Proton Savvy a top 10 car of 2008 in Thailand?

Proton Savvy

Thai business daily The Nation has picked the Proton Savvy as one of Thailand’s top 10 cars in 2008 as it has a cheap price, good acceleraton, and almost go-kart-like handling. That is some decent feedback.

Other cars on the list include the Jaguar XF, the BMW 320d, the Volvo S80 3.2, the MINI Cooper S Clubman, the Honda City, the Honda Jazz, the Ford Focus 2.0 TDCi, the Mitsubishi Pajero Sport and the Subaru Impreza STI.

The editors seem to love the WRX alot as it also appeared on their 2007 list, which consisted of the WRX STi, the Lexus LS460, the Mercedes-Benz CLS500, the Alfa Romeo 159, the MTM RS4 (tuner car), the Honda Accord, the Lamborghini Superleggera, the Toyota Prius, the Nissan Navara and the Chevrolet Captive diesel.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nmh (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 10:04 pm

I bought one white savvy lite and it does put a smile on my face. I think i want to replace my 05 gen2 with upcoming neo cps. Damn i still cant sell my fu*@in spectra.

Being in spectra at >100kmh is not what we call driving, its called commit suicide

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 10:19 pm

i suppose thats as un-bias a statement as we can possibly get from a non-malaysian source about proton.

direct and equal competition without any protection. very interesting result from proton.

• rt (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 11:07 pm

ahhhh..

apart from prius, i couldn’t see any of dugong’s siblings and cousins in the list …..

• awak (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 11:11 pm

its a good small car in protons range,

i always think of kancil or viva if a small car,
    yes, small cars but its actually lacking of other important aspect,

with savvy, its small but with fullfilment.

• ultraman_metalgrey (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 11:25 pm

cheap price – true
    good acceleration – true
    almost go-kart-like handling (thanks to Lotus) – true..

i`m not regret to buy this car
    now driving to the cameron highland is my hobby…
    thanks to the lotus handling..

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 12:00 am

Most underated proton…

• nightReader (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 12:57 am

Salam peace (~_^)v

Before that..the Saga BLM listed at Top 10 Singapore New Car 2008.

The top 10 listed by MediaCorp Press:

1. Audi TTS
    2. BMW 118i
    3. Honda Jazz
    4. Jaguar XF
    5. Nissan Teana
    6. Proton Saga BLM <———- My car \(^_^)/
    7. Renault Clio R27
    8. Subaru Impreza STi
    9. Volkswagen Jetta TSI
    10. Volvo XC60

Source: http://www.todayonline.com/pdf_open.asp?id=2712FWL036

• bukitdamansara (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 1:01 am

good job Proton..made me proud… :)

• frossonice (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 2:01 am

agreed, most underrated Proton. Then again, it maybe because of the styling. perhaps if Proton could just straighten the window line, it will look more appealing.

• 9166 (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 2:03 am

Well Done. Go Get Them…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 3:59 am

agree oso…very underrated…very nice to drive with that solid feeling….i tink if thy can put a campro inside wd be more appealing as ppl stil cant trust that renault engine and the perception that comes with it…

• kazai (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 4:18 am

well i think there is nothing wrong with renault’s engine.the same engine being used in clio 1.2

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 7:12 am

the Savvy did well because it virtually had no competition. BMW, what sort of equal competition were you referring to? What car was Savvy competing against? At that time it was launched, petrol was hovering around 38 baht to 44 baht a litre.

• linear_system (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 7:55 am

“autohaus said,

January 15, 2009 @ 7:12 am

the Savvy did well because it virtually had no competition. BMW, what sort of equal competition were you referring to? What car was Savvy competing against? At that time it was launched, petrol was hovering around 38 baht to 44 baht a litre.”

it is not a competition la autohaus..its just a top 10 car voted by the paper..u dont like it,dont buy the paper..haha

• rexis (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 8:07 am

been in a Savvy before, its not a bad car after all, not too small either. People has to spend some time to get use to the “toilet bowl” hood design, and the rest are fine.

Heck, even my old wira handling is better then Myvi. P2 cars has nothing to do with handling.

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 8:11 am

autohaus said,
    January 15, 2009 @ 7:12 am

the Savvy did well because it virtually had no competition. BMW, what sort of equal competition were you referring to? What car was Savvy competing against? At that time it was launched, petrol was hovering around 38 baht to 44 baht a litre.
    ——————

Some ppl will never recognise PROTON achievements….. PROTON success = thorns in the ***hole =p

• biggie (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 8:22 am

wat no competition? all kinds of hyundai/kia are there (for compact car segment). As also Yaris and Jazz.

I wonder why Yaris did not get the vote, though?

btw my daily commute is a Savvy and it happily zipp along 100 km per day for almost 4 yrs now.

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 8:25 am

linear system, i was refering to what BMW said. sorry for the confusion. Yaris and Jazz both have bigger engines and cost quite a fair bit more. you call this direct comparison? which model of hyundai /kia are there in the same engine segment?

• linear_system (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 8:26 am

biggie said,

January 15, 2009 @ 8:22 am

wat no competition? all kinds of hyundai/kia are there (for compact car segment). As also Yaris and Jazz.

I wonder why Yaris did not get the vote, though?

btw my daily commute is a Savvy and it happily zipp along 100 km per day for almost 4 yrs now.

wow..its a competition la autohaus..now u are wrong autohaus..u can see that savvy is better then yaris.i also like my neo very much :)

• muryadi (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 8:30 am

Well done proton.

/from a proud Gen2 H-line owner.

• ys (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 9:07 am

no offence to all Savvy owner.
    no doubt Savvy is a good car with good handling and fuel economy.
    but the style really make me sick.
    Proton has done a good job but they need to pay more attention on how to design a car whereby can win everybody heart (18 to 80 years old).

anyway, good job proton.

• Fridz (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 9:12 am

My Pride..

I use Savvy for my daily commuter.
    I realize some day before a Myvi want to overtake me wt 100km/h on 120dgree corner.wah,suddenly that myvi hit the road divider..stunt maa…bahaya beb.

anyway,gud job Proton

• raptorclans (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 9:21 am

Savvy’s a nice car, altho I dun quite fancy the facelift, thought the car looked nicer before that. But anyways it’s a good car, wished it came during the time I was still looking for one…

• theanswer (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 9:27 am

Proton seem to do a great job..or at the very least, it’s better thn before. To me, savvy is a good car..the handling quite solid,engine..but i still cant blend with the gearbox and clutch..maybe becos the tranny is european? (most of the car i drive is ‘jap’..old saga, myvi, kancil,satria). Hopefully one day proton can replace the tranny with the jap one and eliminate the amt version with normal 4 speed auto ;p oh..they also can redesign the looks.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 9:39 am

======
    ++++++
    frossonice said,
    January 15, 2009 @ 2:01 am

agreed, most underrated Proton. Then again, it maybe because of the styling. perhaps if Proton could just straighten the window line, it will look more appealing.

++++++
    ======

I liked it better as it is now. Chips from motortrader once said that that styling is inspired by F22 fighter jet.

Savvy is made to look friggin xpnsv cuz of viva. Bt frankly, it’s much more a car than a viva. Viva feels more like a metal coffin, I hv to bertaubat n mengucap before I ride in one.

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 9:56 am

linear system, how can a Savvy be better than a Yaris? In what way? The Yaris is bigger, has a bigger engine, full auto, i see no relation at all.

• KF (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 10:13 am

autohaus said,

January 15, 2009 @ 8:25 am

which model of hyundai /kia are there in the same engine segment?
    ———————————————————-
    if you are referring to same engine capacity then the Hyundai/Inokom Atos Prima 1.1litre and the Kia/Naza Suria 1.1litre engine.

• cyberx11 (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 10:14 am

I have savvy, and my sister just bought its myvi,
    try to test drive. Myvi better in pickups because its DOHC, and Savvy better in low rev because is SOHC, myvi handling really loose, hard to grip while corner, not like savvy i still can sprint at corner. myvi seat really make my backs hurts, because its not ergonomics, conclusion is : savvy good for handling and comfort, myvi for joy rides especially in KL, for a long journey not recommended. Overall I still love savvy.

• fastcx (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 10:15 am

i still like amt’s clutch more than conventional auto’s torque converter, less power loss

• mh777 (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 10:15 am

Savvy is definately underrated. What a shame for such a nice car. I supose what Proton need to do is to sexed-up the car to make it more appealing. (to re-design the rear end would do wonders too). Take Jazz, Yaris for example.. re-do the interior make it more posh. Also Proton has to define Savvy. Is it a boy or girl car? At the moment the orientation looks confused..

