BYD M6: Estima inspired Chinese MPV

BYD M6

BYD cars have always been curiously similiar to Toyotas, for example the BYD F3 is clearly inspired from the previous generation Corolla Altis and it is sometimes referred to as the poor man’s Corolla Hybrid, since it recently was made available with a plug-in hybrid powertrain (BYD F3 DM). But erm of course there is also the BYD F8 which looks like a shrunk-down R230 pre-facelift SL convertible.

Mind you, this is a company that Warren Buffet has invested in! This new BYD M6 MPV is inspired from one of the most popular MPVs out there, the Toyota Estima. The M6 is BYD’s first MPV and it’s quite a large one, measuring 4,600mm x 1,760mm x 1,490mm with a 2,950mm wheelbase.

Under the hood will be a choice of BYD’s own 2.0 litre engine from the BYD483 series good for 138 horsepower 6,000rpm and 186Nm of torque between 4,000 to 4,500rpm, or a Mitsubishi 4G69 2.4 litre unit producing 162 horsepower between 5,000 to 6,000rpm and 220Nm of torque between 3500 to 4500rpm.

The MPV, while in its essence a boring people mover vehicle, has quite a high percentage of decent-looking models compared to ugly ones out there which means it is surprisingly easy to style and make good-looking.

Look after the jump for some sketches of the BYD M6. More details to come later when the BYD is launched, then hopefully we’ll get some interior photos.

Taiwanese Yulon Motor unveils its new Luxgen MPV

BYD M6

BYD M6

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nonengko on Mar 23, 2009 at 10:14 pm

Not bad, a good copy

• anwanysha on Mar 23, 2009 at 10:15 pm

first!!!….. another copycat project from china mainland….

• YP Chung on Mar 23, 2009 at 10:19 pm

Cool, very nice.

• Caddilac Wong on Mar 23, 2009 at 10:20 pm

BYD F3 is one of the top-10 best selling car in China… So BYD should get rich in short time and may give us some suprise…

• Littlefire on Mar 23, 2009 at 10:24 pm

I think the taiwan base MPV is more better compare to this…

• Paul Tan on Mar 23, 2009 at 10:26 pm

Just wonder if it's just me, but have you guys noticed the Chery Eastar is everywhere now? I see it at least once a day on the road.

• Exotical on Mar 23, 2009 at 10:29 pm

yes..i seen many time Chery Eastar at puchong.

• Arise on Mar 23, 2009 at 10:30 pm

lawalah ! Ini barulah MPV.

• Arise on Mar 23, 2009 at 10:33 pm

Kat Johor Bahru pun banyak Eastar. Terperanjat jugak.

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 23, 2009 at 10:34 pm

paul, saw a few near my area as well…sigh…is malaysian really that desperate for mpv? which even easter also can accept?!

• the stik on Mar 23, 2009 at 10:37 pm

i found many eastar on the road back to my kampung in kuantan.. the eastar look fine from my side-mirror, when over take errmm kind of 50-50 laa.. ok laaa.. kot?

• Arise on Mar 23, 2009 at 10:45 pm

sekurang-kurangnya, Eastar pakai engine Grandis 2.4liter.

• tis is not too bad !!!

indeed, quite decent looking MPV

CHINA….u r great

• Littlefire on Mar 23, 2009 at 10:51 pm

Yup, Penang also got a lot of eastar. I met a sales person before, he is good in sales strategy and are well trained.

Engine is Mitsubishi, so second hand parts no problem.. Can use Mitsubishi parts… Parts also cheap as the engine is not new and a lot..

So guys be prepare to see Turbo Eastar Evo not long from now… Those tuners will for sure drop in some Evo engine in it, since it is from same engine family..

• pulge on Mar 23, 2009 at 10:56 pm

There is one Eastar owner in Meru. I've tailed it twice. Looks decent from behind.

• kimi_ on Mar 23, 2009 at 11:39 pm

WTH, this is much better than EXORA…

• scottloeb on Mar 23, 2009 at 11:59 pm

I agree. Few Eastar here in Shah Alam – Damansara as well. We went to Giant Kota Damansara and saw the car. The interior quality is a so-so. But the engine is Mitsu. They really capitalised on that

• Wisdom on Mar 24, 2009 at 12:15 am

What the heck. Even my hometown Kluang Johor got a few Eastar on the road. 1 complete with bodykit summore. Beat the hell out of those in lowyat (CMC or something..)

