Joke of the day millenium

The Government had never supported us and did not give us a chance. It must assist us now and I hope that it will be done.

The above line was quoted by PEKEMA president Datuk Abdul Hamid Ibrahim. PEKEMA (Malay Automobile Importers and Distributors of Malaysia). The cartell of car importers who have Open APs. Note that APs are illegal by World Trade Organisation rules. I am filing this post under the “Laughs” category.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• flizzardo (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 2:21 pm

lol what a dumbass

• v0ices (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 3:13 pm

I vote it as Joke Of The Millenium.

Anyone agrees?

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 4:25 pm

Hahah! What a dumb***! I wish I could laugh out loud and blow his brain's off!

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 5:06 pm

too much help from the G that they take it for granted………………so wat they wan…….to be recognized as "help" from G ????

help them to monopolize the automotive market?

wat a crazy statement……….should go into tanjung rambutan!!!

• rexis (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 5:24 pm

O.o" then wha' support he wants?

• karheng (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 5:30 pm

I don't blame him…he probably thinks help as doing everything for them while they sit back and kick up to a relaxing cocktail…

• pycazu (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 5:38 pm

Support i think he need a truly visible "gold" tongkang perhaps…

:)

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 5:47 pm

This guy dont know what bisnes all about.. if he doing bisnes in US.. sure dead one.. bungkus, tapau.. this kinda bisnesman la make our GLC goin to die.. i dont know why he used the words "never supported us.." this datuk should kick out of bisnes line.. & work as gov servant only…

• aksMs (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 6:22 pm

motorhead, if he work as government servant, then our G also will go 'lingkup' for sure. And we the rakyat will suffer. He's not suppose to do anything. Go home and duduk diam lagi baik.

• ec (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 6:38 pm

… because they don't get incentive as per P1 and P2 have …

• purity (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 7:10 pm

hahaha… they are my client PEKEMA! saw their president b4, knew instantly he's a dumbass cause of the way the talk and carry himself…. wakakaka…

• kody (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 7:12 pm

Wahlaueh…

how stupid to make such quote… Datuk 'ular' hoping sky dump a big money for him… or he expects whenever he sell a car then get incentives, like discount a lot from G…then pocket can become full.

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 7:57 pm

askMs…

Yeah.. if hes the bos in gov sector sure lingkup one..

but he still can work with gov what.. but fit as a TOILET CLEANER la.. since he has no face saying like that.. hahahaha.. he oso can be our new PA for PM.. they speak the same tone: nonsense..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 8:24 pm

Overall, this "NAP – Nonesense Automotive Protection" is purely "rate ratioalization" exercise, if we average out the gain and loss for all categories of car and cc, the total price INCREASE and Government revenue from tax is around 4% to 5% compare to old tax! WTF, they make passenger cars prices from "most highest" to "highest" (never cheap) with insignificant reduction, then our road will be more congested! The "people mover vehicle" like MPV for cc below 2k become more expensive! This categories shall be lower as it encourage "car pool".

But everybody in the car market know that current Toyota Avanza price range is similar to Proton Waja/Gen-2 and it eat into Proton's market share. What is this, purposely increase Avanza price for the sake of Proton's selfish interest. Never take into consideration at all the welfare of consumers from lower income group.

Next, what else to squeeze to make more money from consumers!

• auyongtc (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 8:25 pm

Datuk Abdul Hamid Ibrahim,

Dengan segala hormatnya, kami ingin menjawab balas isu yang dikemukakan Datuk tentang rasa tidak puas hati dengan bantuan dan sokongan Kerajaan kepada PEKEMA selama ini.

Terlebih dahulu, kami ingin memohon maaf ke atas segala kekurangan dalam bentuk sokongan yang diharapkan pihak Datuk.

Setelah berbincang lama tentang hal ini, Kerajaan telah memutuskan untuk memberi sebanyak boleh sokongan moral kepada PEKEMA. Kami tidak pernah memberi sokongan moral sebanyak ini sebelumnya. Sebab begitu, diharapkan sokongan ini dapat memanfaatkan PEKEMA untuk bersama memajukan sektor automotif di tanahair kita.

Dengan ini, diharap sokongan ini dapat memuaskan hati Datuk dan PEKEMA. Kami juga mengharapkan bahawa perkara ini tidak lagi dibangkitkan semula agar tidak merosakkan segala perhubungan baik sesama kita.

