Toyota power window recall in the US

toyotalogo.gifToyota and General Motors will be recalling over 662,000 vehicles sold in the US due to defective power windows. The affected vehicles are the 2003-2004 production year Toyota Corolla, Toyota Matrix and GM’s Pontiac Vibe which is based on the Toyota Matrix platform.

Driver and passenger door glass bolts may loosen and come off, causing the door glass to separate from the window regulator. This could result in an abnormal rattling noise from the affected doors.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• freeze (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 5:48 pm

Hahaha. That’s all I can think of.

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 5:59 pm

me too.i’m just waiting to see whether there a lots of people will bash toyota as much as they bash proton when savvy was recalled last week…

• zimmer (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 6:04 pm

no wonder lah, the senior got the same prob what? protong only consider as beginner, got prob there, here n soo on….

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 6:21 pm

Heh heh..let the bashing begin! More than half a million cars, 5 years ago. But this is different, power windows won’t kill people, well, at least not many la, compared to the break problem that the Savvy had. Which is more life-threatening – Power windows or breaks?…..It was the breaks, right? IIRC….

• freeze (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 6:26 pm

MaverickNeo,

break = to break something, example: plate drops on the floor it breaks
    brake = to stop

• zimmer (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 6:42 pm

Paul, I suggest u to open English forum for freeze…. hehheh

• IsaacVky (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 6:43 pm

POWER WINDOW HAHAHAH!!!

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 7:11 pm

what about the infamous Proton’s power window?
    they want to recall??? imagine that… how many units leh?

p/s: are this considered bashing Proton?

• MyviKiller (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 7:19 pm

Solid evidence for those blind bashers.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 7:27 pm

so it mean can only said good thing.. bad thing considered bashing? how matured… YES-MEN type eh?

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 7:52 pm

Whoops…spelling mistake..my bad…brake, not break..heh…thx Freeze…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 8:14 pm

haiya…war begin…standard ar..hampir sume brnd pnah recall..include merc,bimmer,nissan etc…wut is d prob of dat…its good wut if they care about thier customer…

• theking (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 8:37 pm

Toyota kaput!

• kingglim (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 9:04 pm

Well done Toyota! Customers get fix for free.

Proton should learn from Toyota and do the same…recall the cars and get the windows fixed. Yet, of course, if Proton did the same, it would mean recalling all Proton cars…Proton will jus go bankrupt.

• AzaniLaiho (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 9:40 pm

Go Honda!!…the most reliable car on earth…

• carfanz (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 9:52 pm

what i could say is that power window is not only the problem, gear box as well…The named TOYOTA is not reliable after all

• hyundai (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 10:07 pm

serve them right!!!

• chap_de_x (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 11:01 pm

hahaha…hope its silence people that always claim that toyota is very reliable…quality is from god…and nothin can b compare with their product…same goes to p1 blind basher that criticize p1 for recalling savvy last week.it prove that even big car manufacture do recall

p/s its US market…market that always get high end quality product…i dunno how T in reality perform at our local scene since we always get crap T product line up.

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 11:39 pm

Any car replacements while things being corrected like they did with the Lexus recall?

• azrai (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 7:32 am

We thought it only happened to Proton owners, but we have to give credit to Toyota because it recall those car just because ‘abnormal rattling noise from the affected doors’ may come out. Usually recall are done on safety matter right. Just like the call for Savvy rear whatever. The rattling noise isn’t about safety.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 8:18 am

Toyota and others recall plenty of cars every year. Does that mean they are un-reliable? perhaps, but it shows at least they care about the customers.

Proton on the other hand, as far as I know only had two well published recalls. One for Gen2 (tyre jack), other for the Savvy’s rear bearing. Are you going to go as far to say that Protons are more reliable because they dont have recalls?

The concept of reliability goes far deeper than just things going wrong. Reliability is a customer perception. Whack a car silly on the track and any notion of reliability goes out the door. Similarly, ignore its maintenance and the same applies. Even on a toyota.

Its just when its a Proton, even well kept cars fail without warning and with the only explaination of many due to badly made or cheaply made components that do not last. Its not really the car’s fault. Management has made wrong choices with parts vendors.

Its customer perception that on average Toyota will outlast a Proton. Why? Becuase they have a proven track record of doing so. See how many old toyota’s on the road? Then compare to my wife’s very well kept, low mileage, 5 year old Wira that just recently suffered a head gasket failure for no apparent reason, then you have oil leaks galore, rusted coolent pipes…then with interior panels falling off within 3 months (its is now superglued in place when told by Proton service this is “biasa-lah, ni proton”), and the auto gearbox failure at its first birthbady – lucky to get replaced under warranty – with the inconvinience of 1 month in the shop.