• Tiadaid on Mar 24, 2009 at 12:16 am

[quote comment="223608"]WTH, this is much better than EXORA…[/quote]

Lagi nak compare ngan EXORA. Different classes, where can compare?! Furthermore, if Proton does the same and copy other cars, then people will bash. Design sendiri pun kena bash…pendek kata, anything Proton do, will be bashed!

• you a-hole on Mar 24, 2009 at 12:28 am

[quote comment="223578"]Just wonder if it's just me, but have you guys noticed the Chery Eastar is everywhere now? I see it at least once a day on the road.[/quote]

yep. quite a lot on the road. imagine if the sell this m6 over here… even though its a copy, it still looks better than eastar…

• layman on Mar 24, 2009 at 12:39 am

Can not afford an Estima, this is the best alternative.

• What will happen when you told someone you bought a 'M6' ?

• pulge on Mar 24, 2009 at 1:01 am

[quote comment="223634"]What will happen when you told someone you bought a 'M6' ?[/quote]

They would think you got a Beemer. Heh!

On a side note, the BYD 2.0 engine puts out 138hp and 186Nm torque. That's just slightly more than the 1.6 Campro CPS. Sounds not enuff power to me.

• henryee on Mar 24, 2009 at 1:11 am

[quote comment="223586"]paul, saw a few near my area as well…sigh…is malaysian really that desperate for mpv? which even easter also can accept?![/quote]

Is it maybe ur eyesight is set a little bit high already?

China product can be good too rite. Coz u can see China made product everywhere else.

Bring this BYD M6 to Malaysia to let those who already booked the Exora MPV sakit hati, BUT now still don't know the specs for this BYD, so no comment.

• henryee on Mar 24, 2009 at 1:15 am

[quote comment="223624"][quote comment="223608"]WTH, this is much better than EXORA…[/quote]

Lagi nak compare ngan EXORA. Different classes, where can compare?! Furthermore, if Proton does the same and copy other cars, then people will bash. Design sendiri pun kena bash…pendek kata, anything Proton do, will be bashed![/quote]

This is because Proton made its service work way too lousy last time, and made us too allergy in heard of Proton name.

But Exora not out yet, so don't know Proton's after sales service.

BTW, design is still way too better IF REALLY WANT TO COMPARE with EXORA.

• not-a-basher on Mar 24, 2009 at 1:42 am

[quote comment="223646"][quote comment="223624"][quote comment="223608"]WTH, this is much better than EXORA…[/quote]

Lagi nak compare ngan EXORA. Different classes, where can compare?! Furthermore, if Proton does the same and copy other cars, then people will bash. Design sendiri pun kena bash…pendek kata, anything Proton do, will be bashed![/quote]

This is because Proton made its service work way too lousy last time, and made us too allergy in heard of Proton name.

BTW, design is still way too better IF REALLY WANT TO COMPARE with EXORA.[/quote]

>>> but man… it's still a copycat product… i can't underestimate it's quality but this brand is relying on other product…. so not fair to compare to proton.. copycat easily… just change the brand… at least proton already has their own capabilities to build up own design based on own platform… proton has taken few steps further compare to this brand what…. BYG …eh ..eh. BYD… never heard before….

about lousy thingy… past is the past… we need to look forward… even my toyota altis is having prob … even though i always bring it for service frequently….

eventhough using mitsubishi tech… i believe it will become just the same (low quality ) …. in the end to what happen to in previous record… of

proton quality …

• [quote comment="223569"]Not bad, a good copy[/quote]

A good copy need a good teacher, good job.

• I think Proton's move to reduce showrooms and service centers have to do in improving the quiality of their salesperson and the after sales quality.

It would be easier to manage and to closely monitor..

RT.