Sekian, terima kasih.

Kerajaan BM

• Paul Tan on Mar 24, 2006 at 8:27 pm

auyongtc: perhaps the promotion of cheerleading in secondary schools for the past 6 years was for this.

• OpTiMuS (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 8:42 pm

i think NAP is LAME…reduce price here but add there…..

back to square 1…

its like LP n PL….

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 8:44 pm

bodoo punya org.. want full support go be a gigo la..

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 10:40 pm

auyongtc,

Whoa.. that letter of yours really good…. hope he'll read it.. hahaha… u oso fit to be new PA for our PM.. what a lovely letter..

but moral support not enough we want:

1. RM3000 ecentif for every national car we sell.

2. No imported cars, national cars only.

3. 500% excise duty for CKD

4. full gov loan, no need to pay..

moral: these guys never had enough!

• TheMachine (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 11:13 pm

Datuk was right, Govt never supported them …… too few open APs for them to sell and make $ out of nothing, they need more allocation of open APs ! Maybe they should lobby for Govt for more allocation of open APs.

• SM4 (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 12:10 am

I think Datuk Abdul Hamid Ibrahim is right. The government had never supported PEKEMA in the past.

The government should find them places and build nice showrooms for them. The government should also import the cars for them to sell and give them a huge sum of money as running capital. If possible, the government should sell the imported cars for them. What they need to do is to sit and wait for durian runtuh.

By giving them APs is NEVER considered support!! Gxxdxxn Government.

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 2:47 am

it was a joke rite? everybody, laugh!!!

MUAHAHAHHAHAHA!!!!!!

• auyongtc (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 4:09 am

motorhead…

coz all the time we're having Pendidikan Moral, they sneaked off into some other places… remember? :p

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 7:09 am

Yea, this IS a joke, wth, "never supported us"??? Either this guy is dumb, or he thinks we are.

• rexis (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 5:02 pm

The funniest part is that he is not joking….

• kevyeap (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 6:50 pm

I believe Malaysia Government is making a huge mistake. The new tax shall be the following:

New car price = Import Duty + Excise Duty + Sales Tax + PEKEMA TAX*

As noted, PEKEMA TAX is set based upon how much Malaysia indebted to the PEKEMA and shall be determined by Datuk Abdul Hamid Ibrahim’s himself. We are not smart to comprehend the value of PEKEMA.

Without PEKEMA, there will be no “good” automobile in Malaysia. That’s why all Malaysian owed a great deal to Datuk Abdul Hamid Ibrahim’s leadership at PEKEMA. Can you imagine we are riding bicycle to work?

He is awesome. He should be our PM. He is the man; asking financial assistance from United Nation and World Bank because the world “had never supported us and did not give us a chance”. May be by that time all Malaysian can afford BMW.

I might be wrong, PEKEMA contribution to Malaysia’s automobile industry is kind of similar (if not identical) to President George W. Bush contribution to the “freedom/peace” in the Middle East.

Just my 2 cents!

• chinomalayo (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 8:05 pm

bird brain…….wonder if that's all it takes to become a datuk and president….makes all the other datuks in the country like pariahs! what a disgrace…

• flizzardo (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 1:13 am

i sense sarcasm in this guy

• ingolstadt (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 12:23 pm

this watever Datuk's son or grandson will be born a millionaire, with only one eye, one ear .. with no mouth but feeding tube from laboratory machines… no legs nor hands or watsoever, then maybe by them his son would get ever more support from govenrment. Oh, i left this out, no ass hole either …. there's a tube for everything that he feeds upon. And if i evar met him, i'd swap his ass hole tube and linked it to his feeding tube. Eat your own shit you lame ass.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 2:02 pm

kevyeap, well said.

• oranglulu (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 4:57 am

AP was given free to them guys,open ap means no restriction on medel or make,for others in the same trade without ap,not a secret that it has a price tag of 24k long time ago 35k not so long ago,asking 50k presently,jokes is by doing nothing they make big money out of it,and yet they say our governments not doing anything to help them,think they are right,our governments are doing too much things for them,should listen to them president,by not doing much for them anymore.unsatisfy human greed,snake swallow elecphant.

• rufus-x (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 9:05 am

"The Government had never supported us and did not give us a chance. It must assist us now and I hope that it will be done.."

haa..of all the comments…

i thought the joke was on his english!! LOL ;p