• ultraman_metalgrey (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 10:16 am

Not all peoples like the tranny..because for MT the reverse gear is almost same like a 1st gear… for me its a unique cheaper car with the europe engine & gearbox in m`sia…

the body style,for me this car have an own sporty unique identity…

• KF (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 10:19 am

e-nabilll said,

January 15, 2009 @ 3:59 am

agree oso…very underrated…very nice to drive with that solid feeling….i tink if thy can put a campro inside wd be more appealing as ppl stil cant trust that renault engine and the perception that comes with it…
    ——————————————————–
    Renaults or Renault powered cars were never a popular choice for most Malaysian car buyers because of the perception of expensive to maintain. Major parts yes maybe, but normal service is just as affordable as any CAMPRO powered Proton.

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 10:29 am

offtopic>>
    autohaus..
    1stly, put aside the “badge perception”.

i drove savvy, kancil, viva, myvi.
    i chose savvy for “driving confidence”.
    i haven’t drive a yaris yet, so i can’t compare it with savvy.

i bet the journalist has driven all the cars mentioned in the news.
    so that is the journalist’s point of view.

i like, i buy.
    i don’t like, i don’t buy.

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 10:36 am

savvy underated because myvi was double overated

• lancer4064 (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 10:52 am

overtake u wt 100km/h on 120dgree corner??
    pergh!! koner patah tu…
    dasat2…

• mh777 (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 11:01 am

Honestly I would buy Savvy anytime but the interior puts me off big time. (the hedious steering wheel alone scare the hell out of me) Why cant’ Proton do interior like other people do. Just simple practical design like MyVi. Is it too much to ask? Can someone please remind the designer in Proton that they are not working in Lotus factory in UK..snap .. snap .. wake up. We are in Shah Alam!

• zzzxtreme (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 11:02 am

so many papers use incorrect grammar

“cheap price” is totally wrong

it should have been “low price”

yes, NST is guilty too

• Tengokaje.. (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 11:38 am

Nice to hear the news. P1 must very particular in term of quality in every production line.

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 11:42 am

KF, are those Hyundai, Kia models you mentioned sold in Thailand?

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 11:47 am

offtopic>>
    autohaus..
    1stly, put aside the “badge perception”.
    fargmee, i am not even talking about brand perception here. I was just asking BMW what sort of fair competition he was refering to regarding Savvy’s sales in Thailand. You dont understand the question. It has nothing to do with Myvi, Jazz, Volvo, Kancil, Viva, Pajero or Hilux or Porsche.

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 11:48 am

Have anybody wondered how much the Savvy, Neo and Gen2 were being sold in Thailand for?

• ignas (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 11:52 am

its cheap.

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 11:57 am

All along I have been critical of Proton’s products and still am, but the 1st time I lay my hands on the Savvy, I asked myself this question.
    Is this a Proton? It can’t be! It’s too good to be a Proton. But in reality, IT IS A PROTON!
    I have never said this before, but CONGRATULATIONS TO PROTON for giving M’sians a good product. May more good products roll out from your assembly line.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 12:10 pm

autohaus said,
    January 15, 2009 @ 11:48 am

Have anybody wondered how much the Savvy, Neo and Gen2 were being sold in Thailand for?

according to the quoted pricing in the story reported in thestar, variants are available, at approx. RM41,000 and RM47,000.

the most expensive savvy in malaysia, highline AMT costs RM45,841 with the cheapest savvy lite manual at RM39,693. from edar website.

so its still cheaper in malaysia.

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 12:20 pm

ok. that’s about roughly 2K lower than in Malaysia.

How much are those Thai assembled Citys, sold in Malaysia and Thailand then?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 12:48 pm

i only found info on yaris.. with no frills, lowest spec manual.. cost around RM55 or something, no alarm, abs, ebd, airbags.. bare-bones.

i think most malaysians would probably say i’ll buy the yaris and pay the extra RM14k or RM8k, but maybe to the thais, thats a large margin already to pay extra.. likewise in the UK, even 500 pounds price difference means a lot to them.

• layman (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 12:49 pm

So, where is Audi, Camry and Vios ??? 3 famous car in the forum.

• BB (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 1:00 pm

i had bad experience on ’06 Gen2 where 5 defacts occur in 2 yrs! last, the car dead-off in the middle of the rd due to fuel tank leakage. thats was the time i decided to sell the car & replaced by civic last yr. infact i quite happy with the Gen2 for its design & handling, but the quality just border me. and i will never consider proton when i am looking to buy one in future. P1 should/must improve its roduct quality immediately to keep its customers in the long run. anyway, good to hear that proton get good score in neiboring countris.

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 1:04 pm

offtopic again>>

offtopic>>
    =============================================
    by autohaus..
    fargmee, i am not even talking about brand perception here. I was just asking BMW what sort of fair competition he was refering to regarding Savvy’s sales in Thailand. You dont understand the question. It has nothing to do with Myvi, Jazz, Volvo, Kancil, Viva, Pajero or Hilux or Porsche.
    to autohaus,
    my previous comment was for below statement of yours:
    “linear system, how can a Savvy be better than a Yaris? In what way? The Yaris is bigger, has a bigger engine, full auto, i see no relation at all.”

yeah maybe i don’t understand the question.
    my point is:
    *savvy was one of car in list of the journalist’s preference.
    *the journalist listed savvy not yaris.
    *one’s preference differs with other’s.
    *maybe for autohaus, who has been driving yaris found out that yaris is better than savvy?

shall we stick to the main topic?

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 1:08 pm

Well done Proton,i juz say Hi:) it’s all began with hard work from you all..and..d**d to all basher..ngee..

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 1:20 pm

they only did so to maintain good relations with the malaysian government

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 1:23 pm

From BERNAMA… http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v5/newsgeneral.php?id=383580

The list, which is prepared annually, covers a whole range of criteria, from value for money through to drivability, performance, fuel economy and sheer good looks.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 1:25 pm

and i think the list goes like “list of 10 cars that i prefer” during the survey….

• mazdalama (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 1:27 pm

autohaus must be kicking himself everytime proton rise to the occasion.

such a pathetic sore loser!

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 1:34 pm

offtopic>>
    “..and i think the list goes like “list of 10 cars that i prefer” during the survey…”
    kelakar :D

• Bosz_1551 (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 1:49 pm

Cayalah Proton.. This prove that we Malaysian can oso be standing in the eyes of the world if we ever given a fair chance and level ground. Keep it up Proton..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 2:20 pm

if you read the original article, the savvy was voted by the papers motoring writers.. so its not just one person’s point of view.

i also believe part of the reason could be thanks to proton’s good sales in thailand, which makes these guys sit up and notice proton.

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 2:26 pm

just accept it .. bashers!

• si-fu (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 2:29 pm

Wohoooo….SAVVY ROCKS!!!!

I am driving a savvy, indeed its A SUPERB CAR!!!….just tat its needs ‘special attention’ due to its french breed….

CHEERS!!!

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 4:03 pm

mazdalama: I asked a valid question, and you dont even know how to read and answer accordingly. It is just like I ask what is your name and you tell me your dad is from Ipoh.

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 4:07 pm

I have never for once mention in my replies that Savvy is a bad, lousy, superb or good car. Are you guys illetrate or just don’t understand simple English? Or do you all work for Proton?

All I asked for is since the Savvy is selling so well in Thailand, What was it competing against with? What car about the same size and engine capacity?

• kei9 (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 4:12 pm

Not bad.
    Let the unbiased thinking continue and see what will happen in the near future.

• mazdalama (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 4:35 pm

well, your question is disputing the survey made by the thais! are you a thai?

can’t you just accept the fact that thai people love savvy for whatever reason other than your irrelevant opinion?

some people just wont admit defeat.

• michishige (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 4:36 pm

my brother’s Savvy handles as good as my father’s Z4.

full stop.

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 4:46 pm

mazdalama, malas dh aku nk layan “rumahkereta”.
    buat xtau sudah.
    aku rasa mamat tu buat survey.
    kalu dia tanya, kita jawab salah (ataupun xikut ckp dia)
    kita kena maki pulak.
    “rumahkereta” ye la, ko la terer, plg faham sume2, plg bes etc.

lol ?

• heeman (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 4:59 pm

I heard that the Savvy in Thailand are better spec-ed than those in M’sia. Anyone know the differences?

• overflow (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 5:09 pm

wo my comment have been delete ka…
    to all basher please get some real spec and fact…

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 5:12 pm

it is not competition among cars… it is just like the list of “10 cars that i prefer” like i mention before…

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 5:34 pm

BTW just a silly question…… do we really compare vehicle by it’s engine capacity?

