Chery A6CC Concept

The Chery A6CC Concept is a sports coupe designed by Bertone, and is supposed to feature an ACTECO 3.0 litre V6 engine under the hood. The other engine variant would be a turbocharged 2.0 litre, and both will have variable valve timing. Seems to be following Audi’s strategy with performance engine offerings there – a normally aspirated big displacement V6 and a smaller turbo inline-4.

I do hope they actually plan to put brake calipers on those huge brake rotors in the production version, otherwise I would think it would be very hard to get the car to stop. Kind of silly to build a concept model and have the fake brake rotors but miss out on the fake brake calipers.

More photos after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 1:24 pm

Nice looking car

Doesn't look like something out from the Panda land

• toxicboy (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 2:05 pm

woh! shocked..

• faizulamin (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 2:31 pm

proton can't do this huh? huh.. so bad…

• bpkid (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 3:39 pm

Looks like the recent Civic Euro Type R.

• J (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 3:47 pm

Not sure how old is the company Cherry to archieve this level. But Proton says they need 40 years of protection before can be strong.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 4:21 pm

Chery as with any other Chinese company has been very aggressive to take market share.

Nice looking car. (Designed by Bertone, of course). Would look better if it had a longer tail. However, it not as ageless as the Pininfarina designed 406 Coupe which in my mind, still the best "affordable" supercar designer car…, but better than the Guigiaro designed Brera which it shares some resemblence (rear roofline, short tail).

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 4:23 pm

…hmmm…. just noticed that I just said rather unconciously that a Cherry is now better looking than an Alfa Romeo? ….hmmmm

• azrai (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 4:30 pm

How old is Chery? Compare to Proton? No Lotus? What?

• kody (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 4:45 pm

wahlaueh…

great milestone to achieve by Chery. I am sure if all their models come to compete here….hehee…. sure P1 need more helps from G…& say : mum…. i can't fight them… please protect me…. hahaa….

• proton.com (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 5:01 pm

Malaysian market has no protection. See how many vehicle, including from China that enter our market? China goverment has never approve Proton to enter. So who should be blame?

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 5:12 pm

And I thought China's invented a new caliper-less brake system. Very nice looking car.

• McPadey (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 5:16 pm

J said,

April 27, 2007 @ 7:47 am

Not sure how old is the company Cherry to archieve this level. But Proton says they need 40 years of protection before can be strong.

Not 40 year 'J'…but 400 year….actually

40 year just for designing the dashboard….lol

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 5:23 pm

The Chinese manufacturers are showing some maturity right now. Give em time and they will be one of the top car manufacturers. Of course they gotta iron out quality issues, like recently we've seen a broken wiper on the concept of the new Tiggo and this, lacking calipers on the disc brakes. LOL! Concepts are supposed to impress right? How could they left those stuff out?

• indigo (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 5:34 pm

Chery is merely 10 years old….Proton, 22 years old protected spicies. How come cannot improve? Now still using's other's input. Better scrap the company and stop wasting rakyat's money.

• normaluser (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 5:36 pm

Not bad at all. Nice job…

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 5:47 pm

well, i mus said it looks good (consider as a china car).

black color should look cool man..

• ian (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 5:58 pm

Not bad, but seeing as it is a concept, let's wait and see how the production looks like first.

The back end when viewed from the photo reminds me of a Kia Spectra.

Seeing that the other Chery can outrun a Ferrari with only 2 modifications, then maybe this one can outrun a Bugatti Veyron.

• hotwheeler (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 6:02 pm

from certain angle, lampu depan looks like silvias. lampu belakang is rios..

• formulalibre (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 6:17 pm

Can anyone remember if Proton exhibited any Concept cars at all? Please do not mention the 3R crap which, in my opinion, any good tuning shop can do.

BTW, if Naza takes over we can expect continued protection from the G and we wiii probably see the Saga saga going on and on and on….

• rushmode (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 6:50 pm

maybe just me but its fugly…

and why would every post in here must relate to proton anyway? is it necessary?

