Toyota rumored to produce a hybrid coupe

Words are being exchanged in the motoring fraternity that Japanese-based auto maker, Toyota is planning to produce a hybrid coupe, which will share the same powertrain as the Toyota Prius hybrid vehicle. The hybrid is said to carry over certain design cues from the Toyota FT-HS Concept which was previewed at Detroit 2007.

According to Auto Express, Toyota will dub the hybrid coupe as the MR2, and that the environmentally friendly compact coupe will feature a rear wheel drive setup with a paddle shift transmission. The British-based magazine also revealed that Toyota’s executive vice president Masatami Takimoto mentioned that the auto maker understands that people in the U.K and Europe are very fond of the MR2, and the company is developing small hybrid sports car.

The coupe is expected to also offer excellent handling characteristics with improved aerodynamic efficiency and if it goes into production, we can expect a price point that would hover over the GBP 20,000 figure. It is also speculated that the hybrid coupe would be able to hit the 100 km/h mark in 7 seconds, while returning an impressive 60 miles to the gallon. Stay tuned as we will bring you the latest updates!

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• the stik on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:34 pm

aiyooo that was a very sharp like razor car laa.. macam kereta sodok salji laa beb..

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:36 pm

looks lamborghini-ish .. and gt-r-ish ..

• DjVanilLa on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:37 pm

What a rumors..

hopefully dun cancelled the plan,like the other proto b4..mmm..new AE86coupe if i'm not mistaken..

• karim bachik on Mar 20, 2009 at 6:53 pm

what is hybrid supposed to achieve when it first been in minds of inventors? money? power? pride? these automakers make no sense building all these high-class hybrid cars. where is the slogan of having a more green earth and to save fuel cost if hybrids only cater and affordable for the riches. come on!

• DjVanilLa on Mar 20, 2009 at 7:39 pm

[quote comment="222798"]what is hybrid supposed to achieve when it first been in minds of inventors? money? power? pride? these automakers make no sense building all these high-class hybrid cars. where is the slogan of having a more green earth and to save fuel cost if hybrids only cater and affordable for the riches. come on![/quote]

hmmm..agreed..

p/s-hmmm..what about if local automakers take this chances,ex:just take the kancil then do a hybrid..i do..i'll buy it for my child soon:)

then..put a slogan..besides a green motto,hybrid for Rakyat..can aaa..

• hybrid is just a gimmick …an excuse to make more money out of ppl…

diesel is the way to go….more economical than hybrid

• torque (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 10:47 pm

Hmmm…come on Toyota!! We all know you already had your Supra replacement done and in your stable…what's the hold up?! :-( Release it first la…then you want to make hybrid or whatever…I don't care…come on….oh ya, agreed with King…diesel is the way to go!

• osh_kosh (Member) on Mar 21, 2009 at 1:39 am

[quote comment="222774"]aiyooo that was a very sharp like razor car laa.. macam kereta sodok salji laa beb..[/quote]

agreed.. ugly car..

• Andrew on Mar 21, 2009 at 2:04 am

the pic just looks like a remodelling of an Audi R8.

• stay with supra replacement first!!! then, talk about hybrid.. electric, hydrogen or whateva

• Gajen on Mar 21, 2009 at 8:57 am

the return of supra….

• riseofthemachine on Mar 21, 2009 at 11:38 am

true.. kereta sodok salji…=P

• mystvearn on Mar 21, 2009 at 1:34 pm

Hybrid uses more money in the long run. Toyota is just trying to full people into buying thier Hybrids. Its either full hydrogen or mroe fuel efficient cars/

• James on Mar 24, 2009 at 2:19 am

I think this is one beautiful car, it has similar features like the LF-A. LF-A is designed by the famous Pinafarina studio. If they make this car, Toyota will make history. The first fun sports car that is fuel efficient.

• Mr2Lover on Aug 29, 2009 at 11:50 pm

Nooo, toyota dont do this to us, this thing looks horrible.

I, on behalf of most mr2 lovers, would want the classic looks that the mark ll has and even making this similiar to the mark 3 would still be acceptable.. But this.. Sigh