Mid-May 2007 Proton talks update

There has been no word yet from Volkswagen on the potential tie-up with Proton, says Second Finance Minister Nor Mohamed Yakcop. “Not yet. I will let you know one day … just give us a little time. We will resolve it,” he said.

As for General Motors, who have also been in talks with Proton, spokesperson Rob Leggat said GM is still interested in Proton and tie-up talks continue at preliminary stages. If Proton ends up having a tie-up with GM, you can be sure that we will see the re-entry of DRB-HICOM as a Proton stakeholder, as GM’s local partner in Malaysia is DRB-HICOM, who sells the group’s Chevrolet and (ex-)Suzuki brands. Suzukis was once controlled by GM, but GM has since divested in the Japanese automaker since 2006.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 7:37 pm

Yup, i have the clue already.

Proton will be tied up with the GM and yes, as what Paul mentioned, DRB-Hicom will be back to join the alliance by grasping some of the substantial stake of shares offered by Khazanah Nasional.

Proton previous chairman, Mohd Azlan Hashim (who represented and on behalf of Khazanah) contract was not renewed recently thus will be replaced by the new guy. Guess who is he would be ?

The new chairman of Proton will be Tan Sri Rahman Omar (On behalf of DRB-Hicom) who is currently the automotive division’s advisor for DRB-Hicom and ex-Managing Director of Perodua.

The alliance formula will be like such as what is being adopted by Perodua now. As what UMW Holding and Daihatsu are for Perodua, DRB-Hicom and GM will fill that place for Proton.

So it seems that Proton will be led by two of ex-Perodua’s guy. Earlier was its MD and soon will be its chairman. Yeah..whatever on this !!

Well this news might be released soon. But how soon ? Hehe i can’t predict on that as…well you heard what the 2nd Finance Minister said right ? They knew it already but reluctant of announcing it to the public. Why ? It’s the $$$$$ factor dude…since Proton is the public listed company, you know how some of the guy dominating the M’SIAN SYSTEM would manipulate the thing to benefit their side awesomely.

As they keep dragging this Proton thing further by telling the on-looking alliance is not decided yet, people would lost confidence completely upon Proton survival hence decided to sell their shares resulting a slump of Proton’s share price. Those buggers will then grab the cheap sales and subsequently…wallaaaa..the next few days, “Proton,GM, and DRB-Hicom tied up” will be a headline on every local newspaper..Checkmate !! The rich is getting bloody richer and more and more….

Don’t believe me ? Hehe it’s up to everybody but let’s wait and watch..their cha-chas and tangos…Stay tuned !!

• ahmadmckk (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 7:40 pm

Proton has to find a ‘strategic partner’ fast or they will face a big problem

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 1:54 am

Talk and continue talk ………… eventually all cost incurr is paid by tax payer!

• transformer (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 2:01 am

too much NATO(No Action Talk Only) already!

Toll increase again…

Petrol when ?

P1 should R.I.P.

• bugbear (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 2:08 am

“Not yet. I will let you know one day" – Second Finance Minister Nor Mohamed Yakcop.

year2020??

• rexis (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 2:10 am

Seriously, after i have been offline for half a year, and come back to paltan.org and read the same news, i really a bit fed up.

• KelvC (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 2:18 am

"There has been no word yet from Volkswagen on the potential tie-up with Proton, says Second Finance Minister Nor Mohamed Yakcop. “Not yet. I will let you know one day … just give us a little time. We will resolve it,” he said."

It's just plain disappointing, dear mr minister, time to move on. If your "girlfriend" refused to even talk to you despite countless of tangoes and chas-chas and courting (?) and whatchamacallit which only means she has been saying all this time that she has found someone else!

Advise Proton to pursue that second choice or time for proton ship out! Better to admit defeat with whatever pride left remaining…..lest they drag the rest of us down to the gravel and down the drain. Fortunately for most orang besar your future generations are now secured, however we still have to fend ourselves and our future generations.

• japankiller (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 2:38 am

Are we going to expecting a Holden Commodore GM takeover proton?