• seat-belt on Mar 24, 2009 at 2:16 am

this car r inspired by the estima…thats why it looks good..but the designer who designed this car r STUPID. THEY R DRIED UP OF IDEA. but, still, there is ppl saying that this design r far better than our own local made design.

but, try to think if Proton copy estima design, i think many of us will extremely bash P1 kaw2 pnye….

but, i wonder why even tough another car company copy sumother car design, they will say that the car is far better than proton.but if proton make their own design nor copy other car design, ppl will bash no matter what…. its quite weird…

• hm…i still remeber 1 topic in paultan where it shows mule test car p1 which use toyota wish..ppl bashed very kaw2 n said p1 doesnt have any idea, oni copy from others brand…which when it come from other car manufacturer, they will say it is good practice..typical minded will never make malaysian ppl maju but sebaliknye..very sad…

however…chinese brand car? hm…dont know what 2 say lorr….alraedy know what it will turn out to be..

• Tiadaid on Mar 24, 2009 at 3:01 am

[quote comment="223646"][quote comment="223624"][quote comment="223608"]WTH, this is much better than EXORA…[/quote]

BTW, design is still way too better IF REALLY WANT TO COMPARE with EXORA.[/quote]

Duh…copycat, easyla. Try telling them to design the cars themselves!

• Alfa Juliet on Mar 24, 2009 at 3:23 am

It's interesting to note that those Mainlanders aren't at the very least ashamed of being labelled as unimaginative copycats. Had they obtained a licence from Toyota (as Naza did with Kia and Peugeot), it would be a different story. Perhaps they were never taught anything about ethics?

• gopotter on Mar 24, 2009 at 3:38 am

hopefully the engine performances is good, if really come to Malaysia and the price compatible with Exora. i will consider M6. Base on the design is nearly 90% same with Estima. if we by recond estima for year 02-03 also need at least RM 130-140k. Proton Exora is fully made by proton include body. answer is not necessary. the only malaysia made is campro engine + interior accessories only. Please see Mitsubishi Grandis front view n compare with exora then you'll know the point.

• littlemin on Mar 24, 2009 at 3:54 am

wat d heck ppl here..

when p1 use t.wish as mule~u all bashed p1 copycat..

nw p1 cum out exora..kena bashed lagi..

sum say ugly~sum say like grandis(if exora looked like grandis den everybody oso looked like grandis dy..)

nw paul post out a copycat product~u all said its far better den exora..(?!)

wat da f**k lah..u all said estima better i stil can understand~nw even copycat oso better den p1?alamak betul lah..

i reali wan 2 noe~if exora is designed by toyota~n put toyota logo~wat wil all comment…

sigh…

• MyviKiller on Mar 24, 2009 at 3:54 am

[quote comment="223578"]Just wonder if it's just me, but have you guys noticed the Chery Eastar is everywhere now? I see it at least once a day on the road.[/quote]

The same unit Paul? Coz there is one in my hometown (the same taman somemore), so I can claim that I see it once a day on the road…

• littlemin on Mar 24, 2009 at 3:54 am

wan bash oso bash wif mind lah…my fren…

• Dont keep thinking about this big cat went come to Malaysia, it cant compare with Exora, if its price is 50K in China, it should price 100K with 100% tax in Malaysia, coz it is MPV. Nevermind about this copycat, it only live in its own mainland, cant go outside to show ppt marrr…

• protonboyz on Mar 24, 2009 at 4:09 am

i wan x6 copycat

• Eastar received decent reviews from the owners

another "alternative" n cheaper MPV

• nazri on Mar 24, 2009 at 4:57 am

what i can say about eastar is very bad cushion and interior… but u can change leather seat and it look damn nice …

Peace..

• Gajen on Mar 24, 2009 at 5:45 am

looks nice but im not praising as it's a copy of estima…i have no idea y ppl r praising this mpv…they didnt design it, it is toyota's…

i would rather get 70% for my exam, all done by myself rather than 95%, copying my friend's answers…

• Meemegi on Mar 24, 2009 at 6:00 am

We can dwell on ethics issue, but make no mistake China is unstoppable and they will eventually succeed. They are doing what Japan did many many years ago but at much faster pace. There are people who are too proud to drive a copycat, but apparently there are enough people in this world who are willing to compromise and make this a profitable business.

