Production Toyota iQ to debut at Geneva 2008

Toyota iQ

Toyota has unveiled a single photo of the production version of the small three-seater Toyota iQ, and it will be shown to the public for the first time at the 2008 Geneva Motor Show in March 2008. Unlike the Tata Nano, the iQ is aimed at the premium city car market instead of the affordable city car market.

The Toyota iQ will take 3 adults, and 1 additional child if the boot space is sacrificed for a child seat. The driver will have gadgets like a heads up display for important information like vehicle speed and satellite navigation instructions.

Safety is provided by a strong safety cell, which functions much like smart’s tridion safety cell. No information on the drivetrain has been provided at this time.

Wait for Geneva to roll by for more information on the production Toyota iQ.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 4:45 am

i wondering when this cute little fellow will on the road….

• abtm (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 6:58 am

this is not aimed at the tata, this aims directly to the smart fortwo

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 7:37 am

Wow I like it!

• nmh (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 7:56 am

premium city car…..hmmm let say…..so how fast it can go, i dont care bout fc bcoz im wealthy enuf to buy a premium city car. Sounds wierd isn it

• raptorclans (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 8:14 am

Premium city car? It’s gonna go against the fortwo… meaning most of us wouldn’t be able to afford it :(

• wildthingz (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 8:27 am

nice but have a little bit of myvi @ passo dna. if price below 20k maybe i’ll buy it

• sxe10r (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 8:51 am

This one vs SMARt …

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 9:16 am

“This one vs SMARt …”

Yeah probably that’s why they name it iQ, but never misspelled it as QQ ok, hehe. Another piece of innovation for tomorrow by Toyota.

• waimak (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 10:21 am

By the way, when in the next KL Interantional Motor Show? We are missing a lot of new models, such as this!!

• aesthari (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 10:31 am

Nice, would love to see something new give the fugly ForTwo a run for it’s money!

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 10:45 am

Hi nmh, probably the wealthy will buy this car in pink color for their 15yr old blonde haired daughters eh? haha

• ront (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 3:15 pm

below 20k??? if you’re referring to msian ringgit…..i think we have yet to see anything below that mark in recent years……for something new that is….

but this looks like a nice 2nd car…..this still has some aygo-ish dna in it……

• szw (Member) on Feb 15, 2008 at 9:22 pm

is toyota planning to fight wif g-wiz too since now dey are planning to compete with smart ?

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 16, 2008 at 12:24 am

The boot is as big as the child seat? Or is it the child seat folded? Child seat in some countries you require a booster seat on it, so how small is the seat?

• chap_de_x (Member) on Feb 16, 2008 at 1:04 am

nice…look like myvi a bit…this will compete with smart…but still… for me if i choose between smart and this iq i will go for smart