Honda City Coupe 1.8 i-VTEC Artist’s Impression

Honda City Coupe
Click for larger image

Correct me if I am wrong but I think the only coupes that Honda still sell are in the US, where both a Civic Coupe and the Accord Coupe are available.

Theophilus Chin whipped up this impression of a Honda City Coupe, which could be quite fun here in Malaysia as a sportier model available with the 1.8 litre SOHC i-VTEC paired to a manual gearbox.

Honda City Coupe
Click for larger image

The City is already offered in China with the 140 PS engine so it should be very easy to fit in. But during these troubled economic times perhaps such niche models are not possible even if they studied it internally in the first place, so this would most probably stay as what it is, some fun with Photoshop.

Actually if you do a double take, just like how the new Kia Forte looks a little similiar to the City, the City Coupe looks rather like a Kia Koup, doesn’t it?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ezwann on Apr 21, 2009 at 2:34 pm

Autobot transform!! ki ku kik ku kik ^_^

• Honda Forte!

• whiteeye on Apr 21, 2009 at 3:43 pm

Nice!

• whiteeye on Apr 21, 2009 at 3:44 pm

When will Malaysia Honda City painted in White like China did, i really looking forward to the white colour.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 21, 2009 at 4:03 pm

Tall cars don't look well in coupe form…despite what skills Theo has with chopping.

Coupes need to be long and low….one of the best examples were the Pininfarina pened Pug 406 Coupe

Clio bumper cooling ducts? lol…..

• Noob Master on Apr 07, 2010 at 2:22 am

The 406 is a good one,

But ask for me I’ll prefer the 1992 Prelude (H22a)
      1st car in the world with V-TEC engine.

Unfortunatly after 2001, production had stopped and side body design and tailights for 2001 prelude was
      took over for an Integra.

In other words, the City Coupe looks fine if its to replace a 2001 prelude

Hondas for life~~
      Cheers Mates!

• kington on Apr 21, 2009 at 4:39 pm

Yeah, the Pug 406 is still one of the better looking coupes i've ever seen.

• bmpower on Apr 21, 2009 at 4:48 pm

kia forte!

• pjeul on Apr 21, 2009 at 6:28 pm

do u know in u.k people convert PUG 406 coupe into Ferarri F360 modena..???

http://www.extreme-sportscars.com/360/home_360.ht… – this is the link

• pjeul on Apr 21, 2009 at 6:32 pm

do u know in u.k people convert PUG 406 coupe into Ferarri F360 modena..???

http://www.extreme-sportscars.com/360/home_360.ht…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DgGcA5-OnOo&mo…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GAFHFynRcng&fe…

this is the link and videos

• ala,thatbiase aje..takat change whole of the car body, i change my proton saga buruk jadi alphard pong buleh.

• AndrE on Apr 21, 2009 at 6:33 pm

front bumber and rear bumber + tail light look ugly

• Chris Chong on Apr 21, 2009 at 6:46 pm

What it needs are bigger wheel arches like the old Porsche 944 – that would give the car a "waisted" look and make it instantly more sporty.

Of course, it would also make it 37x harder to park…

• LeBronJames on Apr 21, 2009 at 7:24 pm

I personally think that it will not come in to Malaysia as for now. Honda Civic Hatchback type-R its been out there for sometime and the same goes to Accord hatch back. It is not logic to allow City hatch back to enter alone. This might kill our Neo CPS.

• LAmborghini666 on Apr 21, 2009 at 9:58 pm

serious ah beng car

• Srotong on Apr 21, 2009 at 10:28 pm

Being an 'ah beng', i will buy in dreams, if available. Love Kia forte too, but Nazaland aftersales and service centers are more than equal to Protong's.

Sigh… if still no better and cheaper models, will have to plug on with morris minor. Can't do with underpowered behemoth called 'excreta', but don't like tincan 'passed-over'.