• ckengyo (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 2:57 am

the delay may due 2 new major shares holder, Porsche, in vw. so Porsche may or may not call the deal off. depend on the new head in vw.

• ab (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 3:01 am

i think initially vw proton talk went fine, then vw get makan by porsche and now maybe the new boss is not so keen…

• tec96248 (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 3:10 am

#

ab said,

May 18, 2007 @ 7:01 pm

i think initially vw proton talk went fine, then vw get makan by porsche and now maybe the new boss is not so keen…

==vw not "makan" by porsche. they r together all this while.

• akram (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 3:10 am

i hope VW will buy proton, so that in the future, i can buy a GTI golf wannabe with a cheaper price! :P

it's like now, buy a mitsubishi car wannabe with a cheaper price (wira/perdana/staria etc) :P

• tec96248 (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 3:13 am

hmm……..doesn't matter anyway. GM or VW, whatever, still got to sell the body parts (legs, hands, feets, arms, etc) hahaha. waiting them to sell their parts is interesting………hahahaha

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 3:35 am

Oh no.. I think Suzuki also good maa got vitara and swift.. but i prefer VW, long time brand with good quality products from the german.. If GM take it.. then the whole streets will be full with Chevy optra.. dammed.. Hope they bring in the new Suzuki X4 sedan..

• DtG (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 4:29 am

When they mentioned the dateline of 31st March was it for the year 2007 or 2017???

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 5:14 am

Yup DtG.. the so-called dateline of 31st March this year, was also a part of the strategical game. The game of psychology for determining market sentiment.

By showing that even the government can't meet its own prescribed dateline to find Proton's partner, they want people to believe that thing for Proton is getting tougher and very difficult. Thus what's going to happen ? Read my previous comment, then you'll get the real picture.

What a slick game !!

Do you know the bloody reason why Proton can't be as competitive as other car makers while on the other hand turned out to be a loser ? It's because of all this manipulation, speculation and useless politician involvement into this suppose-to-be pure automotive industry world !

• mystvearn (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 5:53 am

I think this is the most logical answer. Like torishimeyakuin said. Not trusting proton no matter what they come out with next time

• bebe (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 6:01 am

Talks with even NASA or the people who make AK47's also no use as too many politics involved.. It's just our luck to have such people in the decision making process. We have always been a country of underachievers. We have so much but only achieve so little wherby our close neighbour has so little , not even water but can achieve so much… We blow our own horns too much & too often.. Now u know why our neighbour Pm and their cabinet r paid so much.. coz they r worth it.. Worth every cent. I am no expert but everyone knows the quality of politicians that we have.. Look at the recent " BOCOR SETIAP BULAN " issue.. I really pity ourselves that we have such low quality people in the Goverment.. Mentality .. Zero. So this partnership thing will be plagued by the same problem. Good luck to the " BRAVE " partner. GM or VW or ……

• vexus (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 6:32 am

Stop the partnership.

JAPAN had enough with Proton, that's why they back off. Japan has see the future of Proton. NO HOPE AT ALL !!!.

• proton GL (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 6:58 am

vexus

the truth is proton had enough with japan,

-stingy japanese,

• aesthari (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 7:04 am

Go on, talk more, talk till Proton collapse. All talk no show.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 7:06 am

Here comes the WOLF!!!

• p1basher (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 7:25 am

we want someone who is really capable to handle p1, not talk craps rich corrupted monkey..

ppl is suffering buying crappy outdated p1 to make more rich corrupted dominated monkeys who love to make fun greeting ppl "bocor" every month..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 7:48 am

i think the truth is that P1 dont want to buy more license from mitsubishi coz every car he made from mitsu car will be charge.. So they want to cut cost.. but in reality P1 base is not strong and still they want to fly.. If P1 first bring in the Mivec, turbo or 4X4 system in their cars.. i think now P1 can fly, coz they can learn from their technology.. look at others company especially from china they improve a lot coz they dare to try and sell… The Japs are not stingy.. but P1 is stingy to pay them the royalty and P1 high rank officers want to earn more… Look at the Saga and see, at first only sell 18k then rise until 35k then come down to 27k.. is not about the royalty is about the management.. They hold control and now seems that they will move the way like P2 doing.. Coz P2 is earning more then P1 now.. I got a feeling that the GM is getting nearer than VW..