Which would you say I would think would be the more reliable car? a Toyota or Proton?

Proton seems to have gotten worst over time. My 1997 satria 1.6 is FAR more reliable despite the fact it gets trashed on the track. It was simply just better built with better components. 2000-2004 probably saw the most lemons from Proton in its history.

Hopefully the new management is doing something about it. It will take time to reverse the perception of bad quality and it will haunt them for years to come.

I was considering the new CPS Gen2 (I quite like the car) to replace the lemon Wira we have, but the wife says we (she) will never buy another Proton. We are now looking at the Latio/Grand Livina. We had several Protons in our family, no one bought another Proton after that.

Remember there is a difference.

Toyota saying that yeah, we know you have a problem, we will fix it for you, and
    Proton, yeah we know you have a proton, …but you bought one, biasa-lah.

• banana88 (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 10:34 am

You are right 4G63T DSM, nowadays the car manufacturers is using cheapo quality stuff so that they can earn more profits. Cheating consumers with old engines like altis. Even the computers equipment nowadays is cheapo quality but at least the price goes down tremendously but as for cars……. getting higher and higher in malaysia …sigh

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 11:44 am

Toyota is just like Apple iPhone, overhyped…..

so if u are not so fancy about Altis, Vios etc, then go get Honda, Mitsu or Nissan….

I’m not saying this because of the recall issue….

• joe203 (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 1:27 pm

They better have enough spare parts or else this is just another propaganda.

My brother sent his SAVVY for the wheel bearing recall at Glenmarie, and guess what, PROTON RAN OUT OF SPARE PARTS.

LIARS

• Roti Naan (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 3:10 pm

aiya….toyota problem of the window only happened to cars during 2003-04 batch. As for Prothong, power window start to jam just after 2 months. Buttons oso can cabut. This happened to my brother in law’s car.

I’m not bashing, but just stating facts.

• kingglim (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 4:56 pm

Simply put it:

Best car – no problem, nothing to fix at all – cannot find this kind of cars at all
    OK car – got problem, get fixed right – Toyota, Honda, Merc and etc
    Lousy car (Lemon) – got problem, never get fixed right – Proton

• charles27 (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 7:02 pm

when toyota make mistake… toyota supporter wont mention it.
    thats royal customer .. willing to pay more 10k for the same thing.
    think they really need to bring the quality to higer level.
    cause i reed some statistic showing that toyota is no longer giving the most less defect cars. ooo.. meaning there are problem here and there in their new car. And they made more mistake compare to other brand(s) as well. Well, either they not test it or they didn’t QC it properly. else you will lost your royal customer.

talk about protong… its always door or power windows problem one laaa. door ‘knob’ can whole thing come out one. haiz. door not fall down, is consider QC pass already. One more thing.. dont buy potong when celebration period. cause the car is really terrible. did u know that they didn’t do welding 100% ?? the production line move too fast than usual, and 80% done is consider go go go… to the market. die many people at the end.

• noactiontalkonly (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 8:14 pm

i think faulty power windows are not due to poor QC (at least on the manufacturers side). it’s about design problems. QC inspections are done based on spec predetermined by designers. You don’t expect them to test every single car for 4 years before releasing to customer right?

Designers aren’t God that churn out perfect creations. Therefore it’s perfectly normal to make mistakes. The difference is in how you react to problems. are you going to admit and tell everyone about it or just pretend there’s nothing happen? will you immediately take all necessary countermeasures to rectify it, or just close the book and continue with life?

• noactiontalkonly (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 8:18 pm

charles27 said,
    April 12, 2008 @ 7:02 pm

One more thing.. dont buy potong when celebration period. cause the car is really terrible. did u know that they didn’t do welding 100% ?? the production line move too fast than usual, and 80% done is consider go go go… to the market. die many people at the end.
    —————————————————————-
    how do you know exactly when the car is produced? they got so much stocks, maybe the car that you got during this CNY was produced during last year’s CNY! ;))

• Roti Naan (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 11:32 pm

hhihihihi…my fren used to joke that Prothong cars gets the LULUS sticker on the window glass regardless the car is lemon or not. All cars come out from the factory sure will get LULUS. This means all cars roll out from factory will be problem free, no problem. With this statistic, I think the QC in Prothong exceeds even Ferrari’s standard.

• arcana (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 11:59 pm

well forget about proton for once…..everything relates to proton somehow -.-
    but at least kudos to toyota for taking effort to correct mistakes that were made.
    its not ez for manufacturers to do that especially if reputation of the brand is at stake, moreover where toyota is perceived to be so called “reliable”.
    hopefully, other manufacturers will do the same so that we buyers are not left with defective vehicles after purchase.

