VIDEO: The MINI Centre Globe Concept

MINI Crossover ConceptWhen the MINI Crossover Concept was unveiled earlier this month, it featured something called the MINI Centre Globe which sort of takes the whole iDrive concept to a whole new level.

MINI’s equivalent to “iDrive” in this concept car is a giant sphere in place of where you’d expect the large speedometer to be in BMW’s new MINIs. The sphere uses laser projection to display different graphics if viewed from different positions.

Some things are just best viewed in motion, so after a jump you will find a video of the MINI Crossover Concept and you will be able to see the MINI Centre Globe in action somewhere at the end of the video.

Video: MINI Crossover Concept

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tananiki (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 5:06 pm

1st… hehe…

• austin_cipan (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 5:47 pm

2nd… hehe…

• blekjon (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 8:30 pm

I wonder the practicality of the Globe. Seems to me that it might cause distractions to the driver…

• libralcl (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 8:45 pm

3rd… hehe…

• bashherebashthere (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 5:45 am

computer : google
    phone : google
    car : google!!

google are sooooo taking over the world
    googling while driving : fine rm300

im so gonna invent google handsfree

• azrai (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 7:02 am

One thing; Austin power’s groovy.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 10:57 am

Awesome! Way more advance than other concept car.

• csv (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 5:08 pm

looks more distracting than helpful leh.

but its a concept, so it might be toned down.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 6:37 pm

love the mini, just hope the boot will be bigger