Somemore the goons have raised the interest rates for 'non-national' cars. Soon i'll opt for becha, 'cos my faithful morris in terminal distress.

• the front is really "CHUN". haha

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 21, 2009 at 11:14 pm

As much as I love coupes, this market segment will probably never do as well as MPVs and Sedans.

This reminds me in spirit of the Toyota Paseo (not Passo) which also had a 1.5L 4 pot in a very tight package (and its sister SERA). Small compact coupes seem to have dissapeared… I can think of the Mazda MX3 Precedia- Ok maybe you can call that a hatchback, the CRX – also maybe a hatchback, Nissans original Sentra B12/B13 SER and Pulsar derivatives with the SR20DE powered NX2000 targa top…and even Hyundai's SCoupe 1.5Turbo … etc.

Then you have the larger sized but still compact 2nd gen Mazda MX6/Ford Probe, the Eclipse (DSM) Triplets, the 180/240SX/Silvias, Integras, Civic coupes and not to forget the frogfaced Tiburon….

That was all in the 90s,

Where did all these cheap and compact japanese (er..+ Korean) coupes go? All replaced by Hatches?? The only one I can still think off is the long in the tooth Tiburon, the Civic Si Coupe, the Scion TC, and maybe several others.

I suppose the market demographics for cheap and compact coupes have "grown up".

• Honda Noob on Apr 22, 2009 at 12:49 am

Copy from KIA Forte, such a lame ass.

Ugly design and ah beng lala car.

• kington on Apr 22, 2009 at 2:09 am

Yeah, the demise of the Jap mid-class coupes came as no suprise as the international market was dying for these cars. The Prelude was the first to go, the current Celica and S15 are rumored to be the last though the Celica might soldier on as a hybrid.

The Fiat Coupe will only re-surface, according to FIAT much later when there's a demand – what a statement.

• mystvearn on Apr 22, 2009 at 2:34 am

I don't think you will see a fully assembled/CKD coupe car in Malaysia in the future. (minus the satria neo) I don't think foreign car makers think its viable.

• kazai on Apr 22, 2009 at 4:46 am

4 doors car will sell better in malaysia.

• bugbear1986 on Apr 22, 2009 at 4:53 am

wow.. it looks nice with d chromeless grille..

• lambov12 (Member) on Apr 22, 2009 at 6:43 am

nice … can consider to launch a type-r version of that ..

• not very sleek looking. but good try never the less.

• For instance, i tot it was 407 from the back- -'

• nadzri m yusof on Apr 23, 2009 at 4:54 am

why soch not doch, honda now days bring back all the lousy engine to make bigger margin and somemore 140ps is not 140bhp, about 135bhp. Mr king dust please convert 140ps to bhp?

• HONDA FORCITY KOUP!!!!!

• Basten on Apr 24, 2009 at 5:03 pm

very nice for Ah beng

• LeBronJames on Apr 27, 2009 at 6:29 am

Firstly, how to you guys define the car is Ah Bengs car? Seriously to me, it is nice and look like Civic Type R a bit. As for me, I define Ah Beng's car with cheap body kits which does not match the cars, bad taste stickers, tasteless colour combinations (body blue, bumper green, sports rims purple etc) not to forget the ugly big GT wings spoiler where you can hang your under wear to dry off during picnic! (this is normally on Vios's and Wira's Ah Beng and a few on City ownner)

Secondly, I feel that Honda is using SOHC mainly on Honda City is because to safe petrol. Remember City is not a real performance car. If you want twin cam pls go for Civic 2.0 DOHC. I am a DOHC lover but have to tell you that to maintain DOHC is not cheap compare to SOHC. Both DOHC and SOHC have pro and cons. With HP around 140, it should be more then enough for City used. We really cannot ask for more.

• husaini on Jun 24, 2009 at 9:13 am

city with 1.8 wow. i thought city should be more toward economic class. smaller engine, better millage, 1.8 – 2.0 suite civic perfectly.