Government looking into purpose-built taxis?

Proton logoAccording to Entrepreneur and Cooperative Development Minister Datuk Noh Omar, his ministry will be approaching to discuss the development of a new type of taxi to replace the the bulk of the aging taxis that we currently use, which use the Proton Saga/Iswara models. The new taxi would be an exclusive model designed to be a cab and not based on a passenger car model.

An idealistic thought, but in reality as it is a mass-produced model like the new second generation Proton Saga can only barely touch the RM30K price tag, and with the impending higher fuel prices, taxi operators already have to deal with that as it is and it is not realistic to burden them with a higher purchase cost that would like be associated with this specially developed cab because of its limited volume.

Even in the UK, cabs in most areas use passenger car models, and only the city of London has special London Taxi Cabs built by London Taxis International. The latest model is the LTI TX4, powered by a 2.5 litre VM Motori diesel (360Nm at 2,000rpm) mated to a 5-speed auto or a 5-speed manual.

Source (scroll to bottom)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• xenith (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 3:27 am

Aren’t most new taxis Waja?

• Paul Tan on May 13, 2008 at 3:32 am

Well, not where I am. I only see the Saga still being registered for new taxis, the Waja is rarely seen.

• wrong-turn (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 4:48 am

an ideal taxi is the one that is large enough for things to be stuffed in the boot and also economical..so they need to run on NGV
    Currently proton dont have models that actually suit the requirements!

• e-nabilll (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 5:04 am

ive seen actually quite few Persona and Sentra as new taxis…u can see them in klia taxi stand as well

the ting is…wer r thy gonna dump those curent saga taxis??

it makes sence but not to be based on a curent model as it devalues the car

• azrai (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 6:40 am

Say no to Noh. What he’s thinking? A poor mindset by our elected representative. Pity him. Ask Proton to develop special design taxi? Low volume + high cost = not economical. Actually it is a pity for taxi driver who get their permits from the consortium. they alredy been burden by the very expensive rate to pay to the consortium on daily basis. At the end eventually, what they paid is triple the taxi price itself.

• abtm (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 7:24 am

i agree that there should be a upgrade in malaysia taxis from the usual saga/iswaras, but why waste money designing a new car? the new saga/ persona is perfect

• normaluser (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 7:28 am

Why don’t the Government scrap the duties & taxes for Persona to be used and sold only to Taxi Companies. Perhaps the price can be lowered to RM30K range.

The Iswara is too old to be a taxi, and the boxy 80s looks really bothers the eyesight especially on city roads full with modern looking cars.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 8:18 am

Another Minister talking out of his rear end.

Why invest into developing a new car with little market possibility? Seriously just how big the market for taxis is out there.

The reason why the Saga/Iswara is popular because if you were a taxi operator, the very lightweight Iswara is very good on fuel and spare parts are cheap and plentiful. This makes sense.

So proton (or whoever gets the contract) may not have the “correct” model, is the Minister “proposing” to use public funds again to help these people? The country is already bleeding dry because of you people.

IF they want space, Proton is going to have an MPV soon…so that would fill the taxi need if there be. Besides, whats wrong with the Persona and the Waja (or the new Saga), other than the lackluster Campro mill. I’m sure Proton has an inventory of Perdanas to be sold as well.

• theking (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 8:38 am

Proton will launch new SAGA 1.6 Campro NGV earliest in Q3 08 especially for taxis.

• Cire (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 8:46 am

Improve the infrastructures first. Having more NGV stations will not burden or limit the taxis’ operating zone.Its a sad sight to see long queues of taxis waiting to top up their tanks. Whenever they are off the roads, it means no income to them.

• dothan (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 8:50 am

Hi guys, I sense something “monopoly” in my mind… Correct me if I am wrong.

• waimak (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 9:11 am

Taxi service issues are like never ending stories. There’re this taxi models, taxi fare/ rates, taxi drivers attitude, overlapping of service area, poor service, cost, unwanted car conditions, ‘sistem pajak’, oversupply of permits and the list goes on.

What is important to me and the 1st thing that MECD should do is to improve the overall image of this service sector which i think is degrading each day. How to do it?, well that they have to figure out themselves.

You cannot improve them with only changing taxi models or to have specially built taxis or change of minister or change of taxi rate or change the drivers. What is most critical is to change the whole system in such a way that is purely service oriented and working within a benchmark of certain standard.

I know that in some countries there are cars produced specially for taxis and the move to immitate it is considered good but that goes to number 5 or 7 on the checkllist I think. Perhaps MECD should concentrate less on the commercially oriented decision first and go down to the core issues of the this sector.

