Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Chery Alado launches locally assembled 2.4 liter Chery Eastar 7-seater MPV

Chery Eastar

Chery’s B240 MPV has been relaunched in Malaysia as a locally assembled car and it is now called the Chery Eastar. The locally assembled Chery Eastar MPVs will roll out of Oriental Assembler Sdn Bhd’s plant in Johor, but a new CKD plant will be up and running in Pekan, Pahang by the end of 2009. The Pekan plant will include an investment of over RM50 million in equipment and will begin assembly of up to 100,000 Chery vehicles a year, including 10 models such as hybrids, SUVs, MPVs and executive cars.

According to Chery Alado Sdn Bhd’s chairman Tan Sri Cam Soh Thiam Hong, more details on the plant will be announced in the next two months together with its joint venture partners which may include a GLC. “Malaysia is the largest passenger car market in ASEAN and also the important link for Chery to other ASEAN countries’ market. We currently have 7 other overseas factories in countries like Russia, Iran, Egypt and Argentina and are planning to accelerate more overseas factories in the coming 2 years,” said Chinese automaker Chery Automobile Co Ltd’s president Yin Tongyao.

Chery currently exports 120,000 vehicles yearly and plans to hit 400,000 vehicles by 2010. As it is, the Malaysian plant will export 30% of its Chery Eastar production to countries such as Indonesia, Thailand, Singapore and Australia. Local sales of the MPV is expected to be between 120 to 200 units monthly.

Under the hood of the 7-seater Chery Eastar MPV is a 2.4 liter SOHC Mitsubishi long-stroke engine producing a rather sedate 127 horsepower at 5,500rpm and 198Nm of torque at 3,000rpm. This is quite a conservatively-tuned basic engine (SOHC, 9:1 compression) which does not produce much power for its displacement but should be relatively easy on maintenance. It is mated to a 4-speed automatic transmission with manual shifting. The MPV measures 4662mm long, 1820mm wide and 1590mm tall with a long 2800mm wheelbase.

The new Chery Eastar is priced at RM79,888 for the standard version and RM86,888 for the high-spec version. The standard version includes LED rear lamps, side turn indicators on the wing mirrors, all-round disc brakes, a radio cassette player with 6 speakers, manual windows and 16 inch steel wheels while the premium version adds a CD player with MP3 support, steering wheel audio controls, ABS brakes, traction control, power windows for all four doors, dual SRS airbags for the front, and 16 inch alloy wheels. Further options include 18 inch alloy wheels and an NGV kit.

The high-spec version adds It comes with 1 year free service (for the first 1,000 units sold) and a 3+2 year warranty.

Video: Chery B240 7-seater MPV

71 Comments »

1. turbodream said,

September 3, 2008 @ 3:16 pm

wow!, the standard comes with so much toys and cost around 80k only.. i think its a great deal..

2. MyviKiller said,

September 3, 2008 @ 3:18 pm

Now it’s a head on competition with the upcoming Proton MPV.

3. arch747 said,

September 3, 2008 @ 3:22 pm

honestly speaking, it looks u**y. Even Citra doesn’t look this much u**y. Then again, tell me one model from Cherry that looks decent.

4. arch747 said,

September 3, 2008 @ 3:24 pm

If the new Proton MPV is closed to what Theo Chin rendered, it wins hands down against this Eastar.

5. austin_cipan said,

September 3, 2008 @ 3:31 pm

no offence but chinese cars simply not the kind of cars that i want to buy… there are many issues regarding chinese cars; reliability, quality, safety, etc… for a car manufacturer which starts its business somewhere late 90’s, i don’t think chery can craft it’s signature on malaysian automotive on such a short time… seriously, how many of you have seen the chery cars on the road? it was really ambitious of chery, setting up a plant to locally assembled chery cars… honda/toyota still import CBU units after years of setting up their business in malaysia… tough gamble, chery…

6. bmpower said,

September 3, 2008 @ 4:09 pm

reliability was an issue.. but luckily they use Mitsubishi engine, even the old one. At least proven better than their own engine.

but honestly… This MPV design really nice in my eye, better than alphard! even the new alphard one..