• proton GL (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 8:16 am

but never ending royalty is not clever,the complex engine built, the higher is the royalty (mivec or,,) terminate mitsubishi move to lotus at least have the own made campro ond on coming vim cps,- made in malaysia, (pattened)

still buying mitsubishi tranny but

now moving toward own transmission – made in malaysia,

hurdle difficulties of course,

sorry all friends, too much of malaysian thingy here,

nite..

• EddyHyip (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 8:58 am

Govt shud hear public comment regarding this matter. Afterall, we, contributed not less (in tax) to keep P1 going…

For me, I believe the partnership of Proton and Volkswagen is a better choice. Proof : see Skoda… they have their own cars but using VW chasis and technologies. So y not use more advance chasis and technologies from VW in cars like Gen2, Waja. Of course in return, VW might optimise the manufacturing arm for their budget car project. But P1 will still be protected by govt. So, no fear about it…. VW cheapest car will still be much more expensive than P1. If P1 improved tremendously till gained praise from fussy ppl like Jeremy Clarkson, there won't be reason for us not to buy them.

Protons failure is due to public and government actions. Many public nowadays do not support P1. V should learn from fellow koreans. Their Hyundai and Kia were once a junk, but look how they succeeded internationally now. Govt is also at fault for giving too much protection, supporting P1 to produce low quality car for own citizen since the brand was established!

• kl55 (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 10:37 am

faster put this disaster away. .

• e-nabilll (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 11:13 am

faster SOLVE this problem….this delay is NOT helping proton or parties involved…

as for the 2nd finance minister , EITHER TELL THE WHOLE THING OR KEEP SHUT….dont jus give half the story n make ppl more anxious abt the other half….

• pw (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 1:04 pm

Hey with P1 you are talking about a bunch of politically linked suppliers who deliver lausy parts to p1 for a living.

VW wants to get reliable parts and kill all these supplier, thats why they cannot sell P1 !! how else these supplier cari makan from P1 after selling !

Keep these supplier P1 also die coz the rakyat now reject all these crap liao. rather pay a bit more and get good quality.

P1, continue do your tricks, the rakyat already bleed enough sudah 20 tahun. Either VW comes in and change your soul or else may u RIP.

• sxe10r (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 4:13 pm

P1 always like to use mounth say will do this will make this will share …. but never see they action …. P1 one when u say it u will close or sell the P1 ?? Our G also giveup man !! will not stop it ?? …. if P1 still share with Mitsubishi … i think the P1 still is a best choose but …. y P1 stop it early ??? the model also stop since mitsu left … never have a new model until year 2000 Waja ? then Gen2 ?? if P1 Share with Mitsu …. like P2 wait for the late model like Daihatsu also no bad …. at less u got new model to sell !! P1 u r wrong to share VW !! u think this will sucess ? our P1 Evo , Pejaro , Storm P1 also can copy right mah …. P2 also sell like tat …. who's care ??

• REDDEVIL (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 5:41 pm

ZZZZZZZZZZZZ………….

CLOSE SHOP LAH…. BORING… WE WANT CARS WITH REASONALBE PRICE…

• protonsucks (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 5:41 pm

No need talk la p1! VW won tie up with u unless they take major control. Do you think they wan put in money in stupid ppl, stupid G company selling crap cars???P1, dun waste ur time, juz go on sucking money from rakyat. Our stupid G will always support u n give u money. No worries P1….

• darren0900 (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 6:43 pm

Crap..crap..crap..maybe they last call for s**king $ from rakyat. Please wait patiently, haha.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 7:37 pm

If GM offer more $$$ to cover the officer.. i think he will get it.. All ppl knows that in Malaysia $$$ talks more then Law and rules.. Even head of Badan pencegah rasuah also king of rasuah laa… Haiz.. When one race dominates they rules, our country is not balance.. So even noobs can be politition..