I usually hear ppl comparing by their class… compact car, sedan, mpv etc….

if by engine hmmm…. can compare ke… gen2 1.3 with avanza 1.3??

LOL… dun be mad… just a silly question… =p

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 5:38 pm

autohaus said,

January 15, 2009 @ 4:07 pm

I have never for once mention in my replies that Savvy is a bad, lousy, superb or good car. Are you guys illetrate or just don’t understand simple English? Or do you all work for Proton?

All I asked for is since the Savvy is selling so well in Thailand, What was it competing against with? What car about the same size and engine capacity?

———————————————————–

Let me answer your question. Same class as Savvy in Thailand is Kia Picanto and Naza Sutera.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 5:38 pm

michishige said,

January 15, 2009 @ 4:36 pm

my brother’s Savvy handles as good as my father’s Z4.

full stop.

Bro, are you for real? Z4? can anybody else confirm this? coz i’m in the market for a car now..

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 5:45 pm

You mean savvy can attack corners like a Z4? awesome! I know it does’nt have the power, but excellent handling like dat is what i like in the city..

• lambov12 (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 5:53 pm

erm …
    not so sure bout the acceleraton and handling of this savvy ..

anyway, congrats proton for this achievement ..

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 6:11 pm

whatever that touches proton name…. never get just few comments… ahaha…

it shows that, malaysians are concern about proton… to live or to die…

• aminbotak (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 6:27 pm

http://paultan.org/archives/2005/08/23/proton-savvy-and-perodua-myvi-handling/

• knight_templar (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 8:27 pm

In all fairness, the Savvy is not great neither is it bad. Of course its an improvement but its sort of like an ongoing project. Anyways Fifth Gear once did a comparo using a Savvy, Atos and some ugly city car and the Savvy came out tops in a hill climb with four blokes aboard. I guess it gets the job done, but leaves you a bit wanting. When it was launched, the Savvy was also given TUV approval, a first for Proton i think. Btw if Proton can survive independently and contribute to the nations economy then i have no problem wit it…

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 8:45 pm

That 5th gear test was easily won by Savvy as it had the most Bhp compared to other cars. Don’t rest on laurels and also please make better cars.

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 9:15 pm

mazdalama: disputing? do you know what does that word mean before you write anything. adui….dont make a shame of yourself here la

fargmee, kalau soalan senang pun tak erti jawab, tapi ditokok tambah dengan perkara yang tidak relevan, tak yah la post…jangan buang masa…

misterbenjo: thanks for the simple and direct answer. that was all i asked for.

• V8 (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 9:30 pm

Jaguar XF, the BMW 320d, the Volvo S80 3.2, the MINI Cooper S Clubman, the Honda City, the Honda Jazz, the Ford Focus 2.0 TDCi, the Mitsubishi Pajero Sport, the Subaru Impreza STI and Proton Savvy.

Why got no toyota in the list? Can anyone here tell me? you? with the most posting here, autohaus?

• alfreddd (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 9:50 pm

LET US (CHINESE) USE JAPANESE CAR (THE RACE THAT KILLS MILLION OF US IN MAINLAND AND SOUTH EAST ASIA!!!

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 9:59 pm

======
    ++++++

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

January 14, 2009 @ 10:19 pm

i suppose thats as un-bias a statement as we can possibly get from a non-malaysian source about proton.

direct and equal competition without any protection. very interesting result from proton.

++++++
    ======

To quote banyakmasukworkshop’s original comment, “competition” here refers to the PRICE TAG. We here get taxed “heavily” to make it “unfair” n “force” ppl to buy P1. But if the tax factor is taken out, which is possible if it’s outside Msia, how does Savvy fare out against the rest? Turned out that it’s as good as Jaguar, as Kosmo! pointed out. And I’m nt joking, while havin lunch just now, Kosmo! actually put a heading of “Proton Savvy sama bagus macam Jaguar di Thailand” or sumthin like that. The whole news is practically the same here albeit in BM. I had a great laugh so much that I hardly digested my nasi kandar properly :D

So the fault is not in Savvy. Cuz in an “open market” with no AP, no 999999% tax, where Toyota costs as much as a sandwich, Savvy by merit is a brilliant car. So why doesn’t it work here?

Tau la ada org tu dtg dari Germany, rumah dia byk kereta berbintang tiga penjuru (tayang je la, tak keluar rumah pun ahaha), tapi ntah nape ntah dia still mau dtg sini bagitau cerita nenek moyang dia yg Proton ni “Asia’s answer to BMW” la, “power window forever fails” la, “govt tax like mad” la……

I won’t advice “u tak suka, u keluar dari msia”, but mayb some ppl here rly need some fresh air. I therefore advice if anyone feels Msia sux, feel free to experience life in Thailand/US/UK/Australia/Japan for a year. Then pls do come back here n share ur experience. With pics of ur own Lambor Reventon ;) Reventon is cheap in those countries, right? Man, if oni I remember who was it that said Reventon is cheap……

• michishige (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 9:59 pm

@mukhri88

savvy as good as z4 when handling corner.
    you got my word there.

but my bro changed to r3 sport spring and he used 15inch oz ultraleggera with 195/45/r15 yokohoma s-drive tyres.

maybe that did it?

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 10:08 pm

V8: I dont have the answer. Perhaps you can try asking the guys who gave the award what sort of criteria they were looking at before giving the award? If you observe the list carefully, do you not find it funny for the Mini Cooper S Clubman to be in the list? What do they like so much about the Clubman which selling price is close to 3 million Baht? How many of them were actually sold there? Also the Jaguar XF and Pajero Sport.

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 10:13 pm

heeman: the Savvys sold in Thai are just the same as what we have here. nothing more nothing less.

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 10:19 pm

yeah…savvy good in handling.. just like Wira… but what’s the point if simple tech like power window also fail… i just need a decent car and not lotus, z3 or v6… give us something like Honda City, Vios even Accent kinda quality…

most comment who like savvy likes speeding and cornering with lightning speed… what for?

if can, then stop the AP system.. y ask for extension … cannot survive? shame.. still ask for milk…. source ..http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/1/13/business/3004577&sec=business

• tiadaid (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 10:34 pm

NoToLowQuality said,

January 15, 2009 @ 10:19 pm

yeah…savvy good in handling.. just like Wira… but what’s the point if simple tech like power window also fail… i just need a decent car and not lotus, z3 or v6… give us something like Honda City, Vios even Accent kinda quality…

—————————————————————-

Aiee…still with the old story of the power window…so far I haven’t heard anything about the power windows on the new Saga & Personas. But speaking about power windows, I own a Honda City, and the power window on the driver sideis failing. Not to mention all the radiator hoses I have to replace as well as two new sets of tyres! For some reason the car eats tyres like it’s hungry for rubber, eventhough I did everything possible!

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 10:47 pm

tiadaid…

yeah.. u r rite… nothing bad about new Saga & Personas. Yet, i don plan to buy any of those due to my bad experiences from proton cars… same for you i suppose, if you have bad exp for Honda City, sell it off and get your self a proton!! indeed power window issue is an old story but it will haunt proton forever due to it’s slacking pace in handling those issue for the past 20 years…

• autohaus (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 10:48 pm

tiadaid: which City model you refering to? How old is it? Failing as in how? Why would you need to replace ALL the radiator hoses? Which hose broke? Cracked? Car eat tyre???? Care to elaborate on this and what have you done? Have you lodged a complaint to Honda Malaysia?

• kevyeap (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 11:20 pm

Hello all,

I am glad the Proton gets into the top 10 list. This might propagate the sale of Proton and helps Malaysia economy (if any), which is a good thing.

I am hoping this can be the sole reason for Government to abolish NAP. Am I dreaming?

The caveat is, as Bernama quoted,
    Savvy was the cheapest car priced between 399,000 baht and 460,000 baht.

The question remains, can Savvy gets into the top 10 list if it’s selling higher than 460,000 baht?

To put thing in perspective, in US, Honda Accord / Toyota Camry are selling started from RM68, 000 (not a typo, RM 68K) with all the safety features.

• f1 (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 12:05 am

Guys dont get too xcited yet coz its only a thai daily top 10 pick & its not top 10 sales in thai nor top 10 thai ppl’s choice car. Pls be cool

• imsick (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 12:27 am

yes, its just a top 10 pick.
    but it stood at the level of BMW, MINI, JAGUAR & etc…

toyota? honda? ford? mitsubishi?

then, its not just a normal SAVVY.