• sadin on Mar 24, 2009 at 6:22 am

aiyaa, so many people feel ok with this copycat product. We're talking about a product that company has invested hundreds of million to come out with the final product, pay designers, create employment and suddenly out from nowhere another company just copy and put it on roads without feeling guilty or anything. And we, proclaimed as civilised people some more glorify the efforts. For a first time, Naza seems to be much a better company

• littlemin on Mar 24, 2009 at 6:35 am

i would like to see those who praising tis car n wan 2 own it rather den exora…

wat is their comment if one day proton cum out a copycat estima or mayb copycat alphard?hahaha..

bash or nt bash??hehehe..

• informalaysia on Mar 24, 2009 at 7:15 am

guys,

just forget about trying to convince these proton bashers..

if china's copycat design MPV is still better than proton's self-developed exora, i bet even taik lembu in those kampung2 they'll say better than exora…

so, dont waste your time trying to convince these ppl – basically whatever proton do they'll still bash proton… you'll be better off doing something more beneficial like playing sudoku…

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 24, 2009 at 8:09 am

[quote comment="223643"][quote comment="223586"]paul, saw a few near my area as well…sigh…is malaysian really that desperate for mpv? which even easter also can accept?![/quote]

Is it maybe ur eyesight is set a little bit high already?

China product can be good too rite. Coz u can see China made product everywhere else.

Bring this BYD M6 to Malaysia to let those who already booked the Exora MPV sakit hati, BUT now still don't know the specs for this BYD, so no comment.[/quote]

Those "China product" are normally "foreigners". To put into perspective, it's like saying Perodua is a Msian car, but is it? :) From what I heard, all their board meeting are conducted in nihon-go rather than Bahasa Malaysia……

Btw, if Perodua is indeed msian, it should've been bashed with p/w, 300% tax, AP, Rafidah, Naza, kroni, UMNO, engine terbakar, tin milo, Mahathir but what I hear instead are japanese characteristics ie "good" f/c, "good" 2nd hand value, "good" reliability, etc. yawn…

So the next time u hold an Apple Ipod, would u call it American or Chinese?

If it's still too hard to understand, let's just say that China is just a massive assembler, and any assembler can be good if its parent company has good business system (Think McD). Which is why, Perodua is more Japanese than Msian from my point of view.

But the Chinese seemed to have begin experimenting their own strength n capability. And they start by copying.

• Bodow on Mar 24, 2009 at 9:44 am

Come on …sell it here … 120 k cukup la .. ppl would buy in droves brand new …since not many ppl can afford Estima ACR50 …

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Mar 24, 2009 at 10:15 am

Ya lorr… Exora also same with wish, grandis mazda 5… and a lot more i think.. well u see… a lot of similarity… ummm like… 4 tyres, round shape tyres, got fdoors, steering wheel that is round shape, pull type handbrake, ummm L shape seats, what else aaa… -.-…. -.-“

• satria neo on Mar 24, 2009 at 3:00 pm

P1?..the EXORA?..off course evryone knows and everyone talk about how they ciplak teh cherry la bro..only here they said no ciplak one..heheh better go out sometimes la…

• raybrig85 on Mar 24, 2009 at 3:24 pm

[quote comment="223662"]this car r inspired by the estima…thats why it looks good..but the designer who designed this car r STUPID. THEY R DRIED UP OF IDEA. but, still, there is ppl saying that this design r far better than our own local made design.

but, try to think if Proton copy estima design, i think many of us will extremely bash P1 kaw2 pnye….

but, i wonder why even tough another car company copy sumother car design, they will say that the car is far better than proton.but if proton make their own design nor copy other car design, ppl will bash no matter what…. its quite weird…[/quote]

haiya..u guyz ar..lantakla copy ke x…theres no originality nowadays..proton pn pnah copy..lagila copy alfa nye nose..so??

• nazri on Mar 24, 2009 at 3:26 pm

next BYD copy toyota vios.. =D

• proton suxx on Mar 24, 2009 at 3:28 pm

alaa.dulu proton pn rebadge gak.xde pon korg bising.lagila.quality pn trok gak.now.da ade design sendiri br korang nk kecoh.apedaaa

• raybrig85 on Mar 24, 2009 at 3:33 pm

where is my comment??

