Mandatory seatbelt use in passenger vehicles to be enforced soon, all occupants need to buckle up – JPJ

The road transport department (JPJ) has announced that it will soon begin enforcing the mandatory use of seatbelts for all drivers and passengers in private vehicles nationwide. The department’s director-general, Datuk Aedy Fadly Ramli, did not disclose the exact date for the start of enforcement, but said there would be a period of advocacy before that happens.

He said programmes such as the Klik Sebelum Gerak campaign, which was launched yesterday, would highlight the necessity of seatbelt use for all vehicle occupants, including rear passengers, the New Straits Times reports.

“In line with this campaign, we will announce the enforcement of seatbelt use for passengers of private cars in due course. For now, we are beginning with the Klik Sebelum Gerak campaign first, and later we will confirm the date for (the seatbelt) enforcement for car passengers,” he said.

Once enforcement begins, individuals who fail to wear seatbelts could face fines of up to RM300 under the Motor Vehicles (Seatbelt and Child Restraint System) Rules 1978 (Amendment 2019).

Aedy Fadly added that JPJ was committed to making seatbelt use a national safety norm and culture in order to protect the lives of all road users. “In this regard, using seatbelts helps keep drivers and passengers securely seated during a crash, unlike those without seatbelts who are at a significantly higher risk of injury,” he said.

The mandatory use of seatbelts across all occupied seats in a vehicle is not new, with the ruling already having been in place since 2009. However, enforcement of this was short-lived, and despite advocacy campaigns and strong suggestions made for its implementation over the years, the lack of fines has meant that most rear occupants remain unbelted inside a moving vehicle.

There is of course the point that enforcement of the searbelt ruling means that vehicles will need to carry the exact number of occupants permitted according to the vehicle, which would mean that a driver could be fined for carrying more passengers than allowed. The question is, will this put an end to the rather often-found scenario of “five (or more) at the back” in a five-seater vehicle? As always, the answers in due course.

Sell your car, get paid in 24 hours

Renew your car insurance with us, 10% discount!

Use the promo code 'PAULTAN' when you checkout for 10% discount!

Renew Car Insurance

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 12, 2025 at 11:35 am

Yet whole family can sit ontop of kapcai with any safety and JPJ is okay? WTH double stended PH Gomen pegi mampus!

Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • Kurious Worm on Sep 12, 2025 at 12:23 pm

wait, isn’t this mandatory for years now? it wasn’t mandatory at all??? dayum!

Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 12, 2025 at 5:07 pm

According to PH Gomen, the law is not the law unless they say so because laws (like policies) under previous BN Gomen is invalid, just like laws on unlawful gathering should have been abolished but now they use it to bludgeon demos because now they say that law is lawful.

Thumb up 7 Thumb down 2
    • Exactly, every few years say the same thing, but no enforcement.

Thumb up 3 Thumb down 0
  • t333son on Sep 12, 2025 at 2:14 pm

how ? most cars on the road have tints so dark you can’t possibly even see if there is a driver, let alone a rear passenger and God forbid kidnapee … Gaya > Safety

Thumb up 14 Thumb down 0
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 12, 2025 at 5:08 pm

You can blame Loke (during his 1st tenure) for legalising black tint which was illegal until he says it is the law to allow it.

Thumb up 5 Thumb down 1
  • Ben Yap on Sep 12, 2025 at 3:19 pm

i don’t mind the law enforcing this. after all we already paid for the seatbelts in the car. might as well use it.

Thumb up 6 Thumb down 1
  • Sabri on Sep 12, 2025 at 3:28 pm

Cakap aje but never enforced

Thumb up 14 Thumb down 0
  • Gomorrah on Sep 13, 2025 at 9:20 am

Bagusnya. Next do child seat ok?

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • nevermind one, first row if no put seatbelt the car will bising, then for behind passenger just tint all windows dark from second row right to the rear window, jpj cannot see one

Thumb up 3 Thumb down 0
  • Highway Driver on Sep 13, 2025 at 5:30 pm

Why don jpj go and enforce no motorcyclists on f. highway, kesas first? Those mat rempits are a bigger menace and yet jpj/polis are turning a blind eye.
    And I wonder does our transport minister ever uses these highways, if not how could he be so ignorant @YBAnthonyLoke

Thumb up 7 Thumb down 0
    • use brain on Sep 15, 2025 at 11:36 am

to do proper enforcement you need polis and judiciary, but guess what , these arent under Loke . so if you want Loke to do their jobs maybe first should pay him the salaries of Home minister and AG and defacto Law minister first.

Thumb up 1 Thumb down 2
  • Ex VGM staff on Sep 14, 2025 at 6:43 am

How to detect when MoT allows full tinted at the rear windows? Imagine at a roadblock…

Officer : please wind down the rear windows. We want to check all occupants wearing safety belt.
    Driver : ok
    All passengers : *smile* (all wearing seatbelts)

Thumb up 3 Thumb down 0
  • Najib on Sep 15, 2025 at 7:12 pm

My passenger dont wear also u cannot see through my tinted window lah..lol

Thumb up 1 Thumb down 0
  • Landan on Sep 16, 2025 at 8:23 pm

I think it is a typical occasional enforcement money making scheme. Last time enforcement on bus passengers seat belt, now what happened? Better buckle up on the enforcement to eradicate phone use while driving. Find ways to catch on people using phones while driving, it will give better results to accident statistics.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • Autodriver on Sep 17, 2025 at 7:12 am

Those who bark and dislike this policy majorities of you must be low education level. In many countries especially developed and developing countries it is mandatory to buckle up at rear seats. Don’t divert the topic off to blame what about motorist dangerous riding, no helmet, no license, tinting dark and so on. Why do you want to compare with those moron unless you are same kind.

One thing good about EV as many EV now cannot switch off the rear seat safety belt alarm if being occupied but no buckle up.

To strengthen this policy insurance company can consider no medical claim allowed for those sat behind rear seats without buckle up. Don’t ever said people can put buckle after accident. Doctor and professionals know whether the victim with or without seat belt fasten when accident happened.

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 1
  • opmanmy on Sep 17, 2025 at 8:39 am

Law? What law? Another tok-k…obviously lack of enforcement. Another ops hanghat tahi ayam. After awhile, back to usual.

Thumb up 1 Thumb down 0