BMW Auto Park

Nice video on BMW’s prototype Auto Park system. The narration is in German though, so I don’t really have any idea what they are going on about. But it’s pretty cool watching the 5-series station wagon being parked automatically. Video is after the jump. Also, check out Volvo’s Self Park System developed in collaboration with a Swedish university.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• gye325 (Member) on Mar 02, 2006 at 10:18 am

cool indeed

i wonder when proton will start offering this feature

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 02, 2006 at 11:33 am

Hey, they should make this compulsory in Malaysia as a lot of people here can't seems to park their car properly AREN'T WE? Hehehe…

• cbljkkj (Member) on Mar 02, 2006 at 1:40 pm

If I'm not mistaken, the auto park feature still requires the driver to operate the brake manually.

• waimak (Member) on Mar 02, 2006 at 4:54 pm

Nice video Paul. Very much needed here in Malaysia, agree with you aksMs. My car's been scratched 3 times already this year!

• rexis (Member) on Mar 02, 2006 at 5:04 pm

gye325, shouldn't think of flying before learning how to walk la, proton is stilling learning how to walk properly.

• revver (Member) on Mar 02, 2006 at 5:26 pm

seen this in prius early last year. more of parking assist

• kelvinlym (Member) on Mar 02, 2006 at 5:42 pm

Hi, I'm studying in Germany so I'll try to translate the narrator

Starts off with incomplete sentence, "we will show you a video which will be more insightful" or something like that.

*Push "auto park" button", shows display "Scanning… please drive slower than 20km/h", then "Parking space found! Stop" button below shows "Don't park" and "Park"

Narrator: In modern cars, where the driver doesn't need to do anything is still a vision, but the trend is clearly going in that direction.

Display: Parking… driving in reverse. Button below says 'cancel'.

Narrator: We will now show you the latest in current technology.

*car parks in

Narrator 2: The transportation sector demands more from the car driver, sometimes to much.

Display: Parking action concluded. Display says 'end'.

Narrator 2: The sad balance of driving mistakes (incomplete).

• E-Nabill (Member) on Mar 02, 2006 at 6:51 pm

AkSms,

ur so right , ppl here seriously need to learn how to park,thy know crap abt parking n the technique to do it…it seems that thy wil get a prize if thy park n a scratch a car in process!

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Mar 02, 2006 at 6:52 pm

hmm… interesting…

• chris (Member) on Mar 02, 2006 at 11:19 pm

Gud for newbie driver esp lady hehehe :P

• alexallied (Member) on Mar 03, 2006 at 12:09 am

nice lazy feature! some day in the future, we might see auto drive coming up. Just click on the map and we'll sleep our way to our destination.

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 03, 2006 at 8:03 am

chris, not necessarily newbie or lady driver. I know some of the newbies and ladies driver who can park 'neatly' like they have been driving for 10 years. And some others whom I considered veteran drivers can't even park properly in L parking! Most people can't calculate well the size of their car and the surrounding. Have you guys ever driven (at night) behind someone who keep swerving to left everytime oncoming traffic pass you by? Or saw a Kancil took the entire right lane to take over an EX5? You know, those people who think they are driving an MPV when they are actually driving a K-car?

alexallied, they are already testing it. I saw it in Discovery Channel sometimes last year.

• ryder0707 (Member) on Mar 03, 2006 at 8:31 am

This tech is cool especially for parking in tight spot. My mom should use this tech :)

• chris (Member) on Mar 03, 2006 at 9:15 am

In general mah aksMs :P

• cbljkkj (Member) on Mar 03, 2006 at 12:27 pm

Personally I think this technology should only be applied to cars that are used by the handicap. If able bodied people use it, they'll just get lazier and lazier.

Next thing you know we would not even have to wipe our own buttocks with tissue paper because a contraption would do it for us. Somethings can be used to assist humans, but not all

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 03, 2006 at 6:31 pm

i read oso dun understand……….so…………no COMMENT!!!!! hehe

• zerocool (Member) on Mar 04, 2006 at 1:20 am

waahhh…..good system…..

If can install to my gen2…..then only i can allow my mom or sister to drive my car ;)

• MyBoy (Member) on Mar 05, 2006 at 5:49 pm

I would to have this feature.