• frossonice (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 12:34 am

I don’t think the writer was comparing Savvy with all those car. Maybe the writer wrote the article based on his/her driving experience with Savvy and all those car.

Look at the list, they jumble up everything. It is definitely not a comparison or match up thingy. More like preference. What they like and what they dislike. Thats it. You can stop worry about which car the Savvy thumbed to get into the top 10 spot there.

But then again… nahhhh. Bashers will always be bashers.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 12:38 am

======
    ++++++

NoToLowQuality said,

January 15, 2009 @ 10:47 pm

indeed power window issue is an old story but it will haunt proton forever due to it’s slacking pace in handling those issue for the past 20 years…

++++++
    ======

For the past 20 yrs, Proton didn’t hv DSZ as MD.

IIANM, Proton’s qc was so-so, the perception was more or less like today’s Perodua’s qc when Dato’ Nadzmi was the MD (now he’s back as the chairman, yea!!). after his term ended ard mid 90s, things got worse when Proton was ‘privatised’ to DRB Group led by the late Tan Sri Yahya. Bt it was nothing much really until along came TM, always remembered for his famous “Asia’s answer to BMW” sheez.

Wounds can heal. From what I hear, optimism n positive feelings help to speed it up. You’re obviously the opposite when it concerns Proton. Open up ur eyes, DSZ hv been “perodua-ising” Proton the past 4 yrs edi.

My 1991 Saga’s p/w is still going strong today…. so is my dad’s 2002 Waja.

• nizam80 (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 12:39 am

What??? Vios-gong and Avonzas are not in the list??? This can’t be!!! They must be in the list somewhere!!!

Anyway, if you want a TRUE drivers car with an affordable price tag, get the Savvy. Trust me on this one.

• mazdalama (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 9:06 am

autohaus is trying hard to ridicule me but seems like he is making himself look like a total loser instead. so sad come to think of it.

poor deluded nitwit!

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 9:15 am

offtopic>>
    autohaus said,

January 15, 2009 @ 9:15 pm

fargmee, kalau soalan senang pun tak erti jawab, tapi ditokok tambah dengan perkara yang tidak relevan, tak yah la post…jangan buang masa…

autohaus,
    jangan baca post aku, buang masa.
    jangan baca..
    baca lagi? kn dh cakap jangan baca..
    baca juga? suka hati la.
    xbaca pn xrugi :)

i myself dun want to take the news seriously.
    just extract what is important, for pleasure reading.
    if i want comparison, i can browse thru the older postings here in PT.org.
    we all have ideas, we love to share them :)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 9:18 am

f1 said,
    January 16, 2009 @ 12:05 am

Guys dont get too xcited yet coz its only a thai daily top 10 pick & its not top 10 sales in thai nor top 10 thai ppl’s choice car. Pls be cool

proton is top 7th in the thai automarket for 2008

• f1 (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 10:34 am

tq BMW 4 d info, i’m not againts p1 nor p2 as long as its good car, good design & most important good price i’ll buy it. Whether the car can sell or not its another question only can be answered by the market. Nowadays which of our national car r d most on the road & y? Saga sales way better than Savvy y? Myvi sales even more better than Savvy y? Y is Savvy selling better in Thai than here? Do we need Thai to tell us what to buy? If p1 is getting better y still wanna jv back with Mitsu after more than a decade apart? Dont they(p1) hv d xperience & xpertise after more than 20 yrs in d industry?

very much appreciated if any 1 xpert can give me clear answer to these Qs.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 10:52 am

why buy a savvy when u can get a hyundai i10, oh wait, this stupid country taxation laws favour proton

• king (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 10:55 am

http://paultan.org/archives/2005/08/23/proton-savvy-and-perodua-myvi-handling/

so the average malaysian spend 50k on a myvi, then spend another 10-15k to modify his myvi to “passola” version bodykit, bigger rims and tyres, engine upgrades, exhaust system, weight reduction, BMW grille just to nearly match a stock standard savvy in track performance.

the savvy truly is a winner then at 60% of the price.

See how the rich fool the poor???

• mazdalama (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 11:09 am

i am not an xpert but want to share my 2 cents here anyway.

i am sure by now proton has the necessary experience and expertise. but you know as they say, two heads are better than one. so why restricting ourselves when designing something acceptable/desirable universally and still making money out of it? hence the takeovers and joint ventures.

and i always feel that the proton bashers are suffering from ‘if it is foreign, it must be superior’ syndrom. and perodua is part foreign (rebadging of daihatsus and toyotas).

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 11:09 am

bila proton sukses di luar negara..
    ada pula tak kena itula inilah…
    jualanlah,politiklah,pesainglah…
    biarlah itu pilihan mereka…
    hak mereka nak pilih kereta
    mana mereka suka…

kalau savvy diundi utk
    cars of the year….
    tak tahulah komen apa
    keluar nanti…….

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 11:13 am

hi F1,

i’m not saying you’re against or not.. just sharing info only.

why the savvy didnt sell here, i dont really know, but i’ll give it a shot. i think it was a combination of bad timing plus poor customer management on protons part at that time. i think from 2001 to 2005, proton totally ignored their customers, and just did whatever they liked. quality issues was also at an all time high and i think people were just sick and tired.. also, calling the savvy the tiara replacement wasnt a very smart move at all.

My guess is, when the savvy was launched in thailand, they did not have all these bad experiences with proton like us malaysians did. they look at it with a fresh perspective, and could see that the savvy was actually a decent car.

but I cant agree with what you said about proton and mitsu.. today, its the norm for all car companies to be working together on something together.. its saves cost. the car industry today is no longer the same from 10 yrs ago. if you want to put it from that point of view, then why does BMW, who has won engine of the year every year like forever decide to work with peuqeot to come up with an engine together? or why does nissan go to lotus to work on their chassis and handling package? and so many other examples…

and also dont forget, 20 yrs in the car biz is nothing.. if you look back at toyota at 20 yrs old.. they were totally crap.. even all the korean car companies today are more than 30 years old and some much older.

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 11:26 am

f1, it’s very difficult to answer those Qs without hard fact.
    it looks as if it is a case study or economy paper.
    thorough study has to be made :)

imo, as per si-fu’s comments,
    i think proton has the potential&capability to design&produce a vehicle.

somehow it seems very hard to achieve economy of scale for Proton (?).

• GOGOobama (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 3:15 pm

lets us boycott barangan buatan malaysia, bcoz all product is copy and paste…copy cat…of coz boycott PROTON… ( ben4 dan4 ) ! in malay means BODOH.. proton is for gov use…. the worlds cheap car ! balik kampung la proton…DR proton mahathir also bodoh one, wanna follow ppl manufature the car… but till today… proton is not 100% technology sendiri…take here take there to built/ copy here copy there….wat a shame..!!!

• GOGOobama (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 3:19 pm

malaysia proton wira since 1993 till 2008… wat a long generation for this old wira model… if honda/toyota and many many more import car , can make up to 3 generation liao…hahahaaha…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 3:25 pm

GOGOobama said,
    January 16, 2009 @ 3:19 pm

malaysia proton wira since 1993 till 2008… wat a long generation for this old wira model… if honda/toyota and many many more import car , can make up to 3 generation liao…hahahaaha…
    ———————————–
    you can still buy the vw golf mk1 brand new in south africa, likewise the late 80’s toyota corolla.

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 4:03 pm

GOGOobama = Dumbo + bimbo + in pms on loose….. Alert!!

• GOGOobama (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 4:21 pm

wakakaka

• GOGOobama (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 4:24 pm

perak , selangor state now also buy toyota camry 2.4 as their gov use car….they also condem ab proton perdana…

• mazdalama (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 4:37 pm

best we leave the COOCOOmama alone.

scary!

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 7:50 pm

tokmoh…
    Wounds can heal. From what I hear, optimism n positive feelings help to speed it up. You’re obviously the opposite when it concerns Proton. Open up ur eyes, DSZ hv been “perodua-ising” Proton the past 4 yrs edi.

yes… Wounds can and will heal, and with optimism n positive feelings help to speed it up too!! but wounds does leave scars which will last forever…
    when i try to open my eyes, i can still see those scars… get it? people lost confident due to simple tech failure like power window, door, paint and etc…

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 7:52 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

January 16, 2009 @ 3:25 pm

GOGOobama said,
    January 16, 2009 @ 3:19 pm

———————————–
    you can still buy the vw golf mk1 brand new in south africa, likewise the late 80’s toyota corolla.
    ——————————-
    the golf was a good car. the non altis corolla was a good car. the wira is not.