• KelvC (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 8:11 pm

I think it is time to drop this VW talk and move on. The fact here is Proton had a chance to back in 2005 (or was it 2004) to make good out of this deal but put all the unnecessary roadblocks just as what TDM once mentioned. Now, weakened and shabby, getting into VW's good grace is just a futile effort. If Proton has to "ask" the government to pay for the VSS expenses to lay off the distributors instead of using the market forces to close the uncompetitve distributors, just imagine the amount of resource coming out of our pockets just to appease the previous "transgression"?

I say, enough of this and move on. If Proton cannot make good this year…then ship out. They only have this year left to prove whether they are worthy to carry the nation's flag. They better get the new Gen2 (oh change that name!) sedan equiped with the real Campro CPS, sort out the quality issues (i would like to sincerely believe that this is sorted) and boot out the crappy vendors (who cares whether they're still in the industry!). Heck! If they can't get this right then let's not wait for that SUV and MPV thingy for a finale send off. Forget about the "luxury" sedan segment and stick to bread-and-butter first (in Malaysian context…poridge). Once the foundation is set, then build upon other building blocks and spin-off with the luxury sedan, SUV, MPV, trucks…hell, why not monster truck….but later! Once you're done, then you get to have Nasi Kandar as much as you want! But let's not go overboard and banjir the whole Nasi. ;)

• nmh (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 10:32 pm

whateverlah gov……i just want to say taknek to GM……dont want our car feel like korean and US

• tec96248 (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 11:37 pm

#

bebe said,

May 18, 2007 @ 10:01 pm

'Look at the recent ” BOCOR SETIAP BULAN ” issue.. I really pity ourselves that we have such low quality people in the Goverment.. Mentality .. Zero. So this partnership thing will be plagued by the same problem. Good luck to the ” BRAVE ” partner. GM or VW or ……'

==their mentality are not zero, they r real smart. "bocor setiap bulan" to the other user whereas, others have made lots of moneys and saving in swiss bank. they will be elsewhere and let others to suffer here. ur money they enjoy. who is smarter? zero mentality or not? hahahahaha.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 11:38 pm

Eagerly to see the clash between the world top 2 car manufacturers in their pursuit of dominating Malaysian automotive scene.

These juggernauts presence on Malaysian soil will be rationalized by action of employing domestic alliance where they can fully utilize their domestic partners prowess, advantages and enjoyable privileges as being dubbed the "National Car Manufacturer".

These two juggernauts, as one's origin is from the far eastern side of the world while the another one is coming from the far west will spark the flame brighter (hopefully..) onto Malaysian automotive battlefield.

As the eastern juggernaut has been building its strong foundation and keeping its grasp firmer day by day through Toyota-Daihatsu-UMW-Perodua alliance flag, on the other hand, the western juggernaut through the GM-DRBHicOM-Proton flag, might have to work harder since its Proton ally is currently in the state of being impairment after been shot with financially damage of multi-million loss for several consecutive years while keeping subside and take-for-granted the trust of it's own high-regarded patriotic country folks for more than a bloody 20 years.

The clash of these two automotive giants probably might bring the ever gone sunshine coming back to broaden the smiles of the country folks who enthusiast automotive world but in the end of the day……..it's the bloody bunch of useless fool politicians and rogues who are conquering the whole system will with out any hesitation use their VETO power ABUSIVELY….for the betterment of themselves. Supposed-to-be pure automotive industry be driven by the pure enthusiastic hands, had already been polluted shitely by hands of merciless morons. You could see how they've played the games by imposing requirements of posting groups of their related cronies' lousy vendors, distributors and dealers. This is a FACT and Such a mess !!!

p/s: In Japan, its honourable PM shall listen meticulously with a bow head to the Toyota & Nissan top management officials sayings for the betterment and survival of the country's automotive industry but in Malaysia, it's an absolute contrary but even worse. The worst is Proton MD even has to bear his ears listening to great amount of useless low rank morons sayings and bullshite commandments. I feel terribly sorry for Datuk Syed Zainal of what he has gone through for being a somebody in Malaysian national car manufacturers.