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 7:07 pm

well its by BERTONE, somewhat in its form,

but looks its detailigs done by chery,

anyway i suppose its in concept at final stage, since no brake calliper on the car,

• cbljkkj (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 7:09 pm

I think you guys have misread the fine print. It's designed by Gruppo Bertone, no wonder it looks good. You guys have to check out the other cars that Gruppo Bertone has designed over the years such as classics like the Lamborghini Miura and countless Alfa Romeo's up to date and the recent Bertone Barchetta.

Here are some of their examples:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bertone

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 7:17 pm

I tot the front look like the Nissan wingroad, or a bit skyline to me… but anywayz this design is far more better then our P1.. Sometime you have to outsource man power from other countries to design one car for us to conquer this world.. If totally Malaysian.. We can only sell it in Malaysia sucking our money..

• Phisto (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 7:27 pm

I am impressed. I didnt have good impression after seeing the copycat chery QQ but this has changed my impression of it. All it needs is a set of 18" and its all set to go.

• Hikaru (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 7:30 pm

I think China is making very huge progress as is shown by their people to the rest of the world. However, to my eyes this car still lacks that certain polish, style and flair that is synonmous with European makes. The lines need to be more clean to give it that big more edge and solidness. Tailpipes looks absolutely toyish like compared to the Euro Civic or toyota Mark X.

They may have shown progress, but they still have a long way to go. So long as they don't keep copying other people.

• supernan9 (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 7:59 pm

look like a cheap junk plastic to me…

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 8:32 pm

hey guys…look at those front lamp dsign,look's like our neo front lamp huh…

heh…look at again,does the front bump exactly like neo front bumper…

hmmm…pleaaase proud of our Proton;)

• albagmane (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 8:33 pm

nice concept… i think it would be great if can convert into a sedan… btw, maybe they plan to put brembo brake calipers but failed??? or try to put "BRAMBO" caliper instead of BREMBO???

• motherker (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 8:53 pm

albagmane,

they could have even out on the BREMBO caliper cover which costs rm30++ ony.. haha…

• haroldz (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 9:28 pm

tis is how auto bisnis should b

aggressive marketing n technology transfer

we just cant help to compare 2 proton everytime we saw nice car in tis blog..

show how much we HATE them…

so when tis good looking chines car(S) cpme 2 msia?

i start saving oredi wor…

• KY (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 9:40 pm

I expected a Chinese chick, mat salleh lady pulakk

• skizzo75 (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 10:01 pm

even monkey can design like that !!!! to mass produce and the car actually can function normally is one thing, P1 can make design more futuristic and modern but does that enough to show your are a good company WHAT A LOW MINDED MENTALITY!!! but please continue with ur LOW IQ comment cause it make me laugh until i fart OOOOO HAHAHAH OOOO HAHAHA WHAT A LOSEEEEERRRR!!! OOOO WAIT A Minute this is internet even a chipmunk can make a comment i'm so sorry I REST MY CASE

• mad_guy (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 10:23 pm

rushmode said,

April 27, 2007 @ 10:50 am

maybe just me but its fugly…

and why would every post in here must relate to proton anyway? is it necessary?

—————————————————————————————————————–

no offend……………we just hope that proton can do well and make us pround of it………..but those management seem like din c their problem………..if proton ever listen and improve, sure the m'sian cars can sell all over the world…………..40 years of protection???? after 40 years, another 40 years again????

i think those management oni good at TaiJi (push all the responsibility here and there)………….and just sit there doing nothing and just wait for their pay cheque at the month end………….correct me if i'm wrong………

btw, this car look good……..although the brake caliper is missing…………i like the 2.0L turbocharged engine and wonder how fast it can be………

• mad_guy (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 10:31 pm

skizzo75 said,

April 27, 2007 @ 2:01 pm

even monkey can design like that !!!! to mass produce and the car actually can function normally is one thing, P1 can make design more futuristic and modern but does that enough to show your are a good company WHAT A LOW MINDED MENTALITY!!! but please continue with ur LOW IQ comment cause it make me laugh until i fart OOOOO HAHAHAH OOOO HAHAHA WHAT A LOSEEEEERRRR!!! OOOO WAIT A Minute this is internet even a chipmunk can make a comment i’m so sorry I REST MY CASE