If this car had a T badge some more DVVT sticker, it will sold above 150K :p

7. e-nabilll said,

September 3, 2008 @ 4:51 pm

i can never imagin driving a car that has everyting made in china..apart frm the engine n gearbox….no way…nt in my life time anyway…..im nt that cheap….id rather beg ! so aweful

8. dreamwork said,

September 3, 2008 @ 4:59 pm

wow…look more chun than grand livina…innova…
    Paul, any interior photo? thks

9. abtm said,

September 3, 2008 @ 5:05 pm

unless they give it away for free don’t buy it, driving it will make you look cheaper than if you’re driving a broken and rusted 20 year old Lancer…

10. mystvearn said,

September 3, 2008 @ 6:04 pm

Hmmm, proceed with caution on made in china cars…

11. Altezzar said,

September 3, 2008 @ 6:10 pm

I heard the wiper and headlight stalk are made from chopsticks…..ha ha ha

12. Altezzar said,

September 3, 2008 @ 6:14 pm

I have one word to describe china made cars…. rubbish………

HOPELESSLY POINTLESS.

13. MAJUPERAK said,

September 3, 2008 @ 6:32 pm

abtm ….. this MPV is not that bad looking as compared to Proton Juara and Perodua Rusa

Altezzar …. rubbish ? Well from the video, it seems that Proton MPV will be based on this / rebadged from this MPV

14. indigo said,

September 3, 2008 @ 6:45 pm

Thi car will be popular on Langkawi. There are a lot of Cherys on the island. Duty free price which is cheaper than a Kancil hahahaha

15. legacy88 said,

September 3, 2008 @ 6:46 pm

Go buah Chery GO! At least it has Mitsu 2.4.

Plotong ah? Puny 1.6 only leh… heh heh.

16. mitlanevo said,

September 3, 2008 @ 6:46 pm

well, this car is not EXTREMELY good looking, but absolutely not rubbish….

just hope that the car is not as ‘cheap’ as the price….

bmpower said:
    If this car had a T badge some more DVVT sticker, it will sold above 150K :p

i say: if this car got a Toy badge and the stupid DVVT sticker, sorry i won’t buy….. unless its a Hon, Nis or Mit badge…..

17. theanswer said,

September 3, 2008 @ 6:55 pm

“i say: if this car got a Toy badge and the stupid DVVT sticker, sorry i won’t buy….. unless its a Hon, Nis or Mit badge…..”

Today toyota can be considered as the biggest auto brand in the world compared ti nis,mit or honda.

18. abtm said,

September 3, 2008 @ 7:07 pm

MAJUPERAK, it looks ok, but it’s the badge which lets it down. It’s not cheap, you can get the smaller Nissan Livina for that money even though it’s 1.6. if you’re buying a MPV, you have a big family so power is not everything, considering that you have that many kids to raise, economy would be first piority. also, 2.4 is another road tax band, and sooner or later you’ll end up with a NGV tank in your car anyway…maybe you or some of the exowners of the Juara and Rusas can put in a deposit for it

19. ragnahse said,

September 3, 2008 @ 7:21 pm

don’t watch the video…its a waste of 2minutes 35 seconds of ur life….crappy advertising video with stupid bckgrnd music…they shld hv hired sumone professional to do the video for them, not some kindergarten kids!!

20. justin said,

September 3, 2008 @ 7:24 pm

badly made video with spelling errors. i wonder who made the video?
    if it is chery, then it shows how “devoted” they are in things.lol

21. WXX8XX said,

September 3, 2008 @ 7:41 pm

Hmm.. wonder what’s the crash test look like.. since it a Made In China product. Or maybe they manage to skip on that?..

22. austin_cipan said,

September 3, 2008 @ 7:50 pm

rubbish… hopeless… crap… the looks are outdated… atleast 6-8years old looks… old engine… expensive road tax… please don’t put your money on this crap… buy a toy, buy a hon, nis or mit… please don’t buy a cher… haha

23. kucau said,

September 3, 2008 @ 8:12 pm

china made car? proton nowadays is much much better . I`ve seen few other model of cherry , i cant say much BUT hopeless quality.

24. auctioncenter2u said,

September 3, 2008 @ 8:15 pm

Just wondering WHAT make me consider this MPV?