• Allan (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 9:27 am

What a stupid idea from another dumb minister who speaks without thinking things thoroughly beforehand. Is this the best he can think of? Arent there any other better options to explore which would make more sense? Even some of the comments above makes more sense than what he has said. Just goes to show how capable these ministers are in serving the best interest of the public. Without doubt someone’s pockets are gonne get even deeper (probably with taxpayers money) if this proposal materialised.

• KY (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 9:57 am

I think the purchase cost is the least of our problem when it comes to the whole taxi fiasco, the stupid licensing crap should be scrapped

• longjaafar (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 11:56 am

Yes, it’s time we have a better vehicle to be used as taxis. Proton Sagas are too small, with very limited luggage space and should they switch to NGV, it will be worse. The London cabs are unique vehicles, with very good turning radius and loads of space for 5 passengers AND luggage. China intends to either assemble or manufacture them under licence in Shanghai. The problem with public transportation in our country is that it is too politicised. It is a known fact that licences are given to only people with certain political backgrounds, who never intend to do the business, rather they rent out their licence wholesale for a tidy monthly income for doing nothing. Then we have the huge question of availability of NGV, where we see long queues at Petronas stations. The govt announced plans to popularise NGV and look where we are now. The grand announcement has remained only that.
    Unlike taxis in Europe, our taxis use gas or petrol. Diesel is a no no because of pollution. Our move towards better diesel quality has also remained a dream. And yet Malaysia produces the best diesel in the world, to be exported to Europe. There is so much rubbish in our transportation policies, and yet we see hoards of govt officers in the business and first class sections going on ‘study tours’ to find ways to improve our system.
    It is a real shame that for all our talk about being an automotive hub and all that, our taxis are only slightly better than some of the worst in the world.
    Incidentally, the latest London cabby will use electric. They will be launched later this year.

• kingglim (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 12:55 pm

Hmmm, let me guess…another Malaysia Boleh project, another minister will get filthy rich.

• Roti Naan (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 1:26 pm

PROTON should consider building purpose built motobike too, for the Pos Malaysia motobike fleet, for Pizza delivery fleet etc.

Then, purpose built Proton Van for pakcik-makcik that open stalls/gerai at Pasar malam/Pasar Tani.

• j91752 (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 1:46 pm

I have been dealing with Taxi business 10 yrs ago. The Proton has never seriously pay attention on taxi segment in Malaysia. It has been 6 months since they stop production for Iswara & Wira. Government regulations force a lot of taxi driver to change their car every 7 yrs ! However there is still no news about new taxi ? Proton BOLEH ?

They neglect the interest of taxi driver ! Who don’t want a cheaper taxi in town ? but due to their EFFICIENCY there is no news about the new cheaper taxi …
    PROTON XXXX

• cyful (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 1:59 pm

Well i have different opinion. If possible since we have our own car manufacturer, i want to see taxi have thier own vehicles, police will have their own vehicles, also an ambulance from proton. Let say chancelor, why they only few (i saw only 1 so far) the design is from waja, waja is used as police patrol car & taxis. It already degrade waja value as ‘young executive’ car.

But realistically, we can’t afford to have those if proton did not serious to go globally. If even everyone in malaysia owns a proton, it still not enough for proton to develop new car. With this new car (savvy, gen2, persona, r3) everytime i still think that proton already have huge debt with someone.

• Alifz (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 2:12 pm

Another trick of Noh making money on Taxi…

Why not using existing platform? I think persona is the most suitable, just give them big discount on base model and then most taxi driver could afford it.

• mitlanevo (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 3:35 pm

that means no more Merc SE and Toyota Crown for taxis?

• jansej (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 3:49 pm

i saw quite a number of sentra and sonata taxis in JB.. i thought saga gonna phase out soon.. but then… well a purpose built taxi is a good idea too.. size of persona/waja.. subsidies it for local taxi use and sell it to philippines, indo and thai!

• ingolstadt (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 4:27 pm

Another bullshit from our government.

Why wont they feel memalukan when all the agendas, ‘direction’ they spoke off never ceases to amaze the public and was always responded with a “wtf? where did that come from?”

Are these forkers really so out of touch? So? Another new minister, another new plot to get the rakyat’s money?

Super fed up with this stupid Barisan Nasional …..

• ingolstadt (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 4:29 pm

Of course the taxis cue up for the forking NGV, the stupid government didn’t even think of whether wat is good for the taxi vendors or the public, all they forking care is whether the money is pouring into their pockets, only Petronas has NGV, wtf is this? how many forking petrol stations are out there? why the fork do they limit it to petronas? and petronas is a forking Barisan Nasional cash printing machine …. sorry for my language but when it’s beyond tahan …. i really dreamt of the day where i can slap all the bozos in Barisan Nasional ..

