Mercedes Benz B-Class Facelift

The 5-seater Mercedes Benz B-Class MPV has received a mid-life facelift which features a new hood, grille, front bumper, rear bumper, new side mirrors, and new tail lamps which are brighter. The B-Class also gets a new model called the Mercedes-Benz B170 NGT BlueEfficiency which features a dual-fuel powerplant, able to run on both premium grade petrol and natural gas, which will allow it to travel over 1,000km when it is fully fueled up with both types of fuel.

Automatic start-stop is an optional feature of two of the more economy-oriented models, the B150 and the B170 BlueEFFICIENCY. Mercedes calls it’s start-stop feature the ECO start/stop function. It automatically switches the engine off when the driver shifts to neutral at low speed whilst depressing the brake pedal. A special display appears in the instrument cluster to inform the driver. The moment the clutch is pressed or the brake pedal released, the engine springs back to life in a fraction of a second.

The new B170 NGT BlueEFFICIENCY engine option uses an engine based on the B170. The driver determines which fuel source the engine is running on at the touch of a button using the multifunction steering wheel. This can be done instantaneously even while on the move. The gas reservoirs are located in the rear and underneath the front passenger footwell. It reduces the B-Class boot capacity by 128 litres to 422 litres, which is still sufficient for a decent amount of luggage.

Other new features include automatic hill-start assist which briefly maintains brake pressure after the driver releases the brake pedal to press the accelerator when starting off uphill. This prevents the B-Class from rolling backwards.

There is also an active parking assist feature which searches for an appropriate spot at the side of the road as the B-Class drives by, and if the driver wishes to use that parking spot, assists the driver by performing all steering maneuvers automatically. The empty spot is detected via ultrasonic sensors by the side of the car, and when found, a message is flashed on the dash display.

The driver then engages reverse gear, confirms the display and presses the accelerator. Active parking assist then takes care of the steering, with the driver doing accelerating and braking only. The system works via 10 ultrasonic sensors around the car.

More images after the jump.

Mercedes-Benz B170 Test Drive
Mercedes-Benz B200 Turbo Test Drive

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jhuan (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 12:25 pm

Dun understand why this B-class does not sell well in Msia. Seldom see one on the road.

Personally like the dashboard layout, neat and nice.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 12:43 pm

eeerrr…i think alot of ppl own dis car…i saw it alot

• abtm (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 12:43 pm

hate mercedes minivans, the rear looks as if it’s hust reversed into a wall

• wan@auto (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 12:46 pm

em..what can i say. there is nothing shocking bout the changes, just simple and subtle. ok la

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 2:58 pm

not selling well ar? i thot i see quite a number otr… maybe the area hehe… lots in kl and bangsar :)

• Niceguy (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 3:26 pm

I think it’s quite some new technology put on to this ‘facelift’. I personally like the Auto start-stop function(is it copy from BMW??) and Auto parking assist.

• coolguru (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 5:24 pm

I like the concept of combining both fuel and NGV but actually how safe is it to carry the NGV around? Would it be like carrying a mini-bomb?

I mean, petrol is nothing different but it has been around for decades so kind of safe I think. But this NGV seems like within this decade only, right?

Anyway, is this going to be sold in M’sia, Paul? If yes, do you’ve the price? I personally like this but of course the price is competitive against a 3-series though different segment and car together.

• jhuan (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 5:34 pm

Probably JB fellow, i mean richer fellow, are more conservative into new shape/design. Then again, similar shape eg. matrix, can be found almost everywhere.

• szw (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 9:56 pm

im still in doubt with the start/stop system , doesn’t it effect the lifespan of the battery ?

• kakilubuk (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 7:43 am

I got no taste on this car, err!! I mean no money laaa…

• ceteh (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 9:34 am

The reason it doesn’t sell very well is it’s PRICE! It’s priced too closed to C-class which people are wiling to pay a little bit more to get the C-class.

• topgunthang (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 11:33 am

especially now the c class looks alot nicer