Price?
    Outlook?
    Performance?
    Durability & Reliability?
    Quality?
    Brand?
    Size?
    Technologies?
    Fuel consumption?
    Luxury?
    Comfort drive?
    Safety?

No. so why buying it? Will you consider it?

25. hujanlebat said,

September 3, 2008 @ 9:20 pm

huh .. 80k for mpv .. seems to be a very good deal ..
    but for china car … not for me … no no no .. !!
    i rather buy proton than this 2.4 fuel-drinker tanker like mpv…

26. PROTON SUCKS said,

September 3, 2008 @ 9:31 pm

this car sucks, but between this and the proton mpv, i go for these a thousand times

27. JonW said,

September 3, 2008 @ 9:44 pm

the rendered proton MPV looks somewhat similar
    but then again, aren’t most MPV’s shape like that

28. TheophilusChin said,

September 3, 2008 @ 10:18 pm

Actually with the Proton and Perodua MPV excitement, and now this 2.4 litre MPV for under RM90k, we have SOOOOOO forgotten the other three “national” MPVs…

Naza Ria, I think is around the size of the Chery Eastar. Still want that Ria?

Naza Citra, this one is the closest competition to the Proton MPV. But Citra, may be replaced? The Citra has 2 litre engine right?

And then, the next Perodua MPV, though replaces the Kenari, will grow in size. By then who will want the Inokom Matrix?

29. bmpower said,

September 3, 2008 @ 10:26 pm

legacy88 said, September 3, 2008 @ 6:46 pm
    Go buah Chery GO! At least it has Mitsu 2.4.
    Plotong ah? Puny 1.6 only leh… heh heh.
    ____
    This car 2.4 engine : 127 horsepower at 5,500rpm
    FYI, proton campro CPS, even ONLY 1.6 : 126hp

30. Vis893 said,

September 3, 2008 @ 10:48 pm

one comment …. this advertisement so funny…with lousy background music..haha…hope they can improve ..

31. LittleFire85 said,

September 3, 2008 @ 11:27 pm

Hei, HP is no use in MPV, SUV world as TORQUE is IMPORTANT to move things around!

Even turbo diesels engine dont have high hp, but look at the TORQUE and what rev it get the MAX!!!

Anyway for your info, if the car got more torque at lower rev like turbo diesels or SOHC engine they have more better fc than the high rev engine.

Anyway if this car is rebadge as Mitsubishi MPV and sell the same price, i sure gurantee proton mpv tidak laku! But sadly is a china brand and you all bash like hell…

Look at the bright side, they do offer Traction Control! Does proton cars offer that?!?

32. normaluser said,

September 3, 2008 @ 11:55 pm

What concerned me is the continuity of the brand here and how long can the franchise business sustain? I expect Tan Sri Cam Soh’s company may go kaput like other franchises.

His other owned company, BSA Manufacturing is in deep red right now, with millions of loans turned NPLs, and I don’t think Alado business can sustain the challenging car market, given our rakyat who worships the T badge like god and regards other non-Japanese import makes as crappy cars. This car can only sold well in Langkawi or Labuan. Just my 2 sen.

33. the man said,

September 4, 2008 @ 12:48 am

think thousand times b4 commit to buy this chinese made car. This one will consider “till die do us apart”. No 2nd hand value. even the car itself…. if we wait long enough they will advertise, ” buy1 free 1″ same to previous case on scooter…btw…where to service this car..may be under the cherry tree ..hehehe

34. azrai said,

September 4, 2008 @ 7:18 am

This mean a cheap spareparts actually. It gives some pressure to other carmakers to lower their price in time to come. Still, Malaysia have bad perception on China made car + bank will impose a very high interest rte for this kind of car. If I’c commited to use this car for entire life, then i will go for it. Buy a brand new and use and service it appropriately. It will do the trick. Value for money.

35. Altezzar said,

September 4, 2008 @ 8:06 am

Let’s look beyond the badge…….what does it got to offer.?
    Design …ok not bad…. what else ????….. safety ???, Latest proven Engine technology. It doesnt even have variable timing……….

Nothing rite so what is the point. Another failure in making furthermore malaysian are brand conscience. Good quality cars with not so good badge appeal are not doing as well as they should i.e Lexus\Audi. What somemore china made cars.! No Badge appeal………. no quality…..