• raptorclans on Mar 24, 2009 at 4:02 pm

the owner of the Eastar in Puchong lives around my housing area I think… I pass him few times a week… lolz

• i wish on Mar 24, 2009 at 5:20 pm

i do like exora… but i think exora tail-lamp design is not so estetic compare to Estima…

• [quote comment="223760"]Come on …sell it here … 120 k cukup la .. ppl would buy in droves brand new …since not many ppl can afford Estima ACR50 …[/quote]

Try to ask P2 re-badged Estima, that is come from original with less quality only. We should proud that one day BYD copy Lotus Eropesatr Jingsu, they bring people dreams…

• JULAJULI on Mar 24, 2009 at 5:29 pm

apa kata korang kalu malaysia pun ada manyak brand kereta then copy@ dr btand yg popular? isn't it interesting?

• Arise on Mar 24, 2009 at 5:36 pm

[quote comment="223624"][quote comment="223608"]WTH, this is much better than EXORA…[/quote]

Dah tak payah susah susah nak gaduh kat sini. Tengok baik baik tu exora punya depan, serupa M5.

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Mar 24, 2009 at 6:15 pm

Ya lorr… Exora also same with wish, grandis mazda 5… and a lot more i think.. well u see… a lot of similarity… ummm like… 4 tyres, round shape tyres, got fdoors, steering wheel that is round shape, pull type handbrake, ummm L shape seats, what else aaa… -.-…. -.-"

• don look down the china-man…. by know ppl strong points will improve our self! if P1 getting what he has today without protection, i will say P1 has done a good job! but the fact is other way round.

• Tengokaje.. on Mar 24, 2009 at 6:34 pm

Paul… If I'm not mistaken, Cherry Easter assembled in Oriental Assemblers JB as CKD. They also assembled Hyundai as CKD. Oriental Assemblers previously assembled Honda, a few Merc and Peugot.

• sadin on Mar 24, 2009 at 6:56 pm

Copy something here, something there is ok but copy the whole concept and design and put your emblem on it is totally different story like what they did to honda crv previous gen and the X5. Even honda tried to sue them before but was failed by their court. Proton used to copy mitsu, but it was a rebadge deal and proton paid money to them. It is not to say the china made quality is inferior, but even it is better quality but copy from somebody else effort is unethical. If it is wrong; people involved ie support, buy t products, they have to pay for it, someway or others, like karma thing, nothing is free man….

• So for some ppl here…when it comes to p1 design or when it comes to p1 rebadge car…u dont have right to bashed like there is no more tomorrow for p1..coz its already shows dat some ppl said it is a good practice…so..no more biased comments k…

Eventhough its kind of weird when some ppl here when in topic related to p1 car, they said p1 have dried of idea n bla..bla..bla..when it comes to other carmaker, for them its acceptable..what a weird Malaysian…lolz..no offense ya..just my opinion..

• madmarzio (Member) on Mar 24, 2009 at 7:55 pm

yaa.. lets bring all copycat cars here.. copycat civic, accord, estima, camry, bmw, merc "8" series.. so let the people at p1, p2, naza, honda, toyota malaysia etc. suffers and close shops.. stooouuupid you!

• Nothing wrong for being copycat. It is all part of learning process. Don't we all started learning by copying? Even BMW was copying British Austin. AUSTIN!! when they started out making cars. The Russians did it (aircraft especially), the Japanese did it, the Korean did it. Copying required a solid engineering foundation to reverse engineer and recreated everything from an existing design (without blue print), there's no coincidence that the above nations were already industrial powers when they started copying. Rebadging car is a different story, you just take an existing production line, tooling and molds and replace some cosmetic panels and logos to "create" a different car. Mind you, all the manufacturers do it. Even Toyota at one time rebadged a Holden to sell it as Toyota Lexen in Australia. Alfa Romeo flirted with Nissan to create the disastrous ARNA. I will not debate the man made legal laws on copyright, but any manufacturers who are interested in the long term viability will move out of their "copying" phase and start to innovate with indegeneously developed expertise, otherwise natural market forces will put them into extinction. In Malaysia, we are trying to leapfrog from being assembler/rebadger to creator within the same generation, and Proton in particular is trying to do it by buying expertise from outside the country (Mitsubishi, EDAGS, LG, Lotus ), Peroduo is still in assembler/rebadger phase. I am not optimistic that the technical knowledge can take root here locally. The engineering foundation of our nation need to come from our polytechnics and universities and the current sign is not encouraging.

