W212 E-Class previewed as the Mercedes-Benz ConceptFASCINATION

Advertisement

Mercedes-Benz ConceptFASCINATION

Mercedes-Benz will be displaying this concept car called the Mercedes-Benz ConceptFASCINATION at the 2008 Paris Motor Show. It is quite basically a fully undisguised teaser of the next generation E-Class front and possibly the E-Class Wagon’s rear in the guise of a two-door “shooting brake” body style.

If you look at the rear end styling of the current generation W211 Estate you get the feeling that that Mercedes-Benz was kind of at a loss at how to style the rear end. They ended up giving the W211 Estate rear end a similiar look to the W210 while the sedan went on to get a new style of taillamps. For the W212, the new E-Class Estate tail end looks like it came out of Mazda’s design studios.

Look after the jump for a collection of hi-res images.

PHOTO GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz ConceptFASCINATION
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

[cpg_album:80]

Video: Mercedes-Benz ConceptFASCINATION

Related stories you might be interested in reading:

No related posts.

About the Author

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history. An avid electronic gadget aficionado as well as big-time coffee lover, he's also the executive producer of the Driven motoring TV programme.

1. nmh says:

shooting brake comeback….cool. but the rear design looks ’80′s american uncle-ish’

Reply Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  2. normaluser says:

Well about the drain of new ideas for the rear-end design, there is no such thing as originality right now. To make it practical (easy storage access to bonnet), fresh ideas for rear light design is limited. Manufacturers can design radical styled for the front & rear end styling, but in the end practicality still rules. I don’t think there will be a truly ‘fresh design’ for rear-end (or even front-end) styling from automakers in the next 10 years.

3. kamalmy says:

It just looks like Proton APX.

4. sewell says:

the back look very very similar to the current MAZDA6. and very japanese style.

5. Altezzar says:

Design is very Japanese….. Mazda6…..mixed with……..

So what is the point of this car?. Or more specifically what is it. Wagon?, coupe? sedan ?. What is the purpose?.

6. farghmee says:

don’t care lah whether japs or deutscher,
    i like the exterior :)
    clean cut style, harmony design.

7. l3ryan says:

Altezzar said,

September 12, 2008 @ 10:01 am

Design is very Japanese….. Mazda6…..mixed with……..

So what is the point of this car?. Or more specifically what is it. Wagon?, coupe? sedan ?. What is the purpose?.

the purpose of this car would just to be a sneak preview of the design elements from the next E-Class, and nothing else.

it’s a concept hence not for sale, so it doesn’t matter if it a wagon/coupe/sedan or anything, just as long it’s an eye candy that’s good enough :)

8. abtm says:

looks like a Mercedes SL wagon, but good looks as usual from the company

9. azrai says:

I’m fascinated.

10. mspfaz says:

I think it looks more like R-class.

11. Altezzar says:

oic…..ok

12. kei9 says:

ugh..
    Merc really is very much influenced by japanese styling!
    It really shows in the lines!

Anyways it’s real awesome indeed. :D

13. ALPINA BMW says:

the e-class is still ugly

14. mitlanevo says:

lol, i sketched a similar car before on last year, a 2-door sports wagon based on a sedan, and i got the same front part for both wagon and the sedan…..

but of coz, this one looks more professional than my sketches with great interior…

15. szw says:

don’t fancy merc except for s-class
    other merc looks boring.
    merc are cars for poor rich people only.

16. nmh says:

if u focus on the tail lamp alone yes it resembles the mazda6 tail lamp, but if look at the whole rear, it looks like the long and wide american car from the 80′s

17. knight_templar says:

merc o’ merc… where art thou heading??

Like us? Show some support! :)

Want a picture next to your comment? Register for a Gravatar account with the same email you use to comment!

Previous Story: The Michelin Pilot Experience 2008 at Sepang
Next Story: New 175hp Peugeot 308 GT for RM159,999