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 7:55 pm

mazdalama
    “i always feel that the proton bashers are suffering from ‘if it is foreign, it must be superior’ syndrom. and perodua is part foreign (rebadging of daihatsus and toyotas)”

ha ha ha… we, the people do not suffer from ‘if it is foreign, it must be superior’ syndrom… to be exact, we are suffering from ‘if it is foreign. cannot buy, must buy proton’ syndrom.. get it?
    and worst of all, the quality given was way too low then expected as smart consumer… that’s the main reason people buy perodua due to it’s quality… at least better than proton if not foreign make..

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 8:10 pm

so you think viva had quality?
    think again!

• tiadaid (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 9:31 pm

NoToLowQuality said,

January 16, 2009 @ 7:55 pm
    ha ha ha… we, the people do not suffer from ‘if it is foreign, it must be superior’ syndrom… to be exact, we are suffering from ‘if it is foreign. cannot buy, must buy proton’ syndrom.. get it?
    and worst of all, the quality given was way too low then expected as smart consumer… that’s the main reason people buy perodua due to it’s quality… at least better than proton if not foreign make..

—————————————————————-

Quality? Wat quality? Even the most touted brand for reliability Honda got problems! How many ppl have problems with the City’s CVT? Many! And yet people still see Proton as being the one with the poor quality. I’ve own both Proton and Honda cars and I must say, my Gen-2 hasn’t given me any big problems since I bought it, whereas my City has given me nothing but trouble. Just today I have to change the cooling coil for the aircon because somehow oil has clogged it until the aircon cannot function, 500 bucks. But because the cooling coil is behind the firewall, have to disassemble the dashboard, another 200 bucks for labor. The most I’ve ever spent on my Gen-2 was to repaint it!

• tiadaid (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 9:36 pm

Oh, and I don’t have any power window problems on my 2005 Gen-2. So yes, I think I will buy another Proton!

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 9:58 pm

tiadaid… like i said b4, if honda give you problem.. just do not buy them… then buy proton… cause like u said b4, no problem for you… for me proton gives me problem and when i drive honda city no problem… in fact i hate proton so much as it gives me loads of issues and i end it.. gladly…
    just like a handset, if nokia give you problem, change to sony e… just do not force us to buy something not our fav choice…

up to today, the main issue here is why proton got special privileged? all of us hate it bcos of this special privileged… remove it and proton will not have any basher.. ever

don compare with perodua or other local make… as all of those make do not produce sedan car other than proton… even at the very least, let perodua compete in the sedan segment…

tiadaid … good tat u plan to buy another proton… i rather exchange my proton with your city…i m sure proton salesman will gladly accept your offer too…

bmpower – “so you think viva had quality?”… can you pls define your quality… mine is simple… can drive from point A to point B without burning fire… and yes, the honk, lights, power window, door and the paint are all fine..

it does not means that small car do not have quality… or cheap economical car do not come with quality… pls define yours…

• madimat (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 10:24 pm

my Comment on GOGOObama was removed. May i know why?
    Now i know that my most admired motor blog also practice censorship.

Perhaps Paultan.org might lost one of the most loyal fan…

Thank You.

Paul Tan says: As you know, GOGOObama was mentioning sensitive issues and looking at how jumpy the ISA is these days… I rather remove those sensitive comments by him and whatever that has been commented in relation to the sensitive comments. Let’s all just pretend it didn’t happen in the first place. I hope you understand why I had to do it. P.S. Notice I have left his comments that insult Proton but have no relation to any particular race or religion.

• tiadaid (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 11:25 pm

NoToLowQuality said,

January 16, 2009 @ 9:58 pm

up to today, the main issue here is why proton got special privileged? all of us hate it bcos of this special privileged… remove it and proton will not have any basher.. ever

don compare with perodua or other local make… as all of those make do not produce sedan car other than proton… even at the very least, let perodua compete in the sedan segment…

January 15, 2009 @ 10:47 pm

indeed power window issue is an old story but it will haunt proton forever due to it’s slacking pace in handling those issue for the past 20 years…

—————————————————–

What special privilege? If it’s the tax structure, why nobody use the same excuse for Perodua? They benefit too you know, but then you’ll see more Proton-bashers than Perodua-bashers. If it “will haunt proton forever due to it’s slacking pace in handling those issue for the past 20 years”, it’s because those who raise the issue can’t see, or don’t want to acknowledge that Proton could change, and so far I’ve seen improvements in the new Saga & Persona.

Speaking of issue haunting a car company forever, foreign car companies also have issues that can haunt them forever too, some of them much more serious than whether the power window fails. Take the issue for example of the Ford Motor Company. They’ve produced a car known as the Pinto which, when rear-ended even in a slow accident, can cause the car to burst in flames! And there’s damning evidence that Ford executives knew about it beforehand but did not take action to save money! You think that Ford buyers now think about that! No! What about the Mercedes A-Class? The car had a propensity to roll-over when they conducted the elk test where they have to swerve while at speed. You think people think about that when buying a Mercedes? No! Ford again, with the Explorer/Firestone controversy. Or the Mitsubishi recall scandal a while back which saw even the Perdanas being called for checks. See the big picture here?

But here in Malaysia, we keep banging on and on about power windows as if Proton can’t change and will keep on making faulty power windows until the world ends. I doubt that would change even if Proton makes a car that’s of Rolls-Royce handmade quality.

On your Perodua point, just because they don’t make a sedan, doesn’t mean you can’t compare between Perodua & Proton! They’re chasing after the same target market, using cars that are of almost similar spec in terms of engine capacity. And that engine capacity similarity lumps them together; Saga vs. Myvi, Viva vs Savvy. Why cannot compare?

• maserati (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 11:51 pm

OMG,this cheap junk can get into top 10? Plslah,ppl in the right mind will definately wont buy this shitload.

Anyway,to savvy lovers,have all the fun now cause there wont be many in times to come.

Most probably this will be the only time you can boast about having superb handling and good accelaration which is just a whole load off bullcrap,obviously to keep relationships with M’sia happy.

Anyway,I will never buy a Proton again even if the handling is like a LOTUS.

Good Riddance,Bad Rubbish!

• eng. (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 12:34 am

madimat said,

January 16, 2009 @ 10:24 pm

my Comment on GOGOObama was removed. May i know why?
    Now i know that my most admired motor blog also practice censorship.

Perhaps Paultan.org might lost one of the most loyal fan…

Thank You.

Paul Tan says: As you know, GOGOObama was mentioning sensitive issues and looking at how jumpy the ISA is these days… I rather remove those sensitive comments by him and whatever that has been commented in relation to the sensitive comments. Let’s all just pretend it didn’t happen in the first place. I hope you understand why I had to do it. P.S. Notice I have left his comments that insult Proton but have no relation to any particular race or religion.

when I read gogobama comment, im waithing paul to remove that comment…and thanks paul to remove it, to madimat jangan dilayan gogoobama tu, dia bagi komen tuk menyakit kan hati sume orang, bukan ko sorang je…

• tiadaid (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 12:51 am

maserati said,

January 16, 2009 @ 11:51 pm

OMG,this cheap junk can get into top 10? Plslah,ppl in the right mind will definately wont buy this shitload.

Anyway,to savvy lovers,have all the fun now cause there wont be many in times to come.

Most probably this will be the only time you can boast about having superb handling and good accelaration which is just a whole load off bullcrap,obviously to keep relationships with M’sia happy.

Anyway,I will never buy a Proton again even if the handling is like a LOTUS.

Good Riddance,Bad Rubbish!

———————————————–

What YOU’RE saying IS BULLCRAP. I can’t believe there are M’sians like you who can’t acknowledge the fact that Proton could have a car that may warrant some compliment. “No, there’s no Proton that’s good but because we Thais must take care of our relationship with Malaysia, so we must put a Proton in our list.” So in that case, all the other cars in the list must be there to appease the country of origin?!

Ppl like you make me sick! You’re gonna the ones who will bring Malaysia down!

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 7:27 am

I really hope the authorities have found out what gogobama said and have figured out where he lives and send someone to shoot his ass.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 9:53 am

tiadaid,

a thrash like maserati can’t bring msia down….. he brought himself down already. As it is now,oni another thrash will agree with his sheez.

NoToLowQuality,

Hmm…. I hv a few questions for u before I proceed anything anymore with u: Do u like the BMW E90 3-series? Is it a good car to u? Do you think BMW as a whole is a good car manufacturer?

• elpaciko (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 10:47 am

maserati, alpina bmw and audi, are they related?

and i dont mean the car manufacturer..

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 1:14 pm

i think i want design a car like maserati, with a quality of honda or toyota, with the proton price tag and handling like lotus…

i am savvy person….