Gear lever made out of used chopsticks.Ha ha ha
    Engine old mitsu 2.4 … i smell gusler……..

36. alihms said,

September 4, 2008 @ 8:21 am

At its present form, this MPV (and China made cars in general) may not amount to anything. But the Chinese are improving fast. I believe in another 2 or 3 car generation later, (roughly 10 – 15 years), they can match or even surpass whatever Toyota, Nissan and of course Proton can throw at them. Cam Soh is taking a calculated gamble now. If he manages to stay in business in this 5 – 10 years period, he’ll make it big later. He could be another Tan Chong, Boon Siew and Nasimuddin in the making…

37. car_craze said,

September 4, 2008 @ 8:54 am

MajuPerak - you are not maju at all! Why are you comparing this MPV with the Juara and Rusa? It’s not in the same category in terms of price, size, engine, specs, etc. And those MPVs are already 6-10 years old at least by now.
    The Livina, Citra, Innova and Nazaria would probably be a better comparison and benchmaking. Of course the soon to be launched upgraded Naza MPV, Perodua MPV and even Proton MPV. And if you have done some simple readings you would probably know that Proton MPV is NOT derived from the Chery!
    The biggest challenge for the Chery would be the quality and the branding, hence affecting the price.

38. hyundai said,

September 4, 2008 @ 9:31 am

Say no to china car…

39. lchan said,

September 4, 2008 @ 9:44 am

High specs get a “a radio cassette player”???? WTF???…haha…what does standard get then?

Basically, if you look at the progress they are making against our local proton, in another 10 years or so, they will be better then us. Plus not forgetting some of them were operating behind a “red iron curtain” before and only recently opening up to the world.

40. lchan said,

September 4, 2008 @ 9:48 am

ops..my bad..read wrongly..standard is a cassette player….funny regardless

41. zack_keyme988 said,

September 4, 2008 @ 9:52 am

hmm….

again a crap stuff from CHina..

think b4 u buy

42. zack_keyme988 said,

September 4, 2008 @ 10:39 am

Chery Eastar MPV is a 2.4 liter SOHC Mitsubishi long-stroke engine producing a rather sedate 127 horsepower at 5,500rpm and 198Nm of torque at 3,000rpm. This is quite a conservatively-tuned basic engine (SOHC, 9:1……..

Better the New PROTON MPV.. although 1.6 but burst 125bhp.. it is better than 1.5 Avanza tht have only 109bhp…Livina 1.6 103bhp… Citra 2.0 120bhp…

walaweeehh

43. Dogster said,

September 4, 2008 @ 10:51 am

I have a point to voice out.
    We all say that its safety record is horrible but take this car and compare it to the Avanza. Avanza is practically a MPV with safety standard of a kancil. Think about it.

The thickness of the Avanza’s door is nearly the size of a kancil.
    Its bouncy,
    NO TRACTION CONTROL,
    has a sluggish 1.3L engine (older model - sigh, torque = no idea, for a MPV the Torque is more important than HP ( i must agree with others)
    NO All round disc brakes as standard
    NO CD player with MP3 support
    NO steering wheel audio controls and obviously
    NO 1 year free service (for the first 1,000 units sold) and a 3+2 year warranty. Where can u get this crazy deal from T Brand at all?

We will then argue about the pricing, Avanza is obviously cheaper but WILL we put our safety on the line with a T product with safety standard near similar with a kancil? Think about it, NOT ALL T BRAND PRODUCTS ARE OF SIMILAR SAFETY STANDARD!!
    I think the chances of surviving a side collision in this Chery or even with a Gen2… higher than “ahem” a T Avanza
    As for reliability issues, we all cant pass any judgments on it as it hasn’t been in our country for long.
    This is a value for money to buy MPV!!!

44. ALPINA BMW said,

September 4, 2008 @ 11:04 am

it actually looks quite nice, but interior…haven’t seen yet

45. Altezzar said,

September 4, 2008 @ 11:20 am

China Made cars are worse than proton…. I remember going to the showroom to see Alado A160. Competely rubbish quality with dinasaur engine
    and plastic bag for airbags chopsticks for wipers stalk. ha ha ha . Last wan I added. I can’t take china cars seriously……. Call me brand biased………but I just cant accept china made cars due to they have no history of making good cars. Why should I give them the benefit of the doubt?. By building this MPV have they done any R&D. It looks 90% like Toyota Wish!!!!!!!!. Looks like cheap imitation and that is all their good for. Pai seh…….