• chap_de_x (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 2:38 am

errr charles27 wut do u mean by “did u know that they didn’t do welding 100%” is it then dont fully cover all the spot need to be weld or they do not weld entire connection of the chasis… as far that i know, not even p1…all car manufacturer weld their product using spot welding technique..which mean the operator just weld necessary spot that been determined by the engineer…no need overall welding…just a spot in the chasis layer of sheet metal wil do…yup some of custom made car used overal weld but for the mass prod..spot weld is suitable enuf… sory a bit off topic…some knowledge to share

• shamel (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 9:02 am

AzaniLaiho said,

April 11, 2008 @ 9:40 pm

I wish this is true not a MYTH. BTW l do prefer Civic over new Altis BUT the former not without flaws dude.

Toyotians (T fanatics) maybe have BIAS over their revered brand BUT they’re not blindly love the brand BUT rather they (Toyota) really perform to most of the average users (who can afford a Toyota’s wide range offerings). You can’t dispute their choices THOUGH from normal unbiased potential buyers this pretty weird.

Put one instance, underpowered Hilux (post SR) look uglier, disproportionate design BUT of course reliable (proven carryover parts from previous life) and not many people willing to trade this aspect (reliability and Quality) with other elements.

Me too, can’t believe when people opt for Indonesian-made Avanza BUT the car good for the market it served. period. This is how Toyota, famous in Quality and major contributor to modern management philosophy earned their reputation now after decade investment and trying to woo people with their trusted brand though not without “shortcomings”.

Between Toyota and Proton, so far the latter must learn how the T brand walk their talk. Recall is normal BUT Toyota “late” recalled is more marketing-just to show after years they’re still responsible for their products.

BTW, I still wish Toyota will show some respect to us, ASEAN. Give us better product than these (Aseans meant cars). Our Altis buyers standard’s better than those taxi drivers in Thailand, Vietnam or Indonesia though they use same car. We revered Altis/Corolla as “luxury” due to our weird AUTO POLICY (that made investors shy away from our shore).

Silly in this pseudo market like us.

• bavarian (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 11:14 am

many carmakers had recalled their cars before
    it is nothing shameful
    and so did proton recalling savvy

• Xoomie (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 1:33 pm

I hope P1 dare to recall Proton Perdana V6 gearbox problem for model 1999 till 2005.

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 11:19 pm

thats what i meant.every car makers do makes recall, but why does proton got hit so hard when they did one?

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 11:02 am

shamel said,

April 13, 2008 @ 9:02 am

AzaniLaiho said,

April 11, 2008 @ 9:40 pm

I wish this is true not a MYTH. BTW l do prefer Civic over new Altis BUT the former not without flaws dude.

>>>>>>

IIANM, Honda is more reliable in a survey recently done in US.

But that’s US, here……zzzz. Honda CKD needs to buckup their QC.

Well, well, this recall oni proves my point: “Pobody’s nerfect.”

Bt as expected, praises shower them, followed by bashings for Proton, even if this thread is NOT supposed to hv anything to do wit Proton. Yawn……..

• madimat (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 5:40 pm

….jeezzz…,

when Toyota do recalls, Proton also got bashed. When Grandis slipped the PLUS highway killing all the occupants last month, .Proton also got to be bashed also..? When a (few) Mercedes Benz suddenly caught fire in a series of separate events I guess Proton also kena bashed somehow …

I guess later when US economy getting Proton also have to be bashed lah.

LOTF.

• superookie (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 10:58 am

This is good when they recall cars for defects. It is like admitting their mistakes. Same goes for other car brands;proton or other manufacturers.

• superookie (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 11:10 am

If we consumers didnt do something about proton’s QC, then we might as well get the same QC from other car manufacturers sooner or later.

This is because other manufacturer’s only look on statistics and $$, and they will see that proton still survives in msia with this kind of QC. They wont care of who supports proton behind financially or what. The key point there is consumer still supports them, kept buying them.

Conclusion, honda, toyota, and other brands might think that buying cheap parts for msia consumers is more than enough, since they are those ‘tidak apa’ type and take in whatever QC available, so there is no point for them to increase their QC.

In future, mayb other car brands consumer will also visit the service centre regularly too. And the mechanic will say, ‘biasalah.. ini msia’..

• superookie (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 11:40 am

oh yeah.. talking about the welding part..
    i’ve once sat in an iswara taxi, and the driver talk about his car.
    The worst case ever happened to him is his brake pedal broken. Dei, brake pedal broken! The steel broke!
    That part is partially welded! Lucky him that happened when he is parking his car. Imagine that happen in highway.