• nizam80 (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 6:44 pm

tiadaid, just ignore that maserati guy. He’s just pissed coz his Vios (with GT-wing) kene tapau by Savvy. muahaha..

• mukodiat (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 7:52 pm

me own of chilli red savvy for 4 years, i dont have a problem with it….love when turn corner, feeling ride on go-kart….keep it Proton, we love Malaysian Made…..

• dolanmin (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 9:27 pm

How much does Proton pay to get into the list……

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 11:17 pm

dolanmin said,

January 17, 2009 @ 9:27 pm

————————-
    6 c4 bombs

• topgunthang (Member) on Jan 18, 2009 at 3:31 pm

like with all car reviews…..you need to take it from the car reviewers point of view. in reviews they cannot acknowledge how bad they feel in a car. when they sit into a cheap econocar, they need to block that aspect out from thier mind in order to judge the car fairly. yes the savvy is mentioned a very few reports as being a good handler but is rarely recommened as a good buy espeically when there are far better competition around.
    you can take the advice of this motoring report and go out and buy yourself a savvy and convince yourself its money well spent. or you could read reports from all over the world and see what your missing out. but then again, ive never seen an article in msia saying how bad proton is comparing to the competition. its a fair bet to say none of the journalist or testers in the article will go out and buy a savvy.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 18, 2009 at 7:06 pm

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,
    January 15, 2009 @ 1:56 am

proton cronies must have fed their balls up.

———————————————–

definitely……… i gotta shock lookin at this news…. According to Top Gear…. Savvy is one piece of crap….. Dun be proud with wad Thailand ranks us… they dont have their own car manufacturers in the first place…

• si-fu (Member) on Jan 18, 2009 at 7:55 pm

Paul, where is my comment? Kena remove ker? I dont remeber posting anything related to religion or race or politics or government? Can i know why my comment was removed?

• tiadaid (Member) on Jan 18, 2009 at 8:42 pm

topgunthang said,

January 18, 2009 @ 3:31 pm

like with all car reviews…..you need to take it from the car reviewers point of view. in reviews they cannot acknowledge how bad they feel in a car.

————————————————

That’s total bull. Jeremy Clarkson and the gang at Top Gear does it all the time. Why can’t you just accept the fact that the compliments on the Proton Savvy is actually based on merit? This is not a list compiled by a Malaysian journalist, but it’s by a Thai business paper. Why can’t Proton be complimented at all?

• aenz81 (Member) on Jan 18, 2009 at 9:47 pm

dolanmin said,

January 17, 2009 @ 9:27 pm

—————————————————————-

How much this cars manufacturer pay Thai’s Business papers to put their cars on the list——>Jaguar XF, the BMW 320d, the Volvo S80 3.2, the MINI Cooper S Clubman, the Honda City, the Honda Jazz, the Ford Focus 2.0 TDCi, the Mitsubishi Pajero Sport and the Subaru Impreza STI.

And how much Proton and paultan.org pay “Proton supporters” to put thier fair comments on the paultan.org websites?? none.. as they want to judged the CARS at it’s was should be with the “positively thinking” rather than “blindly bashing”….

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 18, 2009 at 10:31 pm

Proton. Either you love it or hate it! Everyone have the right to give their two cents worth. No comments are either silly or stupid. All want to learn something new everyday n where better to but at the forum of none other than paultan.org’s.
    Paul is fair to all, but don’t tell him what to or not to do. He is after all D real si-fu here. The forum’s his, right? In a football match, if you try to tell the referee to show a card to an opposing player, you MIGHT be shown a card instead. Get it?
    Positive or negative comments, all deserved to be heard here at Paul’s. That’s why this forum is so colourful n lively. You bash me, I bash you, all in fairness but pls guys, there’s a limit to everything. Pls don’t include sensitive issues, if you know what I mean. At the end of the day, we’re all here to learn n at the same time have some fun. That is what that made this forum of Paul’s, D top forum on the automotive industry.
    To all you guys out there, let your two cents worth be heard!

Cherios!

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jan 18, 2009 at 11:39 pm

tiadaid

“What special privilege? If it’s the tax structure, why nobody use the same excuse for Perodua? They benefit too you know, but then you’ll see more Proton-bashers than Perodua-bashers.”
    – simple.. perodua produce good cars starting from Kelisa onwards.. before that like rusa, kancil and kembara was not that good.. i must admit… if perodua ever come up myvi with faulty honk, lights, paint, door or even power window in an unacceptable volume… i m sure it will fall the same fate as proton.

“On your Perodua point, just because they don’t make a sedan, doesn’t mean you can’t compare between Perodua & Proton! They’re chasing after the same target market, using cars that are of almost similar spec in terms of engine capacity. And that engine capacity similarity lumps them together; Saga vs. Myvi, Viva vs Savvy. Why cannot compare?”
    -comparing engine capacity is not enuf..if you can compare Myvi with Saga base on engine alone, then it is the same for Toyota Avanza 1.3 and Saga 1.3? sedan means sedan… if only perodua can compete in this segment, i m sure it will hit proton very hard… the fact perodua did not come up with sedan simply due to some special privileged for proton to grow up.

“Or the Mitsubishi recall scandal a while back which saw even the Perdanas being called for checks. See the big picture here?”
    – yeah… Mitsu scandal and recall…. did you mention the word “recall”?

“Ppl like you make me sick! You’re gonna the ones who will bring Malaysia down!”
    -come on… you say like Proton is the main pillar of Malaysia economy… To the public, we are not proud of proton to be honest.. the only way…. THE ONLY AND ONE WAY, proton can make us proud is the day when the car industry is FAIR COMPETITION and NO CONTROL and yet… proton can survive.. then it’s the moment that proton can claim it’s glorious title.. until then, rest your breath telling me hu hu ha ha about proton…

I like and respect perodua simply bcos it has it’s limits in car business like sedan or even 1.5/ 1,6 liter segment, yet it continue to thrive and surprise us. best of all, it does give us a proper car to drive around…(not racing like lotus)

tokmoh
    “Hmm…. I hv a few questions for u before I proceed anything anymore with u: Do u like the BMW E90 3-series? Is it a good car to u? Do you think BMW as a whole is a good car manufacturer?”
    -i m not speed hungry and i don think i will like a race car for my everyday transport. i have never drive in any BMW b4 and not a car enthusiast.. so no idea what is BMW E90 3-series.. if you are talking about the new BMW 3-series, then i know.. looks really slick and nice from the outside and inside.

Do i think BMW is a good car manufacturer? well, i wonder how you can come up with those question… if you ask me do i think Proton/ Perodua is a good car manufacturer.. the answer is yes.. in fact all of them yes. Main reason they produce car which can drive from point A to B and gives no problem.. i hope proton by now shu solve all those paint job, door and power window issues.

• ultraman_metalgrey (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 12:35 am

bla bla bla blu blu blu ble ble ble…boring…haha i like all comments

whatever it is proton savvy already a top 10 car of 2008 in Thailand…

dot.

• nizam80 (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 1:26 am

Si-fu,

I have read your comment also. It was far from offensive. You were just explaining the features of the Savvy and it’s advantages. I’m not sure why it went missing, and I don’t think Paul removed it. To make a comparison, my previous comment was more offensive/sarcastic and it is still there. Care to explain, Paul?

• Paul Tan on Jan 19, 2009 at 2:03 am

sorry guys i think it went missing during the server move. i just moved my blog from a server in the US to a server in malaysia (for faster access speed all thanks to tmnet screwing up its international website access) over the weekend and i think the comment got left on the old US server. no one was supposed to be able to access the old server anymore but thanks to incompetent tmnet yet again, their dns servers cached the dns entries way longer than they should have and kept pointing to the US server so some people continued to access the old server and must have left their comments there.

is it this one?

there are really alot of sickheads around here!!!!….i gues they come in a bunch or the same persons with different nicks! I think Paul should just delete all the rubbish comments or better still, just delete their account!!!

For those who ask legite questions, like F1, i am happy to answer them.

U see, when savvy was launched, first, it was at the wrong timing, it was delayed and launched after myvi. From initial perception, myvi looked better, in terms of space and so on, but in all fairness, myvi is no where even near as good as savvy in many aspects. To name few of it :-
    1) handling
    2) stability at high speeds
    3) steering feedback
    4) ergonomics ( seats, cockpit control positions, and pedal positions)
    5) safety ( simple safety features was omitted from myvi to cut cost, like front impact bar, reinforcements around the body, one way valve for the fuel tank [it prevents fuel from sipping out of the tank when ur car turtles so it doesnt blow up!!!!!!], rear impact bar, front end body closure thickness was reduced in place like the front bonet and side fenders and many more).
    What the point of having airbags, and abs + ebd if all this has been sacrifice????? U will be sardined between the airbags in a crash!!!!. Savvy with all the safety features, it has also extra airbags, abs and ebd in H-line for extra extra added safety features and it only cost 45k for AMT H-Line version. Which one is value for money?
    6) Fuel consumption (savvy excels in this and also was awarded for it)

This is all what MALAYSIAN’s couldn’t see or in another words WAS BLINDED BY MYVI and WHAT THE THAI’S REALIZED!!!! And also singaporeans!!!!!

