BMW unveils new BMW M3 Sedan

BMW has unveiled the sedan body variant of the new BMW M3 which has made it’s return after a decade-long hiatus. From the front, the BMW M3 Sedan looks nothing like it’s lesser E90 Sedan brother, instead from A-pillar forward onwards it uses the BMW M3 Coupe‘s nose which is actually longer than the sedan.

The rear of the M3 Sedan is similiar to the normal E90 sedan (this means those ugly rear brake lights too unfortunately) except for a different rear bumper which incorporates a diffuser and four exhaust tips, and a little bootlid spoiler on the top. The M3 sedan also lacks the M3 coupe’s exposed carbon fibre roof, but the press release doesn’t really say if the sedan lacks it or it is just painted over.

Under the bulging hood is the same 4.0 litre high compression double-VANOS V8 in the M3 coupe which makes 414 hosepower (SAE) at 8,300rpm and 400Nm of torque at 3,900rpm, with 340Nm available consistently up to 6,500rpm. More details on the engine available by clicking here. Mechanically, the chassis of the new BMW M3 Sedan is also identical to the M3 Coupe – the same suspension, differential, brakes, aluminium chassis, and a 50:50 weight balance body.

While the new M3 Coupe does not look all that outrageous like say, a Lancer Evo, but it still has very obvious sporty intentions. The M3 Sedan however looks more like a sleeper car – except for the M badge and the bumpers of course. BMW even chose a rather conservative color for the M3 Sedan used for these product shots. It’s obvious the M3 Sedan was designed to discretely hide it’s potential until the driver decides to open wide all eight individual throttles.

Look at more photos after the jump, or read more about the new M3 in my posts on the coupe body model and it’s V8 engine below.

New E92 BMW M3 Videos
BMW M3 new promotional video
Production 2009 BMW M3 Coupe Details
The History of the BMW M3: The E30 M3
The History of the BMW M3: The E36 M3
The History of the BMW M3: The E46 M3
The new BMW M3 V8 engine specifications

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 11:54 pm

They still use the fugly rear lamp
    Wish they use the coupe one….

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 11:56 pm

Still use the fugly rear lamp
    i wish they use the coupe one…

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 12:00 am

back look abit funny to me..like they tried to mush everything together…too muscular..not sleek..typical BMW..pretty powerful engine tho.

• nmh (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 12:04 am

Now normal 3 series sedan can modified to beautiful M3 front face

• aksMs (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 2:15 am

I don’t know…the rear lights has killed it for me. I agree MisterBenjo. I prefer the Coupe’s rear than this one. Paul, how about the high-res pix? Where can I view them? Didn’t seems to find any when I “Googled” it.

• F430CS (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 2:39 am

Why dent on the bonnet? Everything looks fine for me, especially the rear! Four doors m3 always cool.

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 4:28 am

The rear lamps makes the M3 look stupid

• aksMs (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 5:48 am

F430CS, I think most of the general public were not really impressed by the tail light design. Personally, I think the overall design is fine but with the face of a bloated fish on the back. Why couldn’t they just carry the coupe’s design with the sedan M3 as a facelift exercise?

• kimmy (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 7:48 am

Not liking the hole in the rear bumper.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 7:56 am

they kept the rear lights…. why Bangle, why?!

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 8:23 am

The point of the M3 Sedan is having a M3 Sedan. Not a M3 coupe with 2 extra doors tacked on. I still think its still too easy to tell apart the M3 sedan from a regular 335. The old E36 M3 was better in that respect.

Somehow… Audi does Q-ships better with the S series.

• drebar (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 9:04 am

don’t think the rear lights is ugly. perhaps it’s just not appealing enough, and looks tame.

anyway, no matter how it looks, i’m sure a lot of ppl will be damn proud to own one… wakakaz…

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 12:19 pm

it got grumpy looking back..so mean..eww

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 12:40 pm

The exterior is too understated, it almost look like any other Hyundai-ish ie fugly 3-series. Compared to C63 AMG, the M3 looks too ‘tame’. The Merc at least distinguished its AMG from the normal C-class by adding twin bulge on the bonnet, smoked the headlamps, et cetera.

Sory M3, the AMG’s for me for both styling n power factor ;)

• nmh (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 1:40 pm

I think the rear light looks cooler if the white reverse lamp is replace by body colored metal

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 3:01 pm

useless and pointless…..

• danoneism (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 5:03 pm

i think the rear lamp looks better if the signal were in white…:P
    but yea…i hve to admit it…coupe rear lamp looks better….

• hyundai (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 5:20 pm

The head lamp looks so good!

• wong (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 6:21 pm

Looks really nice,maybe wait for a few years and buy a secondhand..very much cheaper…even a 10 year old bmw is still veeery nice to drive…

• feez98 (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 8:20 pm

overall ok lar, but honestly this model ruins its own tradition n reputation as a sports car. now more normal E90 users would juz upgrades its styling like dis model. hahahaah…. plz correct me if i’m wrong…

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 8:43 pm

HMM ANYONE KNOWS?

BMW= decrease in extended life

Merc = increase in extended life

• szw (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 10:00 pm

m5 colour…
    stealth fighter

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 2:39 pm

i dont know about the e90, but in the e36, the coupe did not share one single body panel with the 4dr. so everything is different, including the lights.

if the e90/e92 is similar, it would probably mean the lights from the coupe do not fit on the sedan.

in many respects, the 4dr M3, is a bit like the M5, they are quite understated.

the difference with the owners who make their cars up to look like an M3, is when you step on the loud pedal. looks dont always make up for no-go.

• phas3r (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 5:51 am

mitlanevo what the hell are you trying to say? this car can smoke ur evo

• narrowband (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 7:11 am

I sense there will be many ‘M3 sedan’s on the road in months to come. Minus the side fins, and minus the coupe-like headlamp. Of course, minus the 414hp V8 growl. It’s so easy to imitate.

• kohbk (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 12:19 pm

no matter how it looks still cant able to afford it for the average dude.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 1:50 pm

if they change that rear lamp i will buy 1,bmw m3 and mercedes c63 amg rear lights damn fugly, now most probably i will buy an audi rs4 now if audi malaysia sells it

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 1:51 pm

the evo may look fiercer, but its totally no match

• phas3r (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 6:15 pm

shut up lar u julian, 16 year old wanna dream of m3 and c63

• phas3r (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 11:53 pm

i wonder why they use coupe front and sedan’s back.. the rear of the sedan is ugly, i mean they should use coupe’s back and sedan’s front then better..
    anyway the interior isnt too luxurious.. i expect it to be much more luxurious than say evo x or latest sti.. maybe wanna protect the sales of M5

• ah liew (Member) on Oct 12, 2007 at 10:54 pm

In a humid country like Malaysia cars like BMW & other continentals won’t last.
    BMW owners do you agree? In 3 to 5 years it’ll give you hell lots of problem.

Japanese cars is the best, tahan lasak!

• armandd (Member) on Oct 16, 2007 at 12:10 am

really?