• tec96248 (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 11:53 pm

#

nmh said,

May 19, 2007 @ 2:32 pm

whateverlah gov……i just want to say taknek to GM……dont want our car feel like korean and US

==GM is still ok if the quality is good. they have continental design which similar to VW. continental ride is better than japanese ride except the engine performance (in same class comparison). if u tested or owned one of those, u might hv told different feelings. there's reason why still people by continental cars.

• Hikaru (Member) on May 20, 2007 at 12:07 am

Stop the bleeding. We don't care how. Just sell it.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 20, 2007 at 2:12 am

So if Proton by itself close shop, who compensate them? Including the cronies vendors, crocs, suppliers etc. – Ha, ha, ha ………………….

• offroader manix (Member) on May 20, 2007 at 2:36 am

Joe,

Most people out here are just interested to see those jokers wind-up…….bankrupt…..most people already suffer enough during the economic down turn….we are interested to see how this gonna affect them and their life.

Been sucking $$$ from end user for years and still can't stand on their own.

• nmh (Member) on May 20, 2007 at 3:59 am

tec96248

yea…i agree it might drive like continental…but how bout cheap material and safety. Most GM and its korean partner product are the least safe vehicle eg. escalade(please search article), aveo(ncap 0 star), optra(forbes review on US suzuki ver), cheap material issue in most cadillac(JC review in TheGoodTheBad&TheUgly) and many other. I believe that GM just want to make money while VW and other Germans really make car.

• nmh (Member) on May 20, 2007 at 4:04 am

Recently cadillac is improving in their material used but GM's want2make money policy is still there somewhere else…they might sacrifice safety (in term of technical design and not equipment) and assembly line (poor fitting and workmanship)

• owaief (Member) on May 20, 2007 at 4:53 am

yea…i agree it might drive like continental…but how bout cheap material and safety. Most GM and its korean partner product are the least safe vehicle eg. escalade(please search article), aveo(ncap 0 star), optra(forbes review on US suzuki ver), cheap material issue in most cadillac(JC review in TheGoodTheBad&TheUgly) and many other. I believe that GM just want to make money while VW and other Germans really make car.

———————————————————

but if GM put some input into proton from it's european unit such as Opel it would be great rite?

• nmh (Member) on May 20, 2007 at 9:10 am

Opel still far behind VW cars in term of engine innovation and safety and quality as well. Dont u guys dream to use their lightweight 1.4 liter twincharge unit. YUMMY. The Opel brand also 'dead' in malaysia which i believe might affect the resale value compared to VW cars

• nmh (Member) on May 20, 2007 at 9:15 am

I hope more German automotive giant step forward into this deal.

• Prem3377 (Member) on May 20, 2007 at 12:39 pm

haha…funny la…the G think we are stupid and i think we are actually stupid!!we also talk no action!!!the logic is..proton is a company which the G have lost interest in!!all the plan of selling it is bullshit!!!!i know someone who work in volkswagen..he is based in singapore..he told me that volkwagen want to use proton as cheap car company like how kia and hyundai started and how other car manufacturers,renault and etc have started.They are not interested about making proton like skoda and all!!they just want proton's hightech factory..thats all.they want to market cheap cars to india,indonesia,vietnam and certain countries in africa.volkwagen have actually started the project of making cheap cars!!then dont want to use their name so proton is their best option.so if volkswagen buy over proton we wont get any up market cars..maybe cheap mpv,cars and compact cars.even perdana replacement will be doubtful!!no wonder the G still thinking about!!Maybe G is thinking how to fool the people not how to sell proton to vw!!if anyone know about this news in detail pls share with all.