Malaysians still have the mentality of ” whatever japenese is gud” and ” always looks as first priority” . If u see the european mentality, the dont bother looks or colour of the vehicle so much, but saftey and fuel consumption is their main concern. Thas why u see lot of ugly cars fron Renault, citroen and fiat. But they sell well, in their country, why? due to reasons i mentioned above.

Now, for why Proton collabrated back with mitsu….yes we can do our own car from zero up, but the problem is we dont have economic of scale. We dont sell enuf to get out investment back. Our ROI (Return of Investment) period is too long…and malaysian market is saturated already. Firstly why we collabrated with mitsu, because they have access to huge markets like india where proton doesnt have, and we have access to markets where mitus doesnt have like in iran and the middle east. In collabrating, we can achive faster ROI and better economic of scale. Another reason, when we collab, it cheaper to produce new engines and new models. Because cost will be shared by both, and the product will be used by both. so u spend little and and u get ur investment back faster and start making profit. Its like wat Kia and mitsu and another company did ( which i couldnt remember rite now) with GEMA series engine. they develop together, low cost but all 3 of them are using it. so u reach economic of scale faster. (huh letih menaip). Enuf la for now ek?

Cheers guys and hav a nice weekend!

• imsick (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 2:17 am

yeah thats it. i really missed that post by si-fu.
    it would keep the bashers mouth shut :-D

• tiadaid (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 7:46 am

imsick said,

January 19, 2009 @ 2:17 am

yeah thats it. i really missed that post by si-fu.
    it would keep the bashers mouth shut

————————————————-

Bashers would continue to bash, even in the face of all the facts…

• tiadaid (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 7:48 am

NoToLowQuality said,

January 18, 2009 @ 11:39 pm
    “Or the Mitsubishi recall scandal a while back which saw even the Perdanas being called for checks. See the big picture here?”
    – yeah… Mitsu scandal and recall…. did you mention the word “recall”?

Yeah, there’s a recall. But only after they were forced to because the Japanese govt. discovered that they tried to cover it up!

• si-fu (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 8:56 am

YES PAUL….thats the one! Thx bro for not removing that….penat ooo tulis that…for a moment i just lost trust in Paultan.org…thank god its the server and not Paul Tan who had the problem….Hahahahahahahahaha….just joking Paul, no heart feelings ya….

imsick, i dont think the bashers will ever shut their mouth cause they can make the best car ever…they will continue bashing, we cant stop that….but what we can do is to ignore them. Its like the case of a dog barking at a tree, if the tree gives no reponse, the dog goes away quietly….u get wat i mean?

Cheers and hav a nice day!

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 10:13 am

offtopic>>
    si-fu, i’ll always love to hear auto comments from u.
    i learn a lot from si-fu’s posts.

back to topic>>
    drive savvy 1st, afterwards then bash.
    don’t just see & start bashing.

offtopic>>
    i love go-kart :)

• si-fu (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 10:36 am

thx farghmee, like i mentioned before long long time ago, my main aim to post comment here is to educate the public what actually proton has to offer….and try my level best to change the famous ‘malaysian mentality’, not to reveal any classified information from proton….hahahahahahaha

Cheers!

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 11:18 am

M’sians’ mentality of ‘Japanese is good’ is same as Proton’s mentality. If not, why the tie-up with Mitsubishi?

Weren’t there others who courted Proton? Maybe Proton found them to be unsuitable suitors, or maybe they found Proton not to be worthy investment after all?

• Fridz (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 12:51 pm

Agree with paul n sifu..

Malaysians (including me)..pls laa change the way we think..Malaysia have a 1st class facilities,but still got 3rd world mind thinking.

towards developed country..

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 1:05 pm

unitedtas said,
    January 19, 2009 @ 11:18 am

M’sians’ mentality of ‘Japanese is good’ is same as Proton’s mentality. If not, why the tie-up with Mitsubishi?

Weren’t there others who courted Proton? Maybe Proton found them to be unsuitable suitors, or maybe they found Proton not to be worthy investment after all?
    ————–

Ummm probably because mitsubishi did not ask to buy 51% of PROTON shares… or maybe because Mitsubishi did ask PROTON to let go its Tanjung Malim plant?

Btw wheneve you want to do any deal… first u shud check whether the deal is one sided… whether there’s a trick behind it….. for me… previous offers made to PROTON was one sided and does not guarantee any benefit for PROTON….

I bet you also don’t want to make any deal that is one sided and not give you any benefit….. or you r easily blinded that you accept any offer as long as it sounds good….???

I believe PROTON choose to collaborate with mitsubishi not because it is japanese… it is because the deal are good for both PROTON n Mitsubishi

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 1:25 pm

So u saying it’s a win-win situation?
    Then the Malaysian mentality is not without basis after all. Asian biz better espc if Japanese. Don’t do biz with the mat sallehs bcos they never let u win? They are always one-sided? Then again, aren’t we all?

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 4:07 pm

Win win situation? Why not? Proton rebadge mitsu cars and mitsu rebadge proton cars… both company’s economic scale will increase…. i believe that is a win win situation… unless ur win win situation is ummm like… malaysian national car makers… rebadge and downgraded japanese car all the way… and then give 50% profit to the japanese company….

I’m not saying western company is not good for colaboration… had VW has offered a fair deal to proton, I think proton would gladly accept the offer…

Like i said before, it is not whether the company is japanese or western… it is about getting a fair deal…

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 7:32 pm

I don’t think Mitsu will ever rebadge a Proton. It’s the other way round. Ok that’s good, but why give Proton an older version? Why not the current version n maybe do the launching together, Mitsu in Japan n Proton in M’sia? Are they short-changing us?

• tiadaid (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 7:35 pm

unitedtas said,

January 19, 2009 @ 7:32 pm

I don’t think Mitsu will ever rebadge a Proton. It’s the other way round.

————————————————————–

From what I’ve heard, they want to rebadge the Persona…

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 11:49 pm

People turn down a good car, any good car, sometimes based on silly reasons such as:
    -no autoflip wing mirrors
    -no autocruise
    -rear drums instead of rear disks
    -center meter console
    -insufficient rest angle on rear seats..lol
    -non-adjustable intermittent wiper..

Proton biggest mistakes on the Savvy was unacceptable rear ends. from pillars, rear lights, to the center exhaust tip. it just not right.

Otherwise, its a great car.

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 9:42 am

unitedtas said,

I don’t think Mitsu will ever rebadge a Proton. It’s the other way round. Ok that’s good, but why give Proton an older version? Why not the current version n maybe do the launching together, Mitsu in Japan n Proton in M’sia? Are they short-changing us?
    ————————-

Lol…. mitsu will rebadge proton’s persona and MPV if i’m not mistaken…. btw what old model??? proton will rebadge the new lancer… dun u ever read newspaper or watch news???

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 12:52 pm

LogicallyMad said,

January 20, 2009 @ 9:42 am

unitedtas said,

————————-

Lol…. mitsu will rebadge proton’s persona and MPV if i’m not mistaken…. btw what old model??? proton will rebadge the new lancer… dun u ever read newspaper or watch news???

Mitsu rebadging Proton is a great joke. Even you are not sure…….someone messing with your mind? Even if they do, God knows where they will send the cars to. Yes, Proton will rebadge the Lancer, but new??? Which new Lancer? The youngest Lancer that I know is now nearly a year old, n by the time Proton rebadges it….it will be…….how old, I don’t know, do you? Like I said earlier, launch a new Mitsu Lancer TOGETHER with a rebadged Proton Lancer. Now wouldn’t you just love that?

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 1:53 pm

It’s not a joke… it is a reality… it is just you that cannot accept the reality that other ppl see quality in proton cars…

BTW mitsubishi have just launched that lancer… do you think that they would launched a new one anytime soon??? what a joke….

no car maker in this world would launch a new model that will kill their previous model when its sales trend is still going up……??

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 3:41 pm

Unitedtas change car every year i guess. or else he has a bunch of old cars….

