Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

BMW loses X5 rip-off copyright case against Shuanghuan CEO in Italy

Advertisement

Shuanghuan CEO

It doesn’t take a genius to know that Shuanghuan Automobile ripped off the design of BMW’s X3 (tail lamps) and first generation X5 SUVs when it styled the Shuanghuan CEO. Even the name is similiar to the X5’s “the boss is back” tagline when it was launched in Malaysia.

But apparently a court in Milan, Italy couldn’t see that, and rejected BMW’s claim that the Chinese SUV infringed its copyright. BMW won a similiar case on its home grounds in Munich in July this year.

29 Comments »

1. mitlanevo said,

December 22, 2008 @ 2:13 pm

just like the China fake CRV not long ago, haha

copyright = the right to copy, lol~

2. CFA28 said,

December 22, 2008 @ 2:17 pm

This either means that either the German Judge was biased or the Italian judge was blind. Judgements does not mean anything if Shuanghuan Automobile does not operate out from Germany or Italy.

3. jolly_idiot said,

December 22, 2008 @ 2:31 pm

Haha! Chinese! Always come out with surprise. So whose next to be copied? Volvo? Or Merc?

4. e-nabilll said,

December 22, 2008 @ 2:32 pm

those judges must have been paid alot by Shuanghuan…..we all know how corrupt italy is ……btw , wat kinda turn off name is Shuanghuan anyway?? who wd buy a car with that name on it?!!

5. car_craze said,

December 22, 2008 @ 2:35 pm

I saw this CEO at a foreign motorshow last year. One thing the Chinese car manufacturers cannot copy yet is the quality. It’s really bad, especially the interior gaps and flushness.

6. muharifz said,

December 22, 2008 @ 2:44 pm

Typical…they can come up with something which looks exactly the same but poor quality. e.g. NOKIA N95 ~ NOKLA N95; SONY ~ SOMY

Same goes to this BMW X5….

7. calvin_ngan said,

December 22, 2008 @ 2:47 pm

just came back from China, almost everything is fake… from antiques, to paintings… even fashion cloths… you know, there is a joke saying a guy tried to commit suicide by eating a box of rat poison, surprisingly he survived because the rat poison appears to be fake… China oh China…

Do you know they have a Fake Forbidden City? Yes, brick by brick, columns by columns… an actual duplicate of the real Forbidden City.

http://blog.miragestudio7.com/2007/08/heng-dian-studio-and-the-forbidden-city/

8. kei9 said,

December 22, 2008 @ 3:44 pm

They just love to copy stuff ain;t it? :o

9. CFA28 said,

December 22, 2008 @ 3:49 pm

Is it just my old eyes or is the tyres a bit too small for the car.

10. Hil-mei said,

December 22, 2008 @ 3:53 pm

LoL The Chinese can copy anything…..Even a Ferrari Enzo got copied in China…..

11. wuttaheck said,

December 22, 2008 @ 4:32 pm

pls bring this in NAZA…lol!

12. bmpower said,

December 22, 2008 @ 4:35 pm

Hil-mei said,
    December 22, 2008 @ 3:53 pm
    LoL The Chinese can copy anything…..Even a Ferrari Enzo got copied in China…..

yeah!.. waiting for that time..
    I bet then, all italian judge will never ever give china win anymore. Hahaha

China, so fake..
    so now, i start to thinking either Zhang Zhi Yi is fake to..
    Omg!.. what if she’s a man! lol

13. Fridz said,

December 22, 2008 @ 4:41 pm

effortless Chinese make..lol

14. hans said,

December 22, 2008 @ 5:08 pm

you are right ! Zhang Whi Yi is a man…

15. billy said,

December 22, 2008 @ 6:09 pm

copyright = the right to copy

as my wife luv to say, nothing is original anymore. semua mau copy and paste

16. ReactiX said,

December 22, 2008 @ 6:24 pm

told u, nothing goods comes from china. it something that i need is available from other country, i prefer other country rather than china. if there’s no other produce them, i try to minimize as much…

once my lecturer tells us stories, his friend a businessman go to china. he was told by some chinese businessman, “u want this thing sold at how much? 1 ringgit, 2 ringgit? 20cent we also can make!”.

thats how they willing to do for business. quality wise, tadakkk…

17. mystvearn said,

December 22, 2008 @ 7:26 pm

Maybe proton should not invest in that country. Or if we want to invest, lets give them the original saga. If they want to copy that, go ahead

18. csv said,

December 22, 2008 @ 11:51 pm

haha, typical china people. copy copy copy.

pui!

19. seat-belt said,

December 22, 2008 @ 11:59 pm

china=copycat….

sometimes,i feel very lucky that i’m born in malaysia….

20. l3ryan said,

December 23, 2008 @ 12:05 am

any front end picture of this piece of crap?

21. gajen said,

December 23, 2008 @ 2:22 am

WTH? when are they going to stop copying…i dont see the point of copying..if i copy i dont feel proud at all…

indirectly this shows tht bmw produce well-designed cars or else they wouldn’t have copied…a good leader will produce lots of followers

and wat abt the crash test…

22. charles27 said,

December 23, 2008 @ 5:26 am

not that similar with X5 laa… just the dimension i guess.
    but this one price can buy 5 X5 already.. haha

23. BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

December 23, 2008 @ 7:50 am

charles27 said,
    December 23, 2008 @ 5:26 am

not that similar with X5 laa… just the dimension i guess.
    but this one price can buy 5 X5 already.. haha
    ______________________________________________________-

not that similar?? it looks like you can take the doors of this car and put them on an X5!!?!

24. normaluser said,

December 23, 2008 @ 8:18 am

Not only the BMW they copied, they copied Smart, Toyotas & Hondas too.
    Look at these:
    http://www.thetycho.com/galleries_shuanghuan.htm

25. corolla_KE70 said,

December 23, 2008 @ 9:27 am

Dont worry BMW! This crap will disassemble itself once it hit 60km/j!!

26. Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,

December 23, 2008 @ 10:02 am

i want buy this car then rebadge bmw and put in ac schnitzer rims then can already, i also got x5 leh, don play play

27. runpandarun said,

December 23, 2008 @ 10:54 pm

not only that this car is damn right ugly,its also a copycat. but i dont seem to really care,you see,once that “CREATURE” hits a speedbump all that chinese parts will fall into bits and pieces.

28. king said,

December 24, 2008 @ 1:39 am

-nabilll said,
    December 22, 2008 @ 2:32 pm

those judges must have been paid alot by Shuanghuan…..we all know how corrupt italy is ……btw , wat kinda turn off name is Shuanghuan anyway?? who wd buy a car with that name on it?!!

—-

many bmw wannabes will buy lar…

like sex bla bla said, just stick a bimmer logo into it and presto…you get BMW X3.

29. Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,

December 24, 2008 @ 9:27 am

ssangyong also got, stick mercdes badge

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

previous post: Volkswagen Golf GTI Special Edition: limited units now available in Malaysia
next post: Honda and GS Yuasa to set up lithium ion JV