Race-spec Porsche 911 GT3 RSR

Porsche 911 GT3 RSR

Porsche has just unveiled the new Porsche 911 GT3 RSR, an extensively modified motorsports version of the Porsche 911, powered by a normally aspirated 3.8 litre boxer engine and a 6-speed sequential gearbox. It weighs approximately 1,225 kg complying with A.C.O. regulations, and 1,200 kg complying with FIA regulations.

The 6-cylinder boxer engine is an all-aluminium unit that makes its 465 horsepower at 8,000rpm, but the rev needle goes all the way up to a maximum engine speed of 9,400rpm, approaching superbike territory. Each cylinder has a bore of 102.7mm and a stroke of 76.4mm. Peak torque of 430Nm which exceeds the usual 100Nm per litre ratio is achieved at 7,250rpm. The engine uses dry sump lubrication, individual throttle butterflies, and requires RON 98 fuel.

The transmission is a 6-speed sequential with a jaw-style shift. The gearbox was developed with the know how gained from the RS Spyder sports prototype. The gearbox features a oil/water heat exchanger, a single mass flywheel, a hydraulic disengagement lever, a three-plate carbon-fibre clutch, and a 45:65 LSD. It is considerably lighter than its predecessor with reduced internal friction, and the flat angle of the drive shafts allow racing teams a wider range of suspension settings.

The GT3 RSR suspension consists of McPherson strut design at the front with Sachs four-way gas pressure dampers, double coil springs (main and ancillary spring), camber adjustable front axle arms, and an adjustable swordtype anti-roll bar on both sides. The rear suspension uses a multi-arm axle with rigidly mounted axle sub-frame, Sachs four-way gas pressure dampers, double coil springs (main and auxiliary spring), a reinforced and an infinitely adjustable rear axle tie-bar. The suspension is infinitely adjustable in the height, camber and track variables.

Brakes are single-piece six-pot aluminium fixed calipers at the front with 380mm discs and racing brake pads, while the rear uses 355mm discs with four-pot calipers. Wheels are three-piece BBS light-alloy wheels measuring 11J x 18-34 at the front and 13J x 18-12.5 at the rear.

The race-spec body of the GT3 RSR is made of hot-galvanised steel. The front bumper, underfloor and rear wing are aerodynamically optimised. It uses a fast filling function for the 90 litre safety fuel tank. On the inside there is a welded-in roll cage, a bucket-type racing seat on the driver’s side with a flame-resistant seat cover, a six-point HANS seatbelt, and an electric fire-extinguishing system.

More photos after the jump.

Porsche 911 GT3 RSR

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 6:29 pm

Damn… 3.8 NA producing 465 Horses????? And total weight of 1,225kg??? This thing is gonna FLY!!!

• lowprofile (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 7:56 pm

expect these in this year’s MMER 08.

• szw (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 9:06 pm

nicely lowered…

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 9:31 pm

the head lamp looks cute, but the exterior and the interior… my God!!
    i’ll see you in Sepang, big boy!

• cbljkkj (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 9:44 pm

Finally Porsche decides to flaunt it’s racing stripes. Race-spec + Legendary automaker = Sex, pure sex.

I wonder how Nissan will prep their GT-R up against this RSR model after modeling their Spec-V’s performance against Porsche’s GT2 and GT3.

The battle of the automotive gods. Can’t wait!

• Roti Naan (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 10:02 pm

white car cannot be any sexier than this porsche.

What’s the top speed? anyone?

• transformer (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 10:26 pm

would like to know how would its fared if compare with GT-R!

• lowprofile (Member) on Feb 14, 2008 at 11:09 pm

wonder if any one will race the new gt-r at this year’s mmer. would be fun to watch these 2 greats dice it out!

• johnson wong (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 12:06 am

wat is so surprising that a 3.8 NA engine produce 465 horsepower?? look at the sr20.. although it is turbocharged.. i do not know bout others but my friend’s sr20 produce more than 547 horsepower on dyno.. and his lancer is only 1.25tan… nathing is so surprising bro.. cc fellow……

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 12:54 am

So the ultimate 911 you can get meant for the track

• chap_de_x (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 1:13 am

wow…with those hp and weight its sure will fly… :) cool racing car… where it wil go for race…i wan to watch it…vroom vroom

• abtm (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 6:05 am

wonder which is faster, a new stripped out GT2 modified for racing or this

• normaluser (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 7:46 am

Well, for a Normally Aspirated engine, 100hp output per Litre is considered very good & impressive. This Posh got 115hp+ output per litre, and some more, respective torque output which is also above 100Nm. Most NA engines which got big horsepower figures sacrifies on torque output, and vice versa (like big American V8s engine which got plenty of torque but little in hp). But this engine got both high TORQUE & HP output.