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 5:50 pm

NoToLowQuality,

Well, E90 is just the code name for the latest generation of 3-series. My fren has one, the one with 2.0L petrol engine bought in early 2007. After just a few days out of the showroom, he never got to see it for like….. 1 year? The whole time it was in the workshop with faulty electronics n stuff. Spare parts after spare parts shipped from Germany, his dad almost wanted to sue Naza, but what luck, the problem finally stopped. It’s nt rly abt Naza, bt the car. ONE friggin YEAR. What’s with BMW’s QC std? Even my dad’s 7-yr-old Waja has yet to spend a night in a workshop. Oh, sometime in the middle, fed up wit long wait, my fren’s dad got him a satria neo. It’s nt rly problem-free, bt much less headache than the beemer.

But I’m nt gonna generalise BMW as rubbish, complacent, blabla, (heck, I love the current M3 in fact, I’d buy it if I hv the money) bt it’s just that sheez can happen to anyone. Doesn’t necessarily mean the foreigns are all-good while our locals are all-bad. That’s life. Through 80 yrs of Toyota, surely, they’ve caused more scars on more ppl than Proton ever did to all Msians for the past 24 yrs, bt Toyota lives cuz they changed. N Proton’s doin that change. I’m nt sayin Proton absolutely no more pw problem today, bt knowing that the MD’s aware of it n looking hard into solving it is gud news for me, n it’s been so for the past 4 years, so the fruits of labour must’ve been felt with newer models. So I’m happy for that at least.

• adamccl (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 10:18 pm

I’ve driven a Proton Savvy before. I’ve criticised Savvy a lot, until when I saw the model with the R3 skirting and spoiler – fantastic! The rate of problem is still relatively low compared to the actual Mitty car such as the Saga LMST. Clutch pedal is high enough for control and feel. Although interior design, as the UK people called as “cheap plastic”, it actually has the space surprisingly so different from what you see outside. Too bad market is low due to MyVi promotion which surpassed the Savvy. But people who had driven the MyVi told me before – the 1.3l model is heavily fuel-consuming. Also, trust me, MyVi is a bad drifter (tried before). Savvy is fantastic. It can even catch the curve as it is. But we see this: Guys buy Savvy, Girls buy MyVi. Strange, huh?

• adamccl (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 10:31 pm

Let me tell you guys something – As much as we complain Proton in Malaysia, that’s how much the US users complain Mitsubishi cars there. As a whole, we became rubbish because we had a tie with a rubbish brand. Don’t think Lancer Evo X is a good model. I’ve seen the comment goes like this: “Why does my f—ing Lancer Evo X just overheat!” Therefore, Mitsubishi’s rubbish!

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 11:40 pm

Wisdom, I admit I change cars but not every year lah. In fact, it’s almost everyday. I drive so many cars in a week, I lost count of them. Today you might see me driving a Merc, 2mrw a Ssangyong, day after it might be Proton, Perodua, Volvo, BMW, Honda, Mitsubishi, Nissan, Fiat, Alfa, Citroen, Renault, Peugeot, Ford, Mazda, Toyota, Naza, Kia, Hyundai, Suzuki, Daihatsu so on n so forth. From bone-shakers to the latest, sedans, coupes, convertibles, pick-ups, vans, lorries, prime-movers, so on n so forth. Want me to list all the models I’ve driven? Naw! It’ll be too long a list. Most of my neighbours envy me, some even asking which one is actually my car. Want to go for a ride with me someday?

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 9:41 am

wah~ besnye unitedtas.
    i heard some1 like u, have driven so many cars.
    he owns a satria neo(?)

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 11:02 am

I see…. a mechanic probably…. or probably a driver at Port Klang =p

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 9:14 pm

he has a workshop…. he said it before…

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 9:24 pm

autojohndoe said,
    January 21, 2009 @ 9:14 pm

————————————–

the way put his point…. sighhs…
    sure got many screws left after he done repairing a car…

• fastcx (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 9:36 pm

adamccl said,
    But we see this: Guys buy Savvy, Girls buy MyVi. Strange, huh?
    —————————————————–
    easy explaination, people are superficial, means they looks at the surface. unless u r car enthusiast. but i cant agree with u on gender, its apply for all gender. lots of my girls told me, myvi is cute, tats y they like it..but when they actually what myvi inside(naked structure), they rather get another car..1 thing is for sure, female like direct stuff, simple n comprehensible items r best for them. many stuff bothers them in their life, so for stuff, as long as it works n not give them trouble, they will like it. haha same applies when they find partner ;) those who have gf, should know.

n i still love my s.neo!! :D

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 10:40 pm

Wisdom said,

January 21, 2009 @ 9:24 pm

autojohndoe said,
    January 21, 2009 @ 9:14 pm

————————————–

the way put his point…. sighhs…
    sure got many screws left after he done repairing a car…

FYI…I don’t repair cars. I didn’t say I have a workshop. I said I run a workshop. How many types of workshops can you guys think of? Huh? C’mon! Only car repair workshop? Well, those screws left behind must be from your heads then! Hint: Even KWSP runs workshops.

• aenz81 (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 12:08 pm

unitedtas,
    u use “I run a workshop” for proving that u know about engine (reffer to ur previous comment above) that why their think that u run a car workshop with the way u talk about engine, HP, PS, torque and etc…no offense my friend, just being fair…

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 6:14 pm

aenz81 said,

January 22, 2009 @ 12:08 pm

unitedtas,
    u use “I run a workshop” for proving that u know about engine (reffer to ur previous comment above) that why their think that u run a car workshop with the way u talk about engine, HP, PS, torque and etc…no offense my friend, just being fair…

FYI….I’m not trying to prove anything here, fren. Just about anybody can talk abt engines n its specs. Heck! In fact my son who is still in college knows more abt car engines’ specs than me. At times I hv to ask him abt a particular model’s spec n straight away he’ll let me know. If that’s nothing, my nephew who’s 7 years old can tell you abt Ferraris; model, year, top speed etc. N he’s never wrong! Well anyway, let bygones be bygones, we’re all here to learn……….Cherios!

• aenz81 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 12:35 pm

at 1st when i’m reading ur comment above about running ur workshop, I also thought that u r running a car workshop. So I think that the others also have similar perseption. just that …

about ur son and ur little nephew, different people will have different knowledgement and skill, eventhough they r younger than us.. if u say that ur 7 years old nephew’s knowledgement about the cars model is better than u, but he will lack of knowledgement in other segment…he’s good in learning mybe he’s worst in practikal.. for the stupid example, ur son and little nephew can tell us all about cars specs, abt ferrari, model, year, top speed etc but pratically they cant repair the cars, ur 7 y/o nephew cant drive the car….. and learning will make someone perfect but nobody pefect in this world…

• aenz81 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 12:43 pm

and, my 5 and 3 years old sons is better than me in playing PS3 and PSP but they cannot copy my “pc repairing and formating knowledgement” eventhough boths of them start learning/knowing the “ABC” and “1-20” since 2 years old.. and i dont know if they have the skill of playing soccer and futsal as what i have..

• Zakumo123 on Mar 08, 2009 at 7:34 pm

im savvy driver, and i drove latest camry b4, the handling is unable to be matched, savvy won……..for the guys don belive it, try it b4 you say that……

i noe lots of malaysian ppl they nerves to admit that savvy is a good car………

especially chinese ppl, is time to admit it malaysian………….no shame to it^^

• I am currently looking for a car which provides me good FC, and good handling. Looking through what Paul Tan's blogs had provided me, seems like Proton Savvy is the right choice for me. However, i used to be a Proton basher too but to my surprise with all the comments & reviews from existing Savvy owner, it definitely changes my thinking ways. Which is never judge a book by its cover. To be honest, i am into all this car manufacturing industries measuring car engines & car bodies ( Proton, Perodua, Toyota, Ford, Audi etc.) and frankly speaking none of the cars manufactured in the lists i mentioned are 100% perfect. And for your information, car bodies assemblies usually have a tolerances of 0.1-1mm, which can be quite a a lot..

And according to my counterparts in Japan, it happens to all the Japanese car manufacturers too. Even up to this day, assembling a car door still needs some kicking and knocking with hammers…Bliv it or not..this is automotive industry..

• coldman on Jan 18, 2010 at 1:47 am

savvy is a good car spareparts quite expensive but that is after 4 year of ownership… my brother owns it… dont judge the car by its looks… by the way i own a Persona almost a year now… great quality 2009 batch… it only cost me 48 k with an quality interior look more exspensive than the price tag.. not to mention the driving experience… hard to believe its a proton… a 25 year old car manufacturer still got a long way up to the top..