Toyota TRD Aurion full details and photos

Toyota has released full details on the Australian market Toyota TRD Aurion that was first shown in March this year. The Australian Toyota Aurion is basically the same car as the Toyota Camry we get from Thailand locally, however Australian specs call for much larger engines. While the Aurion already gets a 3.5 litre V6, the Aurion TRD has it’s powertrain supercharged with a four-lobe Eaton Twin Vortices Series supercharger to produce 323 horsepower at 6,400rpm and 400Nm of torque at 4,000rpm, matched to a 6-speed automatic with sequential shifting that sends power through the front wheels.

This engine is found in both the 3500S and 3500SL variants of the Toyota Aurion TRD. The Toyota Aurion TRD 3500S comes with a sports suspension, 19-inch wheels and special TRD body kit, while the Toyota Aurion TRD 3500SL adds Smart Entry, Smart Start, full leather interior, parking sensors, dual-zone air-conditioning and a special rear bumper reinforcement to add rigidity to the car. 0 to 100km/h for both cars is rated at 6.1 seconds which will definitely knock you back into your chair, and it goes on to a top speed of 250km/h.

To reign in all that power, the TRD Aurion is equipped with 325x32mm front ventilated discs with twin 40.5mm piston aluminium calipers, and 310x18mm ventilated rear discs with single 40.5mm piston aluminium calipers.

The Aurion TRD’s fat body has sufficient wheel size to match, ensuring fender gaps are minimal as well as ensuring all that power and torque gets down to the pavement properly. The car uses 19 inch TRD wheels wrapped with 245/35ZR19 Dunlop Sport Maxx performance tyres. While the body has the obvious TRD bodykit that you can see in plain sight, there are a few enhancements that you cannot see – better rear under-body bracing and undercarriage aerodynamic enhancements. A sports muffler reduces back pressure by 15%, and the muffler tips are nicely integrated into the rear bumper design, flanking the diffuser.

The four-lobe Eaton TVS Supercharger has a few advantages over three-lobe supercharger designs, with the key benefit being greater thermal efficiency that in turn lowers inlet manifold temperature – and we all know cooler intake air is better. Other benefits of the TVS blower’s design include a higher pressure ratio, increased airflow capacity for the same supercharger package size, increased RPM operating range, higher efficiency and quieter operation, improved fuel economy at cruising speeds and instantaneous boost response.

While you cannot really expect a Camry/Aurion to handle, TRD Australia has retuned the suspension setup of the Toyota Aurion TRD. The suspension system was developed in Australia and lowers the base model Toyota Aurion Sportivo (normal Aurion with a Sportivo kit) by 12mm. Front spring rate has been increased by 11% and rear spring rate by 10.5%. The Aurion TRD uses 25mm diameter stabilizer bars at the front, and 16mm diameter stabilizer bars at the rear.

Wheel alignment settings are also new. Front toe-in has been increased for improved steering feel and response, while the rear suspension has a neutral toe to improve turn-in and responsiveness, creating the effect of a nimble car around the bends. Of course, the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx tyres help as well.

The next vehicle to come out of TRD Australia will be the Toyota TRD Hilux, sporting a supercharged 4.0 litre V6 engine. Power figures for the TRD Hilux have not yet been announced.

View more photos of the TRD Aurion as well as a power/torque curve after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• drebar (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 4:50 pm

nice.car.i.like.

• drebar (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 4:51 pm

unfortunately, the interior not sporty enough. still looks like an old man car.

• analyzer (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 5:05 pm

nice.. it’ll be great if we can get aurion kits here.. looks fantastic.. i’ve always been a fan of the camry

interior could do better, as drebar said, not sporty enough

• szw (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 5:06 pm

cool…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 5:21 pm

I like the rear twin pipe… btw i think 4WD is more suit with this beast with that much power + supercharge engine…

• silverfish (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 5:28 pm

That looks DAMN GOOD! Civic Type R, eat your heart out!

Also a BIG BOO goes to our gay tax structures.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 5:38 pm

There must be lots of sporty Ah Peks down under. Toyota knows they need all that power to stop Ah Peks from hogging the fast lane.

• StingRayINC (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 5:53 pm

Zzzz…..the gear shift looks exactly like the Civic ones. looks like shyt….Sorry Toyota got to say interior looks like shyt…..I love the chassis..

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 7:10 pm

Much better than the Accord with Modulo bodykit.
    But the displacement, huhu.. 3.5l…. more like Lexus level.
    What else, go to Ah Beng shop and propose this design to them. Camry’s owner also can get ‘pirate’ Aussie TRD too..

I like the Camry (or Aurion in this post).
    But i’m still no reach veteran level, better give this to my daddy.
    I need more energetic car, more SK11 looking! :)

• exodust (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 7:15 pm

I have to say I’m loving how it looks, can’t wait to see it on the roads here in brisbane, australia. :D

@analyzer & drebar: the aurion is to compete against the fpv ford falcon and hsv holden commodore. basically, the 3vehicles r in a niche market of large sedans that look semi sporty/luxurious but still able to have quite an exhilarating ride, hence the reason why this “sporty” car is also fwd and an automatic. so yeah, its intentionally not too sporty looking

• DarkL1ghT (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 7:23 pm

FWD only??? my god! but still, yummy..

• jonnyblaze (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 7:26 pm

WOW!