How can u compare that with your friend’s turbocharged lancer?

johnson wong said,
    February 15, 2008 @ 12:06 am

wat is so surprising that a 3.8 NA engine produce 465 horsepower?? look at the sr20.. although it is turbocharged.. i do not know bout others but my friend’s sr20 produce more than 547 horsepower on dyno.. and his lancer is only 1.25tan… nathing is so surprising bro.. cc fellow……

• raptorclans (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 8:17 am

impressive… it looks cute like a button but can go fast as a demon…

wat are those 2 tubes in the middle of the dash?

• wildthingz (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 8:35 am

This car is race car hooo… not for driving on road…so no worry lah how fast it can go still cannot go outside meh ide inside track lah luuuuuu wkakakakaka erm iam wonder how it feel when we drive over 250km/h cuz in sarawak i can only drive max 90km/h then curi curi around 120km/h darn jalan serupa laut banyak gelombang

• kington (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 8:57 am

That’s why i love Porsches more than Ferraris though the latter never fails to excite my soul everytime i’m driving one.

I agree with normaluser on his comments on Power and Torque. The Porsche’s engine characteristic is unlike any other. I last drove a 996GT3 a few years back, which was uprated from the initial Mark 1 model – meant for a limited production run. I must say that though though the MK2 996 GT3 was classified a road car, the experience was really something else.. much akin to a road legal race car… which is exactly what it is…

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 8:59 am

The mutanized Porsche with such a great super power…yeah this baby is a BOMB!!
    The X-Posh..

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 11:54 am

beautiful. *cries*

• jamsbong (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 3:25 pm

very impressive torque figures! those figures are normally found in turbo engines. somehow, the engineers at porsche manage to use a bunch of ram-intake and variable cam to amp up the intake pressure to give that much torque! something the japs hav very little experience.

mind u, when u r not in the torque range, the engine is super weak. stalling it is easily done.

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 5:24 pm

And how could someone complained about the new Saga gear lever being too long? look at this one, the yankees can hit a baseball with it! Seriously, its driving ergonomics, so meaning that the Proton guys really commit on drivers comfort.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 8:15 pm

The stick was probably customized to suit individual race drivers and their style. Proton Saga’s gear stick is designed typically for Tommy, Dickky and Harry for their daily drive.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Feb 16, 2008 at 5:40 am

johnson wong said,
    February 15, 2008 @ 12:06 am

Hi johnson wong.

The road to a 547hp SR20DET is a long one. Coming from a 150/200ps standard ps rating, a lot of parts had to be changed (turbine, injectors, management and misc)

There aren’t that many high horsepower and torque N/A engines around that have over 100hp per liter save for the M3 (105hp per liter) and S2000 (120hp per litre) so 122hp per litre for this Porsche is quite an achievement.

Did I see properly? SR20 Lancer?

• cbljkkj (Member) on Feb 16, 2008 at 5:43 am

Sorry, I meant 150++KW/200-ish hp/ps. Can’t be bothered listing out all of the different SR20DET specs.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Feb 16, 2008 at 9:32 am

@johnson wong

I would seriously like to see what sort of reliably out of that 500hp nissan of your friend in RACE conditions. Being a dyno queen is one thing, being able to make that much power and last several hours of trashing is another, be it NA or turbo.

1200kg is impressive, considering its still using the stock steel chassis. This isn;t even street legal anymore, its a full bore race car…..the GT3 is probably as close to race car spec and still maintaining some form of streetability.

@nobodyatuk
    Why are you even bothering to comment on the gearstick? This one is a sequential shifter. The Saga unit is bad not because it is long…its pitifull because its vague and has no feel to it.

• jamsbong (Member) on Feb 17, 2008 at 8:07 am

Hang on, this is a sequential gearbox. the long gearstick is the same as those touring cars or GT race cars. despite the length, you only need to push it slightly to change gears with a simple forward or backward action. no clutch circus trick required.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 18, 2008 at 3:07 pm

i would love to see how that lancer tries to drive around corners..