—————————————————————————————————–

hey mr genius,

at least people are doing some things…………did proton do anythings besite asking for protection and spending $$$$$ for nothing???? correct me if i'm wrong

• Mayonaise (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 10:34 pm

The front facial design looks similar to the Suzuki SX4. Did anyone else notice this? Anyway, it's a good looking car. Hope when it comes out on sale, it doesn't fall apart in 1 1/2 years.

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 10:47 pm

like itttttt!!! i really like the fierce looking headlights…..same style pipes witht he chery tiggo6, but why in the hell they wanna put round pipes for the tripezoidal shaped pipes?its better to leave it in that shape……

• Infinitt (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 11:38 pm

Huh..ugly design..rear lamp looks like kia rio..the chicks ok!!

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 11:45 pm

no one questioned the purpose of the showgirl this time round?? ;D

• offroader manix (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 12:46 am

LOL…….the once communist country which other countries ban their citizen from going are up roar with their economic and visionary aspect.

Simply stunning with Chery company such a short history already surpass our PROTON…blady shameful man…….M'sian and KOREANS were shock too….

With government continue to protect……Proton, babies never grow up…and always milking from it's sources. Life too easy and loses it's competitiveness

Chery success is simple…their will to compete in open market and be among the major car player.

For Proton still lauching MERDEKA version……that's in the 60's man….wondering when's the Wawasan 2020…and Malaysian slogan….I am beginning to feel a little stupid. Cause the mentality still in the 60's doing business under mom's skirt.

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 12:50 am

china car known for bad looking, mismatch deign,

well they aquire some engine, hire designers, well known italians (bertone/pinifarina / ital design ..whatever). as the china's weak point is to design reasonably good looking car, so this will hopefully will correct some of its weaknesses, boost some image,

but those little detail should be rally up to standard,…and they will sort it i belive.

well new brandname need to venture with some other famous brandname to boost its image,

like proton linked with lotus, which is good, and proven,

well.. im not to make any judgement, or evaluation, when still there are some weaknesses , but well…..late proton is not too bad,

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 3:19 am

Well Proton GL, ur name already show u supported P1. Anywayz did lotus help P1 a lot? I think beside from handling and the worst CAMPRO engine.. They are losing money each year, and P1 is using our ppl money to give them to Lotus.. Did lotus also improved a lot? I just posted a few days ago, someone just give the New Lotus Europa S the most disappointed car in second place.. i think is from Autozine.. Well 1 word for it, if the Parents are worst, so be with the child. "Bapa borek, anak rintik" Am i right? Correct me if wrong…

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 3:47 am

littlefire 85,

i loves cars ,i do drive several brand including proton, if people critisize proton i wont get insulted as what u say and other friends say there are some truth on it,

just that 'proton' i most within my observation since it is made in malaysia,

id say critism is good, i never miss even what ever joe ooi wrote,

well there s people with opinion, bias toward different aspect, for me opinion is solely based honestly on a car. and my opinion base on my humble tought

anyway for lotus europa its a confuse car, but not exige i guess,

or Mitsu evolution is superb but saga mitsubishi based is crap.

just my tought,

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 3:51 am

TVR/Peogeot front with KIA back? Nice looking, if only they change the exhaust to be big rather than put some alloy to make it look big

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 6:25 am

Proton still selling proton saga…hahahaha…what a shame…

• rushmode (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 6:59 am

i dont know mr mad_guy.. yeah, sure proton suppose to be better by now and it has failed miserably over the years. (though i think neo is an improvement)

cherry known for not so quality cars somehow better than proton just after showing a nonworking (fugly too) concept car. wait until the unit manufactured and test drive it until judging the car.

but my point is whenever paul post something there's definitely some proton bashing even though its not related at any point. there's forum thread to bash proton i believe…

• rushmode (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 7:02 am

oh.. my uncle 20 years old saga still running like a champ. only the seats are new.. :)

• szw (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 8:14 am

no brake calipers ?

hahahaha ! those fella really knows how to make car.

