Side and curtain airbags standard for JDM Toyotas

toyota_airbags.jpg

Toyota has raised the bar on passenger safety once again, with an announcement that side airbags and curtain shield airbags will now be standard on all new passenger vehicle models in Japan, starting with the new models to be launched shortly.

An SRS side airbag is built into the front seat, and it deploys in the case of a side collision and reduces risk of upper body injury for front seat occupants.

SRS curtain shield airbags are located between the front pillars and the roof-side rails, which deploy and protect both front and rear passengers heads with a curtain-like barrier, reducing impact from side windows, pillars and other internal objects, as well as any external objects like poles.

This is for Japan domestic market cars of course – not sure if this will somehow trickle down to the Toyota cars available in our country sometime in the future.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• eezarm (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 11:44 pm

this is what we should have in our R&D…
    always come out with new invention and product..
    ahead from the others…

• arcana (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 11:47 pm

although the technology is not new in the market, nonetheless its a good move from toyota to make it standard on its vehicles.
    when can we get it here, even our top end toyota’s from UMW have yet to see more than 2 airbags which are driver and front passenger ones.

• silv3r (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 11:49 pm

cool…save more life…
    improvement for our better future..
    :)

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 12:18 am

Well, my only wish is that the G will set that all new cars selling in Malaysia including basic models should at least have an air-bag and ABS standart.. Dont know when will only implement like this (Since our country is one of the world deadies amount of accident).. People already have more then 4 air bags in their car, while in US their cars will be standard with traction control after next year? Even now in Malaysia, a few luxury n imported cars only fitted with traction control.. I dont recall any P1 car got Traction control, ESP or LSD.. Even the most is just 2 air bags n ABS.. Need a lot of improvement P1..

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 3:46 am

LittleFire85,

dont blame our G..our people are like that..there was team from G did a very in dept survey of the basic safety features which people need in car…many dont even know what is ABS and SRS and etc…they dont even know what is NCAP,NSTA,GOA and etc…so how do we set the minimum standard??we need feedback from driver to set the standard..thats the sad part of malaysians…70% dont even bring their airbag for yearly inspection..abs light(which usually light up to check or tell if something wrong with the system) will light up all day long and some dont even bother…VSC,ESP and all never bother checking or even touch those buttons..so its dangerous to set a minimum standard for safety cause when this system is faulty it is equally dangerous…after accidents many dont even refill their airbag or repair faulty sensors…so its kinda useless in our country..when there is awareness of their safety then malaysian will able to set minimum safety standards..many of my frens ask me why there is some new light flashing in their car….especially driving in the rain or driving fast…when i say its ur VSC..the next question will be whats that??many will have their abs light flashing because never reset the system after changing their pads but they dont bother and think its just another light..so how can abs and airbag be included and standard when malaysian think that its not important…people like you and me are concern bout safety but its not even in most customers priority list!!so the G should creat awareness among malaysian on how and what these safety systems are..then we can think about setting minimum standards!!

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 9:42 am

Not all the technologies are good for us if we don’t understand the REAL FUNCTIONS. Just like this airbag, if you don’t seat in proper position with seat belt fasten it won’t protect you. Other are the ABS, EBD, BAS, TC, VSC, ESP, CBC, etc. Don’t always think you have all these your live 100% safe. Have to know what is that technology for and so on.

Most important is the road users. Everyone should think about the safety first.

• szw (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 9:54 am

LittleFire85

friend , p1 do have traction control and ESP.
    u go to see under a very bright light u can actually see the traction control sign in there.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 10:26 am

P1 don’t equip traction control in home market. By the way, please stick to the topic.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 11:12 am

toyota may be very good with safety in their homemarket, but look at the vios. these cars were built only to be sold in markets like thailand, indonesia and malaysia.. they do not meet euro-specs. We only know how to blame “P1”

look at the weight of the vios in comparison with a gen2 for example.. 990kg+ vs 1100kg+

anyone wanna guess where the weight has gone?

• king (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 11:19 am

this is considered old tech lar

• king (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 11:20 am

the europeans already have it many years ago…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 11:29 am

The Unicons, well if u choose a car with all the safety features againts a non safety features what will u buy? Even u say the safety is due to the driver, but what if the accident is done by someone else, but not u.. U never know who will get into trouble, like last time someone rammed into my back and even with my seatbelt on, my chest are in great pain n window glass fell everywhere.. For a country which is great in accident rate, we must give more safety features.. Even Europe country can do it with less accident, why not us? And after all ABS n air bags are cheap nowadays! U think that u can save a few bucks without installing that, but is ur life only cost that little? U have only one life.. If u die, how about ur parents, ur gf/wife or children? Even u have a lot of insurance, but still they lost u a person.. U never have the feeling of losing someone in an accident before, when u felt that i think u will hate the car manufacturer n G for not setting more features standart.. U still have a lot to learn about human nature.. In reality, a lot of people in Malaysia are not educated well.. Even u sell them a car, they don’t even know how to maintain their car well. Even a puncture tyre also need the tyre shop man to come and change for them..

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 12:22 pm

LittleFire85, did I say all the safety tech are useless? NO. AS I SAD, WE HAVE TO UNDERSTAND IT. Even if you have 8 airbags for your car. Somebody’s car hit you at the back or front but your sitting position is wrong and worst didn’t use seat belt. Do you think airbags will save you? Might not. Think again.

• happymeal (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 12:59 pm

active safety system like tyres pun ppl already dont want to change or opt for used 1….alot just dont care and income levels are really low at rural areas, hence not easy for them to change 1 set.

i think gen2 in export markets got side bags..

• ys (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 5:16 pm

agree with Prem3377,
    if malaysian not even bother to put on safety belt then those gadget are just useless.
    not long time ago, a took a ride with my lady friend for lunch, he laught at me when i put on safety belt. whats wrong if i put on the belt? at least i care for myself.

anyway, bravo toyota. hope this will be implemented in all toyota in malaysia.
    planned to buy a innova in 2 yrs time.

• Infinitt (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 5:25 pm

Agreed with The Unicons:-
    Most important is the road users. Everyone should think about the safety first !! How many of us or even service centre people, workshop check the ABS functional equipped in car regularly as example. If failed it might be worst than as a safety items.

• Infinitt (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 5:26 pm

Anyway.. Toyota . This things so good.

• Vengeance (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 9:46 pm

Toyota implement car safety in their own country 1st, while P1 only implement safety features in export models to other countries…side airbags in export gen 2? When can we get that in local models?

• mits27 (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 10:25 pm

I think whatever it is benefit to us, for someone don’t fasten their seat belt, it is their decision, for me, I will fasten my seat belt, and I need more protection from airbag too…

• BigFish (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 10:59 pm

Toyota always is a trend setter and ahead of their competitor! Good job, put safety 1st in their citizen! Our country still treat this as optional! Life also treat as “optional” on the road?