Fiat Bravo gets new 1.6 Multijet diesel variant

Fiat Bravo Diesel

The Fiat Bravo now has two new engine options, a 105 horsepower turbodiesel and a 120 horsepower turbodiesel – both 1.6 litre Fiat Multijet 16v engines in different states of tune. The new 120 horsepower 16 litre Multijet replaces the old 120 horses 1.9 litre Multijet. The new Multijet’s torque has improved by 25% – 300Nm at 1,500rpm (105hp version has 290Nm), and its consumption has been reduced by 8%, measured on the NEDC cycle. Noise levels has been reduced by 5%. Acceleration time from 80-120 km/h in 5th gear is almost 4 seconds lower.

Most impressively, the engine has a service interval of 35,000km, reducing normal maintenance costs by 25%! The Fiat Bravo is a fun little car especially with a manual gearbox. Read my earlier short test drive report of the 1.4 litre T-JET turbocharged petrol version linked in the related post list below.

Fiat Bravo GT 1.4 T-JET 150hp Short Test Drive

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• scudz (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 12:50 am

whoa 300Nm!!!

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 12:51 am

bravo..bravo

• sarawakguy (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 7:13 am

Slightly off topic but….heck!!!Cant helping thinking about this when i came across the Fiat post above…I wonder why we Bolehlanders never (or dont) have diesels versions of cars coming in…Yet we “melodiously” claimed on a high note of our “biodiesels”…..even the with the Mira (Kancil)..they have 660cc turbo-diesels back in Japan,but we dont.Seems to me,it’s almost like a SIN to own a diesel vehicle here,be it big or small..btw….The Fiat above certainly caught my attention..

• raptorclans (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 10:39 am

does the the multijet system have anything to do with alfa’s jet-thrust system? just wondering due to the jet name :D

• lowprofile (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 11:20 am

we can thank the gov in bolehland for dragging their feet with the implementation of euro4 diesel here. until they imlement it, we can only dream of the performance of the new generation super diesel cars running around in europe and elsewhere in the world.

this may be off topic but would you pay for the euro4 diesel if the fuel costs more than petrol? it may be a reality as i was told the refining cost may be higher than petrol but it is a cleaner fuel. the upside of paying higher for euro4 diesel is that it is generally known that the maintenance cost of diesel cars are lower due to fewer components in the engine.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 11:21 am

Sorry to be blunt. The view from the front make the car look like beetle insect, with big rounded body at the back.

• szw (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 4:25 pm

so when can we get our hands on 1 ?
    how much would that be ?

• dzat46 (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 6:07 pm

I don’t mind paying for euro4 diesel = our current petrol price since euro4 diesel engine maintenance will be lower than petrol (ths bravo hv 35k service interval vs current petrol car of 5k service) plus very gud fc figures of this diesel engine.(maybe due to high torque at low rpm, ..no need to rev engine which trnslate to less fc).

• nmh (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 8:38 pm

I think i prefer lighter punto, 2 doors ofcourse. The front light is overdone vers of punto