• azrai on Mar 24, 2009 at 8:37 pm

Another nicely done China rip-off. Anyway, this is good because people like the look. So no need to come out with something extraordinary and the ordinary work out. Can you imagine the price if introduce in Malaysia? Just look at those competitive price Eastar MPV. RM80k for 2.5l Mitsubishi's power 7 seater. Look lucrative. Just look at KL where there are many of them.

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Mar 24, 2009 at 9:20 pm

AcActually I think for most ppl here, it is not really wrong if you copy other company design (with permission) or did a rebadge deal… but IMHO what really made some ppl angry / unsatisfied etc… is just most of the time when the copying / rebadging is done by other company esp foreign company it is acceptable for most ppl and they comment it on a really2 positive way…. But when it is done by P1… somehow it become unacceptable, unforgiveable and wrong for these ppl… they will bash P1 like there is no tomorrow… even when P1 did design car on their own, ppl still saying that they copy from other manufacturer etc…. WTH… why is the double standard????

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 24, 2009 at 10:11 pm

No Chery Easter here in Sarawak.

For sure.

• tokmoh on Mar 24, 2009 at 11:54 pm

Hm… come to think of it, yes. I do see it every time I go to Sunway Pyramid.

Nvm, come Exora, it'll disappear lol.

• I had see two Chery Eastar in Kuantan, soon it will concealed by Exoras…Exoras…Exoras…Exoras…Exoras…Chery…Exoras…Exoras…Exoras…

Re-badge and Copycat are different. If re-badge is packeting, then copycat is printing. Copycat is a cat, no different here or there. I think Warren Buffet have give them a latest high tech printing machine.

If China made good, I will said good copy, but to P, double standard is his fate and to us too.

• Enigma4646 on Mar 25, 2009 at 1:25 am

CMC ….Eastar …..dont play play …..Paul Ask Alado to test the Chery MPV ….once and for all…..

• Enigma4646 on Mar 25, 2009 at 1:29 am

you can see the real photo of this BYD M6 in china local forum ….I wish they will bring it here ……I think I have update it in my CMC Lowyat forum ….the real photos of this BYD M6.Cheers.

• initial R on Mar 25, 2009 at 5:19 am

Biasa le, kalu dari luar tu semua bagus. Kalau local, perghh… cam nak mati kutuk…. Proton rebaged kena kutuk, Cherry copy kata bagus, high tech dll. :( . Proton kerjasama keluar kereta, kena kutuk. Cherry curi design buat sendiri puji sampai bawah tilam. Jepun dulu blajar buat kereta dengan kerjasama bukan curi design. Proton blajar buat kereta dengan kerjasama. Bukan curi design. Tapi biasale, kalau keluaran malaysia tu mesti tak bagus. Erkk.. yang memuji ester & kutuk P1 tu bukan malaysian ke ?. Tu nampak tak bagus tu. :)

• tajuk pasal kereta china..last2 pasal proton gak yg dibincangkan. nampaknya makin ramai yg ambil berat pasal proton. gud2.

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 25, 2009 at 7:40 am

[quote comment="223977"]Biasa le, kalu dari luar tu semua bagus. Kalau local, perghh… cam nak mati kutuk…. Proton rebaged kena kutuk, Cherry copy kata bagus, high tech dll. :( . Proton kerjasama keluar kereta, kena kutuk. Cherry curi design buat sendiri puji sampai bawah tilam. Jepun dulu blajar buat kereta dengan kerjasama bukan curi design. Proton blajar buat kereta dengan kerjasama. Bukan curi design. Tapi biasale, kalau keluaran malaysia tu mesti tak bagus. Erkk.. yang memuji ester & kutuk P1 tu bukan malaysian ke ?. Tu nampak tak bagus tu. :)[/quote]

Biasa lah. Reminds me of Soichiro Honda's quote: "Ppl only see my success which is 1%. Ppl don't see 99% of my failures."

