2006 Honda Civic launching on 9th March 2006

06hondacivicsmall.jpgIt’s coming soon to the Malaysian market! Honda has set up a teaser site for the 2006 Honda Civic over here. There are some teaser images there, but I suppose all of you know how the new Honda Civic looks like already. The launch date is 9th March 2006.

My grubby mits are just shivering in anticipation for a test drive. Teaser photos are after the jump, or you could just check out their teaser site.

06civicheadlamps.jpg

The Honda teaser says the new 2006 Honda Civic has xenon HID headlamps, but I think it should be for the higher spec 2.0 i-VTEC DOHC version only. Anyone can confirm otherwise?

06civicrearlamps.jpg

The rear combination lamps are the same as the JDM versions, so we’re not missing out on anything. They look like they might need getting used to, but everything grows on you I suppose.

06civicseats.jpg

Full leather interior and trimmings. Again, I think it’s for the 2.0 i-VTEC DOHC version only.

06civicsteering.jpg

There are audio controls on the steering wheel. Do you notice the two paddle shifters behind the steering wheel? One with a minus symbol on the left and one with a plus symbol on the right side. You can shift gears manually in manual shifting mode with these paddle shifters. Much more natural to use paddle shifters behind the steering wheel instead of buttons at the front of the steering wheel like the Honda City’s.

06civicengine.jpg

The 2006 Honda Civic has 2 models. The Honda Civic 1.8S is powered by a 1.8 SOHC i-VTEC making 140ps. The higher specification Honda Civic 2.0S is powered by a 2.0 DOHC i-VTEC making 155ps.

2006civicshowroom.jpg

This was not provided by the teaser but I’ll put it here anyway, this is what you’ll see in Honda showrooms on 9th March!

Test Drive:
2006 Honda Civic Test Drive – Part 1
2006 Honda Civic Test Drive – Part 2
2006 Honda Civic Test Drive – Part 3

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• pycazu (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 6:01 pm

…February is marked with love and beloved. It’s strange how love could make people blushing red, I found I fall-in love again… to this monster…

• ec (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 6:41 pm

great! smaller and affordable version of new Honda Oddysey

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 9:45 pm

Oh yeah!! Finally, it arrives. I think the leather seats are probably standard for 2.0, but is optional for 1.8.

I'm curious abt the paddle shifters' operation though. We have to move the transmission lever to "S" via our left hand to allow manual operation, and then have to bring the same hand to the steering wheel and press left paddles for downshifting. Now, wouldn't that mean that we've just wasted a couple of miliseconds in having to move our left hand between transmission lever and steering wheel during those important times when we need quick manual downshifts for downhill driving or for overtaking? I wonder?? I'd much prefer if we can select manual operation via button on the steering wheel so that we don't need to move our hand all over the place? Oh well, that's just nit-picking really. I mean, how often are we gonna be using the manual controls anyway? Looking forward to this new Civic on our roads soon, wohoo!!!

• waimak (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 12:06 am

Anybody knows the price of this baby?

• al3xxx (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 3:13 am

if not mistaken 1.8 is around rm12X,XXX and the 2.0 is around rm135,XXX… i get this info from my dad's friend since he already book 1… lol… i want it too la… hehe

• yukkie (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 8:45 am

Is on the road already in Singapore.

• cratzelogy (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 5:19 pm

last week i drove the singapore version 1.8, its handling is not bad at all. Just one thing that keeps me off… where is the PLUS MINUS gears? Yes, it doesn't comes with any shiftronic functions like the City and also the 1.8 doesn't have buttons on the steering wheel like those shown above. No side mirror signals… no fog lamps… but came with Xenon? I wonder why… anyway take a look at the real deal from Honda Malaysia on the 9th March!

• alamak (Member) on Feb 24, 2006 at 7:31 pm

Anyone tried the Civic contest on http://www.honda.net.my/contest/7generations

Anyone got the answer? I can't decided between

1991-1995 Civic —-> Miracle Civic or Grand Civic?

Help me, what's the answer!?! I wanna win the LCD tv!!

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 1:00 am

the Spore one all JDM for the first batch, the specs is different all with all taxes and bla2 still cost less than Sing 100k.Msian version cost 120k mean that if you want to buy civic now have to pay extra 10k, I'm waiting for any ealy birds offer, maybe some discount or better interest rate.but I still need to see it first tomorrow hopefully it is worth waiting…….

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 7:40 am

Hehe. Saw the car a few hours ago at one of the showrooms (but it was hidden away lah – since it wasn't launching day yet). And oh my gawd, it looks a billion times better looking in real life than in pictures (this car is definitely not photogenic). The car looks rather low (if I'm not mistaken, even lower than the out-going Civic) and appears to look smaller than its dimension suggests. Absolutely love it!! Hope to see the car in more detail tomorrow after it is launched.