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 8:27 pm

Reminds me on how honda got it with their Accord-type R for Euro market. In fact this car looks almost the same like the accord euro at certain angels.

• transformer (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 8:46 pm

HOT!

• nmh (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 9:13 pm

I like the interior….err maybe the silver interior panel is albeit boring, better swap with carbon fibre

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 9:48 pm

didnt i saw this?

owh at paultan.forum…..

yeah guys and gals…..

LOG ON TO PAULTAN FORUM FOR MORE NEWS BABEH!

• ab (Member) on Aug 23, 2007 at 10:48 pm

toyota’s currently doing well in australia troubling ford, holden and mitsubishi with the new camry (or aurion). big engine looks like a muscle car, but driving the front wheels? not cool… still, being a toyota, it will sell

• mzfnd (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 1:01 am

Didn’t know the yuppie Camry got a rogue brother :)
    UMW should bring one of these over here to help Toyota’s mundane existence in Malaysia A.S.A.P.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 1:22 am

Compete with the Falcon and Commodore?

Probably not even close.

Those are proper full sized muscle sedans, with proper RWD. and Ford already has a new Falcon waiting in the wings. On top of it the Holden has it beat on looks.

It would be quite pointless to put 350hp to the front wheels. Even the bext LSDs wont save you from hopelessly wheelspinning everywhere. Toyota should have dropped in at least a AWD drivetrain.

Wonder why the Camry for the monster engine. I’m sure Toyota can very easily find an existing RWD sedan platform (hint, IS, GS..etc) to slap the engine in. Maybe this is just a PR excercise, knowing that camry’s are only bought by quite old people….:p

The Toyota probably will out last the Ford and Holden by a long shot…knowing toyota….

• ingolstadt (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 1:41 am

SWEEET.

• The Unicons (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 8:19 am

Hopefully, Toyota Malaysia will import this model. Perhaps rename it to Camry TRD as it is actually based on our local Camry – current model. In Australia for example, our current Camry named as Aurion and they get the Camry based on the current Japanese Camry model.

I will consider to buy this car if Toyota Malaysia wants to import it. Hahaha…. I’m waiting for you.

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 9:27 am

its been long since i know of the camry real name as aurion……

• BigCar (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 9:58 am

Damn… nice car.
    Sport & Elegent..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 12:17 pm

this car has lots of power, but around a twisty road, or a race track, its no where near the league of any honda with a type-R badge.

i agree with you 4g63T,
    its trying to appeal to the ‘muscle-car’ fans in australia, to compete with the commodore and falcon. The main difference is, the latter 2 are proper highpowered, front engined rear wheel drive cars that actually handle properly. Toyota recently have no clue what a good drivers car is anymore.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 1:48 pm

i think most of the superchargigng work was done locally i.e toyota australia. and only done for this niche model so they didnt have the budget to switch the car to AWD as intended when they started out. so they stuck to fwd. there are rumours of an awd version still around.

will be interesting to see how they tame that 250kws. i can see how well honda managed thier 150kws in thier integras but 250 is pushing it.

as successful technically as ford australia and holden are. they are bleeding thier ass out. its more important to find the right balance between being successful technically and being successful financially/sustainable.

ford is looking forward to fwd now i.e ford mondeo to replace its falcon sales and maybe even the falcon series. lucky they have ford europe.

holden has no way to move esp having a parent company like GM which has no good fwd fuel efficient cars. so they source thier cars from Daewoo.

i do really like that fuel efficiency in that 200kw engine. amazing. 250kw is almost the same rating as well.

• wildthingz (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 3:08 pm

nice car ada msuk malaysia ke keta camni ke nanti diorg ambik enjin masuk kat persona jadilah persona trd hahahahahahaha fuyooooo part muffler to yang tak tahan tengok wow err nak tanya boleh masuk myvi tak muffler tu

• syong888 (Member) on Aug 24, 2007 at 5:23 pm

Cool!!! Looking forward to see it on the road…Malaysia Version Converted

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 6:26 am

Paul Tan … can this bodykit and wheels fit on our local market Camry or not?

• syong888 (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 2:23 pm

With TRD bodykit, our Black Mica Camry will look like this:

http://www.trd.com.au/TRD/media/docs/TRD_Aurion_specification.pdf

Looking forward to it…

• freeze (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 4:36 pm

Very Nice. I like those big seat. The shoulder area looks sooo comfy.

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 5:30 pm

Yes… Wonder will this car come to this region via paralel importers.

• neurra (Member) on Aug 25, 2007 at 9:12 pm

camry sport model aye? nice nice.. and an even nicer torque curve

• prometheus (Member) on Aug 26, 2007 at 9:47 pm

why such a sporty car got 4 doors ah? To carry passengers while driving fast fast ?

• aesthari (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 10:33 am

That’s one mean looking car, even meaner if the front bumper doesn’t look like it has been heat-warped. Gotta love those rims and luxurious-sporty seats too. Engine’s too big to make any sense :p It’s a freaking sedan, not a big-ass 4×4 truck!!!!

• adrian yap (Member) on Aug 27, 2007 at 4:08 pm

‘PASSION’ way to go

• mp (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 9:39 pm

SUPERB !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• comarezzi on Sep 04, 2009 at 7:09 am

wait till 2nd hand camry priced below 90k,…buy one and chg like the pic.. i'll be syok sendiri drivin' it…hehehehe

• torque steer all the way!!

that is bad