Or something like that ehehe. For Proton's case, I think it's more like "Ppl see my failure which is 99%. Ppl dun see my success which is 1% ", and then followed by "Proton success 1% oni a? So stupid wasting taxpayers money, go close shop, kroni, corrupt, Mahaleel, AP, Rafidah, UMNO, Mahathir, power window, 300% tax, in Japan Nissan GT-R is v cheap, in Italy Lambo Reventon is v cheap, in Germany BMW v cheap, zzzzzzzz……"

Proud to drive a junk :D LONG LIVE TJCC!!

• aliBaPa on Mar 25, 2009 at 7:57 am

who knows one day china cars as many and as popular as japan cars.

• aliBaPa on Mar 25, 2009 at 7:59 am

[quote comment="223882"]Nothing wrong for being copycat. It is all part of learning process. Don't we all started learning by copying? [/quote]

EXACTLY.

• [quote comment="223997"][quote comment="223882"]Nothing wrong for being copycat. It is all part of learning process. Don't we all started learning by copying? [/quote]

EXACTLY.[/quote]

Aiyoooh, copying to learning, not to earn money %-(

Seconder…kroni…corrupt…Mahaleel…AP…Rafidah…UMNO…Mahathir…power window…300% tax…outdated…expensive…money maker…lousy service…stupid prouder…blinder…converter…recycler… :-& … 9_6 … X( …

Proud to own a junk O:) Forever TJCC!! <3

• Arise on Mar 25, 2009 at 6:32 pm

bandingkan dengan tahun ke tahun (year to year) antara kami dengan pembuat kenderaan asing. Kerjayaan kami berada di tahap mana ? Kami nak jawapan yang jujur ya ?

• [quote comment="223996"]who knows one day china cars as many and as popular as japan cars.[/quote]

n who knows…one day malaysia cars as many n as fofular as japan cars…

If someday, P1 do rebadge lancer for its Waja replacement project, i wonder, what will some ppl here who said copying n rebadging is a good practice, gives comment on wajalution…..lolz…

• Enigma4646 on Mar 26, 2009 at 7:37 am

Then if Ploton knows the "taste" of Malaysian…why cant they design and produce like most of Malaysian wants ???? youngsters wants turbo cars …family man need a state of the art design MPV mostly like estima but with reasonable price ….older people maybe like to drive a new design Proton Perdana …..jap cars change their design every 5 years at least …not to take into consideration facelifts etc …..again the price they ask from us Malaysian make us no choice ….gen 2 has been 'exchanged' with chery eastar in China …..they have rebadged gen 2 over there….as an exhange Alado can bring in eastar and tiggo over here….again ….its all about POLITICS …CHRONISME……..if not they want to rebadge chery eastar too but what will people say abt it ???

China has been moving very fast in this kind of industry ….if warren buffet himself invest in BYD …what does it shows??? I dont think WB himself blindly invest his money in China ????

If Proton wants to catch up ….give Malaysian a reasonable price tag …care what people wants …design or rebadge if possible …

a

Proton must move like Perodua ….where toyota and daihatsu influence has succesffuly attract locals …i.e. Myvi aka Passo / Boon…if Proton and his old sifu ( mitsu )…just rebadge Grandis and sell it cheaper…….

• Tiadaid on Mar 27, 2009 at 8:25 am

[quote comment="224292"]Proton must move like Perodua ….where toyota and daihatsu influence has succesffuly attract locals …i.e. Myvi aka Passo / Boon…if Proton and his old sifu ( mitsu )…just rebadge Grandis and sell it cheaper…….[/quote]

Because M'sians are suckers for brands, even though the product is like shit! Just because Myvi is a rebaged Passo, then ppl buy and go modify it to look like a Passo. Then what good will having automotive engineering courses at local university? Those ppl graduate become tukang pasang kereta only. M'sians don't think of the bigger picture, so that's why we're like we are now!

• farghmee on Mar 27, 2009 at 7:21 pm

if look can be deceiving, thankfully i'm not deceived.

how about handling, crash rating, reliability?

• No White Dog on Jul 29, 2010 at 6:00 am

who cares warren invested in the company. dude only invested some 10% and all white cracker news medias made it sound like he’s backing the whole company. chinese are buying up US debts but you dont hear racist white pigs medias claiming china is backing US do you??

anything chinese made are copy catters huh??? how lame!