• Prem3377 (Member) on May 20, 2007 at 12:59 pm

another thing that make me wonder..i am not very sure but its logic if u think about it!!Proton used around rm 500 million to develop proton waja.they have world class r&d facilities and also manufacturing plant!!thy used around rm 100 million to develop proton GEN 2!which shares the same platform with WAJA!!both 1.6 L cars and now price also almost similar!!why did they develop GEN2 then?ok lets forget bout this but if they have the same 100 million the can develop a MPV with waja's chassis..what is stopping them now?ok lets say its money..if they use the same money which they wanna pay vss for the proton dealers they atleast can develop another right?we have lotus with us so why must we be worried about technological advance cars or engine?ok if you need latest technology products in your car proton can always buy from bosch,siemens and etc.they sell thier technology..even BMW buy from them!!transmission can buy from ZF.sure they have their 5 speed tranny which kinda outdated by now for a bargain price??modern engine..we have campro i mean not what is GEN2 but with similar technology as vvti or vtec!!and one of proton share holder has a super good engine!!Petronas which take years to develop the engines but they sold it to a chinese car manufacturer..so why proton never used it before??something is wrong some where!!!everything is wrong!!!sure there is something to do with the G..anyone know why all this was not possible?and whats the logic behind these?

• transformer (Member) on May 20, 2007 at 5:50 pm

this news would help P1 to get more $

everyone want earn some from shares… so wait to see if P1 share shoot rocket high! HOPEFULLY!!!

few moths later, another makes want also…. zzZ!

• kevyeoh (Member) on May 20, 2007 at 7:37 pm

it's ok…slowly talk and take your very own sweet time…

doesn't really matter to me cause i'm eyeing for my next car which will not be a proton… :D

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on May 20, 2007 at 8:30 pm

Yeah Prem 3377 basically what are you saying is fundamentally right.

Well, it is vehemently sad to see what is happening upon Malaysian automotive industry. All those flaws and illogical absurdness that cloaking the whole industry is crystal-clearly caused by the useless morons' hands who snobbishly intervened and messed up the things for the sake of their own bloody belly's.

Malaysia can't definitely grooms its automotive industry to a very reasonable level or moreover what the folks dream of unless those morons leave all the matters to the eligible experts and men who are purely in the industry to do their jobs.

Nevertheless, this kind of paradigm shift might be such a bloody impossible thing to do as those morons hands have already been stinking and playing the scene since the day one.

I never heard any country's useless politicians dare to intervene or what else to impose undeniable commands on their national car makers for the sake of their own bloody belly's.

I've never heard any of such a bloody mess intervention in the successful Japanese, Europeans or Americans car manufacturers.

The fundamental element to keep up Proton survival is its leadership and human resources. Proton might probably possess such a good leader of its Managing director, well-trained workers or world class facilities but after all the one who have the ultimate power of maneuvering are the useless morons.

Since Proton's substantial majority stake is controlled by the government and since the government with the whole system itself is controlled by a bunch of morons, this is what you gonna get folks !!!

• ckengyo (Member) on May 20, 2007 at 8:36 pm

Prem3377, we don't have the scale of economy 2 bargain 4 the part as cheap as what they can supplier 2 other brand. do u know that an old e class parts is more cheaper than a kelisa when this 2 car smash in an accident in reality? the purpose we r buying lotus was bcos pre crisis our big brother Indonesia take over Lamborghini. as u know our nation don't like 2 left behind since we should b consider as a car nation long b4 Thailand emerging out b4 1997 so it was the only option which proton can afford. talking about lotus' campro engine when lotus don't even have their own engine in Elise. they r putting toyota engine in it. y not campro since a lot of local think it as good as vtec from honda? either vw or gm partnership wont get us quality car. cos they have losing a lot of money recently & inorder u success again they need 2 replicate their only formula again, which is low quality car + high price = huge profit. so that they can contributed the money back 2 its founder cum advisor.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 20, 2007 at 10:18 pm

Yup.. that's why P1 cars are low in quality.. including the new Lotus Europa S Sucks! If u are in the secondhand car market.. you can survey that the quality inside the P1 are cheap plastic, the signal light button on the dash board easily fade out… Even an old Wira dashboard are more better then the Waja, Gen.2, Saga and Satria Neo.. I just don know why the situation is more worst then the first generation of Saga.. Even the door of Waja squeak when open and close… The most problem of P1 is the power window.. if any of you broke them, don't buy new one from P1.. Better get it from the secondhand parts shop.. The japanese half-cutes are more better then our local new products… Haiz.. this is reality..

