Acura ZDX: a Japanese take on the BMW X6

Acura ZDX

Honda has its own “Z car” now, as Acura have unveiled its X6 competitor at the New York International Auto Show and have decided to call it the Acura ZDX. This is a “prototype” of the production version which will go on sale beginning fall this year.

The ZDX is similiar in size to the X6, measuring 4887mm by 1994mm by 1570mm (LxWxH) compared to the X6’s 4877mm by 1983mm by 1690mm, however the X6 has a much longer wheelbase at 2933mm versus the ZDX’s 2748mm.

Acura ZDX

“From the very first sketch of the ZDX, I wanted to create an emotional vehicle that challenged conventional thinking of what a sports coupe should be. My goal was to create a strikingly beautiful exterior, and use that attraction to help draw you into the rich interior,” said ZDX exterior designer Michelle Christensen, which I feel in reality could have been something more like “My bosses told us to rip off the BMW X6.” It’s a four door but the rear door handles are hidden near the window to help create a more coupe-like profile, since coupes are supposed to be 2-doors after all!

The Acura ZDX will be powered by an unnamed V6 engine mated to a 6-speed automatic transmission, sending power to all four wheels via Honda’s Super Handling All-Wheel Drive (SH-AWD). The V6 will likely be a variation of the large 3.7 litre, not sure what has happened to the development of the inline-4 2.3L i-VTEC Turbo!

Look after the jump for a full gallery of the ZDX.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=232]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Aalloonngg (Member) on Apr 11, 2009 at 7:00 am

Looks strikingly similar from the rear view…

• Johan Bey on Apr 11, 2009 at 7:12 am

paul, isnt Acura is the luxury division of Honda, Nissan is Infinity?

• henry on Apr 11, 2009 at 7:17 am

i believe Lotus could use their APX design language to produce such SUV..

• lambov12 (Member) on Apr 11, 2009 at 7:24 am

i think the ZDX not very good looking .. ugly to be honest

• DinKnight on Apr 11, 2009 at 7:30 am

messy and cluttered design. not 'Nissan' at all.

• [quote comment="228713"]messy and cluttered design. not 'Nissan' at all.[/quote]

this is Acura, a.k.a Honda. not nissan my friend.

seems like everyone is ripping off the x6 now huh. anywhere they can slot in a vehicle to a segment, they do it. pretty sure other car makers will follow suit.

• Paul Tan on Apr 11, 2009 at 7:37 am

What a big mix-up on my part!

• mitlanevo on Apr 11, 2009 at 7:40 am

[quote comment="228713"]messy and cluttered design. not 'Nissan' at all.[/quote]

huh???

• DinKnight on Apr 11, 2009 at 8:17 am

[quote comment="228716"][quote comment="228713"]messy and cluttered design. not 'Nissan' at all.[/quote]

this is Acura, a.k.a Honda. not nissan my friend.

seems like everyone is ripping off the x6 now huh. anywhere they can slot in a vehicle to a segment, they do it. pretty sure other car makers will follow suit.[/quote]

I know, Paul actually wrote 'Nissan has its own “Z car” now' before he realized his mistake and amended it to Honda.

• CocoBear on Apr 11, 2009 at 8:32 am

What's the point in producing a coupe-SUV. If u want a big car to fetch adults and cargo, get a proper hatch-SUV. If u want a sport, stylish car, get a proper coupe or GT. If u want to bully others on the road, get a truck.

• [quote comment="228716"][quote comment="228713"]messy and cluttered design. not 'Nissan' at all.[/quote]

seems like everyone is ripping off the x6 now huh. anywhere they can slot in a vehicle to a segment, they do it. pretty sure other car makers will follow suit.[/quote]

True! And the X6 ripped of our nation's pride… the Gen2 (people in this blog seem to say and believe). So does this means that Proton has the best designers in the world?

• Adnan on Apr 11, 2009 at 8:55 am

Wow, even uglier than the X6…what's with the grille?

• Jessen on Apr 11, 2009 at 9:59 am

Wow… super cool… I don't know Accura actually compete with BMW. I guess they made high quality cars. :)

• “From the very first sketch of the ZDX, I wanted to create an emotional vehicle that challenged conventional thinking of what a sports coupe should be. My goal was to create a strikingly beautiful exterior, and use that attraction to help draw you into the rich interior,”

The question is, what is so striking from the vehicle ah?

• Arubaato on Apr 11, 2009 at 10:02 am

[quote comment="228724"]What's the point in producing a coupe-SUV. If u want a big car to fetch adults and cargo, get a proper hatch-SUV. If u want a sport, stylish car, get a proper coupe or GT. If u want to bully others on the road, get a truck.[/quote]

Totally agree with you, afterall the main purpose of having a vehicle is to fetch a person from point A to point B..

• everyone is gunning bmw these days…

• Farhat Haniff on Apr 11, 2009 at 12:39 pm

how come people think BMW created the SUV-Coupe thing, it was Ssangyong with its ugly ass actyon. Im not any Acura/BMW/Ssangyong fan anyways.

• eww the front looks like something that can poke u to death(i think my eyes are poked!)

• Bodow on Apr 11, 2009 at 5:58 pm

Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery …apt to describe this Honda effort

• babysweet on Apr 11, 2009 at 7:00 pm

super ugly….

• Black Dog on Apr 11, 2009 at 7:38 pm

I think the rear bum looks cool. Though the front looks a bit odd. Overall shape is fantastic.

For ppl who think vehicle only for getting pt A to B, please don't blog here. Go get a Kancil & use it for the rest of your life!

Ppl pays mega bucks for Cayenne is not stupid. And all premium car makers also come out with coupe SUV are not stupid either!!

Next new trend is already here long ago- FAST – SPORTY – SAFETY – GO ANYWHERE – CARRY ANYTHING – ALL IN ONE!!

• Gajen on Apr 11, 2009 at 9:49 pm

not nice at all

• mystvearn on Apr 12, 2009 at 3:02 am

I think the production model will be a bit toned down. But actually it looks fine, aside from the futuristic front lamps

• carsut on Apr 12, 2009 at 4:55 pm

more n more manufactures follow or 'tiru' Gen2 design.. BMW, and now honda

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 12, 2009 at 7:47 pm

Then there should be a gen2 crossover ==V

• Aizat on Apr 12, 2009 at 9:52 pm

[quote comment="228709"]i believe Lotus could use their APX design language to produce such SUV..[/quote]

If proton want to produce Lotus APX/Proton MSX they shoul scrap of the perdana. They must choose only one exclusive car. If not, in my opinion they cant sale it and will not make profit on it.

just my 2 cents..

• JULIAN_LEE on Apr 13, 2009 at 4:26 pm

BMW better

• azrai on Apr 13, 2009 at 5:04 pm

Look meaner and nicer than Beamer. I wonder can proton rolled out their APX or a jacked up version of Gen-2 to be in AWD market.

• gattaca_LEE on Apr 13, 2009 at 7:04 pm

TATA Nano better

• Andrew on Apr 14, 2009 at 8:19 am

Not to say it's an underperforming vehicle, but from the spec it's not going to outperform the X6. Honda's achilles heel has been the auto tranny, good to hear that this one will have a 6-speed, hope it's as good as (dare I say better than) a ZF unit.