litres a month, but hardly use half the quota, will accompany neighbour’s “Mercedes” to top up with my IC & he treat me to dinner, etc. minimum monthly

• As a malaysian we should accept that our data will definitely be sold or compromised, no doubt about that. Just last week a real estate guy called me to ask if i want to sell a piece of land that i have. I asked him how he got my number & land detail, he frankly told that he got it from pejabat tanah. In turn i asked him who is d owner of d land adjascent to mine, which i was always been wondering, and he readily gave me d detail. So its an accepted norm of Malaysian culture. So just register in Pudu or whatever, dont think too much, ur data will b compromised sooner or later, with or without padu…this is malaysia

• Anwar Ibrahim on Mar 30, 2024 at 7:50 pm

Just get on with this. People who refused to register can’t complaint. Government will give money directly into personal bank accounts and all subsidies will be removed. It’s up to that person to use it wisely.

This will kill all the smuggling activities.

• 3000 cc on Mar 31, 2024 at 7:17 am

What about us who pay huge road tax? We paid that on the basis fuel is subsidised. Now we are ok to pay full proce but adjust road tax to avoid double hit.

• Hey, you’re encroaching into my territory here. If you have beef with lapizi, take it up with him. Don’t disturb my shop. Apa kena mengena subsidi minyak terpesong dengan rotek mahal2? Aku pun ada kpi dengan PMX

• hafiz on Apr 01, 2024 at 7:42 am

the director should think about how UKM can help the PADU registration, not komdem the initiative, or he can propose a better way to control the subsidy allocation.

• Lolwhut? on Apr 01, 2024 at 5:19 pm

LOL nope. PADU should just die. It was a half baked million dollar costing bad idea.

• Direktor UKM on Apr 02, 2024 at 12:31 am

Academics ada otak
      Politikus tiada otak
      Dua2 tiada kaitan ok?