46. Altezzar said,

September 4, 2008 @ 11:22 am

I hope this so called good cars has effective windscreen wipers cos ppl will be spitting at it

47. mct said,

September 4, 2008 @ 11:25 am

torque is more important lah bro
    now the proton is try to making a mpv which size is same or bigger than a wish
    wish(jdm 1.8) is using a 1.8 vvti engine which produce 136ps/17.7kgm
    and this car is being said underpower when the car fetch 7 adult go genting
    and if you notice , the gear ratio on the car is very big already , no overdrive gear .
    how proton going to make his mpv to when up to genting with tat 125hp/15kgm campro cps ???? and wish is weight at 1400++kg
    and proton mpv is aspected to be weight at around 1400 kg also (persona is also 1250kg already )
    proton have to make a really big effort for boost the torque if not must be a fuel guzzler on the list of proton car .

48. Max88 said,

September 4, 2008 @ 11:26 am

This Cherry Eastar is rip-off Honda Stream (previous model).

And the upcoming Proton MPV is suspect clone of Chery Eastar. Sniff sniff!

Study the side profile, rear profile…the fruit doesn’t fall far from the tree.

In any market, there’ll always a market for fake stuffs. Like fake Rolex just looks as good and feels original.
    And to sell a bad product, sell it to stupid people.

Chery also gonna unveil another new model, a hatch, called Chery RCR Gelistar. Or here we called it as Proton Gen2.

From Honda Stream to Chery Eastar to Proton Juara Neo MPV. What possibly could go wrong there?

49. dzat46 said,

September 4, 2008 @ 12:48 pm

yeap agreed….look quite similar wt the spy shoot of the proton mpv….colloborate to reduce cost perhaps??

50. goguncas71 said,

September 4, 2008 @ 3:16 pm

Why do people still think Proton’s MPV have anything to do with this Chery?

If Proton MPV was based on this Chery, it would have been released LAST YEAR , after all localising parts don’t take that long. In fact last year Proton was doing customer clinic surveys of MPV req, seating arrangements and so on. There’s no need if Proton is just basing it of the Chery. What about the mules? Why in the world would Proton take T.Wish (8 I think) as test mules (putting in Proton changes) when it could just plunk in a Campro CPS in a Chery?

PROTON’S MPV IS NOT BASED ON THE CHERY!

51. BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

September 4, 2008 @ 4:15 pm

max88, you have gotten your facts all wrong.

For a start, Proton has no working relationship with Chery at all.

“”Proton MPV is suspect clone of Chery Eastar. Sniff sniff!”"
    proton has already said, and its published news, that the mpv is on an all new platform developed in-house. you cant simply claim you developed something yourself if you didnt. you can get your behind sued massively.. there is such thing as intellectual property rights you know.. just like how someone posting on this blog claimed that the gen2 is a renault megane, which is also totally untrue.

“”Chery also gonna unveil another new model, a hatch, called Chery RCR Gelistar. Or here we called it as Proton Gen2.”"

There is also no such thing as a “chery RCR what-chama-call it”. There is a Youngman RCR, which is a rebadged gen2 already on sale in china.

52. bmpower said,

September 4, 2008 @ 4:32 pm

max88, you just not read enough, i suggest you to read all IN THIS BLOG topic related to the proton MPV, and you’ll realized there’s none of proton MPV relate to the Cherry.

this alado MPV had only 127 horsepower at 5,500rpm and 198Nm of torque at 3,000rpm. i think it’s a super Gaz Guzzlerrr

53. BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

September 4, 2008 @ 4:46 pm

On paper, looks like the cps engine is similar to the livina 1.6 in terms of torque, and has more peak hp. if anything.. the fuel consumption should be similar to it as well.

