Proton Campro-powered open wheel racer

Click for hi-res photo

This is one of the exhibits at the Proton Technology Week, an open wheel single seater racer from the Proton Prototype Center powered by a Campro engine. We didn’t get to see it in action while we were there, so if you did see it running do share in the comments section. Plenty more photos and a video available after the jump.

Click for hi-res photo

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 4:11 pm

Wow. Looks fantastic. Could be a possible A1GP car.

Too bad it is not in action. Would love to see and hear that thing around the track.

• ENZO (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 5:26 pm

is it a normal campro or the CPS version?

lol……the fuel is empty lar, that’s y can’t in action!!
    A1?! i think it is only a over-sized go-kart only lar!
    Anyway, it look nice.
    (no offence, just my thought.)

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 5:50 pm

sure breakdown

• xenith (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 6:07 pm

Are they using CPS?

• raptorclans (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 6:13 pm

That’s quite interesting… if they can prove it to be a feasible racer, they can make a mini league using the engine :)

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 6:21 pm

The car looks like it had been extensively used. Maybe proton use it to test the durability of the Campro engine so that it will not get hot etc..?

• rt (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 7:26 pm

too bad,
    I saw it today, but there nothing written on the car itself and the engine bay was covered.
    So I thought it was just a gimmick.. I don’t know it was powered by CamPro.

Anyway,
    I saw it cruising on the road at the Plant, but it was too loud that I lose interest on it..

rt

• delos3nos (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 7:31 pm

Toy Car

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 7:40 pm

twin turbo are visible beside the campro engine
    huh
    very plain interior
    no flashy electronical control switch
    n very small wheel
    lousy look of rim
    the whole car look flimsy also
    can run in hi speed ar?

• cole planet (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 10:34 pm

Cyberkayu said,
    August 3, 2008 @ 7:40 pm

huh

—————————————

yalah, is that a turbo??? i mean campro turbo charged???

• God.of.War (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 10:41 pm

Kinda nice for a start, just that the steering is not so shiny like an F1 car shud look like.

ANyway congrats Proton !

• johnson wong (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 11:20 pm

WoW.. i wonder how fast is that…hehe

• IsaacVky (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 11:33 pm

LoL wtf.. Twin turbo???
    That’s the intake manifold with electronic throttle and without an air box & air filter!

• mokkf82 (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 12:02 am

Yeap! i think that’s the turbo kid!
    eh, if P1 able to fit in those turbo stuff in it’s campro. Hey, why don’t they fit in one of those in the persona or waja?
    just a suggestion though, must be a hit if they make it a production car.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 12:57 am

Turbo Campro in such car? VRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!!! Got dust in my mouth…

• cbljkkj (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 1:27 am

God some people are so full of rubbish. Like IsaacVky deciphered it, it is indeed the intake manifold with electronic throttle sans the air box & filter.

Don’t simply go bursting out with what you think it is just because it kinda looks like a turbo due to the fact that it is silver and is curved like a turbocharger.

• azrai (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 7:44 am

That’s the turbo turbine (the siput one).

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 9:26 am

7th picture from above can clearly c the butterflies valve
    is twin-turbo

• szw (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 10:20 am

proton should make a car like caterham with campro engine in it…

• kingv6 (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 11:51 am

that’s 1 big proton gokart….
    I would to drive it…

cool!

• Alifz (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 11:55 am

Cyberkayu said,
    August 3, 2008 @ 7:40 pm

-No lah…that’s the IAFM module…

• capeplates (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 3:36 pm

Looks cool – reckon it’s in with a chance as long as the race is over a single lap of less than three miles!

• bolo (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 4:39 pm

Very crude installation of engine in a single seater. Even the radiator comes straight from the road car. The chasis looks quite old and tired, more like what you may see in a racing driving school. But this should also make it low cost option for single seater racing, like formula ford or formula renault. There’s no turbo. you can clearly see the exhaust pipe goes straight to the back( thick black pipe above the transaxle ).

• cbljkkj (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 4:00 pm

bolo:

I do agree with you on the poor installation and the dated chassis and frame. Seeing as it’s a prototype, I might just cut Proton some slack.

Where I won’t cut slack is when they show half-baked concepts such as the Satria Neo & Saga concept range which hardly had anything tweaked apart from some 3rd party mods, aerokit and new paintjobs.

• iseeidiots on Aug 31, 2013 at 9:47 pm

that engine is not turbocharged. the silver thingy is the intake manifold.
    if you know how a turbocharged campro engine looks like, you would know which side is the intake and which side is the exhaust. As you can see from the 6th photo, the 4 short pipe is connected to one long pipe and then the pipe is going to the back of the car. If there is a turbocharger, it should be there, as the turbine is spooled using the air/fumes from the exhaust. but as there is no manifold for the turbo, just a simple 4-1 exhaust manifold, hence the campro CPS engine is not turbocharged.