• nobodyatuk (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 5:37 pm

Why not, and why is it bad if its for the convenient of the rakyat? Proton has some suitable platform to create a taxi, ideally the upcoming MPV could also be redesign as a taxi. Couldn’t be too difficult as all it needs is reconfiguring the seating and luggage area, divide the drivers’ cab, install a payment machine, better still install a wide screen LCD for passengers entertainment. Engine could be bio/diesel/NGV/solar, green…buy from BMW, they got loads. Market wise, surely Proton is not thinking of just the local market, taxis have huge potential elswhere, Indonesia, India, China, just name it…

for ingolstadt…be an MP, that way the sidang parlimen live telecast will be a much awaited show in the country as we are going to have our first fists exchange rather than just verbal…interesting

• pOckeTbOcoR (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 5:38 pm

hey ingolstadt, keep ur cool man
    this is an automotive blog
    go channel ur anger somewhere else
    there are lots of political websites in the net
    nonetheless, couldnt agree more with ur statement
    our gov is really sucks

• erichigc (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 6:03 pm

Say no to Noh. What he’s thinking? A poor mindset by our elected representative. Pity him. Ask Proton to develop special design taxi? Low volume + high cost = not economical. Actually it is a pity for taxi driver who get their permits from the consortium. they alredy been burden by the very expensive rate to pay to the consortium on daily basis. At the end eventually, what they paid is triple the taxi price itself.

Why not say NO earlier? on 8 March?

I definitely wont chose MP who support Pro** and Pro**dua, which at the expense of taxing high-quality imported cars. My friends and relatives are not enjoying a good driving experience due to all these crappy.

I am tired of this, of cos no more staying in malaysia. better drive better cars in foreign land, though i still love malaysia. *sigh*

• mystvearn (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 8:00 pm

You have to remember that in UK the taxis double as their personal vehicles. Just register as a taxi, and register with association and you are done. I have seen Merc C class, 407, few MPV’s which are all mid class cars rather than cheap cars. The only thing I see is that NO is trying to increase proton sales where it is struggling to make money. If you sold it to VW in the first place, you would not have to resort to this mess…

• j91752 (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 8:06 pm

QUOTE FROM JANSEJ
    “i saw quite a number of sentra and sonata taxis in JB.. i thought saga gonna phase out soon.. ”
    No.. Those who are getting Sentra (red cab in JB) are rich taxi driver.. the price they are paying for it is double compare to Iswara.

Whereas for Sonata in JB, these are the new Class of taxi in JB. It serves with a premium fare. It is possible to travel to anywhere in msia.(there are some Naza ria also … )

• j91752 (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 8:10 pm

QUOTE ingolstadt
    only Petronas has NGV, wtf is this? how many forking petrol stations are out there? why the fork do they limit it to petronas?

Neither could i understand WHY NGV is only available in PETRONAS. !!! And they are building MORE & MORE PETRONAS in JB !!! PETRONAS is sickening…

• ah liew (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 9:47 pm

I hate petronas too because rumours said they add water in their petrol. Althought i don’t believe that but i always go to JB Saleng Caltex & Kulai Shell.
    None the better…. my gf nearly got con by Caltex that evening, while pumping gas 2 malay guys which is not wearing Caltex uniform provided FOC servicing the engine. They claimed the engine is dirty la… bla bla bla & they wanted to add some engine stuff into the car without your consent & charge you for it! lucky my gf stopped them. My gf thought it’s FOC!
    The Kulai Shell station is F**K UP! too, i went there to fill up gas because they have the promo Ferrari toy. There are model cars ads displayed everywhere but never displayed OUT OF STOCK! The malay lady said it’s only available in K.L.

WTF next time i’ll go BP & try…..

• mytouch (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 10:02 pm

Yet,another stupid idea from 1 of our beloved gov department…did they ever think of,is this what rakyat pay them for,for so creatively suggest this kind of sick idea?If this is implemented on the Taxi,then maybe in the future,we can see more jokes idea’s coming up,such as producing diffrent patern buses & ferry’s…

• bobdbilder (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 10:14 pm

Typical Noh. Forever. Which rock did he crawl out from? Trying to put himself on a pedestal. You know, every new minister wants to build a name for himself with lunatic ideas.