Nissan Livina

1.6 ltr 105hp/5,200rpm - 150nm/4,400rpm
    1.8ltr 126hp/5,200rpm - 174nm/4,800rpm

consumption claimed by nissan challenge;

Category Model KM/Litre
    1.6 Manual Grand Livina 36.0639
    1.6 Auto Grand Livina 31.0404

Toyota Wish

2.0 ltr (official import) 150hp/6,000rpm - 192nm/4,000rpm
    1.8 ltr (jap import) 132hp/6,000rpm - 170nm/4,200rpm

Campro CPS as found in Gen.2 CPS now…

1.6 ltr 125hp/6,500rpm - 150nm/4,500rpm

54. LittleFire85 said,

September 4, 2008 @ 6:21 pm

Hello bro, N.Livina claim is unofficial. See the newspaper ad, they mention unofficial result. How many ppl can drive light foot everytime?

Anyway N.Livina 1.6L engine dont have any CPS or CVTC, is just plain DOHC aluminium + timing chain engine. The torque they manage to get it 150nm max and faster then Proton CPS, but losses the HP due to just a plain DOHC engine!

That why in the unofficial result fc you can see the 1.8L CVTC engine of N.Livina score the best! This is because the torque is higher!

Anyway just remember that proton MPV is rumored to be larger than N.Livina! So how’s the weight? HP is not an issue in here, but torque is important to move a 7 seater! Do you think high rev engine MPV is fun for the family?!?

55. jtshin said,

September 4, 2008 @ 6:58 pm

yo guys guys… forget about everything technical bout this car or whatsoever chinese car is crap… it currently export 120000 vehicles yearly.. if Proton is so good in its technologies… how many does it export every year? Some of you may claim it only started in the 90s, Proton started in 1985 but until now how many vehicles does it export? 5 figures? no matter how good is the technology and design, it has to sell!!!

think about it… design good or bad engine good or not… Chery EXPORTS!! Proton… NOT exporting!!!

56. Wisdom said,

September 4, 2008 @ 11:27 pm

And they exports millions of items which ends up in RM2 shops.

Get what i mean?

57. the man said,

September 5, 2008 @ 2:38 am

#
    zack_keyme988 said,

Better the New PROTON MPV.. although 1.6 but burst 125bhp.. it is better than 1.5 Avanza tht have only 109bhp…Livina 1.6 103bhp… Citra 2.0 120bhp…
    ——————————————————————-

higher torque required because the car is damn heavy. but old engine cannot meet the stringent emission test in Europe country. This car was meant for third world country but it is good contender to ensure current MPV manufacturer not just relax and enjoy huge profit. BTW, Nissan livina is the best overall sub 90k currently in the market. Tough time for proton and perodua to beat it.

58. ALPINA BMW said,

September 5, 2008 @ 10:01 am

plus add on nissan’s reliability and proton’s non-existent reliabity…

59. Proton Sagwa said,

September 5, 2008 @ 4:04 pm

#
    Wisdom said,

September 4, 2008 @ 11:27 pm

And they exports millions of items which ends up in RM2 shops.

Get what i mean?

—-

and they also export millions of items that are sold under famous name brands, so what’s your point? some of the comments so stuck up as if “Made in Malaysia” got any good reputation overseas either.

60. Altezzar said,

September 5, 2008 @ 6:18 pm

Yawn,,,, another china rubbish…. hopelessly pointless…..40K is worth the risk but 80K come on……. We know it only cost them 10K to built this crap.
    The engine alone would have cost 5K cos it is a old junk even the jap are throwing away…..

61. csv said,

September 5, 2008 @ 7:07 pm

trust me ,you DONT WANNA OWN A CHINA CAR.

it is really bad in terms of reliability and fit and finish, even worse than proton.

i personally own a LMG SHUTTLE and the gaps between the doors and paneling is horredous, not to mention the super sluggish engine which is from ancient mitsubishi technology.

despite the price, i really don’t advise it, the Nissan Grand Livina or Rush is better.

62. proud2BMalaysian said,

September 6, 2008 @ 2:11 pm

paul, heard about the new kia/naza rondo. any news?

63. MAJUPERAK said,

September 8, 2008 @ 1:51 pm

Another rubbish comment by Althezzar ….. 10K to built this crap ? C’mon let’s talk some sense here although common sense is a rare commodity these days ……

It ain’t that bad this MPV coz Proton will be announcing tie-up for their MPV production based on this MPV.

