Acura Advanced Sports Car Concept

Acura says it’s Advanced Sports Car Concept which made it’s debut at the 2007 North American International Auto Show gives a preview of the styling cues of the next generation Honda NSX, designed by it’s Los Angeles-based design team that will be based at the new Acura Design Center. Sleek styling cues include slim and wide LED headlights, a modernized wraparound rear light design and a long pronounced hood.

Technical specs: the car will feature a front engined, rear wheel drive design, with a version of Honda’s SH-AWD modified to be rear-wheel drive only. First appearing on the 2004 Acura RL, SH-AWD, or perhaps SH-RWD as it should be named in this case, can adjust torque delivery 100% to either the left or right wheel. The engine is expected to be a normally aspirated V10. Other specs: a 2763mm wheelbase, 19 inch front and 20 inch rear performance tires mounted to custom billet-machined, polished aluminum wheels that hide powerful, ventilated carbon ceramic brake discs and eight-piston calipers.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wookie00 (Member) on Feb 07, 2007 at 10:39 pm

looks like another toy car that will never make it to pothole land.

• aesthari (Member) on Feb 07, 2007 at 11:11 pm

I wish the car has more details at the side, it's too plain there, but I like every single angle of this car! Long hoods and short tails are cool! On another note it looks similar to the Batmobile.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Feb 07, 2007 at 11:23 pm

Somehow it reminds me of the old Pontiacs on the 70s. Knight Rider starts to ring in my head.

• jehutyz (Member) on Feb 07, 2007 at 11:37 pm

This one damn cool…..

When this on the road i also dono where am i alr hahaha.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 12:24 am

Now this is a car worth producing. It is obvious that it is made for a low drag coefficient number.

The door handles are most likely relocated to eliminate unnecessary drag and the superfluous design from the front fender to the back is designed in such a way that it creates a natural existence of down-force on the rear end.

• w_lighter (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 12:24 am

Can someone give the drawing pen back to the japanese… I like their subtle and sometimes almost boring design. But yet still can grab ppls attentions. All this new american and german design house all design some sports car look a like that resembles more to muscle cars… which i hate…. come on…. dun tell me that design dun resemble a corevette??

• shooter (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 12:45 am

not happenin guys, remember the HSC concept?

• umarss (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 1:37 am

tak bes..tak bes…

it would be a very 'sad' NSX if it s going to be based by this design.

let japanese do the NSX..

• ingolstadt (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 1:54 am

Boring japanese so-called future cars. Toyota HSPDVHAGGHSPASSPPDPS as well…..

• tanasi (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 2:06 am

hope it will come with some sort of device that'll let you see what's going on on either side of the car and also the rear.

• albagmane (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 2:27 am

the lines and lights are the most amazing parts… im sure this will be a toyota supra knocker…

• dawgHause (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 4:06 am

this is one of the first japanese concept cars in a long time whose design blends in with all angles. Something the japanese have never been good with. I like it.

unfortunately the next NSX is going to be a front engined car from rumours. No more the middle placed nutter of an engine with a brazillian developed chassis.

• protonGL (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 5:27 am

cab fowarding, make it nice for mid-engined configuration,,, …acura nsx?

• siacw (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 5:35 am

Does is have any rear view?

• kei9 (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 6:16 am

most concept cars today have super slim lights huh!

• familyman (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 8:37 am

huhu double stack square exhaust!!

• topgunthang (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 8:00 pm

nice car. but u guys should download the latest best motoring episide featuring spyshots/videos of the new GTR in action . and its obvious they used the king- the porsche turbo to compare against. at least we know its too close to production to backoff. (might be unofficial intended video leaks as the video quality and shooting angle is acceptable)

btw….wat ever happened to that malaysian car company that was building some supercars. esna venier or something. or it was just bullcrap all along.

• khimfoh (Member) on Feb 08, 2007 at 10:18 pm

Hope is won't remain a concept. The car looks absolutely fabulous.

• Grey_Fox (Member) on Feb 09, 2007 at 3:19 am

Reminds me of the knight rider car.Not too bad but..veeeery american.

• carmour (Member) on Feb 09, 2007 at 3:35 am

Great and cool!

Hope it goes into production!

• carmour (Member) on Feb 09, 2007 at 3:36 am

Forgot to add that I used to have a toy car that looks exactly like it!

• waimak (Member) on Feb 09, 2007 at 7:11 pm

Paul, good to see you featuring new concept cars here. Why not give us what to expect (new models) for 2007 & 2008 for us to keep drooling?

• MrScuderria (Member) on Feb 09, 2007 at 7:38 pm

i have to admit, the first glance on these pix gave me a negative impression. but guys, the more u look at it, the more u realise that its different. many cars have come up wit totally new designs tat was perceived 'ugly', initially. but a giant auto-maker has to constantly come up wit new designs fr time to time……we're almost at the stage where almost ever new make that rolls out, is a cut and mix of various makes n ideas. lets give some thought to a totally new image and work fr there

• thow (Member) on Feb 11, 2007 at 6:33 am

Concept is always concept……..