• Tommy Peters (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 6:56 pm

Christ they're lovely, the Bertone too – the oldest drawing house/coach builder in Italy.

• motberg (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 7:30 pm

it looks not too bad i must say… however, i think there has been some unfair comments comparing Chery with Proton. look, i hate proton as much as anybody out there but take a minute to think about this: population of M'sia is ard 24 million. How many drive a car? China population is ard 1.2 billion. How many drive a car? So in the great economy of scale, Chery can afford to make less profit per car because they've got volume. Proton however, competese in a saturated market, therefore they have to increase profit per car due to shrinking volume. in the long run, there is no contest. Chery will continue churning out models after models that will be laughed at, poked fun at but they will continue making profit until one day when they have the resources to really look into R&D and styling. just look at the Koreans. think back 20 years and look at them now. then look at proton 20 years ago and look at them now. 'nuff said

• hondadriver (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 8:31 pm

littlefire, what you say about the lotus europa is extremely subjective. jsut coz of one review(from who? never heard of them) said its a bad car, you believe it outright. Whereas EVO magazine(at least they're well known for writing about drivers cars) love the europa. So whats the conclusion? never believe everything you read, unless you've sampled it yourself.

as for chery, they are certainly moving fast. i think sales from the domestic market alone is enough to crush most car makers.

the biggest question is, would anyone here be willing to put their money where their mouth is and actually buy a chery?

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 10:29 pm

motberg

"just look at the Koreans. think back 20 years and look at them now. then look at proton 20 years ago and look at them now. ’nuff said"

well.. i look 20 years ago and never heard of chery.

but look at proton 20 years ago, they produce Proton Saya. Look at them now still producing proton saga… even they have wira,waja,gen-2,savvy n neo = all low quality car…

yet chery now have concept cars such as above the pics. i believe soon china car's manufac will surpass proton in terms of market, quality n design. not surprise at all.

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 10:36 pm

motberg

"i hate proton as much as anybody out there but take a minute to think about this: population of M’sia is ard 24 million. How many drive a car? China population is ard 1.2 billion. How many drive a car? So in the great economy of scale, Chery can afford to make less profit per car because they’ve got volume. Proton however, competese in a saturated market, therefore they have to increase profit per car due to shrinking volume."

so what if china have 1.2B and we have 24M. then we can give this stupid excuse to protect proton? that's alwalys the mindset u guys have about proton. Korean and Japs got 1.2B? i believe India got like 0.8B, yet what kind of cars they produce? the world is the market… go and sell it… don just sell in our country.

if Chery only sell in China enuf, then how can we know about this company…?

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 10:40 pm

skizzo75

"even monkey can design like that !!!! to mass produce and the car actually can function normally is one thing, P1 can make design more futuristic and modern but does that enough to show your are a good company WHAT A LOW MINDED MENTALITY!!! but please continue with ur LOW IQ comment cause it make me laugh until i fart OOOOO HAHAHAH OOOO HAHAHA WHAT A LOSEEEEERRRR!!! OOOO WAIT A Minute this is internet even a chipmunk can make a comment i’m so sorry I REST MY CASE"

don fart about IQ and your monkey comment. Show us P1 can make design more futuristic. pics of concept cars from proton will be good enuf. we will see how the monkey from proton perform.

• offroader manix (Member) on Apr 29, 2007 at 12:59 am

Looking at some comments made also LOL……

Chery have such a short history compared Korean and M'sian manufacturer….but try to make an impact in the overseas market which will hurt the locals dearly like Chery in Malaysia.

Many argue those chinese cars like piece of junks….I also think Korean and Proton are junks.

China junk vs M'sia junk and Korean junk……LOL….most of us are driving junks.