64. SAG said,

September 9, 2008 @ 7:49 pm

mmmm…I already booked one…snow white ….what’s wrong with Msian perceptions…..they have invaded US / Russia / UAE / Pakistan etc ….

And me and my wife with 3 kids and a maid…sure need this MPV….

value for money …..I heard they offer us the first 1000 owners a year free full service ( no even paid a cent ) plus 3 years
    full warranty …..and service at Cycle & Carriage PJ…..on top of that I only pay RM 79888 for the premium model which include EBD/2 ABS/ traction control /volume control steering .

and the tiptronic from Mitsu 4G64 sure reliable meh …..can upgrade to MIVEC turbo or downgrade to 4663T Evo’s …..emmmmmmm

“It took Japan 40 years to become a great automotive nation. It took South Korea 20 years. I think it will take China as little as 10 to 15 years.”

Giorgetto Giugiaro

65. ALPINA BMW said,

September 11, 2008 @ 8:02 pm

yes, but till today nobody wants a japanese car, unless you’re alan patridge

66. SAG said,

September 21, 2008 @ 6:42 pm

Already test drived at Seremban yesterday …thanks to Mr Wang ….why Alado in KL don’t give test drive while dealers can ????? superb 2.4 tiptronic…..my family are happy ……can’t wait to get b4 Raya….

67. SAG said,

September 21, 2008 @ 7:04 pm

For judgement …please go for test drive at Seremban Dealer At Jalan Tun Dr Ismail Beside Mobil ….the road to Mantin ….or read review from :

http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/review.php?AID=11

68. SAG said,

October 5, 2008 @ 11:52 pm

taraaaa….here is our Chery …..

http://gickr.com/results4/anim_5c41f070-4a3d-c274-313e-fce915a8d246.gif

handling like sedan ….stearing so ringan …can do 1 finger cornering …..value for money ……go get one !!!

69. jw said,

October 22, 2008 @ 4:10 pm

I agreed with SAG. Take a test drive before putting urncomments. Give it a benefit of doubt. When Chery was launched, my perception was another China flick, cos Chinese made products are ????
    I seen the Car, well looks good, fits in mpv segment, good specs :-abs, ebd, tc which is not available in many 80K cars. Took a test drive with 5 passengers at the back, well the 4G64 seems to be dragging but when going up puchong jaya hill but overall this car was easy to handle despite it’s size.
    so my freinds go for a test drive before you nail chery on the cross.

Altezzar, in future pls use your big head before you write. any car engine plus transmission cost above 10K even the older ones !!! How can the whole car cost 10K !! . The 4G is a series of Mitsubishi engines called sirius starting with 4G61 and it has reach 4G69 which is a mivec engine use in the Grandis. The older EVO engine is 4G63 series. 4G64 has been used to power many cars ranging from Hyundai to Pajero for the past 10 years and still in service now.

So, please talk sense.!!

70. jw said,

October 22, 2008 @ 4:36 pm

When intent to purchase a car, what we do?
    1st, look how deep is our pocket. If ur hand unable to touch the bottom then do not even bother to look at Chery. It is not for you. Estima, Alphard, Elysion, Elgrand, Grandis to name a few are your choices. If your pocket are even deeper, you are at a different league X5, MERC.B R350, Audi Q7 and etc.

Someone commented, not VVTI engine. Hello, do you know how much a VVTI engine and transmission cost ?? more than 2X. So, how could you expect a 80K mpv to provide you a VVTI engine, my dear !!! If Chery can do that, Toyota need to learn from the Chinese and I will immediately put my booking without hesitation for a Chery. There is a Cantonese saying translated directly into english (”who does not know mothers are women’) sounds familiar ?

71. AdamC said,

November 21, 2008 @ 12:17 pm

I think Malaysian should wake up to the fact that China is a country who worships science and technology. Their product quality is improving very fast. The car manufacturer, BYD, is only five years in car industry, it F3 model is the best seller for the October 2008, and it is launching the world first dual mode car F3DM at the end of November 2008.

For the Chery Eastar, it has been in the China market for more than two years. The car is quite proven and it is value for money when it is local assembled.

previous post: SEAT Ibiza Cupra features 180PS twincharged 1.4L
next post: Hyundai i20 teaser before Paris 2008 debut

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!