Guangzhou Toyota launches facelifted Toyota Camry

Toyota Camry Facelift

Guangzhou Toyota, the Toyota JV company in China has revealed a facelifted Toyota Camry in China. Now considering China is big enough for their own development projects, for example the Hyundai Sonata has its very own Toyota-like look in China compared to the facelifted Sonata Transform that the rest o the world gets, we don’t know yet whether this will be the same Camry facelift that Asia will be getting, but it seems likely as it doesn’t seem to have any overly localised design cues and Toyota would most likely want to push as much shared development costs as possible in light of their recent expected first ever loss in many decades.

The new Toyota Camry facelift features a new front end with a “frowny” central air intake design as opposed to the smiley one on the current Camry. The new air intake is much wider and gives the rather tame front end of our Camry a more aggressive look. On the rear there is not much changes except the rear tail lamps seem to now stick out a little, I believe some of you call this the bug-eyed look, but if it’s at the rear what should it be called, bug-butted?

Look after the jump for more shots of the facelifted Camry.

Toyota Camry Facelift

Toyota Camry Facelift China

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• L15a (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 5:43 am

nice in black

• kimi_ (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 5:47 am

the perak EXCO should wait for this…

• _Zephyre_ (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 5:50 am

Bug-butted, huh? That's a new one.

• kei9 (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 6:03 am

Looks almost the same though.

• mct (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 6:08 am

this camry looks more young then current …..

• aliBaPa (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 6:10 am

PRICE??????

• kimi_ (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 6:13 am

Shahrir, u are really the -MALAYSIAN IDIOT- okay..not idol.

You are the worst minister in the world!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

All malaysian should have one aim…u to be fired with immediate effect.

Malaysia should be a for increasing price now while decreasing world oil price.

• tiadaid (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 6:16 am

kimi_ said,

February 22, 2009 @ 10:13 pm · Reply with quote

Shahrir, u are really the -MALAYSIAN IDIOT- okay..not idol.

You are the worst minister in the world!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

All malaysian should have one aim…u to be fired with immediate effect.

Malaysia should be a for increasing price now while decreasing world oil price.

——————————————–

What the hell? What's up ur a$$?

• corollaaltis (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 6:22 am

Looks nicer than old model. Any information about new KLIMS09 date? I heard it was postponed.

• hyundai (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 6:39 am

The front end gives me a very Avensis look… While the interior seems unchange.. And the hardware still remains the 2.4+5AT.. Where is the 2.5?

• paparadzi (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 6:53 am

If this is the facelift vrsion that we'll get in Malaysia, then I've made the right choice of NOT waiting for it.

• gajen (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 7:07 am

the best just gets better….

• mct (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 8:15 am

the rear light is completely change

but no photo yet ,only photo which shot from an angle which indicate the design is different

• Livina2008 (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 8:17 am

I saw some of the Singapore registered Camry come with the "bug-but" tail lamp. But some of them come with the same as Malaysians'.

• shamel (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 8:21 am

Frankly, given a choice l'd rather prefer JDM/USDM or Australia Camry than our Asian version!

• tpl (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 8:30 am

front end looks like ford falcon

• mct (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 8:31 am

[quote comment="213820"]I saw some of the Singapore registered Camry come with the "bug-but" tail lamp. But some of them come with the same as Malaysians'.[/quote]

tat one is used grey importer to import from japan , the official camry at singapore is same with us

• Sex is wonderful, bu (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 8:38 am

still just as ugly

• corollaaltis (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 10:52 am

[quote comment=”213828″]Frankly, given a choice l’d rather prefer JDM/USDM or Australia Camry than our Asian version![/quote]
    Me too

• ericfoong81exe (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 4:39 pm

Nothing much different, look a bit uncle indeed.

• BB (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 7:41 pm

the front change from executive to sporty-like look. good facelife!

• azrai (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 7:42 pm

I know why there is no more smiling face. Toyota first ever lost since many years.

• BB (Member) on Feb 23, 2009 at 7:45 pm

don forget chine has becomes world largest automotive market last jan. lots of manufacturer are launching their 1st ever product in the dragon-land. Mal should get the same facelife as china, but 6months later la…

• White Jack (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 1:03 am

First glance can be mistaken by a VW :)

• pippen (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 2:03 am

the bigger view is that China is able to have their own version of Camry to support their own market with their technology learn. That is what benefits to have an open economy to lure advance technology company and LEARN from them instead of finding ways to make money for a group of people, and forgo the large portion of the blue-workers. After 20years, we still come out SAGA and tell the public it is a good car, with a price, that you can probably buy a much advance car in other country. It will be another SAGA 20 years later if this still persist, since we are introducing lower-tech staff to sell expensive. Poor people eating expensive rice. This is what is happening, worst still some people think that is no wrong of it. We become a close economy, and price is getting higher since our exchange rate will be dropping down the road, since our country's competitive is lost due to "curse of the black oil".

• layman (Member) on Feb 24, 2009 at 9:12 pm

A lot of uncle like this car, may be it is very practical. And why China always 6 months ahead of us? we are not important to Toyota?

• tarmac on Apr 21, 2009 at 5:09 am

Subtle but noted with taste for this facelift. It's definitely meant for the matured consumer. Not in terms of age (uncle?) but those mentally matured enough to appreciate… No kiddie minded spoiler loving civic ah beng boys allowed, and save your money so you can purchase your next bulk of orange hair dyes. Anyone would guess/know China's economy/population and sheer size ranks it above the smaller players like M'sia so it is not suprising to see China treated to product launches before us. Even Bangkok is more advanced a city than KL (u know why? they eat pork). I'd get this version when it becomes available, current stock are on a slight 'discount'? like the grille, rims don't seem to match so a quick change would do.

• cikguafezi on May 31, 2009 at 9:34 am

like front looks..when this car coming to msia? any info? considering camry in fourth quater..

• Christopher Tan on Jul 27, 2009 at 10:32 pm

This camry is like Sonata from the side.Overall,to mela,it looks kinda like Sonata.

What do you think?

• zafedz on Jul 28, 2009 at 5:23 am

How much longer this model will be stay in the market before the new model introduce?Facelifted model usually will be stand approximately around 1 year at least…

• The old camry grille and headlight and foglight looks WAAAAY better than the new one plus the fatter&wider headlight of the last camry looked better although i like the new lights here(if only theyd combine the shape and arrangement of the old and new one, perfectly luxury). the blacklight looks wicked aspecially when it lights up to a soft curved sqaure(much like that of audi r8, but longer) and the shape of the foglight of the new camry is similar to that of Ford Fusion 2010(although few people would know that since fusion isnt sold in the phils). my overall is: The Old one is 5 Star | The new one is 4 star because the front became real ugly(but who knows, it might grow on me, but this is only for now).

• john karanja on Sep 22, 2009 at 9:09 am

please sent me the price of toyota camry right hand drive cif mombasa

• diaby on Oct 17, 2009 at 7:47 am

we are looking for car toyota brand good price for 4pcs thank you we wait for reply from diaby china guangzhou