Subaru takes a jab at Volkswagen’s Fast

subaru_fast_small.jpgIt’s time to be amused by the little fun car manufacturers overseas have poking and prodding each other thanks to their bitchy (in a good way) creative agencies.

Do you remember that little grey monster thingy that Volkswagen is using to promote it’s Volkswagen Golf GTI? Volkswagen calls it a Fast, and it’s supposed to be that desire inside of you for speed, acceleration, G forces, the sound of a roaring engine and all that.

I’m pretty sure a Fast would not be very happy with the silent Tesla Roadster. Anyway, this is what Subaru thinks about Volkswagen’s Fast. You can click on the image for a larger version. Enjoy!

Volkswagen Golf GTI Fast Documentary
Volkswagen Golf GTI Fast Advertisements

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• flizzardo (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 3:20 am

lol nice one!

FIRSt post woot

• djyakuza (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 3:25 am

as a marketin student.. its nice to see ads like these… more please Paul Tan!! =)

• altruis (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 3:59 am

malaysia has its own version too. Check out the MAS and AirAsia ads. MAS says something like 25 reasons why you should fly with MAS –> a, b, c etc etc… Then AirAsia puts up its own ad -> You don't need 25 reasons to fly with us, just one reason to upgrade to AirAsia, sumthing like that.. Nice one guys!

• Chapree Da Grande (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 4:03 am

I'm still waiting Perodua and Proton to take a jab at themselves. Proton don't really have much option to play around I think. LOL.

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 4:29 am

Subaru really pawned audi…. :D

• szw (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 4:53 am

subaru makan minyak .

dats y very fast .

btw , i like continental cars more den japanese .

mauhahaha !

continentals rox !

• eric (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 4:58 am

mystvearn said,

Subaru really pawned audi….

it's volkswagen le -_-"

this ad has been circling around.. haha.. but nevertheless, good creative expression. :P

• maxtek (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 5:36 am

Think. Feel. Drive. Subaru.

Viva La Impreza!!!

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 12:02 pm

the sti doesnt compete in the same class as the GTi. they should used the WRX to compare with the GTi. or at least R32 vs sti.

Subaru better worry more about the Evo X

Paul, you got any info on the Mazda 3 MPS. thats gonna be the next FWD sportscar benchmark after the gti. 190kw and 380Nm of torque at just 3000rpm.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 5:57 pm

Car makers seem to be getting more childish – is this a new trend?

• december (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 7:37 pm

Akazamabamaboo, its a advertising strategy, existed maybe even before you were born, its creativity, not childishness. They have to trash the competitor somehow, end of the day its all money. We do have approaches like this in Malaysia, for instance the Hotlink & DiGi war about two years back i think.

It's fun, really. Visit http://adsoftheworld.com for more.

• pirate (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 11:37 pm

Wonder if Mitsu Evo IX will get into the fray next…

• ingolstadt (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 2:58 am

Subaru is undeniably faster. BUT.

Scenario one:

You've got a girl whom you've met up with recently, staying in Kenny Hill, with a grand piano in the living room, with glass walls that span from floor to ceiling, loves ballet, learning violin and had parents who frequent charity dinners, listens to classical music, and this girl perhaps taking courses as interior design in UK. YOU'RE asked to come over for dinner. THE PROBLEM IS, you only had a Subaru Impreza WRX which goes from 0-100km/h in 4.7sec.

Scenario Two:

Your MNC company where you worked in, had throw up a ballroom, cocktail party for the celebration of a grandious project you've just finished, the CEO from US is coming and will personally greet you in front of the Palace of Golden Horses to welcome you, everyone, the press, the Datuks, Datins are there, your boss too. Whispering silently, with champagne in their hands, they're eagerly awaiting for your arival, and you're coming with your wife, who was dressed splendidly in her Giorgio Armani evening dress.THE PROBLEM IS, you only had a Subaru Impreza WRX.

Got it? There are times you'd wish you have a 0-100km/h in 6.8secs, and something that'll serve your dinner party as well. :)

• honda_driver (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 3:43 am

igolstadt.. the car has nothing to do with the scenarios you've painted up.. besides, the same scenarios you've mentioned, you probably wouldn't do much better pulling up in a volkswagen golf.

besides, if the girl is only going to like me coz of my car… how shallow can that get..

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 7:52 pm

Haha…don't get me wrong. I didn't say it was wrong to be childish. There's a child in every one of us, isn't there? :D

• flizzardo (Member) on Aug 12, 2006 at 1:52 am

lol whats wrong driving a subaru imprezza wrx sti in an offical function? i dont volk golf gti would look any better because its a 2 door car

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 13, 2006 at 2:35 am

igolstadt

you are right that sometimes you car may not fit the purpose you want it to serve

but you need to remember that the man is more important than the car(no matter what car he drives). even if you can rock up at some fancy ball or pick up a pretty girl for a date in a ferrari, its all gonna go downhill from there if you dont have the confidence and character to back it up once you step out of that door.

golf gti comes in 2 door and 4 door. same as r32. but yes, it feels more up class than a subaru sti or wrx.

btw, you can try blaring classical music in the WRX with the windows wound down. and just remind the girl that you usually come late, even though you do drive fast.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 05, 2006 at 10:22 pm

Guys, think, think more, deeper. In such debates or hypothesis, there can't be two variables. In these two, the guy is perfect, the girl doesn't choose on cars. GOT IT?

• rufus-x (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 8:47 am

hahaha…

guys..eventhough its a sti/wrx..if its in black without all d stickers n sumwat 'proper' lookin rims..i think its still will look 'grand' to enter such functions rite..? still sporty too..hehee~

ahh..black is a great color~

p/s: dun forget to wax it too..hehee~