• dcwhz83 (Member) on May 20, 2007 at 10:32 pm

If P1 doesnt find a partner soon, P1 wont be in trouble…

its us who will be in trouble! our taxpayers money pour out to the drain… our money eventually goes to the cronies or became P1 junks in the junkyards…

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 5:38 pm

>>>Second Finance Minister Nor Mohamed Yakcop. “Not yet. I will let you know one day … just give us a little time. We will resolve it,” he said.

• kei9 (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 9:56 pm

haiz…………no comment..

• tec96248 (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 10:29 pm

#

nmh said,

May 19, 2007 @ 7:59 pm

tec96248

==hahaha, mate, u can't judge the whole by few of its brand or models saying it is cheap in material and safety. even, VW, Merc or BMW don't hv perfect material and safety. must remember one thing our climate might not suite to their design. what will u choose, if there's only GM and P1? think…ahahaha.

• kei9 (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 10:40 pm

hahahaha!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 11:00 pm

If our G got brain sure choose VW, If G only greed.. haiz.. any company who have more cash can get P1 including naza.. This is sad reality to be face in Malaysia..

• kei9 (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 11:01 pm

thta true Littlefire85….haiz….

• nmh (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 11:30 pm

hmm…maybe its just me 2 have bad bad experience with GM product (korean chevy). But i still can trust another american, ford of course. Camon ford take a chance.

• digiman (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 1:29 am

the most wishful headline ever..

PROTON HAS GONE TO BMW!

BMW DECIDE TO TURN TANJUNG MALIM INTO BMW'S SEA MANUFACTURING PLANT!

PROTON CARS TO BE INSTALLED WITH BMW TECH AND QUALITY!

WAJA TO BE INSTALLED WITH LATEST ENGINE TECH FROM BMW!

GEN2 TO BE TURNED INTO BMW ENTRY LEVEL LIGHT WEIGHT SPORT CAR FOR BMW! FITTED WITH REVOLUTIONARY H2O ENGINE!

MANAGEMENT TEAM OF PROTON NOW FILLED WITH GERMANS AND MALAYSIAN WITH PASSION!

like i said.. wishful… only in dream land that can happen

• intermilan (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 5:30 am

'They' are on their way to successfully make the share of potong go down. The share now is at 5.30 compared to a high of 8.10 in end of Feb – it has been on the slide ever since. All this done until 'they' execute the next course of action.

Their plan gonna work eventually coz they control the time (of annoucing the buyout/merger whatever).

These set of people are one of the many 'neo-con' of Malaysia.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 6:32 am

Yeah intermilan, that's part of what i meant in my previous posting.

Let's wait and watch their cha-chas and tangos. See how far and for how long they can keep dancing like wolves. Perhaps until their bellies are full enough with the Malaysian people's monies. Even that is doubtful since they seem never to feel enough heh !

Proton is being abused blatantly by some invincible hands of morons. All those manipulation and speculation only bring more harms but nothing good to the intrinsic value of Malaysian automotive industry generally and the Proton itself particularly.

Dance like a wolf with a foxy move !!

However, i am sure they are several men in the industry aware of this yet the point is whether they can stand tall and face the bloody stinky tide or not. Dubious !!

• ys (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 4:20 pm

talk can still talk… but why not get somebody who very clever to talk… like our "close one eye" MP… i think he can get GM to close one and team up with P1. next he will make sure all tax payer in Malaysia "bocor"… haha…what a joke. shame shame la..

