Proton to build RM40 million third plant

Proton Holdings Bhd might be spending another RM40 million ringgit to build another plant near it’s existing Shah Alam plant. The new plant is intended to be used as the main base for manufacturing Volkswagen’s cars.

It’s existing Shah Alam facility has a manufacturing output capacity of 230,000 cars a year while it’s Proton City in Tanjung Malim can make a million cars a year.

Does anyone know the current output of the current plants? Do they really need another one?

Source: The Malay Mail

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hoho

• Pentan Sakua... on Aug 11, 2005 at 1:05 am

Who cares what is their current capacity??? Who cares whether they need another plant or what? What can we do? We can talk, shout, curse, shit and F..K out here. U think they care….?

Let them do la whatever they want…At least some poor small contractor can get some job…..make some money…when they built the plant…

If the plant fail for whatever reason, then at least we can have another topic to F..K about…

• Pentan Sakua, you really like to F..k Proton huh… keep it up… however, I really want to see an improvement from Proton since TM has been kick out… if they really "Dare to change", so we have to support them… if they don't change, I support you la Pentan Sakua… ha ha ha…

• Ohh shit…another model with the quote like "my first ferrari" or "my first RR"????? shit man. But if they are building up this plant to assemble korean or japanese cars…then worth a go then.

• Pentan Sakua i back u!

Js another waste $$$ move.

• AlexC on Aug 11, 2005 at 7:08 am

Proton kenot declare profit too much… need to keep it low… so by investing somewhere their profit could be kept minimal and demand support from government… anyway, whatever their plan is, its full of crap… there's price hike for Ap cars now… and the hike's gonna be like about 30k each… fork…

• hokkien lang. on Aug 11, 2005 at 8:36 am

WHAT!….i repeat WHAT!!!!!!?

they ask for protection? because they afraid losing their market in here….b

before that build a plant in tanjung malim without any help… (did you belive this)then say they loss in bisness.

now build another plant 40m…..

do you think they got loss or profit?

i hoe this projek terbengkalai…..

pentan …..wa chiu che-u lu… cher pak phar shien…..

• proton, suck! on Aug 11, 2005 at 5:19 pm

if not profit then better dont built, dont waste money, better use the money invest on technology and skill labour.

Pentan, u r my best friend

hokkien lang, i am hokkien lang too.

catch up

• Scare will be another "great success" plan….waste $$ anyway…should use for other purpose better such as quality improvement…..increase capacity output for wat ?? darm! what a waste!!

• rainbow7j on Aug 11, 2005 at 8:00 pm

:S

why cant they just borrow some of the capacity to P2 so they can churn out more MyVi ….. instead of producing all the junks idling around in the proton showroom…..

• Pentan Sakua... on Aug 12, 2005 at 12:04 am

Hello Guys,

Not that I like to F..K Proton, the problem is that they kangkang too big (kangkang = opening your leg wide). It is so inviting.

Like I like to say la…

CAKAP DIA ORANG BODOH, DIA ORANG MARAH,

CAKAP DIA ORANG PANDAI, DIA ORANG BIKIN KERJA BODOH.

• stupid rafidah on Aug 12, 2005 at 3:37 am

DIA ORANG NGOK,

RAFIDAH ALL FUCK UP SHIT ALL POLITICS

LET BUSINESSMAN BE BUSINESSMAN

LET POLITICIAN BE POLITICIAN

• PROTON, i proud on u on Aug 12, 2005 at 4:05 am

may be proton build this for P2 ma? right? proton so clever, of coz they know P2 can earn more profit soon… they won't so stupid until built the plant for their own use ke.

WHAT?? build for their own? oh SHIT!!!

• hokkien lang. on Aug 12, 2005 at 7:49 am

pentan…

they all….

kar khui-khui tan thua liu mah….

sioh?

• cbljkkj on Aug 12, 2005 at 9:41 am

Proton will never build a plant for Perodua. Both companies are going head to head so it's impossible for them to be cooperating. More of our money going to building of a useless plant churning out more useless vehicles that will not be bought.

If its for Volkswagen vehicles then thats fine but I think that they are using it as an excuse to build another plant

• VW was one of the first to assemble their cars in China….. so they sell more VW in China than probably other makes…. now they want to sell more VW in South East Asia using proton as their platform.