If he doesn’t understand what efficiency in production or even ROI, means why is he Minister for Entreprenuer and Cooperative development? Seems he’s desperate for issues to balloon his image after that wheelchair fiasco. Don’t be fooled peeps, he’s trying to cover up his arrogance with his stupidity.

• khengyi82 (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 10:22 pm

what a stupid lousy animal think this kind of thing. the proton is really want to potong. most of the thing they cannot do still want to do, if doing any thing wrong said this said that cannot make the thing cannot sucess and what what la. stupid proton is always like that, now sohai proton want to start this new thing, do u thing can start ? what the fork. please wish proton close shop and go to hell. even the hell also don’t want this bloody stupid no brain car. proton just trying to make money no QC test on every car. no safety. no matter any one drive proton car sure confirm die in the car. remenber don’t buy proton product will bring to the hell, no no. even worst then hell. so please every one don’t buy proton. PROTON TAK NAK !

• tigerking (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 11:51 pm

can anyone pls think logically. i somewhat gather and observe that everytime there is an announcement concerning Proton, it is either:
    1) Stupid,
    2) Ridiculous,
    3) Not feasible,

Proton has failed in many respect since its launching and recently there has been a lot of media highlights just to get publicity and this just happens to be one of it.

Its not funny running a company like Proton and making sluggish comments like that to the public on new plans. Pls think rationally or shall I say logically. Tolong keluar dari tempurung kelapa.

Pls give a time frame of 2 years from now to change the existing fleet of Proton taxis. Isnt the government ashamed of even having the Proton taxis on road and at the same time promoting tourism.

What they can do is, heavily subsidise imported cars to be used as taxis but maintaining its standards in terms of cleanliness, driver grooming, etc on a shorter period of time and take strict actions against errant drivers.

Has anyone ever been to Singapore and seen how the taxi system works there? We dont have to create something from scratch. Just copy ideas and tailor them to local needs to make them work.

• rexis (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 2:27 am

I want to get a london taxi!

Actually not much research require for a purpose built taxi, just take our new saga, mount a XXL ngv tank in hidden place like below seats, enhance boot space. Done.

• Auto_crat (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 8:20 am

Why on earth we need to have a purpose built taxis. The current baseline Saga and Persona would do just fine. Purpose built will only extend the cost further. Do we need to create an identity akin of London taxi when we face so much problems related to the taxi services here unsettled.

• Roti Naan (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 10:36 am

better scrap the purpose built taxi idea now.

Please solve the long due problems of taxi permits issuance, unethical taxi drivers, overcharging issues, solve the never-ending-problem of taxi monopoly in KLIA, etc

No point riding on a taxi cost 1 million ringgit but the service suck like s**t

• cetait (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 3:06 pm

lol purpose built taxis like london, and then what? charge london prices to recoup the money? To sit down in a london black cab is already RM15, and the cheapest tariff on top of that is RM1.50 PER 150 METERS. Not to mention there’s not even enough of them so at night you end up having to take dodgy minicabs which are the same as the malaysian tout taxis and even more expensive than the black cabs. Why anyone would want to emulate that system is beyond me. Well, except for the obvious fact that it would make a few cronies very rich.

And sell the taxis to Indon/Thai? Haha I think they’ll be happy to stick with their Toyotas.

Taxis using new Saga/Persona is good enough. who cares about “devaluing” the car? The badge on the bonnet already does more devaluing than any number of taxis. In Europe many taxis are Merc C/E-class, don’t see Merc owners feeling their cars have been “devalued”

• lchan (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 3:37 pm

Yeah…another kick ass idea from the gov…..so who do you think will be making some “pocket money”

• tec96248 (Member) on May 15, 2008 at 9:52 am

good idea, built a saga estate/ stationwagon. extra boot space and can even cater for commercial use too…….hahaha.

• xylencia (Member) on May 15, 2008 at 2:09 pm

#
    erichigc said,

May 13, 2008 @ 6:03 pm

Why not say NO earlier? on 8 March?

I definitely wont chose MP who support Pro** and Pro**dua, which at the expense of taxing high-quality imported cars. My friends and relatives are not enjoying a good driving experience due to all these crappy.

I am tired of this, of cos no more staying in malaysia. better drive better cars in foreign land, though i still love malaysia. *sigh*

—————–

What do you drive? if you drive a City or a Vios then you obviously don’t know the meaning of a ‘good driving experience’. And if you make a ton of money and drive something above the 100k range, good for you, leave us ‘economy minded’ folks to drive our budget cars and don’t complain on our behalf, no one asked you to.

Tax is here to stay, and some of it goes to your fuel, food, sugar subsidies in case you haven’t noticed.