• matomyam (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 6:19 pm

"Since Proton’s substantial majority stake is controlled by the government and since the government with the whole system itself is controlled by a bunch of morons"= Malaysian gets to drive shitty cars

• matomyam (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 6:28 pm

after getting the s 320,,thts the only word tht i can describe proton,shitty,,honest

• digiman (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 1:32 am

my 2 cents…

drive up the share price.. so a few shareholder will benefit from the market followers (ie: aunties and uncles who play shares and no knowledge of the proper share trading)…

now drive share price down.. so that when announce of selling price, can claim proton shares sold at a premium (masked benefits) then the premium goes where? that we shall have our own little private opinion that i will not dwell into… and when sold, can claim that new partner paid a higher premium because of higher book value.. say give it another few more months…

why the drag on? i can only suspect of one thing.. clean up the books before future partner send external auditors in…

why drag on also? because couldn't decide who shall benefit more from it…

poor proton… haih.. company of great value.. lead by spoilt apples.. if only i have the credentials to join a automaking company.. oh well.. life goes on..

oh bla di oh bla da.. life goes on, on na na na na na na na…

• ys (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 1:49 am

well digiman, sort of agree with u..

good value company lead by spoilt apples.

but thats what happening in malaysia on all areas.

i am not sure how proton can screw up until become national joke.

pardon me… i just wonder how many non bumi's in Proton?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 7:45 pm

well the non bumi working in P1 is very less… Even the vendors i heard is 30% non bumi's… They follow the G requirement.. But mostly non bumi are on high rank.. Coz they choose the best from non bumi to work with.. So non bumi not that shame yet..

• johnyong5933 (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 9:34 pm

sigh..

they only know how to talk only……….

now people dun even care wat they uttering about…

juz like mosquitoes..

• Kaboda (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 10:59 pm

I don't know why we don't concentrate on doing what we are good at doing. Like Oil palm, just buang this car business for whatever contributes to the nation instead of leeching from it.

And you get these type of comments from Proton, one day its like some Never Ending Story. Same shit different day.

• kei9 (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 11:11 pm

kaboda…….x use the s**t word…hehehe…there are kid guest here…..im not because in in my teens..

• kei9 (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 11:31 pm

kaboda….dont use s**t…….there are kid guest here………except me of course…..im in my midteens…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 9:46 am

Shit is nothing.. but FXXK.. this is rude.. Anywayz just found an interesting book at stores in Popular.. It is very unofficial… "May 13", just launch few weeks ago.. If want to buy this book went to Popular book store and ask the selling/information account about May13 (no open to public,must ask..), only cost RM20.. I read a few page just now.. The May 13 book is directed by Dr.M to the author to come out this book to warn us that May 13 may come if no take action againts those racism ppl in the parlimen.. Haiz.. I even know our Deputy minister now.. at 1987 support against the Chinese… and actually UXXO the biggest parti in Malaysia planned the May 13 issue.. Why polis and army work so slow? Read the book and guess… Maybe Dr.M don't want the voters to vote for BN next election.. i think we malaysian ppl should know the truth of racism and discrimination in our own country, just we have been covered by the education minister for a long time… Inside there also got something to do wif our G stupid decision… Haiz..

• kei9 (Member) on May 26, 2007 at 11:30 pm

yeah! agreed on you….F**k is !@@#$$$%!

• adamccl (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 8:19 pm

Speaking of which, they made a far-fetched promise to me and my 40-over sponsored apprentice coursemates – a job secured for all of us. Now they're saying that they've to release some of us – HAH!

"We have RM…" Nice statement, but is that true now?

Your COE (Centre of Excellence) is a Half-Half actually, outer looks – good, COSE (service side) and Sales (also known as 'Baiduri') – HELL! Negative!

And you still want to put us in there? Good! Congrats, you'll have more technicians (more like "Cherry Tree" Mechanics to me) to 'lepak' with you!

Extra – Your technicians said that we're no good, so what does that mean? Look at your Pre-Delivery Inspection-turned-into-Technicians! One of them don't even know how to change a bloody steering linkage and they call us a "Don't-Know"? I WAS THE ONE WHO HAVE TO SHOW HIM HOW TO CHANGE, OR ELSE THE BLOODY WORK WILL BE ABANDONED! Then he was doubtful. Then, when the foreman said it was true, then only he believed. WHAT THE HELL IS THIS?! TRYING TO BE STUPID OR WHAT???

I don't have hope for you, Proton Edar. I hope you'll just disappear forever…