Like Jeremy bashing of the car….indicating we have no choice….M'sian driving junk and he think we deserve better or the end user do.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 29, 2007 at 6:24 am

motberg

“i hate proton as much as anybody out there but take a minute to think about this: population of M’sia is ard 24 million. How many drive a car? China population is ard 1.2 billion. How many drive a car? So in the great economy of scale, Chery can afford to make less profit per car because they’ve got volume. Proton however, competese in a saturated market, therefore they have to increase profit per car due to shrinking volume.”

—————–

I can't said for sure neither your statement is wrong nor right! Depend on which angle you look at?

1. If a company like Chery is a forward looking and continuos improvement in their products by invest in R & D extentsively to come out with better products in response to open market forces that meet consumers taste. Then chances to survive even dominate the market is highly probable, if not now most likely in future.

If what you describe about Chery is correct with close market "Protonomic mndset", then they do not need to export to any market with population less than 1.2 Billion. That means no other country in this earth have more population than China, and Malaysia population is around 5% of China only! Why and why Chery market their QQ, A160, Tiggo, etc, in Bolehland?

2. A company with lack of technology and no extensive investment in R & D couple with no significant improvement in products yet depend on government protective close market policy under draconian tax-based NAP can't compete in export market (open market) as it do not achieve economy of scale with perceive low quality products.

When you mentioned our market as "saturated", indeed it is truth. But why Chery still aggresively export to all over the world like Europe and our saturate market?

Why Proton knowingly very well the local market is saturate with limited demand as describe by you but why still built the Tanjung Malim spanking facilities with planned production capacity of 1 million?

The reasons are simply but not necessary limited to as what I am described above.

Further, why Proton not export to China and why Chery still export into our market if what you said is totally truth? To be fair to you, what you said is half-truth-half-false and it is a relative matter, depending on which angle you look at.

• neurra (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 4:01 am

they still haven't get the authority to advertise Brembo kua.. lmao.

and yeah, i'd agree that if Proton could at least show us they can improve, they should AT LEAST post pics of concept cars, what power ideas they have in their junkyard.. mannn even chery can post concepts much earlier than production/testing.. even without the calipers.. hahah..

come on Proton.. we don't even know where you're heading.. show us the way.

• raverus (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 4:54 pm

hahah, yea, i was wondering when we are coming out something near like that?

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 5:42 pm

havent you all seen the china made car brilliance bc3, its a beauty! styled by pinanfarina!

• ahmadmckk (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 3:16 am

Even the chinese can make good concept cars. Why not malaysians?

• Cire (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 10:38 am

Why not msian made good cars? Simple. Msian is not “hungry” enough.
    Well cushioned, plenty of safety net, and a large segment of consumer who’s aspirations and wants are easy to comply to.
    As long as its cheap, four doors, plenty of moddable kits outthere, the car will be a hit.
    Technologies ? Nope. The general msians is not hungry enough for such thing.
    Overheard a customer at a dealership,”keluarkan airbag bolih murah lagikah?” “nanti sentuh sikit, dia meletup, kena bayar beribu-ribu, sakit poketlah.”..
    well, there you go. As long as the large majority of the msian society still think this way, all the persona and new saga will continue to enjoy brisk sales.

• nuajon (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 11:17 am

wow butt back such ass kia spectra overall nice!!

• _xXx_ (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 1:33 pm

Frankly, Proton Neo is nice but the crappy engine under its hood has stopped me from putting down my signature on the dotted line 2 years ago. I didn’t expect much, just put the Waja Mitsu 1.6L engine in and I believe the sale will be very much improved.

But the problem – customer’s voice was never heard.

• calwinsingh (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 3:35 pm

Where there is a Real Will to improve, There will be Real improvements… this is amazing… i never thought i’d say this… but even i’m proud of Chery…

• topgunthang (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 2:36 pm

while its good to see competition in the car market. but you also know they are 20-30 years away to be able to compete in performance.

• mohd rosdi ibrahim on Aug 13, 2012 at 10:53 am

how much its price in Malaysia